yes, therapy helps!
Assertive people: 10 characteristics they have in common

Assertive people: 10 characteristics they have in common

December 5, 2021

The assertiveness It is a key communication style in many aspects. Being assertive means that express your opinion correctly and defend your point of view, while also respecting the rights of others . Therefore, it is necessary to communicate efficiently with other individuals, but also for our own emotional well-being.

It benefits us because it can increase our self-esteem, make us earn the respect of other people and can even help us prevent and reduce stress. Luckily, you can learn to be assertive and, therefore, in today's article we explain what characterizes assertive people.

Assertiveness: 3 main areas

And is that not everyone communicates assertively, which can lead to interpersonal conflicts that, in many cases, could be avoided. Assertiveness, moreover, it is an attitude that manifests itself in how we assert ourselves and in how we defend our rights , that is, in the expression of our feelings, needs, preferences and opinions. Always taking into account the opinion of the other person, respecting it and valuing it.


In summary, There are three basic pillars of assertiveness : the Self-affirmation, the expression of positive feelings (praise, liking, etc.) and the expression of negative feelings (manifestation of disagreement or displeasure) in an appropriate and respectful manner.

Characteristics of assertive people

What characterizes assertive people? The following 10 traits are characteristic of assertive people. Do you dare to know them?

1. They have confidence in themselves

Assertive people trust themselves and are not afraid to show themselves this way. In contrast, unsafe people often put on a shell and be defensive. In addition, people who are not assertive will let other people decide for them, because they have serious difficulties to show their point of view and say "no."


2. Respect the opinion of others

And since these kinds of people feel confident, t They are also able to accept the opinions and beliefs of others . That does not mean that they share them, they simply know that everyone has their own opinion.

3. Validate the emotions of others

Emotional validation is a process of learning, understanding and expressing acceptance of the emotional experience of another individual. It's key because improves interpersonal relationships, because the other individual feels understood about what he feels and favors the verbalization of what he thinks. Assertive people are experts when validating emotionally to others, which causes an increase in trust between the two actors in the relationship.

You can learn more about emotional validation in our article: "Emotional validation: 6 basic tips to improve it"

4. Actively listen

Assertive individuals listen, they really listen . Not only that, but they listen actively. What does that mean? Well, they pay attention not only to what the other person says, but what they feel and what they express emotionally. This is achieved with a correct eye contact, without interrupting the other people and emotionally validating the other interlocutor to confirm that they have received the verbal and non-verbal information correctly.


Recommended article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

5. They know themselves

Assertive people know themselves and know the path they follow in life . They are conscious people who have a great self-knowledge. They understand their emotions so they do not fear them.

6. They are unconditionally accepted

One of the keys to self-confidence is that they do not think about what others think of them. That happens because they are accepted as they are and, therefore, they open up to others without expecting anything in return. They have great inner strength, and this allows them to be more successful in their lives.

7. They choose their friends

This type of people usually choose who will accompany them on their journey through life . At least, as far as possible, they stay away from toxic people because they allow those who really deserve to be their friends to enter their lives.

8. They know their limitations but they fight with all their might

Besides accepting unconditionally, they also accept their limitations . Now, these people struggle with all their strength to realize their desires, because they are true to their ideals. This makes them committed people. In order to accept others, you must first accept yourself.

9. They know how to regulate their emotions

Knowing how to regulate emotions and have great emotional control is a determining factor when relating to others. And the assertive people know how to properly understand and manage their feelings and those of others ... This lets them know what the other person needs, and adapt their tone and message to the circumstances.

10. Confront conflicts serenely

So, this helps them face conflicts with other individuals calmly . They do not experience more anxiety than when they relate to others and are able to cope calmly with conflicts. Not only that, but they also learn from failures or successes because they know they are part of life.


How to Spot the 9 Traits of Borderline Personality Disorder (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes assertives: 10 caractéristiques communes

Personnes assertives: 10 caractéristiques communes

Septembre 18, 2019

Le affirmation de soi C'est un style de communication clé à bien des égards. Être affirmatif signifie que exprimer votre opinion correctement et défendre votre point de vue, tout en respectant les droits des autres . Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de communiquer efficacement avec d'autres personnes, mais également pour notre propre bien-être émotionnel.

Cela nous profite car cela peut augmenter notre estime de soi, nous faire gagner le respect des autres et même nous aider à prévenir et à réduire le stress. Heureusement, vous pouvez apprendre à vous affirmer et, par conséquent, dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous expliquons ce qui caractérise les personnes affirmées.

Assertivité: 3 domaines principaux

Et est-ce que tout le monde ne communique pas avec assurance, ce qui peut conduire à des conflits interpersonnels qui, dans de nombreux cas, pourraient être évités. Assertivité, de plus, c'est une attitude qui se manifeste dans la façon dont nous nous affirmons et dans la façon dont nous défendons nos droits , c’est-à-dire dans l’expression de nos sentiments, de nos besoins, de nos préférences et de nos opinions. Toujours en tenant compte de l'opinion de l'autre personne, en la respectant et en la valorisant.


En résumé, Il y a trois piliers de base de l'affirmation de soi : le Affirmation de soi, le expression de sentiments positifs (louange, goût, etc.) et le expression de sentiments négatifs (manifestation de désaccord ou de mécontentement) de manière appropriée et respectueuse.

Caractéristiques des personnes assertives

Qu'est-ce qui caractérise les personnes affirmées? Les 10 traits suivants sont caractéristiques des personnes assertives. Oserez-vous les connaître?

1. Ils ont confiance en eux-mêmes

Les personnes assertives se font confiance et n'ont pas peur de se montrer de cette façon. En revanche, les personnes non sécuritaires mettent souvent une coquille et se défendent. En outre, les personnes qui ne sont pas affirmées laisseront les autres décider, car elles ont de grandes difficultés à faire valoir leur point de vue et à dire "non".


2. Respecter l'opinion des autres

Et comme ces personnes se sentent en confiance, t Ils sont également capables d'accepter les opinions et les croyances des autres . Cela ne signifie pas qu'ils les partagent, ils savent simplement que chacun a sa propre opinion.

3. Valider les émotions des autres

La validation émotionnelle est un processus d'apprentissage, de compréhension et d'expression de l'acceptation de l'expérience émotionnelle d'un autre individu. C'est la clé car améliore les relations interpersonnelles, parce que l'autre personne se sent comprise à propos de ce qu'elle ressent et favorise la verbalisation de ce qu'il pense. Les personnes assertives sont des experts lors de la validation émotionnelle des autres, ce qui accroît la confiance entre les deux acteurs de la relation.

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur la validation émotionnelle dans notre article: "Validation émotionnelle: 6 conseils de base pour l'améliorer"

4. Écouter activement

Les individus assertifs écoutent, ils écoutent vraiment . Non seulement cela, mais ils écoutent activement. Qu'est-ce que cela veut dire? Eh bien, ils sont attentifs non seulement à ce que l'autre personne dit, mais aussi à ce qu'ils ressentent et à ce qu'ils expriment avec émotion. Ceci est réalisé avec un contact visuel correct, sans interrompre les autres personnes et sans valider émotionnellement l'autre interlocuteur pour confirmer qu'il a correctement reçu les informations verbales et non verbales.


Article recommandé: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

5. Ils se connaissent

Les personnes assertives se connaissent et connaissent le chemin qu'elles suivent dans la vie . Ce sont des gens conscients qui ont une grande connaissance de soi. Ils comprennent leurs émotions pour ne pas les craindre.

6. Ils sont acceptés sans condition

L'une des clés de la confiance en soi est qu'ils ne pensent pas à ce que les autres pensent d'eux. Ça arrive parce que ils sont acceptés tels quels et, par conséquent, ils s’ouvrent aux autres sans rien attendre en retour. Ils ont une grande force intérieure et cela leur permet d'avoir plus de succès dans leur vie.

7. Ils choisissent leurs amis

Ce type de personnes choisit généralement qui les accompagnera dans leur voyage à travers la vie . Au moins, dans la mesure du possible, ils restent à l’écart des personnes toxiques, car ils permettent à ceux qui méritent vraiment d’être leurs amis d’entrer dans leur vie.

8. Ils connaissent leurs limites mais ils se battent de toutes leurs forces

En plus d'accepter sans condition, ils acceptent aussi leurs limitations . Maintenant, ces gens luttent de toutes leurs forces pour réaliser leurs désirs, car ils sont fidèles à leurs idéaux. Cela fait d'eux des gens engagés. Pour accepter les autres, vous devez d'abord vous accepter.

9. Ils savent comment réguler leurs émotions

Savoir comment réguler les émotions et avoir un grand contrôle émotionnel est un facteur déterminant dans les relations avec les autres. Et les personnes assertives savoir comment bien comprendre et gérer ses sentiments et ceux des autres … Cela leur permet de savoir ce dont l'autre personne a besoin et d'adapter son ton et son message aux circonstances.

10. Confronter les conflits sereinement

Pourtant, cela les aide à faire face calmement aux conflits avec d'autres personnes . Ils ne sont pas plus angoissés que quand ils ont des relations avec les autres et sont capables de gérer sereinement les conflits. Non seulement cela, mais ils tirent également des leçons des échecs ou des succès parce qu'ils savent qu'ils font partie de la vie.


Lecture 12. The Deuteronomistic History: Life in the Land (Joshua and Judges) (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes