yes, therapy helps!
Astringent diet: how to carry it out and benefits

Astringent diet: how to carry it out and benefits

August 12, 2022

There are different types of diets, and most people associate them with the weight loss process. But not all have that function, nor are all diets healthy. One of the diets that aims to improve our wellbeing and our stomach health is the astringent diet , designed to reduce the symptoms of diarrhea.

The astringent diet is recommended in cases in which a person suffers from diarrhea, regardless of the origin: transient, enteritis, Crohn's disease or secondary to intestinal surgical interventions. In this article we are going to talk about this diet and we are going to delve into its characteristics.

What is the astringent diet

The astringent diet is a diet that aims to take care of the digestive system when someone suffers stomach upset or diarrhea.


Basically, with this diet, the subject includes in his diet some foods that are easy to digest and with which the body does not need excessive energy to process them, in addition to foods with a high content of minerals and vitamins, which do not contain much fiber and which help to retain liquid. It is a useful diet for any age, including children and the elderly.

What causes diarrhea

Everyone, at some time in our lives, has suffered diarrhea, that is, when we have a greater need to go to the bathroom to defecate, often unable to control the deposition of excrement, which have little consistency (are not very solid). Diarrhea can last from one day to two or three weeks in the case of acute diarrhea, and up to several weeks in the case of chronic diarrhea.


This condition, which is usually a symptom rather than a disease, has different causes. They are the following:

  • Some parasites , as for example, those that cause giardiasis and amebiasis.
  • Virus . Among which are the enterovirus, or the hepatitis virus.
  • Distantis infections , either by the intake of food (or water) or by contamination from person to person.
  • Bacteria . Some of the best known are: salmonella, shigella, clostridium E.coli.

Some medical conditions that do not include infection are:

  • Irritable bowel syndrome
  • Celiac Disease
  • Lactose intolerance
  • Inflammatory diseases of the intestine. For example: ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease
  • Small bowel surgery
  • Pancreas problems, for example, cystic fibrosis
  • Ischemic bowel disease
  • Surgical removal of the gallbladder
  • Certain diseases of the endocrine system. For example: overactive thyroid, diabetes or Zollinger-Ellison syndrome

Recommendations for the astringent diet

Some recommendations to follow this diet are:


  • At meals, the amount to be consumed should be small.
  • Eat more often. For example, 5-6 meals a day.
  • Drink plenty of liquid, in small drinks, to avoid dehydration. A good option is to take broths without fat.
  • Avoid foods rich in fiber
  • Eat in a relaxed way to promote digestion.
  • Avoid very hot or very cold foods
  • Do not consume foods that cause gas.
  • The food must be varied.

Phases of the diet against diarrhea

When someone consumes this diet, the stools become progressively harder and, therefore, we must adapt the diet to the degree of improvement. Because, This diet consists of four phases .

1. Phase zero

This is the initial phase, in which solid foods are not consumed . In the case of children, approximately lasts 4 hours, in the case of adults, the first 12 hours. In this phase there is a great loss of minerals and liquids, so it is essential to consume special drinks or beverages with salts (for example, a packet of dissolved sodium hypoalcohol or medicines to recover minerals).

It is also possible to boil a liter of boiled water, add juice of 2-3 lemons, half a tablespoon of baking soda, half a teaspoon of salt and 2-3 tablespoons of sugar. Also, tea, chamomile, rice water, carrot water are ideal.

2. Phase two

After the previous phase, It is possible to incorporate other foods, such as boiled rice, potato and boiled carrot , boiled pasta without boiled fish, boiled chicken, baked apple, et cetera.

3. Phase three

In the third phase of the astringent diet, the foods that favor recovery are: vegetable puree (zucchini, carrot, beans, squash), fruit juices, boiled vegetables and legumes, rice, chicken or boiled fish, toasted white bread.

4. Phase four

The fourth phase consists of Progressively introduce complex foods until a normal diet is consumed . For example, banana, boiled vegetables, grilled meat or fish, 0% fat yogurt, decaffeinated coffee, fresh cheese without fat, etc.

What foods should be avoided

There are a number of foods that should not be consumed as part of this diet, at least during the first phases . Progressively, it is possible to introduce some foods into the diet, once the improvement is evident. High-fat foods are not at all positive for this type of diet, as are foods rich in fiber.

Nor are the industrial sweeteners found in soft drinks or highly digestible vegetables such as garlic, raw onion or peppers. Chocolate, alcohol, fried foods, red meat, butter should not be eaten. Dairy products should not be consumed either, at least until the fourth phase and always in their fat-free versions.

When should we not do this diet

The astringent diet is not a diet that can be harmful; however, when there is no need to perform it (as there are no stomach problems or diarrhea) it will not be useful. However, When a person has constipation, it is not advisable to perform the astringent diet since it would enhance this condition and, therefore, constipation increases.


Clary Sage Oil Health Benefits (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Régime astringent: comment le pratiquer et bienfaits

Régime astringent: comment le pratiquer et bienfaits

Mars 7, 2021

Il existe différents types de régimes et la plupart des gens les associent au processus de perte de poids. Mais tous n'ont pas cette fonction et tous les régimes ne sont pas sains. Le régime astringent est l’un des régimes visant à améliorer notre bien-être et la santé de notre estomac. , conçu pour réduire les symptômes de la diarrhée.

Le régime astringent est recommandé chez les personnes souffrant de diarrhée, quelle que soit leur origine: transitoire, entérite, maladie de Crohn ou intervention chirurgicale intestinale. Dans cet article, nous allons parler de ce régime et nous allons approfondir ses caractéristiques.

Quel est le régime astringent

Le régime astringent est un régime qui vise à prendre soin du système digestif lorsque quelqu'un souffre de maux d'estomac ou de diarrhée.


Fondamentalement, avec ce régime, le sujet inclut dans son alimentation des aliments faciles à digérer et avec lesquels le corps n'a pas besoin d'énergie excessive pour les traiter, en plus des aliments riches en minéraux et en vitamines, qui contiennent peu de fibres et aident à retenir les liquides. C'est un régime alimentaire utile pour tous les âges, y compris les enfants et les personnes âgées.

Qu'est-ce qui cause la diarrhée

Toute personne, à un moment de notre vie, a souffert de diarrhée, c'est-à-dire lorsque nous avons davantage besoin d'aller aux toilettes pour aller à la selle, souvent incapables de contrôler les dépôts d'excréments, qui ont peu de consistance (ils ne sont pas très solides). La diarrhée peut durer d'un jour à deux ou trois semaines en cas de diarrhée aiguë et jusqu'à plusieurs semaines en cas de diarrhée chronique.


Cette affection, qui est généralement un symptôme plutôt qu'une maladie, a différentes causes. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Certains parasites comme par exemple ceux qui causent le giardiase et l'amibiase.
  • Virus . Parmi lesquels se trouvent l'entérovirus, ou le virus de l'hépatite.
  • Infections à distance soit par ingestion de nourriture (ou d’eau), soit par contamination de personne à personne.
  • Les bactéries . Certains des plus connus sont: Salmonella, Shigella, E. coli de Clostridium.

Certaines conditions médicales qui n'incluent pas l'infection sont:

  • Syndrome du côlon irritable
  • Maladie coeliaque
  • Intolérance au lactose
  • Maladies inflammatoires de l'intestin. Par exemple: colite ulcéreuse ou maladie de Crohn
  • Chirurgie de l'intestin grêle
  • Problèmes de pancréas, par exemple, la fibrose kystique
  • Maladie intestinale ischémique
  • Ablation chirurgicale de la vésicule biliaire
  • Certaines maladies du système endocrinien. Par exemple: thyroïde hyperactive, diabète ou syndrome de Zollinger-Ellison

Recommandations pour le régime astringent

Quelques recommandations pour suivre ce régime sont:


  • Aux repas, la quantité à consommer doit être petite.
  • Mangez plus souvent. Par exemple, 5-6 repas par jour.
  • Buvez beaucoup de liquide, dans de petites boissons, pour éviter la déshydratation. Une bonne option est de prendre des bouillons sans graisse.
  • Évitez les aliments riches en fibres
  • Mangez de manière décontractée pour favoriser la digestion.
  • Évitez les aliments très chauds ou très froids
  • Ne consommez pas d'aliments causant des gaz.
  • La nourriture doit être variée.

Phases du régime contre la diarrhée

Lorsque quelqu'un consomme ce régime, les selles deviennent progressivement plus dures et, par conséquent, nous devons adapter le régime au degré d'amélioration. Pour cela, Ce régime comprend quatre phases .

1. Phase zéro

C'est la phase initiale, durant laquelle les aliments solides ne sont pas consommés . Pour les enfants, dure environ 4 heures, pour les adultes, les 12 premières heures. Au cours de cette phase, les pertes de minéraux et de liquides sont importantes, il est donc essentiel de consommer des boissons spéciales ou des boissons contenant des sels (par exemple, un paquet d’hypoalcool sodique dissous ou des médicaments pour récupérer les minéraux).

Il est également possible de faire bouillir un litre d'eau bouillie, d'ajouter du jus de 2-3 citrons, une demi-cuillère à soupe de bicarbonate de soude, une demi-cuillère à café de sel et 2-3 cuillères à soupe de sucre. En outre, thé, camomille, eau de riz, eau de carotte sont parfaits.

2. Phase deux

Après la phase précédente, Il est possible d'incorporer d'autres aliments, tels que du riz bouilli, des pommes de terre et des carottes bouillies , pâtes cuites sans poisson bouilli, poulet bouilli, pomme au four, et cetera.

3. Phase trois

Dans la troisième phase du régime astringent, les aliments favorisant la récupération sont les suivants: purée de légumes (courgettes, carottes, haricots, courges), jus de fruits, légumes et légumineuses cuits, riz, poulet ou poisson cuit, pain blanc grillé.

4. Phase quatre

La quatrième phase consiste à Introduire progressivement des aliments complexes jusqu'à ce qu'un régime normal soit consommé . Par exemple, banane, légumes bouillis, viande ou poisson grillés, yaourt à 0% de matière grasse, café décaféiné, fromage frais sans graisse, etc.

Quels aliments devraient être évités

Un certain nombre d’aliments ne doivent pas être consommés dans le cadre de ce régime, du moins pendant les premières phases. . Progressivement, il est possible d'introduire certains aliments dans le régime une fois que l'amélioration est évidente. Les aliments riches en gras ne sont pas du tout positifs pour ce type de régime, tout comme les aliments riches en fibres.

On ne trouve pas non plus les édulcorants industriels dans les boissons gazeuses ou les légumes hautement digestibles tels que l’ail, l’oignon cru ou les poivrons. Le chocolat, l'alcool, les aliments frits, la viande rouge et le beurre ne doivent pas être consommés. Les produits laitiers ne doivent pas non plus être consommés, du moins jusqu'à la quatrième phase et toujours dans leur version sans gras.

Quand ne devrions-nous pas faire ce régime

Le régime astringent n'est pas un régime qui peut être nocif. Cependant, lorsqu'il n'est pas nécessaire de le réaliser (car il n'y a pas de problèmes d'estomac ni de diarrhée), cela ne sera pas utile. Maintenant bien, Quand une personne a la constipation, il est déconseillé de suivre le régime astringent car cela améliorerait cette condition. et, par conséquent, la constipation augmente.


Les bienfaits de la pomme et 9 façons de la consommer - Nouvelles Santé (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes