yes, therapy helps!
Appendicitis: symptoms, causes, treatment and psychological attention

Appendicitis: symptoms, causes, treatment and psychological attention

July 13, 2024

Appendicitis is one of the most common reasons for surgery among young people. It is an inflammation that, if not treated in time, can lead to death, which requires urgent medical intervention.

Next we will see the Symptoms, causes and treatment of appendicitis , as well as its general characteristics and the approach with which psychological accompaniment is carried out.

  • You may be interested: "Celiac symptoms: what are they and how are they handled?"

What is appendicitis?

Appendicitis is a type of infection that appears in the appendix, an area of ​​the large intestine located in what is known as "blind" , which is the end where it communicates with the small intestine. It is a small elongated chamber with a single entrance in the form of a deflated balloon.


It is a part of the digestive system that, despite not being important to maintain a correct level of health, can be infected with relative ease.

Causes of this infection

The infection by appendicitis occurs, normally, when a set of feces remains obstructing the appendix and blocks it for a long time. However, it is also possible that the problem originates with a tumor in the area, worms that parasitize the intestines or even traumas that affect that stretch of the digestive tract.

The infection starts when from the intestinal mucosa begins to appear an accumulation of secretions , which causes the pressure inside this cavity to increase. This presses the surrounding veins and arteries, which causes ischemia to occur in the appendix tissue and start a bacterial battle that leads to infection.


On the other hand, the accumulation of pus in this part of the large intestine can cause the appendix to break , thus generating a peritonitis (the peritoneum is a membrane that covers and protects part of the viscera.

  • Related article: "20 recommended medicine books for curious people"

symptom

The symptoms of appendicitis begin in the form of moderate pain in the part of the navel, which may be accompanied by occasional cramping. After a few hours, this pain moves down and to the right side of the lower abdomen, several centimeters above the groin (in that half of the body).

As well there is usually a high or moderate fever and typical symptoms of gastroenteritis.

Diagnosis

The diagnosis is made by obtaining data through several routes. Mainly, these consist of:

  • Abdominal palpation
  • Blood, urine and stool tests
  • Ultrasound and abdominal CT
  • Information revealed by the patients, referred to the pain experienced (in normal situations and during palpation).

You have to bear in mind that no diagnostic method is infallible by itself , and that is why it is important to keep in mind that these data are always combined and at the same time the possibility of treating another disease, such as gastroenteritis, is valued.


Treatment

Once appendicitis has occurred and it has been identified as such, all possible medical interventions go through surgery . The procedure consists, fundamentally, in extirpating the inflamed appendix as the liquid that has been concentrated around it. If peritonitis has also been generated, it is usually necessary to leave the wound open to carry out a general washing of the area and close later by sewing.

It is important to perform the surgical procedure as soon as possible. prevent the appendix from getting punctured , which could lead to a chain reaction of infections, multiple organ failure and death.

  • You may be interested: "Hepatic steatosis (fatty liver): causes, symptoms and types"

Psychological support of the patient

Given the frequency with which appendicitis occurs among young people, it is very possible that the patient feels scared and intimidated by pain and fever as well as by the prospect of undergoing surgery in a delicate area of ​​the body. , in one of your vital organs.

That is why it is of great importance, first of all, inform about the nature of appendicitis , a disease that if treated in time will not go away, but that must be attended urgently-

It should also be noted that the removal of the appendix, despite affecting an area as important as the large intestine, does not significantly affect the quality of life, and that after the operation will continue to be normal life.

On the other hand, it is also necessary to report that the surgical intervention will leave a scar of several centimeters (normally, 3 or 4) in the lower abdomen, on the right, diagonally. It is an area that can be exposed with certain pieces of usual clothing, as well as swimsuit.

This can damage the self-image if you have very high expectations that the surgery will leave everything as it was, and that is why you have to propose the intervention in another way: as a measure that, despite offering a high percentage of guarantee of success, is urgent and is done to avoid very severe problems that could lead to death.

  • Related article: "Self-concept: what is it and how is it formed?"

Parkinson's & The Appendix - Does Your Appendix Put Your Brain At Risk? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Appendicite: symptômes, causes, traitement et attention psychologique

Appendicite: symptômes, causes, traitement et attention psychologique

Avril 15, 2021

L'appendicite est l'une des raisons les plus courantes de la chirurgie chez les jeunes. C'est une inflammation qui, si elle n'est pas traitée à temps, peut entraîner la mort, ce qui nécessite une intervention médicale urgente.

Ensuite nous verrons le Symptômes, causes et traitement de l'appendicite , ainsi que ses caractéristiques générales et l’approche avec laquelle l’accompagnement psychologique est réalisé.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les symptômes de la maladie cœliaque: qu'est-ce qu'ils sont et comment sont-ils traités?"

Qu'est-ce que l'appendicite?

L'appendicite est un type d'infection qui apparaît dans l'annexe, une région du gros intestin située dans ce qu'on appelle "aveugle" , qui est la fin où il communique avec le petit intestin. C'est une petite chambre allongée avec une seule entrée sous la forme d'un ballon dégonflé.


C'est une partie du système digestif qui, même si elle n'est pas importante pour maintenir un niveau de santé correct, peut être infectée avec une relative facilité.

Causes de cette infection

L'infection par appendicite se produit, normalement, lorsqu'un ensemble de matières fécales obstrue l'appendice et le bloque pendant une longue période. Cependant, il est également possible que le problème provienne d'une tumeur dans la région, de vers parasitant les intestins ou même de traumatismes affectant ce tronçon du tube digestif.

L'infection commence quand de la muqueuse intestinale commence à apparaître une accumulation de sécrétions , ce qui provoque une augmentation de la pression à l'intérieur de cette cavité. Cela exerce une pression sur les veines et les artères environnantes, ce qui provoque une ischémie dans le tissu appendiculaire et déclenche une bataille bactérienne menant à une infection.


D'autre part, l'accumulation de pus dans cette partie du gros intestin peut causer la rupture de l'appendice , générant ainsi une péritonite (le péritoine est une membrane qui recouvre et protège une partie des viscères.

  • Article connexe: "20 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

Les symptômes

Les symptômes de l'appendicite commencent par une douleur modérée dans la région du nombril, qui peut être accompagnée de crampes occasionnelles. Après quelques heures, cette douleur descend vers le bas côté droit de l'abdomen, à plusieurs centimètres de l'aine (dans cette moitié du corps).

Aussi il y a habituellement une fièvre élevée ou modérée et symptômes typiques de la gastro-entérite.

Diagnostic

Le diagnostic est réalisé en obtenant des données par plusieurs voies. Ils consistent principalement en:

  • Palpation abdominale
  • Analyses de sang, d'urine et de selles
  • Échographie et scanner abdominal
  • Informations révélées par les patients, rapportées à la douleur ressentie (en situation normale et lors de la palpation).

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que aucune méthode de diagnostic n'est infaillible en soi C’est pourquoi il est important de garder à l’esprit que ces données sont toujours combinées et que l’éventualité de traiter une autre maladie, telle que la gastro-entérite, est également valorisée.


Traitement

Une fois l'appendicite apparue et identifiée comme telle, toutes les interventions médicales possibles passent par une chirurgie . La procédure consiste fondamentalement à extirper l'appendice enflammé sous le nom de liquide qui s'est concentré autour de celui-ci. Si une péritonite a également été générée, il est généralement nécessaire de laisser la plaie ouverte pour procéder à un lavage général de la zone et de refermer plus tard par couture.

Il est important d’effectuer l’opération chirurgicale le plus tôt possible. empêcher l'appendice de se perforer pouvant entraîner une réaction en chaîne d’infections, une défaillance multiviscérale et la mort.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Stéatose hépatique (stéatose hépatique): causes, symptômes et types"

Soutien psychologique du patient

Étant donné la fréquence d'appendicite chez les jeunes, il est fort possible que le patient se sente effrayé et intimidé par la douleur et la fièvre, ainsi que par la perspective de subir une intervention chirurgicale dans une région délicate du corps. , dans l'un de vos organes vitaux.

C’est pourquoi il est primordial, tout d’abord, informer sur la nature de l'appendicite , une maladie qui, si elle est traitée à temps ne disparaîtra pas, mais qui doit être soignée de toute urgence -

Il convient également de noter que le retrait de l'annexe, bien qu'il affecte une zone aussi importante que le gros intestin, n'affecte pas de manière significative la qualité de la vie et qu'après l'opération restera une vie normale.

D'autre part, il est également nécessaire de signaler que l'intervention chirurgicale laissera une cicatrice de plusieurs centimètres (normalement 3 ou 4) dans le bas de l'abdomen, à droite, en diagonale. C'est une zone qui peut être exposée avec certains vêtements ordinaires, ainsi que le maillot de bain.

Cela peut nuire à l'image de soi si vous attendez beaucoup de la chirurgie, et vous devez donc proposer l'intervention d'une autre manière: en tant que mesure qui, malgré un pourcentage élevé garantie de succès, est urgente et vise à éviter des problèmes très graves pouvant entraîner la mort.

  • Article connexe: "Concept de soi: de quoi s'agit-il et comment se forme-t-il?"

* La diverticulose colique * (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes