yes, therapy helps!
Associationist theory: its authors and psychological contributions

Associationist theory: its authors and psychological contributions

November 27, 2021

The association capacity It is basic when it comes to learning. We can know and react to certain stimuli because we are able to link events.

We smell a certain fragrance and salivate thinking that our favorite dish awaits us. We move away from a meal that in previous experiences has had us vomiting for hours.

Someone looks at us in a certain way and we infer that he is angry or that he is attracted to us. The associationist theory of learning , base of the behaviorism and from this base of numerous psychological schools and techniques, defends that the one that we respond of that way comes given because we are able to link phenomena and situations, learning and acquiring this association.


What is the Association Theory?

Based on Aristotelian contributions and numerous philosophers such as Locke and Hume, this theory It would be developed by David Hartley and John Stuart Mill , who postulated that all consciousness is a consequence of the combination of stimuli and elements captured through the senses. Thus, mental processes are produced continuously based on a series of laws with which we link the stimuli of the environment.

In a simple and generic way the associationist theory can be summarized as that which proposes that knowledge is acquired by experience, linking the sensations that the presence and interaction with the stimuli produces mechanically and whenever a series of basic requirements known as association laws . As new associations are added, thought and behavior become increasingly complex, and human performance can be explained on the basis of learning the links between phenomena.


However, this theory would be considered only philosophical until the arrival of behaviorism, which through numerous experiments and empirical tests they ended up elevating the associationism to scientific theory .

The laws of the association

The associationist theory considers that when it comes to linking or relating the different stimuli or phenomena, we follow a series of universal rules that are innately imposed on us . The main laws of the association are the following, although later they would be revised and reworked by the various authors who worked from the associationism and behaviorism.

1. Law of contiguity

Initially, according to the law of contiguity two events or stimuli are associated when they occur very close in time and space . With time and systematic study, this law varied to refer to the need for the mental representation of these stimuli to appear together or closely in our mind, without specifying a physical proximity as such.


2. Law of similarity

For the associationist theory, when two stimuli activate similar mental representations or they have common characteristics they are much more likely to be linked together from such similarity.

3. Law of contrast

Two stimuli will also be associated if they are completely contrary , because it is perceived the existence of a contrast in the same quality stimulate.

4. Law of frequency

The links between the most repeated events tend to be stored more frequently, strengthening the association between these events or stimuli.

5. Law of the recencia

According to the law of the recension, The more recent and less temporary distance there is between both stimuli , the stronger the link established between them will be.

6. Law of effect

This law was formulated by Edward Thorndike as the basis of instrumental conditioning (later renamed by B. F. Skinner as operant conditioning) in order to explain behavior and behavior.

According to said law, the responses made by a subject that maintain relations of contiguity with reinforcing consequences they will be associated with great force to the original stimulus that produced this response, increasing their probability of repetition. If this response is followed by aversive consequences, the link with the stimulus will cause the response to be made less frequently (initially it was proposed that because the association was smaller, but later this would be rectified).

Behaviorism and the association between stimuli

The theory of the association would happen with time to be one of the main pillars of the behaviorism, which pretends to investigate the human conduct of scientific form from the observable thing.Although behavioralism ignores mental processes in their study of human behavior, since they are not directly observable, this current has served as a basis for new ways of interpreting the human psyche, with other schools and paradigms emerging both from their successes and their limitations. integrating part of their basic techniques and beliefs.

Behaviorism uses the associationist theory as a basis, considering that the exposure to two contiguous stimuli produces a link between them . If a stimulus produces an effect on the organism, a specific response to that stimulation will be generated. If, in addition to this, a second stimulus appears at the moment or close to the moment when an effect occurs, this stimulus will be linked to the first, ending up generating a similar response.

Throughout the history of behaviorism it has been evolving, developing diverse perspectives based mostly on the associationist theory. Some of the best known and most prominent are classical conditioning and operant conditioning.

Classical conditioning

Also known as Pavlovian conditioning , this perspective considers that the organism is capable of associating various stimuli with each other. Certain stimuli are capable of causing a direct response in the individual, such as pain or pleasure, generating a physiological response in him.

Coinciding with the associationist theory, classical conditioning considers that the contingent presentation of two stimuli causes them to be associated. For example, the presence of food (an unconditioned stimulus because it provokes a response directly) produces salivation (the unconditioned response).

If every time they bring us food, a stimulus appears that by itself does not produce an effect like the ringing of a bell, we will end up considering that the bell announces the arrival of food and we will end up salivating at the simple sound of it, with what we will have conditioned our response to the second stimulus (the neutral stimulus will have become conditioned). Thanks to this conditioning we learn about the stimuli and their relationship.

Operant conditioning

Classical conditioning can serve to explain associations between stimuli, but even if the stimuli are passively captured human behavior is for the most part motivated by the consequences of our actions .

In this sense, operant conditioning continues to be based on association theory to indicate that the individual learns by linking what he does with the consequences of his actions. You learn the answer to apply to certain stimulation.

In this way, how we act depends on its consequences . If performing an action gives us a positive stimulus or eliminates or avoids a negative one, our behavior will be reinforced and will be carried out more often, while if acting in a certain way causes damage or the elimination of a gratification we will see these consequences as a punishment , with what we tend to decrease the frequency with which we act.

The associative learning

The associationist theory, especially from behaviorism, has been applied with great frequency in the field of education. This is because the association Understanding as such the change of behavior, attitude or thought caused by the experience of certain experiences

Associative learning is understood as the process by which a subject is capable of perceive the relationship between two concrete facts from the observation . These relationships can become generalized to similar stimuli, while they are discriminative in relation to other phenomena. In other words, the relationship captured is specific between the two events, not observed with another type of stimulus unless there are relations of similarity with the original situation.

In this learning process the subject is mainly passive, capturing the relationship between stimuli and their intensity due to the characteristics of the events in question. Mental processes have little relevance for the realization of associations, the process of perception of reality being more relevant.

Although associative learning is very useful in achieving the learning of mechanical behavior This type of learning has the disadvantage that the knowledge or skill obtained does not take into account previous experience or the different cognitive processes that can mediate learning. The subject receives a completely decontextualized knowledge, in which the individual is not able to relate what he has learned now to the previous one.

It is learned through repetition, without allowing the subject to elaborate what he learns and gives it a meaning both to the content to be learned and to the learning process itself. For the associationist theory the subject is a passive being that is limited to receiving and retaining the external stimulation, which does not take into account intrapsychic aspects like motivation or expectations , as well as working from the perspective that different people may have different perspectives or skills of the same situation.


PHILOSOPHY - Aristotle (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie associationniste: ses auteurs et ses contributions psychologiques

Théorie associationniste: ses auteurs et ses contributions psychologiques

Juillet 9, 2020

La capacité de l'association C'est fondamental quand il s'agit d'apprendre. Nous pouvons connaître certains stimuli et y réagir, car nous sommes en mesure de lier des événements.

Nous sentons un certain parfum et salivons en pensant que notre plat préféré nous attend. Nous nous éloignons d'un repas qui, dans des expériences précédentes, nous faisait vomir pendant des heures.

Quelqu'un nous regarde d'une certaine manière et nous en déduisons qu'il est en colère ou qu'il est attiré par nous. La théorie associationniste de l'apprentissage , base du behaviorisme et de cette base de nombreuses écoles et techniques psychologiques, défend que celle que nous répondons de cette façon est donnée parce que nous sommes en mesure de relier des phénomènes et des situations, en apprenant et en acquérant cette association.


Quelle est la théorie des associations?

Sur la base des contributions aristotéliciennes et de nombreux philosophes tels que Locke et Hume, cette théorie Il serait développé par David Hartley et John Stuart Mill , qui a postulé que toute conscience est une conséquence de la combinaison de stimuli et d'éléments capturés par les sens. Ainsi, les processus mentaux sont produits de manière continue sur la base d’une série de lois avec lesquelles nous lions les stimuli de l’environnement.

De manière simple et générique, la théorie associationniste peut être résumée comme celle qui propose que le savoir soit acquis par l'expérience, reliant les sensations que la présence et l'interaction avec les stimuli produisent de manière mécanique et à chaque fois qu'une série de exigences de base connues comme lois d'association . À mesure que de nouvelles associations s’ajoutent, la pensée et le comportement deviennent de plus en plus complexes et la performance humaine peut être expliquée sur la base de l’apprentissage des liens entre les phénomènes.


Cependant, cette théorie ne serait considérée que comme philosophique jusqu’à l’arrivée du behaviorisme, qui à travers de nombreuses expériences et tests empiriques ils ont fini par élever l'associationnisme à la théorie scientifique .

Les lois de l'association

La théorie associationniste considère que lorsqu'il s'agit de relier ou de relier les différents stimuli ou phénomènes, nous suivons une série de règles universelles qui nous sont imposées de manière innée . Les lois principales de l’association sont les suivantes, bien que plus tard, elles seraient révisées et retravaillées par les différents auteurs ayant travaillé à partir de l’associationnisme et du behaviorisme.

1. Loi de contiguïté

Initialement, selon la loi de la contiguïté, deux événements ou stimuli sont associés quand ils se produisent très proche dans le temps et l'espace . Avec le temps et l'étude systématique, cette loi a varié pour faire référence à la nécessité pour la représentation mentale de ces stimuli d'apparaître ensemble ou étroitement dans notre esprit, sans spécifier une proximité physique en tant que telle.


2. Loi de similitude

Pour la théorie associationniste, quand deux stimuli activent des représentations mentales similaires ou ils ont des caractéristiques communes, ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles d'être liés entre eux par une telle similitude.

3. Loi de contraste

Deux stimuli seront également associés si elles sont complètement contraires , car on perçoit l’existence d’un contraste de même qualité stimulant.

4. Loi de fréquence

Les liens entre les événements les plus répétés ont tendance à être stockés plus fréquemment, renforçant ainsi l'association entre ces événements ou stimuli.

5. Loi de la recencia

Selon la loi de la recension, La distance la plus récente et la moins temporaire entre les deux stimuli plus le lien établi entre eux sera fort.

6. Loi d'effet

Edward Thorndike a formulé cette loi comme fondement du conditionnement instrumental (renommé par la suite B. F. Skinner en tant que conditionnement opérant) afin d'expliquer le comportement et le comportement.

Selon cette loi, les réponses d'un sujet qui maintiennent des relations de contiguïté avec des conséquences de renforcement ils seront associés avec une grande force au stimulus d'origine qui a produit cette réponse, augmentant leur probabilité de répétition. Si cette réponse est suivie de conséquences aversives, le lien avec le stimulus fera que la réponse sera moins fréquente (initialement, il a été proposé que parce que l'association était plus petite, mais que cela serait rectifié ultérieurement).

Behaviorisme et association entre stimuli

La théorie de l'association deviendrait avec le temps l'un des principaux piliers du behaviorisme, qui prétend enquêter sur la conduite humaine de la forme scientifique à partir de l'observable.Bien que le comportementalisme ignore les processus mentaux dans leur étude du comportement humain, puisqu'ils ne sont pas directement observables, ce courant a servi de base à de nouvelles façons d'interpréter la psyché humaine, d'autres écoles et paradigmes émergeant à la fois de leurs succès et de leurs limites. intégrant une partie de leurs techniques et croyances de base.

Le Behaviorism utilise la théorie associationniste comme base, considérant que l'exposition à deux stimuli contigus produit un lien entre eux . Si un stimulus produit un effet sur l'organisme, une réponse spécifique à cette stimulation sera générée. Si, en plus de cela, un deuxième stimulus apparaît au moment ou à peu près au moment où un effet se produit, ce stimulus sera lié au premier, finissant par générer une réponse similaire.

Tout au long de l'histoire du behaviorisme, il a évolué, développant diverses perspectives basées principalement sur la théorie associationniste. Certains des plus connus et des plus importants sont le conditionnement classique et le conditionnement opérant.

Conditionnement classique

Aussi appelé conditionnement pavlovien , cette perspective considère que l’organisme est capable d’associer différents stimuli entre eux. Certains stimuli sont capables de provoquer une réponse directe chez l'individu, telle que la douleur ou le plaisir, générant une réponse physiologique chez lui.

Coïncidant avec la théorie associationniste, le conditionnement classique considère que la présentation contingente de deux stimuli entraîne leur association. Par exemple, la présence de nourriture (un stimulus non conditionné car elle provoque directement une réponse) produit de la salivation (la réponse non conditionnée).

Si à chaque fois qu'ils nous apportent de la nourriture, un stimulus apparaît qui ne produit pas en soi un effet semblable à celui d'une cloche, nous finirons par considérer que la cloche annonce l'arrivée de la nourriture et nous finirons par saliver au simple son de celle-ci, avec ce que nous aurons conditionné notre réponse au deuxième stimulus (le stimulus neutre aura été conditionné). Grâce à ce conditionnement, nous en apprenons davantage sur les stimuli et leur relation.

Conditionnement opérant

Le conditionnement classique peut servir à expliquer les associations entre stimuli, mais même si les stimuli sont capturés passivement, le comportement humain est pour la plupart motivé par les conséquences de nos actions .

En ce sens, le conditionnement opérant continue à être basé sur la théorie des associations pour indiquer que l'individu apprend en liant ce qu'il fait aux conséquences de ses actes. Vous apprenez la réponse à appliquer à certaines stimulations.

De cette façon, comment nous agissons dépend de ses conséquences . Si l'exécution d'une action nous donne un stimulus positif ou élimine ou évite une action négative, notre comportement sera renforcé et sera mis en œuvre plus souvent, tandis que si agir d'une certaine manière cause un dommage ou l'élimination de la gratification, nous verrons ces conséquences comme une punition. , avec quoi nous avons tendance à diminuer la fréquence avec laquelle nous agissons.

L'apprentissage associatif

La théorie associationniste, en particulier celle du behaviorisme, a été appliquée très fréquemment dans le domaine de l'éducation. C'est parce que l'association Comprendre en tant que telle le changement de comportement, d'attitude ou de pensée causé par l'expérience de certaines expériences

L’apprentissage associatif est compris comme le processus par lequel une matière est capable de percevoir la relation entre deux faits concrets de l'observation . Ces relations peuvent se généraliser à des stimuli similaires, alors qu'elles sont discriminantes par rapport à d'autres phénomènes. En d'autres termes, la relation capturée est spécifique entre les deux événements et n'est pas observée avec un autre type de stimulus sauf s'il existe des relations de similarité avec la situation d'origine.

Dans ce processus d'apprentissage, le sujet est principalement passif, capturant la relation entre les stimuli et leur intensité en raison des caractéristiques des événements en question. Les processus mentaux ont peu de pertinence pour la réalisation d'associations, le processus de perception de la réalité étant plus pertinent.

Bien que l'apprentissage associatif soit très utile dans la réalisation de l'apprentissage du comportement mécanique Ce type d'apprentissage présente l'inconvénient que les connaissances ou compétences acquises ne tiennent pas compte des expériences précédentes ni des différents processus cognitifs pouvant servir de médiateurs à l'apprentissage. Le sujet reçoit une connaissance complètement décontextualisée, dans laquelle l'individu n'est pas capable de relier ce qu'il a appris à la précédente.

Il est appris par la répétition, sans permettre au sujet d’élaborer ce qu’il apprend et de lui donner un sens à la fois pour le contenu à apprendre et pour le processus d’apprentissage lui-même. Pour la théorie associationniste, le sujet est un être passif qui se limite à recevoir et à retenir la stimulation externe, ce qui ne prend pas en compte les aspects intrapsychiques. comme la motivation ou les attentes , ainsi que de travailler dans la perspective que différentes personnes peuvent avoir différentes perspectives ou compétences dans la même situation.


les maladies du coeur : el kibr - L'orgueil - la vanité (shirk = associationnisme à Dieu - Allah) (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes