yes, therapy helps!
Are you dating the right person? 6 keys to find out

Are you dating the right person? 6 keys to find out

November 29, 2021

Love is one of the most rewarding experiences that a human being can feel, and having a special person with whom to share both good and bad times can make us immensely happy. Vto see the day to day with that person that we consider unique and wonderful, and to wake up by his side helps us to feel full .

But not every day will be incredible, because relationships are a constant negotiation. There are difficult days and complicated periods in which the stability of the couple is in danger and the relationship falters. In those moments one can think that it is better to throw everything away, and rethink the meaning and the question of whether we are with the right person or not.


Following or leaving a relationship is a decision that is hard to make, especially if we have been with that person for a long time, because a cocktail of emotions comes into play, which can be difficult to manage.

When being in a couple makes you unhappy

In fact, there are people who get used to the unhappiness of the couple and pay for the pain . In spite of everything, he prefers to stay there suffering, for fear of uncertainty. Their low self-esteem is not ready for that hard blow of having to break up with someone, ignoring that singleness can be a great moment for personal growth. Being in such relationships that are like a roller coaster of feelings are hard to leave behind, and people can forget what it means to be happy.


Now, when you're with the right person, everything is rosy. Winter is less cold, you smile more, and even doing everyday things is fun. But how can we know if we are with the right person? Can we know if the person we date is our better half?

In the next lines we give you some clues to find out if you have been successful in the choice of couple .

1. Observe that your values ​​are aligned

It is not necessary that the members of the couple share all the beliefs and that the relationship is a calm sea, without discussions between both actors, because that, simply, does not exist. Couples argue and may not have common ground on many issues . But what is necessary is that the deeper values ​​are aligned, for example, if both want to have children or not. This was demonstrated by a group of researchers from The Open University who conducted a survey of 4,494 British subjects between 18 and 65 years old.


2. Does it make you laugh?

Humor is a key ingredient in love , because in addition to making a person more attractive and creating fun moments in the relationship, it is essential for relationships not to break. That is what John Gottman, a New York psychologist, discovered. In one of his studies, he asked different couples to talk about the conflicts they had. Gottman concluded that one of the key elements so that the discussions did not break the relationship was the sense of humor. In other words, if the members of the couple use humor when debating and discussing their problems, there is a greater likelihood of solving those conflicts and enjoying a healthier relationship.

3. Evaluate your level of satisfaction in the relationship

This may not be easy because it requires looking at the relationship thoroughly. But are you satisfied with that person? This is a generic question, so it is necessary to break down the relationship in different aspects (communication, intimate moments, respect, economic stability, etc.). Once these points have been assessed, it is necessary to analyze the situation. However, if you really care about the person, the conclusions of this evaluation do not have to mean a break , because this can also help you to be able to talk with that person about what you consider to be your needs. If you care, you may make an effort to fix the faults.

4. Are you afraid of being alone?

Let's face it, there are people who are unable to be single . Being with someone for the simple fact of being afraid of loneliness, in addition to a symptom of weakness and low self-esteem, is a serious mistake. If that happens to you, it's still time to do some self-reflection work and face your fears. Feeling too attached to another person is often a symptom of emotional dependence, and it is something we should avoid.

Self-reflection is key to personal development, so if you want to know more about this topic, you can read our article: "Personal Development: 5 Reasons for Self-Reflection".

5. Do you feel respected?

Respect is key in any relationship of couple or in any interpersonal relationship . Many couples break up because at some point they stop admiring, appreciating and respecting.Respect is important in complicated moments, because it makes conflicts less likely. Only people with serious self-esteem problems would be with someone who does not respect them.

6. Is there physical contact in the relationship?

Physical contact is just as important as the previous points. According to research carried out by Stony Brook University (United States), physical contact is one of the essential principles that influence the duration of a relationship . As the years go by, physical contact can be a problem for many couples, since at the beginning there is usually a lot. Therefore, it is not missed. Over time, saying "I love you" is not enough, you have to prove it.


5 Signs You Are in the Right Christian Relationship (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sortez-vous avec la bonne personne? 6 clés pour le savoir

Sortez-vous avec la bonne personne? 6 clés pour le savoir

Février 21, 2019

L'amour est l'une des expériences les plus enrichissantes qu'un être humain puisse vivre. Avoir une personne spéciale avec qui échanger des bons et des mauvais moments peut nous rendre immensément heureux. Vvoir chaque jour avec cette personne ce que nous considérons comme unique et merveilleux, et se lever à ses côtés nous aide à nous sentir rassasiés .

Mais tous les jours ne seront pas incroyables, car les relations sont une négociation constante. Il y a des jours difficiles et des périodes compliquées au cours desquelles la stabilité du couple est en danger et la relation qui faiblit. À ces moments-là, on peut penser qu'il est préférable de tout jeter et de repenser le sens et la question de savoir si nous sommes avec la bonne personne ou non.


Suivre ou quitter une relation est une décision difficile à prendre, surtout si nous sommes avec cette personne depuis longtemps, car un cocktail d'émotions entre en jeu, ce qui peut être difficile à gérer.

Quand être en couple vous rend malheureux

En fait il y a des gens qui s'habituent au malheur du couple et paient pour la douleur . Malgré tout, il préfère y rester souffrant, de peur des incertitudes. Leur faible estime de soi n’est pas prête pour ce dur coup de devoir rompre avec quelqu'un, ignorer que la solitude peut être un grand moment de croissance personnelle. Il est difficile de laisser derrière soi des relations qui ressemblent à des montagnes russes de sentiments et les gens peuvent oublier ce que signifie être heureux.


Maintenant, quand vous êtes avec la bonne personne, tout est rose. L’hiver est moins froid, vous souriez plus et même faire des choses de tous les jours est amusant Mais comment pouvons-nous savoir si nous sommes avec la bonne personne? Pouvons-nous savoir si la personne avec qui nous sortons est notre meilleure moitié?

Dans les lignes suivantes nous vous donnons des indices pour savoir si vous avez réussi dans le choix du couple .

1. Observez que vos valeurs sont alignées

Il n'est pas nécessaire que les membres du couple partagent toutes les croyances et que la relation est une mer calme, sans discussions entre les deux acteurs, car cela n'existe tout simplement pas. Les couples se disputent et peuvent ne pas avoir de terrain d'entente sur de nombreuses questions . Mais ce qui est nécessaire, c’est que les valeurs les plus profondes soient alignées, par exemple, si les deux veulent avoir des enfants ou non. Cela a été démontré par un groupe de chercheurs de l'Open University qui ont mené une enquête auprès de 4 494 sujets britanniques âgés de 18 à 65 ans.


2. Est-ce que ça vous fait rire?

L'humour est un ingrédient clé de l'amour , car en plus de rendre une personne plus attrayante et de créer des moments amusants dans la relation, il est essentiel que les relations ne se brisent pas. C'est ce qu'a découvert John Gottman, un psychologue new-yorkais: dans l'une de ses études, il a demandé à différents couples de parler de leurs conflits. Gottman a conclu que le sens de l'humour était l'un des éléments clés pour que les discussions ne rompent pas la relation. En d’autres termes, si les membres du couple ont recours à l’humour lorsqu’ils discutent de leurs problèmes, ils ont plus de chances de résoudre ces conflits et de jouir d’une relation plus saine.

3. Évaluez votre niveau de satisfaction dans la relation

Cela peut ne pas être facile, car il faut examiner la relation de manière approfondie. Mais êtes-vous satisfait de cette personne? C'est une question générique, il est donc nécessaire de décomposer la relation en différents aspects (communication, moments intimes, respect, stabilité économique, etc.). Une fois ces points évalués, il est nécessaire d’analyser la situation. Maintenant bien, si vous vous souciez vraiment de la personne, les conclusions de cette évaluation ne doivent pas signifier une pause , car cela peut également vous aider à pouvoir parler avec cette personne de ce que vous considérez être vos besoins. Si vous y tenez, vous pouvez faire un effort pour réparer les erreurs.

4. Avez-vous peur d'être seul?

Regardons les choses en face, il y a des gens qui ne peuvent pas être célibataires . Être avec quelqu'un pour le simple fait d'avoir peur de la solitude, en plus d'un symptôme de faiblesse et de faible estime de soi, est une grave erreur. Si cela vous arrive, il est encore temps de faire un travail d'auto-réflexion et de faire face à vos peurs. Se sentir trop attaché à une autre personne est souvent un symptôme de dépendance émotionnelle et c'est quelque chose que nous devrions éviter.

L'auto-réflexion est la clé du développement personnel. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ce sujet, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons de s'auto-réfléchir".

5. Vous sentez-vous respecté?

Le respect est la clé dans toute relation de couple ou dans toute relation interpersonnelle . Beaucoup de couples se séparent parce qu’à un moment donné, ils cessent d’admirer, d’apprécier et de respecter.Le respect est important dans les moments difficiles car cela réduit les risques de conflit. Seules les personnes ayant de graves problèmes d'estime de soi seraient avec quelqu'un qui ne les respecte pas.

6. Y a-t-il un contact physique dans la relation?

Le contact physique est tout aussi important que les points précédents. Selon des recherches effectuées par l’Université Stony Brook (États-Unis), le contact physique est l'un des principes essentiels qui influencent la durée d'une relation . Au fil des années, le contact physique peut devenir un problème pour de nombreux couples, car au début il y en a généralement beaucoup. Par conséquent, il ne manque pas. Au fil du temps, dire "je t'aime" ne suffit pas, vous devez le prouver.


Un maître bouddhiste révèle les 10 signes d’une personne toxique et comment se comporter avec elle (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes