yes, therapy helps!
Arthur Janov's Primal Therapy

Arthur Janov's Primal Therapy

November 11, 2022

Imagine that a thirty-year-old man arrives at a clinic, who has obvious symptoms of an anxiety disorder and manifests the impossibility of relating deeply with anyone. As the session progresses, the therapist asks about his childhood, to which the patient tells him with apparent normalcy that he suffered abuse and sexual abuse from his uncle, who raised him after the death of his parents in a traffic accident. .

The subject, then a minor, indicates that he forced himself to be strong and resist the attacks of his tutor to not give him the satisfaction of seeing him suffer. It is also mentioned that at the time he did not comment on it with anyone and that in fact it is the first time that he comments it in public. Although the comment has arisen spontaneously and does not seem to arouse an emotion in the subject, the therapist observes that in fact that fact caused him a deep suffering that has prevented him from trusting others.


At that moment, he decides to apply a type of therapy that can be used by the patient to be able to externalize his pain and work on it in order to improve his symptoms and his difficulties of interrelation with others: the primal therapy of Arthur Janov .

  • Related article: "The 10 most effective types of psychological therapy"

The primal therapy and Arthur Janov

The primal, primitive or cry therapy of Arthur Janov It is a type of psychological therapy which starts from the basic idea that the suffering of the human being in the face of not satisfying basic needs needs to be expressed in a symbolic way. For Janov, the symptom is a defense mechanism against pain.


Throughout childhood and development the human being can suffer severe traumas derived from the negation of primary needs like those of love, acceptance, experimentation and sustenance. Likewise, in cases in which the expression of those needs is punished so that the individual can not be loved if he expresses what he is, he will end up developing ways of replacing them, but blocking what he really wants will generate an elevated level of anguish.

Such psychological pain should be expressed . However, this pain and suffering tends to be repressed and separated from our conscience, with which little by little it is stored in our unconscious. This repression is accumulated according to basic needs are being denied, which means a great increase in tension for the body that can generate neurotic difficulties. For example, there may be fear of intimacy, dependence, narcissism, anxiety or insecurity.


The objective of primal therapy would be none other than that of reconnect our suffering with our body , so that we can relive the pain and rework it, expressing it. What Janov calls primal reaction is sought, a reexperimentation of aversive experiences of children both mentally and emotionally and physically.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Cognitive Therapy based on Mindfulness: what is it?"

Classifying primal therapy

The primal therapy of Janov can be classified as one of the body therapies , a subtype of humanistic therapy whose main function is based on the use of the body as an element to be analyzed and through which to treat various disorders and psychic problems. Thus, in the set of so-called body therapies is the body itself that is treated under this approach, awakening or focusing on the various sensations perceived bodily.

Despite being considered humanistic, it is possible to detect in its conception a strong influence of the psychodynamic paradigm , considering that the main objective of this therapy is to reconnect our repressed and unconscious part with the body, so that it is possible to externalize the pain. There is talk of repression of pain and reexperimentation, as well as the fight against neurotic defense mechanisms. In fact, there have been many subsequent efforts to modify and integrate the advances of different currents such as the humanist.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Application phases

The application of primal therapy or the cry of Janov, in its original version (later reworkings have been made that reduce the time required), requires the follow-up of a series of steps that we will explore below.

The therapy must be carried out in a padded room and preferably soundproofed , and the patient is asked to temporarily cease their activity at different levels for the duration of the treatment.

1. Interview

First, it is necessary to establish whether or not this therapy is appropriate for the patient and their problem, not being suitable for psychotic patients or with brain damage.It is also necessary to take into consideration whether the patient suffers from any type of medical problem for which an adjustment of the treatment or its non-application could be required.

2. Insulation

Before starting the treatment, the subject who is going to receive it is asked to remain isolated, without sleeping and without any action to release the anguish and tension the day before said treatment. Is about that the subject perceives and can not evade the anguish , without being able to repress it.

3. Individual therapy

The primal therapy begins with individual sessions, in which the subject must be placed in the position that supposes a greater degree of vulnerability for him, with the extremities extended.

Once in that position, the patient must talk about what he wants while the therapist observes and elicits the defense mechanisms (movements, positions, babbling ...) that the former manifests, and tries to stop them from acting in order to express and immerse yourself in the emotional and physiological sensations that cause his repressed feelings.

Once the emotion arises, the therapist must favor this expression by indicating various exercises, such as respiratory or through expression through shouting.

It can be necessary establish rest periods between sessions , or else the subject is re-isolated to further weaken their defenses.

4. Group therapy

After individual therapy it is possible to carry out several weeks of group therapy with the same functioning, without there being interactions between patients within the process.

Review

The primal therapy of Janov has not received widespread acceptance by the scientific community . His focus on the repressed painful aspects has been criticized, ignoring the possible presence of other sensations that may be associated. Also the fact that the original model does not take into account the effect that the therapist has as a transferential element. Another criticized element is that it supposes a demand at the level of time and effort that can be complex to carry out.

It is also considered that There have not been enough studies to demonstrate its effectiveness , as well as the fact that its effects are limited if they do not occur in a context of unconditional acceptance and therapeutic work beyond expression.

Bibliographic references:

  • Almond, M.T .; Díaz, M. & Jiménez, G. (2012). Psychotherapies CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Janov, A. (2009). The Primal Scream Edhasa.

What is Primal Therapy by Dr. Arthur Janov (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie primitive d'Arthur Janov

Thérapie primitive d'Arthur Janov

Novembre 22, 2022

Imaginez qu'un homme de trente ans arrive dans une clinique présentant des symptômes évidents d'un trouble anxieux et manifestant l'impossibilité de nouer des relations profondes avec qui que ce soit. Au fur et à mesure que la séance avance, le thérapeute lui pose des questions sur son enfance. Le patient lui dit avec une normalité apparente qu'il avait été maltraité par son oncle, qui l'avait élevé après le décès de ses parents dans un accident de la route. .

Le sujet, alors mineur, indique qu'il s'est forcé à être fort et à résister aux attaques de son précepteur pour ne pas lui donner la satisfaction de le voir souffrir. Il est également mentionné qu’à l’époque il n’a fait aucun commentaire à ce sujet et qu’en fait, c’est la première fois qu’il le commente en public. Bien que le commentaire soit apparu spontanément et ne semble pas susciter d’émotion chez le sujet, le thérapeute constate que ce fait lui a causé une profonde souffrance qui l’a empêché de faire confiance aux autres.


À ce moment-là, il décide d'appliquer un type de thérapie pouvant être utilisé par le patient pour pouvoir extérioriser sa douleur et la traiter afin d'améliorer ses symptômes et ses difficultés d'interrelation avec d'autres: la thérapie primitive d'Arthur Janov .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de thérapie psychologique les plus efficaces"

La thérapie primale et Arthur Janov

La thérapie primitive, primitive ou par le cri d'Arthur Janov C'est un type de thérapie psychologique qui part de l'idée de base que la souffrance de l'être humain face à des besoins non satisfaits doit être exprimée de manière symbolique. Pour Janov, le symptôme est un mécanisme de défense contre la douleur.


Tout au long de son enfance et de son développement, l'être humain peut souffrir traumatismes graves dérivés de la négation des besoins primaires comme ceux de l'amour, l'acceptation, l'expérimentation et la subsistance. De même, dans les cas où l'expression de ces besoins est punie pour que l'individu ne puisse pas être aimé s'il exprime ce qu'il est, il finira par trouver des moyens de le remplacer, mais le blocage de ce qu'il veut réellement engendrera une surenchère. niveau d'angoisse.

Une telle douleur psychologique devrait être exprimée . Cependant, cette douleur et cette souffrance tendent à être réprimées et séparées de notre conscience, avec laquelle elle est peu à peu stockée dans notre inconscient. Cette répression accumulée en fonction des besoins essentiels est refusée, ce qui se traduit par une forte augmentation de la tension corporelle pouvant générer des difficultés névrotiques. Par exemple, il peut y avoir une peur de l'intimité, de la dépendance, du narcissisme, de l'anxiété ou de l'insécurité.


L’objectif de la thérapie primale ne serait autre que celui de reconnecter nos souffrances avec notre corps , afin que nous puissions revivre la douleur et la retravailler en l’exprimant. Ce que Janov appelle la réaction primordiale est recherché, une ré-expérimentation d'expériences aversives d'enfants tant mentalement que émotionnellement et physiquement.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience: qu'est-ce que c'est?"

Classifier la thérapie primale

La thérapie primitive de Janov peut être classé comme l'une des thérapies corporelles , sous-type de thérapie humaniste dont la fonction principale est basée sur l’utilisation du corps en tant qu’élément à analyser et permettant de traiter divers troubles et problèmes psychiques. Ainsi, dans l'ensemble des thérapies dites du corps, le corps lui-même est traité selon cette approche, s'éveillant ou se concentrant sur les diverses sensations perçues comme corporelles.

Bien que considéré humaniste, il est possible de détecter dans sa conception une forte influence du paradigme psychodynamique , considérant que l'objectif principal de cette thérapie est de reconnecter notre partie refoulée et inconsciente au corps, de manière à pouvoir extérioriser la douleur. On parle de répression de la douleur et de ré-expérimentation, ainsi que de la lutte contre les mécanismes de défense névrotiques. En fait, de nombreux efforts ont été déployés par la suite pour modifier et intégrer les avancées de différents courants tels que l’humaniste.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Phases d'application

L'application de la thérapie primale ou du cri de Janov, dans sa version originale (des retouches ultérieures ont été réalisées, réduisant le temps requis), nécessite le suivi d'une série d'étapes que nous allons explorer ci-dessous.

La thérapie doit être effectuée dans une pièce capitonnée et de préférence insonorisée et on demande au patient de cesser temporairement son activité à différents niveaux pendant la durée du traitement.

1. entretien

Premièrement, il est nécessaire de déterminer si cette thérapie convient ou non au patient et à son problème, ni aux patients psychotiques ni aux lésions cérébrales.Il est également nécessaire de déterminer si le patient souffre de tout type de problème médical pouvant nécessiter un ajustement du traitement ou sa non application.

2. isolation

Avant de commencer le traitement, le sujet qui va le recevoir est prié de rester isolé, sans dormir et sans aucune action pour libérer l'angoisse et la tension la veille du traitement. Il s'agit de que le sujet perçoit et ne puisse échapper à l'angoisse , sans pouvoir le réprimer.

3. Thérapie individuelle

La thérapie primale commence par des séances individuelles, au cours desquelles le sujet doit être placé dans la position qui suppose une plus grande vulnérabilité pour lui, avec les extrémités étendues.

Une fois dans cette position, le patient doit parler de ce qu'il veut pendant que le thérapeute observe et sollicite les mécanismes de défense (mouvements, positions, babillage ...) que le premier manifeste, et tente de les empêcher d'agir pour exprimer et plongez dans les sensations émotionnelles et physiologiques qui cause ses sentiments refoulés.

Une fois que l'émotion est apparue, le thérapeute doit favoriser cette expression en indiquant divers exercices, tels que des respirations ou par l'expression en criant.

Il peut être nécessaire établir des périodes de repos entre les sessions ou bien le sujet est isolé pour affaiblir davantage ses défenses.

4. Thérapie de groupe

Après thérapie individuelle, il est possible d'effectuer plusieurs semaines de thérapie de groupe avec le même fonctionnement, sans qu'il y ait d'interaction entre les patients dans le processus.

Critique

La thérapie primitive de Janov n'a pas été largement accepté par la communauté scientifique . Sa focalisation sur les aspects douloureux refoulés a été critiquée, ignorant la présence éventuelle d'autres sensations pouvant être associées. De plus, le fait que le modèle initial ne prenne pas en compte l'effet du thérapeute en tant qu'élément transférentiel. Un autre élément critiqué est qu’il suppose une demande au niveau temps et effort qui peut être complexe à réaliser.

Il est également considéré que Il n'y a pas eu suffisamment d'études pour démontrer son efficacité. , ainsi que le fait que ses effets sont limités s’ils ne se produisent pas dans un contexte d’acceptation inconditionnelle et de travail thérapeutique au-delà de l’expression.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amande, M.T .; Díaz, M. et Jiménez, G. (2012). Psychothérapies Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Janov, A. (2009). Le cri primordial Edhasa.

Arthur Janov's Primal Therapy Official Trailer (2018) - An Associative Documentary (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes