yes, therapy helps!
Arbitrary inference: characteristics of this cognitive bias

Arbitrary inference: characteristics of this cognitive bias

June 11, 2024

Each of us has its own way of seeing the world, of explaining ourselves and the reality that surrounds us. We observe and receive the data of the environment through our senses, to later give them a meaning, interpret them and react to them.

But in the interpretation come into play a lot of mental processes: we use our mental schemes, our beliefs, our knowledge and previous experiences to give them a sense. And sometimes, our interpretation is biased and distorted for some reason. One of the biases that we usually apply in our day to day is the arbitrary inference .

  • Related article: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

Cognitive biases

The arbitrary inference is one of the different biases or cognitive distortions, which are understood as that type of error in which the subject interprets reality in a wrong way as a result of beliefs derived from experiences or processing patterns learned throughout life .


For example, cognitive distortions are what cause prejudice and stereotypes to exist, or misinterpret the intentions of others towards us or that only consider one or two possible solutions to the same problem instead of thinking about intermediate or different solutions.

The individual generates an explanation of the world or of himself based on false premises , which may cause him to make various interpretive errors and which may have consequences in his way of acting. Among these biases we can find selective abstraction, dichotomous thinking, personalization, overgeneralization, minimization or maximization or arbitrary inference.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies"

The arbitrary inference

When we speak of arbitrary inference we are talking about the type of cognitive distortion in which the subject reaches a certain conclusion about an event without there being data to support this conclusion or even in the presence of information contrary to it.

The person in question does not use the available evidence, but quickly jumps to interpret the situation in a certain way, often due to their own expectations, beliefs or previous experiences.

For example, we think that someone wants to harm us and discredit us because he has disagreed with our opinion, that we will suspend an exam regardless of what we study, that a person wants to sleep with us because he smiled at us or that a specific number is more or less chances of winning the lottery than another because that number coincides with the day of a birthday or anniversary.


Arbitrary inference is a very common mistake in most people, and serves as a cognitive shortcut that allows us to save energy and time to process information in more detail. Sometimes it is even possible that we reach a correct conclusion, but it would not have been drawn from the information available.

Influence on mental disorders

Arbitrary inference is a type of cognitive distortion that we all can commit and commit from time to time. However, its habitual appearance can bias our behavior and our way of interpreting reality .

Along with the rest of cognitive distortions, the arbitrary inference appears as a distortion that participates in generating and maintaining maladaptive thought patterns in multiple mental disorders.

1. Depression

From the cognitive-behavioral perspective, specifically from the cognitive theory of Beck, it is considered that the cognitive alterations of depressive patients are generated by the activation of negative and dysfunctional thinking schemes, these thoughts being due to cognitive distortions such as arbitrary inference.

These distortions in turn cause the problem to be maintained because they hinder alternative interpretations. For example, a patient may think that he is useless and that he will not get anywhere even though there is information pointing to the opposite.

2. Psychotic disorders

One of the most well-known symptoms of psychotic disorders is the existence of hallucinations and delusions . Although the latter can be more or less systematized, the fact is that different aspects that could contradict the subject's belief are not taken into account and it is common for an intention or fact to be inferred arbitrarily from another that does not have to have any bonding For example, the idea that they are persecuting us can start from the observation of a subject who is nervous on the street.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 most curious and striking types of delusions"

3.Disorders linked to anxiety and phobias

Anxiety is another problem linked to cognitive distortions such as arbitrary inference. In anxiety panic emerges in anticipation of possible harm , prejudice or situation that may or may not occur in the future.

As with anxiety, in phobias there is a stimulus, group of stimuli or situations that cause us panic. This panic can come from the belief that if we approach that stimulus we will suffer damage. For example, arbitrarily inferring that if a dog approaches it will bite me.

4. Personality disorders

Personality is the relatively stable and consistent pattern of ways of thinking, interpreting and acting before ourselves and the world. In many personality disorders, such as the paranoid, there are biased interpretations of reality which may be due to processes such as arbitrary inference.

Solution through therapies?

Although arbitrary inference is not a disorder, in cases where it appears in a context of psychopathology in which the problem is created or maintained, it is necessary to reduce or eliminate the bias that this cognitive distortion causes.

Cognitive restructuring is often used for this purpose as a method by which the patient fights thoughts derived from arbitrary inference and other distortions and learns not to make such distortions. It is about helping to find alternatives equally valid to one's own, to discuss what causes such thoughts or what they are based on, to search and contrast the available information.

Bibliographic references:

  • Beck, A. (1976). Cognitive Therapy and the emotional disorders. International University Press. New York
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Yurita, C.L. and DiTomasso, R.A. (2004). Cognitive Distortions. In A. Freeman, S.H. Felgoise, A.M. Nezu, C.M. Nezu, M.A. Reinecke (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy. 117-121. Springer

Arbitrary inference (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Inférence arbitraire: caractéristiques de ce biais cognitif

Inférence arbitraire: caractéristiques de ce biais cognitif

Juillet 24, 2022

Chacun de nous a sa propre façon de voir le monde, de s’expliquer et de comprendre la réalité qui nous entoure. Nous observons et recevons les données de l'environnement à travers nos sens, pour leur donner plus tard un sens, les interpréter et y réagir.

Mais dans l'interprétation entrent en jeu de nombreux processus mentaux: nous utilisons nos schémas mentaux, nos croyances, nos connaissances et nos expériences antérieures pour leur donner un sens. Et parfois, notre interprétation est biaisée et déformée pour une raison quelconque. L’un des biais que nous appliquons habituellement au quotidien est l’inférence arbitraire .

  • Article connexe: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

Biais cognitifs

L'inférence arbitraire est l'un des différents biais ou distorsions cognitives, qui sont compris comme ce type d'erreur dans lequel le sujet interprète la réalité de manière erronée à la suite de: croyances dérivées d'expériences ou de modèles de traitement appris au cours de la vie .


Par exemple, les distorsions cognitives sont à l’origine des préjugés et des stéréotypes, ou mal interprètent les intentions des autres à notre égard ou ne considèrent que l’une ou deux solutions possibles au même problème au lieu de penser à solutions intermédiaires ou différentes.

L'individu génère une explication du monde ou de lui-même basée sur de fausses prémisses , ce qui peut le conduire à commettre diverses erreurs d’interprétation et avoir des conséquences sur sa façon d’agir. Parmi ces biais, on trouve l'abstraction sélective, la pensée dichotomique, la personnalisation, la généralisation excessive, la minimisation ou la maximisation ou l'inférence arbitraire.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives"

L'inférence arbitraire

Lorsque nous parlons d'inférence arbitraire, nous parlons du type de distorsion cognitive dans lequel le sujet tire une certaine conclusion d'un événement sans qu'il y ait de données à l'appui de cette conclusion ou même en présence d'informations contraires à celui-ci.

La personne en question n'utilise pas les preuves disponibles, mais saute rapidement pour interpréter la situation d'une certaine manière, souvent en raison de leurs propres attentes, croyances ou expériences antérieures.

Par exemple, nous pensons que quelqu'un veut nous faire du mal et nous discréditer parce qu'il est en désaccord avec notre opinion, que nous allons suspendre un examen indépendamment de ce que nous étudions, qu'une personne veut dormir avec nous parce qu'il nous a souri ou qu'un nombre donné est plus ou moins les chances de gagner à la loterie que les autres car ce nombre coïncide avec le jour d'un anniversaire ou d'un anniversaire.


L'inférence arbitraire est une erreur très commune dans la plupart des gens, et sert de raccourci cognitif qui nous permet d'économiser de l'énergie et du temps pour traiter les informations plus en détail. Parfois, il est même possible que nous arrivions à une conclusion correcte, mais celle-ci n'aurait pas été tirée des informations disponibles.

Influence sur les troubles mentaux

L'inférence arbitraire est un type de distorsion cognitive que nous pouvons tous commettre et commettre de temps à autre. Cependant, son apparence habituelle peut biaiser notre comportement et notre façon d'interpréter la réalité .

Avec le reste des distorsions cognitives, l'inférence arbitraire apparaît comme une distorsion participant à la génération et au maintien de schémas de pensée mésadaptés dans de multiples troubles mentaux.

1. dépression

Du point de vue cognitif et comportemental, en particulier de la théorie cognitive de Beck, il est considéré que les altérations cognitives des patients dépressifs sont générées par l’activation de schémas de pensée négatifs et dysfonctionnels, ces pensées étant dues à des distorsions cognitives telles que l’inférence arbitraire.

Ces distorsions provoquent à leur tour le maintien du problème parce qu'ils empêchent d'autres interprétations. Par exemple, un patient peut penser qu'il est inutile et qu'il n'ira nulle part même s'il existe des informations indiquant le contraire.

2. Troubles psychotiques

L'un des symptômes les plus connus des troubles psychotiques est l'existence d'hallucinations et de délires . Bien que ces derniers puissent être plus ou moins systématisés, le fait est que différents aspects qui pourraient contredire la croyance du sujet ne sont pas pris en compte et il est courant qu'une intention ou un fait soit déduit arbitrairement d'un autre ne nécessitant aucune collage Par exemple, l'idée qu'ils nous persécutent peut partir de l'observation d'un sujet nerveux dans la rue.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus frappants"

3Troubles liés à l'anxiété et aux phobies

L’anxiété est un autre problème lié aux distorsions cognitives telles que l’inférence arbitraire. Dans l'anxiété la panique émerge en prévision d'un possible préjudice , préjudice ou situation pouvant ou non se produire à l'avenir.

Comme dans le cas de l’anxiété, il existe dans les phobies un stimulus, un groupe de stimuli ou des situations qui nous provoquent la panique. Cette panique peut provenir de la conviction que si nous nous approchons de ce stimulus, nous subirons des dommages. Par exemple, en déduisant arbitrairement que si un chien s'approche, il me mordra.

4. Troubles de la personnalité

La personnalité est le modèle relativement stable et cohérent de façons de penser, d'interpréter et d'agir devant soi et devant le monde. Dans de nombreux troubles de la personnalité, tels que le paranoïaque, il y a des interprétations biaisées de la réalité ce qui peut être dû à des processus tels que l'inférence arbitraire.

Solution à travers les thérapies?

Bien que l'inférence arbitraire ne soit pas un trouble, dans les cas où elle apparaît dans un contexte psychopathologique dans lequel le problème est créé ou maintenu, il est nécessaire de réduire ou d'éliminer le biais que cette distorsion cognitive provoque.

La restructuration cognitive est souvent utilisée à cette fin comme méthode par laquelle le patient combat les pensées dérivées d'inférences arbitraires et d'autres distorsions et apprend à ne pas faire de telles distorsions. Il s’agit d’aider à trouver des alternatives tout aussi valables que les siennes, de discuter des causes de telles pensées ou de ce sur quoi elles sont fondées, de rechercher et de mettre en contraste les informations disponibles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Beck, A. (1976). Thérapie cognitive et les troubles émotionnels. Presse universitaire internationale. New York
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Yurita, C.L. et DiTomasso, R.A. (2004). Distorsions cognitives. Dans A. Freeman, S.H. Felgoise, A.M. Nezu, C.M. Nezu, M.A. Reinecke (Eds.), Encyclopédie de la thérapie comportementale cognitive. 117-121. Springer

The Zeitgeist Movement - Orientation Presentation (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes