yes, therapy helps!
Are the veil and the burka forms of oppression for women?

Are the veil and the burka forms of oppression for women?

January 25, 2022

In the last decade there has been a meteoric spike in the use of the veil in Muslim communities and countries . Countries of a secular nature such as Egypt, Lebanon or Tunisia have seen an increase in the frequency with which women wear Islamic clothing, especially among new generations of young people who, a priori, should have a more Western social approach.

The veil has become a claim for some feminist organizations, which perceive it as the last element that men use to nullify the personality, identity and integrity of women. Other collectives, Muslim or not, defend the freedom for Muslim women to dress their clothes with the veil , as long as this election is free and does not come from an imposition, of course.


The burqa is also associated with certain forms of Muslim faith, and its use has also generated controversy. Is it the use of the veil and the burka an effect of oppression against women ?

  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

Islam and the veil

As bizarre as it may be, within the same scholars and specialists in interpretation of the Koran there are divergences when it comes to analyzing the attire to be worn by the female faithful.

In one of the verses or suras of the Holy Qur'an, surah 24:31 An-Nur, it is stated: "[...] and tell the faithful women to spread their jumur on their heads [...]". Jumur is translated by veil, mantilla, handkerchief, curtain among others. The etymology comes from the intention to veil , ensure the physical integrity of women against the provocative and adulterous looks of the male sex.


In this sense, complexity does not result from whether to cover the head or not, but what limits can be placed on the diameter or dimensions to be covered. Thus, in different countries we find different ways of covering ourselves with the veil , where you can see a small percentage of visible hair, the total coverage or half of the hair outdoors.

The Burka and female integrity

The burka piece, on the other hand, does have a more controversial origin . Without going any further, in some Islamic countries it is rejected outright and banned by legislation, such as Iran or Kuwait, where at least it must be able to show the female face for security reasons.

In this case, the burka does respond to a subjective interpretation of some Islamic societies like the Afghan one, of millenary tribes that understand that the totality of the feminine figure is beauty, which makes it necessary to fully cover your physique . In Pakistan, the use of such attire is also quite common, which is important given the large population of the country.


Oppression or freedom?

The controversy always extends around the use and its hidden meaning. Should the burka be banned? And the veil? Religious and image freedom rejects any debate, with the exception of some current amendment related to security, as long as all citizens must be able to be identified .

Any act of voluntariness must not suppose the conceptual punishment of oppression, since the freedom of choice should not burden the debate with value judgments, demonizing a purely individual decision. For some Muslim women, the fact of feeling obligated to uncover supposes the oppression itself .

Does the veil complement suppose oppression or freedom? In any case, that the affected decide, those interested in taking it or those who are thinking about it. If we put another example of different clothing, we found the Indian chador, which covers 90% of the woman's body equally , avoiding to mark the feminine silhouette. Who puts the cry in heaven for it? It is clear that there is an implicit cultural bias at stake, another thing is that its existence accounts for all the controversy that arose around this type of clothing for women.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

The Burkini, solution or problem?

The burkini is an aquatic garment that was invented in 2003 in Australia to, precisely, solve all the conflicts created for women who yearned to be able to bathe without having to uncover. The author of the design, Aheda Zanetti declared on the BBC: "I invented the burkini to bring cultures together, and that seems to bother someone".

The prohibition of burkini in the country of egalitè, libertè et fraternitè, it has been another hard setback to the conflict that already existed with the veil or burka . To do this, we can expose another analogy that serves to clear up doubts.The surfer neoprene suit covers from the neck to the ankle, for both men and women.

While the veil or the burka are everyday, it seems strange that a garment that is used from time to time generates so much or more controversy. But in reality it is not: the debate comes from the difference between the male and female swimsuit, and the possibility that religion, in the form of patriarchal imposition, condition the thought of Muslim women and those of other religious beliefs.

It can be said that this invention has been one more advance for the integrity of women that so many Western feminist collectives claim. Participation in the Olympics, regional international championships or the participation of women's water sports in Islamic countries would have occurred, among other things, thanks to garments such as burkini.

However, it can also be said that until now the female representation of these countries was limited by the material and ideological impositions that have been articulated through, among other things, the interpretation of the Qur'an. There is a lot of debate ahead.


Muslim Explains Why She Wears the Veil (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le voile et la burka sont-ils des formes d'oppression pour les femmes?

Le voile et la burka sont-ils des formes d'oppression pour les femmes?

Janvier 21, 2023

Au cours de la dernière décennie, il y a eu un pic météorique dans l'utilisation du voile dans les communautés et les pays musulmans . Des pays à caractère laïc tels que l'Égypte, le Liban ou la Tunisie ont constaté une augmentation de la fréquence à laquelle les femmes portent des vêtements islamiques, en particulier parmi les nouvelles générations de jeunes qui devraient, a priori, adopter une approche sociale plus occidentale.

Le voile est devenu une revendication pour certaines organisations féministes, qui le perçoivent comme le dernier élément utilisé par les hommes pour annuler la personnalité, l'identité et l'intégrité des femmes. D'autres collectifs, musulmans ou non, défendent la liberté pour les femmes musulmanes d'habiller leurs vêtements avec le voile , tant que cette élection est libre et ne provient pas d'une imposition, bien sûr.


La burqa est également associée à certaines formes de confession musulmane et son utilisation a également suscité des controverses. Est-ce l'usage du voile et de la burka un effet d'oppression contre les femmes ?

  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

L'islam et le voile

Aussi étrange que cela puisse paraître, au sein des mêmes spécialistes et spécialistes de l'interprétation du Coran, il existe des divergences quant à l'analyse de la tenue vestimentaire des fidèles.

Dans l'un des versets ou sourates du Saint Coran, la sourate 24:31 An-Nur, il est dit: "[...] et dites aux femmes fidèles de se répandre sur la tête [...]". Jumur se traduit par voile, mantille, mouchoir, rideau parmi d'autres. L'étymologie vient de l'intention de voiler , garantissent l’intégrité physique des femmes contre les regards provocateurs et adultères du sexe masculin.


En ce sens, la complexité ne découle pas du fait de couvrir la tête ou non, mais des limites qui peuvent être imposées au diamètre ou aux dimensions à couvrir. Pour lui, dans différents pays, nous trouvons différentes façons de nous couvrir avec le voile , où vous pouvez voir un petit pourcentage de cheveux visibles, la couverture totale ou la moitié des cheveux à l’extérieur.

La burka et l'intégrité féminine

La pièce de burka, en revanche, a une origine plus controversée . Sans aller plus loin, dans certains pays islamiques, il est totalement rejeté et interdit par des lois telles que l'Iran ou le Koweït, où il doit au moins pouvoir montrer son visage à des femmes pour des raisons de sécurité.

Dans ce cas, la burka répond effectivement à une interprétation subjective de certaines sociétés islamiques comme l’Afghanistan, des tribus millénaires qui comprennent que la totalité de la figure féminine est la beauté, qui rend nécessaire de couvrir complètement votre corps . Au Pakistan, le port de tels vêtements est également assez courant, ce qui est important compte tenu de la grande population du pays.


Oppression ou liberté?

La controverse s'étend toujours autour de l'utilisation et de son sens caché. La burka devrait-elle être interdite? Et le voile? La liberté de religion et d’image rejette tout débat, à l’exception de certains amendements en cours relatifs à la sécurité, tant que tous les citoyens doivent pouvoir être identifiés .

Aucun acte volontaire ne doit supposer une punition conceptuelle de l'oppression, car la liberté de choix ne doit pas alourdir le débat avec des jugements de valeur, diabolisant une décision purement individuelle. Pour certaines femmes musulmanes, le fait de se sentir obligé de découvrir suppose l'oppression elle-même .

Le complément voile suppose-t-il oppression ou liberté? Dans tous les cas, ce sont les personnes concernées qui décident, ceux qui sont intéressés à le prendre ou ceux qui y réfléchissent. Si nous mettons un autre exemple de vêtements différents, nous avons trouvé le tchador indien, qui couvre également 90% du corps de la femme en évitant de marquer la silhouette féminine. Qui met le cri au ciel pour cela? Il est clair qu'il y a un biais culturel implicite en jeu. Autre chose, son existence est à l'origine de toute la controverse entourant ce type de vêtement féminin.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Le burkini, solution ou problème?

Le burkini est un vêtement aquatique qui a été inventé en Australie en 2003 pour résoudre avec précision tous les conflits créés pour les femmes qui aspiraient à pouvoir se baigner sans avoir à découvrir. L'auteur de la conception, Aheda Zanetti, a déclaré à la BBC: "J'ai inventé le burkini pour rapprocher les cultures, et cela semble déranger quelqu'un".

L'interdiction de burkini dans le pays d'égalitè, libertè et fraternitè, il a été un autre revers difficile au conflit qui existait déjà avec le voile ou la burka . Pour ce faire, nous pouvons exposer une autre analogie qui dissipe les doutes.Le costume de néoprène de surfeur couvre le cou jusqu'à la cheville, pour les hommes et les femmes.

Bien que le voile ou la burka soient quotidiens, il semble étrange qu'un vêtement utilisé de temps en temps génère autant ou plus de controverse. Mais en réalité ce n’est pas le cas: le débat vient de la différence entre le maillot de bain masculin et féminin, et de la possibilité que la religion, sous forme d'imposition patriarcale, conditionne la pensée femmes musulmanes et d’autres croyances religieuses.

On peut dire que cette invention a été une avancée de plus pour l'intégrité des femmes revendiquée par tant de collectifs féministes occidentaux. La participation aux Jeux olympiques, aux championnats internationaux régionaux ou aux sports nautiques féminins dans les pays islamiques aurait eu lieu, entre autres, grâce à des vêtements tels que le burkini.

Cependant, on peut aussi dire que jusqu'à présent la représentation féminine de ces pays était limitée par les impositions matérielles et idéologiques qui avaient été articulées, entre autres, dans l'interprétation du Coran. Il y a beaucoup de débats à venir.


A Feminist's Choice to Wear the Hijab | Attiya Latif | TEDxUVA (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes