yes, therapy helps!
Aphasias: the main language disorders

Aphasias: the main language disorders

May 10, 2021

One of the reasons why neuropsychology is interesting is that it allows us to see to what extent mental processes that seem to be a single thing are, in reality, the result of many different mechanisms that act simultaneously in the human brain. Prosopagnosia, for example, is proof that a person with the ability to see perfectly can become incapable of recognizing human faces.

Although the vision of something that should be familiar and its recognition seems to have to go hand in hand, an injury in certain areas of the brain can make that illusion vanish, by canceling one of these mechanisms and making the other have to keep working without counting on him.


But this does not happen only with the basic mental processes related to perception, but it is also extended to those more related to more abstract thinking. Aphasias, for example, are an example of how certain facets of language use and proficiency , and not others, can be altered from certain lesions in the brain.

What are aphasias?

Aphasias are a set of language disorders caused by brain damage. Unlike what happens with other kinds of language alterations, such as alexia, an aphasia affects both spoken and written language .

A person with aphasia has altered his ability to use language itself, both in the understanding and in the production of this, although he has no perceptual or motor problem that could prevent him from hearing or seeing well or moving the muscles of his mouth to speak .


What causes aphasia?

The variety of brain injuries that can trigger the onset of aphasia (or several types of aphasia at the same time) are very varied, because the network of neurons that have a role in the production or understanding of language is very distributed .

It is generally considered that aphasias occur when an injury interrupts the flow of information through which images and thoughts are passed on to organized linguistic symbols following the language structure (in a similar way to when we notice that we have a word "on the tip of the tongue") or when this brain damage prevents the words heard or read from being transformed into images and thoughts.

However, this is still the result of discussion, since it is not clear to what extent our brain distinguishes between thoughts formulated as part of language and thoughts that exist independently of the languages ‚Äč‚Äčthat are mastered . On the other hand, the concept "aphasia" is quite abstract. What many patients with language disorders present are, rather, types of aphasias.


Types of aphasias

From a practical point of view it is not as useful to talk about the causes of aphasia in general as it is about the different types of aphasia, since this lets you know what happens to each particular patient . In addition, the existence of these different kinds of aphasias allows us to see that in language it is really a puzzle of different mental processes that normally we would not think of considering separately.

Then you can read what these types of aphasias are .

Broca's aphasia

People with Broca's aphasia they have more difficulties in the production of language than in their comprehension. They have a hard time writing and speaking, they take a long time to choose the words they want to say and they also have trouble pronouncing and modulate the tone of voice. The symptoms of this type of aphasia can be detected even by someone who does not understand the patient's language.

Although they have less difficulty understanding texts or oral language compared to their ability to speak and write, people with Broca's aphasia will be unable to literally repeat the phrases or words they hear , regardless of whether they understand them or not.

An example of a fictional character with symptoms similar to the classic picture of Broca's aphasia is Hodor , from the series Game of Thrones and the books Song of Ice and Fire: although he seems to understand what is being said to him, his ability to speak is almost completely nullified.

Wernicke's aphasia

Unlike what happens in the previous type of aphasia, in Wernicke's speech is fluent and it is not difficult to speak with a normal rhythm or even very quickly, maintaining correct pronunciation and intonation .

However, usually the phrases or words produced by a person with Wernicke's aphasia they are not well constructed, since words are often replaced by others belonging to the same semantic field (for example, replacing "oven" with "washing machine"), some phonemes are exchanged for others (change "cat" to "gado") or sentences are built with great syntactic failures in which nothing can be understood because there is no adequate structure and verbs have been replaced by adverbs, nouns by articles, etc.

Further, in this type of aphasia the comprehension of the oral language and the writing is quite altered , as well as the ability to repeat words.

Driving aphasia

If in Broca's and Wernicke's aphasias the injury affects the areas related, respectively, with the production of language and the organization of language to form units with meaning, in the driving aphasia Brain damage affects the networks of neurons that connect these two nuclei of the brain.

That is why a patient with this type of aphasia will have a fluent speech and his ability to understand the language will be preserved in a relatively good state, but you can not literally repeat the words or phrases you hear and see written , since in order to do that they must be intact the circuits that lead from the part of the brain in which the word or phrase is recognized as a whole with meaning to that in which this information is "translated" into speech instructions or writing.

In addition, in this type of aphasia the phrases that are produced also tend to present undue substitutions of phonemes and words.

Global aphasia

Another type of aphasia is global aphasia . Consists in a generalized alteration of the language that seriously affects both the production and the understanding of the language . In general, people with this syndrome can not repeat words or phrases, and in some cases will only be able to say one or a few syllables or words that will repeat regardless of the context.

Transcortical aphasias

The transcortical aphasias they are characterized by maintaining the ability to repeat phrases and words, something that did not happen in the four types of previous aphasias.

Transcortical motor aphasia

In this syndrome there are symptoms similar to those of Broca's aphasia, with non-fluid speech and the ability to understand the most preserved language, but adding the possibility of repeating the phrases you hear or read, no matter how long they are . That is to say, that someone with transcortical motor aphasia is not able to speak spontaneously, but can repeat anything.

Transcortical sensory aphasia

It looks like a version of Wernicke's aphasia in which you can repeat what you hear, but not what you read. Further, Sometimes all kinds of syllables or words that have been heard are repeated involuntarily , phenomenon that is known as ecolalia.

Mixed transcortical aphasia

This type of aphasia is similar to a mild version of the global aphasia in which the ability to repeat is retained, even if what is said is not understood . Echolalia is also common among the typical symptoms of this kind of language alteration.

Anomic aphasia

Unlike what happens with the other types of aphasias, in the anomic aphasia both the production and the understanding of the language can be almost normal, and its main symptom is anomie , that is, the difficulty in finding the right words to say something. People with anomic aphasia tend to use many generic terms like "thing", "that", etc. From time to time these difficulties lead them to use circumlocutions, to try to explain themselves again using alternative phrases or to lengthen a lot what is being said to try to accumulate the details and clues about what is meant.

The language is more complicated than it seems

It is not always easy to identify the types of aphasias that some patients present, since the symptoms can vary a lot and be more or less serious , but in all of them (except in the global) it is clear that behind the use of language there are many parts of the brain more or less specialized in a task and coordinating with each other so that everything works as it should.

Therefore, certain capacities can be lost while others, closely related to the former, are preserved.


Aphasia: Remembering your Words (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage

Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage

Mai 21, 2019

L’une des raisons de l’intérêt de la neuropsychologie est qu’elle permet de voir dans quelle mesure les processus mentaux qui semblent être une seule chose sont, en réalité, le résultat de nombreux mécanismes différents qui agissent simultanément dans le cerveau humain. La prosopagnosie, par exemple, est la preuve qu'une personne capable de voir parfaitement peut devenir incapable de reconnaître les visages humains.

Bien que la vision de quelque chose qui devrait être familier et que sa reconnaissance semble aller de pair, une blessure dans certaines zones du cerveau peut faire disparaître cette illusion en annulant l'un de ces mécanismes et en obligeant l'autre à continuer de fonctionner. sans compter sur lui.


Mais cela ne se produit pas uniquement avec les processus mentaux de base liés à la perception, mais également aux processus plus liés à la pensée plus abstraite. Les aphasies, par exemple, illustrent comment certaines facettes de l’utilisation et de la maîtrise de la langue , et pas d'autres, peuvent être modifiés de certaines lésions dans le cerveau.

Que sont les aphasies?

Les aphasies sont un ensemble de troubles du langage causés par des lésions cérébrales. Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec d’autres altérations du langage, telles que l’alexie, une aphasie affecte les langues parlées et écrites .

Une personne aphasique a modifié sa capacité à utiliser le langage lui-même, tant pour le comprendre que pour le produire, bien qu'elle n'ait aucun problème de perception ou de moteur susceptible de l'empêcher d'entendre ou de bien voir ou de bouger les muscles de sa bouche pour parler. .


Qu'est-ce qui cause l'aphasie?

La variété de lésions cérébrales pouvant déclencher l’apparition de l’aphasie (ou plusieurs types d’aphasie en même temps) est très variée, car le réseau de neurones jouant un rôle dans la production ou la compréhension du langage est très distribué .

On considère généralement que les aphasies se produisent lorsqu'une blessure interrompt le flux d'informations par lequel des images et des pensées sont transmises à des symboles linguistiques organisés suivant la structure du langage (de la même manière que lorsque nous remarquons un mot "sur le bout de la langue") ou lorsque cette lésion cérébrale empêche les mots entendus ou lus de se transformer en images et en pensées.

Cependant, cela reste le résultat de la discussion, puisque il n'est pas clair dans quelle mesure notre cerveau distingue les pensées formulées en tant que parties du langage et les pensées qui existent indépendamment des langues maîtrisées . Par ailleurs, le concept "aphasie" est assez abstrait. De nombreux patients présentant des troubles du langage sont plutôt des types d'aphasies.


Types d'aphasies

D'un point de vue pratique, il n'est pas aussi utile de parler des causes de l'aphasie en général que des différents types d'aphasie, car cela vous permet de savoir ce qu'il advient de chaque patient . De plus, l’existence de ces différents types d’aphasies nous permet de voir que, dans le langage, c’est vraiment un casse-tête de processus mentaux différents que nous ne penserions pas normalement à considérer séparément.

Ensuite vous pouvez lire ce que sont ces types d'aphasies .

Aphasie de Broca

Personnes avec Aphasie de Broca ils ont plus de difficultés dans la production du langage que dans leur compréhension. Ils ont du mal à écrire et à parler, il leur faut beaucoup de temps pour choisir les mots qu'ils veulent dire et ils ont aussi du mal à prononcer et moduler le ton de la voix. Les symptômes de ce type d'aphasie peuvent être détectés même par une personne qui ne comprend pas la langue du patient.

Bien qu'ils aient moins de difficulté à comprendre les textes ou le langage oral par rapport à leur capacité de parler et d'écrire, les personnes souffrant d'aphasie de Broca sera incapable de répéter littéralement les phrases ou les mots qu'ils entendent , peu importe s'ils les comprennent ou non.

Un exemple de personnage fictif présentant des symptômes similaires à l'image classique de l'aphasie de Broca est Hodor , de la série Game of Thrones et les livres Chant de glace et de feu: bien qu'il semble comprendre ce qu'on lui dit, sa capacité de parler est presque complètement annulée.

Aphasie de Wernicke

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans le type d’aphasie précédent, chez Wernicke la parole est fluide et il n'est pas difficile de parler avec un rythme normal ou même très rapidement, en maintenant une prononciation et une intonation correctes .

Cependant, généralement les phrases ou les mots produits par une personne Aphasie de Wernicke ils ne sont pas bien construits, car les mots sont souvent remplacés par des mots appartenant au même champ sémantique (par exemple, en remplaçant "four" par "machine à laver"), certains phonèmes sont échangés contre d'autres (changez "cat" en "gado") ou les phrases sont construites avec de grands ratés syntaxiques dans lesquels rien ne peut être compris car il n'y a pas de structure adéquate et les verbes ont été remplacés par des adverbes, des noms par des articles, etc.

En outre, dans ce type d'aphasie, la compréhension de la langue orale et l'écriture sont assez altérées , ainsi que la capacité de répéter des mots.

Aphasie motrice

Si dans les aphasies de Broca et de Wernicke, la blessure affecte les domaines liés respectivement à la production du langage et à l'organisation du langage pour former des unités ayant un sens, aphasie motrice Les lésions cérébrales affectent les réseaux de neurones qui relient ces deux noyaux du cerveau.

C’est la raison pour laquelle un patient souffrant de ce type d’aphasie parlera couramment et que sa capacité à comprendre la langue sera préservée dans un état relativement bon. vous ne pouvez pas répéter littéralement les mots ou les phrases que vous entendez et voyez écrits car, pour cela, ils doivent être intacts les circuits qui mènent de la partie du cerveau dans laquelle le mot ou la phrase est reconnu (e) dans son ensemble avec un sens à celui dans lequel cette information est "traduite" en instructions de parole en écrivant.

En outre, dans ce type d’aphasie, les phrases produites ont également tendance à présenter des substitutions indues de phonèmes et de mots.

Aphasie globale

Un autre type d'aphasie est aphasie globale . Consiste en une altération généralisée de la langue qui affecte sérieusement à la fois la production et la compréhension de la langue . En général, les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome ne peuvent pas répéter des mots ou des phrases et, dans certains cas, ne peuvent dire qu'une ou plusieurs syllabes ou des mots qui se répètent quel que soit le contexte.

Aphasies transcorticales

Le aphasies transcorticales ils se caractérisent par le maintien de la capacité de répéter des phrases et des mots, ce qui n’est pas arrivé dans les quatre types d’aphasie antérieurs.

Aphasie motrice transcorticale

Dans ce syndrome, il existe des symptômes similaires à ceux de l'aphasie de Broca, avec un langage non fluide et la capacité de comprendre le langage le plus préservé, mais en ajoutant la possibilité de répéter les phrases que vous entendez ou lisez, peu importe combien de temps elles sont . C'est-à-dire qu'une personne souffrant d'aphasie motrice transcorticale ne peut pas parler spontanément, mais peut tout répéter.

Aphasie transcorticale sensorielle

Cela ressemble à une version de l'aphasie de Wernicke dans laquelle vous pouvez répéter ce que vous entendez, mais pas ce que vous lisez. En outre, Parfois, toutes sortes de syllabes ou de mots entendus sont répétés involontairement , phénomène connu sous le nom de ecolalia.

Aphasie transcorticale mixte

Ce type d’aphasie est semblable à une version modérée de l’aphasie globale dans laquelle la capacité de répéter est conservée, même si ce que l'on dit n'est pas compris . L'écholalie est également fréquente parmi les symptômes typiques de ce type d'altération de la langue.

Aphasie anomique

Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec les autres types d’aphasie, dans les aphasie anomique la production et la compréhension de la langue peuvent être presque normales, et son symptôme principal est l'anomie , c’est-à-dire la difficulté de trouver les mots justes pour dire quelque chose. Les personnes souffrant d'aphasie anomique ont tendance à utiliser de nombreux termes génériques tels que "chose", "ça", etc. De temps en temps, ces difficultés les amènent à recourir à des circonlocutions, à tenter de s'expliquer à nouveau en utilisant des phrases alternatives ou à prolonger beaucoup ce qui est dit pour essayer d'accumuler les détails et les indices sur ce que l'on veut dire.

Le langage est plus compliqué qu'il n'y paraît

Il n’est pas toujours facile d’identifier les types d’aphasies que certains patients présentent, car les symptômes peuvent varier beaucoup et être plus ou moins graves , mais dans chacun d’entre eux (sauf dans l’ensemble du monde), il est clair que derrière l’utilisation du langage, il existe de nombreuses parties du cerveau plus ou moins spécialisées dans une tâche et se coordonnant les unes avec les autres pour que tout fonctionne comme il se doit.

Par conséquent, certaines capacités peuvent être perdues tandis que d'autres, étroitement liées aux anciennes, sont préservées.


Le retard de langage ou trouble de langage chez l'enfant: réponses d'une orthophoniste (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes