yes, therapy helps!
Apeirophobia: irrational fear of infinity

Apeirophobia: irrational fear of infinity

May 6, 2021

There are different types of phobias, some of them really strange. For example, hexakosioihexekontahexafobia or fear of number 666, turophobia or fear of cheese, or uranofobia or fear of heaven after death. Today we will talk about another unusual phobia: the apeirophobia or fear of infinity.

But before we start talking about this phobia, and to better understand what characterizes phobic disorders, we will begin by briefly explaining what phobias are in general.

If you want to know more about strange phobias, you can read our article: "The 15 purest phobias that exist"

What is a phobia?

Phobia is a strong irrational and uncontrollable fear of situations, objects, activities or people . It belongs to the group of anxiety disorders, and its most characteristic symptom is the excessive and irrational desire to avoid objects or situations as a way to reduce the anxiety or discomfort that these people may suffer.


Experts say that certain genetic and environmental factors favor the appearance of a phobia. However, one of the causes that most consensus among researchers is that phobias arise because the person has had traumatic experience (mostly in childhood), which then associates the element that causes fear. This learning would occur through classical conditioning.

Do you want to know more about classic conditioning? We recommend our article "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

It is important to note that the association that would cause the phobia can be direct or indirect . We speak of direct association when that element has been (object, situation, etc.) the same cause that leads to a phobia. For example, if a child is scratched by a cat that he unconsciously bothered, and as a result of this experience, he develops a phobia of cats. Indirect association refers to when fear appears displaced. For example, when a child has a vaccine phobia just because they know it hurts.


Classification of phobias

Phobias can be classified as follows: social phobia, agoraphobia and specific phobia.

  • Social phobia: This type of phobia is characterized because the person who suffers it feels an irrational fear towards situations of social interaction. For example, when he has to speak in public, he is afraid of being judged, criticized or humiliated. This is a serious disorder that should not be confused with shyness. People with social phobia can feel a strong anxiety when talking on the phone or eating in front of other people, so they avoid this type of situation.
  • Agoraphobia: Although many people think that agoraphobia is the irrational fear of being in open spaces such as large streets or parks, this is not exactly the case. Individuals who have agoraphobia feel a strong anguish produced by situations in which they feel unprotected and vulnerable when they suffer an anxiety crisis. In other words, they feel panic that the situation is beyond their control. The patient with this type of phobia is usually confined to his home as a form of avoidance.
  • Specific Phobia: The irrational fear in this case occurs before a stimulus, for example, a situation, an object, a place or an insect. Therefore, apeirophobia would be classified within this type of phobia.
Learn more about the different types of phobias in this article: "Types of phobias: exploring fear disorders"

Characteristics of apeirophobia

Thinking about the universe and infinity can provoke certain questions or reflections that are difficult to answer, which can cause a certain degree of anxiety. Now, when this thought about infinity or immense things produces an extreme irrational fear and great discomfort, then we are faced with a case of apeirophobia.


The concept of apeirophobia refers to an unusual type of phobia . We usually speak with total normality of other phobias in which their phobic object is tangible: spider phobia or phobia phobia, for example. All of them objects or people that can be touched and easily avoided. For some, imagining the phobia of infinity can even be complicated.

Fear of infinity can appear both by day and by night. For example, when the subject who suffers is so quiet in the living room of his house and an intrusive thought about infinity causes a serious problem of anxiety. Or when she is in her bed, trying to sleep, and the same image provokes a strong fear that does not allow her to sleep all night.

Existential vertigo

Apeirophobia is a type of phobia in which the focus of fear is something totally abstract, and not a living being, a landscape or a specific object.That means that it depends on activities linked to introspection and imagination, although its symptoms do not have to appear only when you reflect silently and with your eyes closed.

There are certain experiences that enter us through the senses and, in certain cases, can make us think about the infinite . These sensory stimuli depend on each person, but some of the most recurrent are the sky, the sea or the numerical sequences that never end.

Aperiophobia is experienced as a sensation of vertigo produced by the idea that, as one is coming into contact with infinity, there is no point of support in which the person can remain "anchored" and maintaining some control of the situation. This idea makes that, in a certain sense, similar to agoraphobia, since in this also a wave of fear appears before the idea that the environment becomes inexhaustible and impossible to control.

Treatment

Since apeirophobia is an anxiety disorder caused mainly by traumatic experiences of the past, it is necessary to go to a mental health professional as soon as possible. The cognitive-behavioral therapy or Mindfulness have proven to be very effective in overcoming these types of disorders, although it is important to bear in mind that the symptoms of apeirophobia almost never disappear completely.

You can know more about these types of therapy in our articles:

  • Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?
  • Cognitive Therapy based on Mindfulness: what is it?

KAN - Apeirophobia (Avant-Garde Noise music) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Apeirophobia: peur irrationnelle de l'infini

Apeirophobia: peur irrationnelle de l'infini

Février 21, 2019

Il existe différents types de phobies, dont certaines sont vraiment étranges. Par exemple, hexakosioihexekontahexafobia ou peur du numéro 666, turophobie ou peur du fromage, ou uranofobie ou peur du ciel après la mort. Aujourd'hui, nous allons parler d'une autre phobie inhabituelle: le apeirophobia ou la peur de l'infini.

Mais avant de commencer à parler de cette phobie et à mieux comprendre ce qui caractérise les troubles phobiques, nous commencerons par expliquer brièvement ce que sont les phobies en général.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les phobies étranges, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Les 15 phobies les plus pures qui existent"

Qu'est-ce qu'une phobie?

La phobie est une forte peur irrationnelle et incontrôlable de situations, objets, activités ou personnes . Il fait partie du groupe des troubles anxieux et son symptôme le plus caractéristique est le désir excessif et irrationnel d'éviter des objets ou des situations comme moyen de réduire l'anxiété ou la gêne que ces personnes peuvent subir.


Les experts disent que certains facteurs génétiques et environnementaux favorisent l'apparition d'une phobie. Cependant, l’une des causes les plus consensuelles parmi les chercheurs est que les phobies résultent du fait que la personne a vécu une expérience traumatisante (principalement dans l’enfance), ce qui associe ensuite l’élément qui fait peur. Cet apprentissage se ferait à travers conditionnement classique.

Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur le conditionnement classique? Nous recommandons notre article "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Il est important de noter que l'association qui causerait la phobie peut être directe ou indirecte . On parle d'association directe lorsque cet élément a été (objet, situation, etc.) la même cause qui conduit à une phobie. Par exemple, si un chat se gratte inconsciemment à un chat et qu’il en résulte une expérience, il développe une phobie des chats. L'association indirecte fait référence au moment où la peur apparaît déplacée. Par exemple, lorsqu'un enfant est vacciné contre la phobie du vaccin simplement parce qu'il sait que cela fait mal.


Classification des phobies

Les phobies peuvent être classées comme suit: phobie sociale, agoraphobie et phobie spécifique.

  • Phobie sociale: Ce type de phobie se caractérise par le fait que la personne qui en souffre ressent une peur irrationnelle face aux situations d’interaction sociale. Par exemple, lorsqu'il doit parler en public, il a peur d'être jugé, critiqué ou humilié. C'est un trouble grave qui ne doit pas être confondu avec la timidité. Les personnes atteintes de phobie sociale peuvent éprouver une grande anxiété lorsqu'elles parlent au téléphone ou mangent devant d'autres personnes, afin d'éviter ce type de situation.
  • Agoraphobie: Bien que beaucoup de gens pensent que l'agoraphobie est la peur irrationnelle d'être dans des espaces ouverts tels que les grandes rues ou les parcs, ce n'est pas tout à fait le cas. Les personnes atteintes d'agoraphobie ressentent une forte angoisse générée par des situations dans lesquelles elles se sentent non protégées et vulnérables lorsqu'elles souffrent d'une crise d'anxiété. En d'autres termes, ils paniquent parce que la situation leur échappe. Le patient souffrant de ce type de phobie est généralement confiné à son domicile en tant que forme d'évitement.
  • Phobie spécifique: La peur irrationnelle dans ce cas se produit avant un stimulus, par exemple une situation, un objet, un lieu ou un insecte. Par conséquent, l'apirophobie serait classée dans ce type de phobie.
En savoir plus sur les différents types de phobies dans cet article: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Caractéristiques de l'apirophobie

Penser à l'univers et à l'infini peut provoquer certaines questions ou réflexions auxquelles il est difficile de répondre, ce qui peut causer un certain degré d'anxiété. Maintenant, lorsque cette pensée sur l'infini ou des choses immenses produit une peur irrationnelle extrême et un grand inconfort, nous sommes alors confrontés à un cas d'apyrophobie.


Le concept d'apyrophobie fait référence à un type inhabituel de phobie . Nous parlons généralement avec la normalité totale d'autres phobies dans lesquelles leur objet phobique est tangible: la phobie de l'araignée ou la phobie de phobie, par exemple. Tous sont des objets ou des personnes qui peuvent être touchés et facilement évités. Pour certains, imaginer la phobie de l'infini peut même être compliqué.

La peur de l'infini peut apparaître de jour comme de nuit. Par exemple, lorsque le sujet qui souffre est si silencieux dans le salon de sa maison et qu’une pensée intrusive sur l’infini provoque un grave problème d’anxiété. Ou quand elle est dans son lit, essayant de dormir, et la même image provoque une peur forte qui ne lui permet pas de dormir toute la nuit.

Vertige existentiel

L'apirophobie est un type de phobie dans lequel le foyer de la peur est une chose totalement abstraite et non un être vivant, un paysage ou un objet spécifique.Cela signifie que cela dépend d'activités liées à l'introspection et à l'imagination, même si ses symptômes ne doivent pas apparaître uniquement lorsque vous réfléchissez en silence et les yeux fermés.

Il y a certaines expériences qui nous entrent par les sens et, dans certains cas, peut nous faire penser à l'infini . Ces stimuli sensoriels dépendent de chaque personne, mais certaines des plus récurrentes sont le ciel, la mer ou les séquences numériques qui ne finissent jamais.

L’apériophobie est vécue comme une sensation de vertige produite par l’idée selon laquelle, au contact de l’infini, il n'y a pas de point d'appui dans lequel la personne peut rester "ancrée" et garder un certain contrôle sur la situation. Cette idée fait que, dans un certain sens, l’agoraphobie ressemble à une vague de peur avant que l’environnement devienne inépuisable et impossible à contrôler.

Traitement

L'apirophobie étant un trouble anxieux causé principalement par des expériences traumatisantes du passé, il est nécessaire de consulter un professionnel de la santé mentale dès que possible. Le thérapie cognitivo-comportementale ou Mindfulness se sont révélés très efficaces pour surmonter ces types de troubles, bien qu'il soit important de garder à l'esprit que les symptômes de l'apirophobie ne disparaissent presque jamais complètement.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ces types de thérapie dans nos articles:

  • Thérapie cognitive comportementale: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes repose-t-elle?
  • Thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience: de quoi s'agit-il?

Bhirawa putra smasa magetan(kuingin kau untukku by j rocks) (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes