yes, therapy helps!
Astrocytes: what functions do these glial cells fulfill?

Astrocytes: what functions do these glial cells fulfill?

June 12, 2024

The glial cells are fundamental for the functioning of the nervous system since they contribute structure, nutrients and protection to the neurons, in addition to carrying out other relevant tasks.

In this article we will talk about Astrocytes, one of the most common types of glia . We will describe its morphology and its main functions and differentiate the three types of astrocytes that have been identified.

  • Related article: "Glial cells: much more than the glue of neurons"

What are astrocytes?

Astrocytes are a type of Glial cell that is located in the central nervous system , that is, in the brain and in the spinal cord. Like the rest of the glia, astrocytes fulfill support roles in relation to neurons, the main cells of the nervous system from a functional point of view.


These glial cells have a shape that is slightly reminiscent of a star ; its name derives from this fact, since the Greek and Latin words "astron" and "astrum" are translated as "star" or "celestial body". Such a structure is because they have many extensions ("feet") that connect the soma with other nearby cells.

Astrocytes are formed from ectoderm cells , the layer of the embryonic disc from which the nervous system and the epidermis arise, during the early development of the organism. Like most glia, astrocytes start from undifferentiated cells similar to those that give rise to neurons.


Glial cells or glia

As we know, neurons specialize in the transmission of nerve impulses. For this reason they are very effective in this task, but they need the support of other cell types so that the nervous system can function correctly; this is where the glia or neuroglia intervenes, that is, the set of glial cells, which accounts for 50% of the nerve mass.

The specific roles of these cells depend on the type of glia to which we refer. In a general way we can say that they serve mainly to give physical and structural support to neurons , to isolate one from another, to provide them with nutrients and oxygen and to eliminate waste products and pathogens.

Other particularly important glial cells are microglia, which fulfill defensive and immunological functions in the brain and spinal cord, oligodendrocytes and Schwann cells , which form the myelin sheaths that surround the axons and accelerate neuronal transmission in the central and peripheral nervous systems, respectively.


  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Functions of astrocytes

For a long time it was believed that the function of the astrocytes was basically structural: "filling the gaps" left by the neurons in the nervous system.

However, research in recent decades has shown that its role, like that of other glial cells, is much more complex.

1. Nervous structure

The astrocytes and the glia in general fulfill the important role of provide physical support to neurons , so that they stay where they are, in addition to regulating the transmission of electrical impulses. Astrocytes are the most abundant glia in the brain, so their structural role has special relevance in this organ.

2. Blood-brain barrier

These glial cells act as intermediates between neurons and the circulatory system , specifically the blood vessels. In this sense, they fulfill a filtering function, so that they constitute a part of the blood-brain barrier, formed by tightly bound brain endothelial cells.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Blood-brain barrier: the protective layer of the brain"

3. Contribution of nutrients

The connection of the astrocytes with the vascular system allows them to obtain nutrients, such as glucose or lactic acid, from the blood and can be provided to the neurons.

4. Phagocytosis and waste disposal

Similarly, astrocytes collect waste products from neurons and transport them to the blood so that they can be eliminated . In addition, when an injury to the nervous system occurs, the astrocytes move towards it to phagocytose or eliminate dead neurons, forming scars in the damaged area to accumulate in it.

5. Glycogen reserve

It is possible that astroglia also has the function of storing glycogen, which serves as an energetic deposit, with the objective that neurons can access these reserves in times of need.

6. Regulation of the extracellular space

Astrocytes help maintain ionic balance in the extracellular space; specific, reverse the excessive accumulation of potassium because they are very permeable to these molecules.

Types of astrocyte

There are three types of astrocyte that are differentiated by the cell lineage from which they come, that is, the type of neuroepithelial cells from which they originate. A) Yes, We can distinguish between fibrous, protoplasmatic and radial astrocytes .

1. Fibrous

These astrocytes are located in the white matter of the nervous system, that is, in the zones formed predominantly by myelinated axons. They are characterized by their low number of organelles (cellular subunits with differentiated functions).

2. Protoplasmic

Protoplasmics contain many organelles and they are the most numerous type of astrocyte . They are located mainly in the gray matter of the brain, composed mainly of cell bodies.

3. Radials

The radial glia plays a decisive role during the process of cell migration, since the neurons "travel" through the nervous system relying on this type of astrocytes. However, there are also radial glial cells active in adulthood, such as Bergmann cells located in the cerebellum.


2-Minute Neuroscience: Glial Cells (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Astrocytes: quelles fonctions remplissent ces cellules gliales?

Astrocytes: quelles fonctions remplissent ces cellules gliales?

Septembre 28, 2022

Les cellules gliales jouent un rôle fondamental dans le fonctionnement du système nerveux dans la mesure où elles contribuent à la structure, aux nutriments et à la protection des neurones, en plus de la réalisation d'autres tâches pertinentes.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de Astrocytes, l'un des types les plus courants de glie . Nous allons décrire sa morphologie et ses fonctions principales et différencier les trois types d’astrocytes identifiés.

  • Article connexe: "Les cellules gliales: bien plus que la colle des neurones"

Que sont les astrocytes?

Les astrocytes sont un type de Cellule gliale située dans le système nerveux central , c’est-à-dire dans le cerveau et dans la moelle épinière. Comme le reste de la glie, les astrocytes jouent un rôle de soutien vis-à-vis des neurones, principales cellules du système nerveux d’un point de vue fonctionnel.


Ces cellules gliales ont une forme qui rappelle légèrement une étoile ; son nom dérive de ce fait, puisque les mots grecs et latins "astron" et "astrum" sont traduits par "étoile" ou "corps céleste". Une telle structure est due aux nombreuses extensions ("pieds") qui relient le soma à d’autres cellules proches.

Astrocytes sont formés à partir de cellules ectodermes , la couche du disque embryonnaire à l'origine du système nerveux et de l'épiderme, au début du développement de l'organisme. Comme la plupart des cellules gliales, les astrocytes proviennent de cellules non différenciées semblables à celles qui donnent naissance aux neurones.


Cellules gliales ou glia

Comme nous le savons, les neurones sont spécialisés dans la transmission de l'influx nerveux. Pour cette raison, ils sont très efficaces dans cette tâche, mais ils ont besoin du soutien d'autres types de cellules pour que le système nerveux puisse fonctionner correctement. c'est là que la glie ou la névroglie intervient, c'est-à-dire l'ensemble des cellules gliales, qui représente 50% de la masse nerveuse.

Les rôles spécifiques de ces cellules dépendent du type de glie auquel nous nous référons. D'une manière générale, nous pouvons dire qu'ils servent principalement apporter un soutien physique et structurel aux neurones , isoler les uns des autres, leur fournir des nutriments et de l'oxygène et éliminer les déchets et les agents pathogènes.

Les autres cellules gliales particulièrement importantes sont la microglie, qui remplit des fonctions défensives et immunologiques dans le cerveau et la moelle épinière. oligodendrocytes et cellules de Schwann , qui forment les gaines de myéline qui entourent les axones et accélèrent la transmission neuronale dans les systèmes nerveux central et périphérique, respectivement.


  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Fonctions des astrocytes

Pendant longtemps, on a pensé que la fonction des astrocytes était essentiellement structurelle: "combler les lacunes" laissées par les neurones du système nerveux.

Cependant, les recherches des dernières décennies ont montré que son rôle, comme celui des autres cellules gliales, est beaucoup plus complexe.

1. structure nerveuse

Les astrocytes et la glie en général remplissent le rôle important de fournir un soutien physique aux neurones , afin qu'ils restent où ils sont, en plus de réguler la transmission des impulsions électriques. Les astrocytes étant la glie la plus abondante dans le cerveau, leur rôle structurel revêt une importance particulière pour cet organe.

2. Barrière hémato-encéphalique

Ces cellules gliales agissent comme intermédiaires entre les neurones et le système circulatoire , en particulier les vaisseaux sanguins. En ce sens, ils remplissent une fonction de filtrage, de sorte qu'ils constituent une partie de la barrière hémato-encéphalique, formée par des cellules endothéliales du cerveau étroitement liées.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Barrière hémato-encéphalique: la couche protectrice du cerveau"

3. Apport de nutriments

La connexion des astrocytes avec le système vasculaire leur permet d’obtenir des nutriments, tels que le glucose ou l’acide lactique, à partir du sang et peut être transmise aux neurones.

4. Phagocytose et élimination des déchets

De même, les astrocytes collectent les déchets des neurones et transportez-les dans le sang pour pouvoir les éliminer . De plus, en cas de lésion du système nerveux, les astrocytes se dirigent vers ce dernier pour phagocyter ou éliminer les neurones morts en formant des cicatrices dans la zone endommagée pour s’accumuler.

5. Réserve de glycogène

Il est possible que l'astroglie ait également pour fonction de stocker le glycogène, qui sert de dépôt énergétique, l'objectif étant que les neurones puissent accéder à ces réserves en cas de besoin.

6. Régulation de l'espace extracellulaire

Les astrocytes aident à maintenir l'équilibre ionique dans l'espace extracellulaire; spécifiquement, inverser l'accumulation excessive de potassium parce qu'ils sont très perméables à ces molécules.

Types d'astrocyte

Il existe trois types d’astrocytes différenciés par la lignée cellulaire d’où ils proviennent, c’est-à-dire le type de cellules neuroépithéliales dont ils sont originaires. Ainsi, On peut distinguer les astrocytes fibreux, protoplasmatiques et radiaux .

1. Fibreux

Ces astrocytes sont situés dans la substance blanche du système nerveux, c'est-à-dire dans les zones formées principalement par les axones myélinisés. Ils se caractérisent par leur faible nombre d'organelles (sous-unités cellulaires à fonctions différenciées).

2. Protoplasmique

Les protoplasmiques contiennent de nombreux organites et ils sont le type le plus nombreux d'astrocytes . Ils se situent principalement dans la matière grise du cerveau, composée principalement de corps cellulaires.

3. Radiaux

La glie radiale joue un rôle décisif au cours du processus de migration cellulaire, car les neurones "voyagent" dans le système nerveux en utilisant ce type d'astrocytes. Cependant, il existe également des cellules gliales radiales actives à l'âge adulte, telles que les cellules de Bergmann situées dans le cervelet.


Total Biology - The synthesis | Biologie Totale - La synthèse (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes