yes, therapy helps!
Ataraxia: when there is nothing that affects us emotionally

Ataraxia: when there is nothing that affects us emotionally

May 7, 2021

The term ataraxia It has its roots in ancient Greek, and means lack of disturbance.

It makes sense that a word be used to designate something so concrete, since in the Greece of the time of Plato, Aristotle and Alexander the Great there were philosophical schools that claimed our capacity not to let anything affect you. The Stoics and Epicureans, for example, practiced a renunciation of great desires and impulses linked to easy sources of pleasure, something that resembled monks of Eastern religions.

Ataraxia is, then, the absence of anxiety, anger or confusion . In other words, it usually materializes in the form of a tendency to calm and imperturbability.


However, the concept of ataraxia goes beyond philosophy and religions, and has gained a foothold in the domains of mental health.

Ataraxia in medicine and psychology

Occasionally, the appearance of ataraxia is not due to a voluntary effort to follow the precepts of a religion or philosophical doctrine having passed through a phase of reflection on the subject. Many times, in fact, Ataraxia makes an appearance of totally unwanted and unexpected, as a result of an accident that has caused damage to the brain .

And, although apparently the idea of ​​not getting angry or sad can be attractive, ataraxia caused by injuries has serious consequences for the quality of life of those who experience it. Both his way of relating to others and his self-image change radically by the fact of involuntarily staying in a state of eternal imperturbability.


Ataraxia seen from the neurological

This may seem strange, but it is totally logical: our brain is not only the set of organs that makes consciousness possible, the ability to plan and think logically or the use of language, but it is also the basis of all processes in the that our emotional states are based. That means If certain parts of the human brain begin to fail, some aspects of our emotional life may be altered , while the rest of the functions of our way of being remain more or less unchanged.

Just as brain injuries cause only part of the brain to die and not all, what remains altered after an accident of this type is only one (more or less important) part of our mental life. In the case of ataraxia, this may be due to failures in the way in which the limbic system interacts with the frontal lobe, in charge, among other things, of "cushioning" the impact that our emotions have on our behavior in the short and medium term .


In this way, it is very difficult for a stimulus to radically change the emotional state of a person who presents this kind of ataraxia; not because he has trained in certain meditation techniques, but because his brain circuits have begun to function abnormally.

How are people with medical ataraxia?

Pathological ataraxia it manifests through these main characteristics :

1. Tendency to passivity

People with medical ataraxia they hardly take the initiative, and they just react to what happens to them around them .

2. Absence of the appearance of intense emotional states

Regardless of what the person wants, you do not experience anger or anxiety , but neither are there peak moments of joy.

3. Unusual emotional stability

Because of the above, The emotional state of the person does not seem to depend on the environment: it always stays more or less the same .

4. Impossibility of frustration

The fact that the events do not lead to the positive consequences we were expecting does not produce frustration in the person.

5. Disappearance of guilt

It is one of the most notable consequences of ataraxia due to injuries, at least from the moral and social point of view. The person with medical ataraxia she does not feel affected by the bad things that happen to her , but it also does not react when seeing how its acts can harm others.

In conclusion

Medical ataraxia is the mirror image of what philosophical ataraxia would be like taken to the extreme . It not only worsens the quality of life of those who experience it, but also hinders the establishment of a proper communication and affective bonds with others.


5 Principles Of Stoicism Explained (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ataraxia: quand rien ne nous affecte émotionnellement

Ataraxia: quand rien ne nous affecte émotionnellement

Septembre 21, 2021

Le terme ataraxie Il a ses racines dans le grec ancien et signifie l'absence de perturbation.

Il est logique d'utiliser un mot pour désigner quelque chose d'aussi concret, car dans la Grèce de l'époque de Platon, Aristote et Alexandre le Grand, il y avait des écoles de philosophie qui affirmaient notre capacité à ne rien laisser t'affecter. Les stoïciens et les épicuriens, par exemple, pratiquaient le renoncement aux grands désirs et impulsions liés à des sources faciles de plaisir, ce qui ressemblait à des moines de religions orientales.

Ataraxia est donc l'absence d'anxiété, de colère ou de confusion . En d'autres termes, il se matérialise généralement sous la forme d'une tendance au calme et à l'imperturbabilité.


Cependant, le concept d'ataraxie dépasse la philosophie et les religions et s'est implanté dans les domaines de la santé mentale.

Ataraxia en médecine et psychologie

Parfois, l'apparition de l'ataraxie n'est pas due à un effort volontaire de suivre les préceptes d'une religion ou d'une doctrine philosophique ayant traversé une phase de réflexion sur le sujet. Plusieurs fois, en fait, Ataraxia fait une apparition totalement indésirable et inattendue, à la suite d'un accident ayant causé des dommages au cerveau .

Et, bien qu'apparemment l'idée de ne pas être fâchée ou triste puisse être attirante, l'ataraxie causée par une blessure a de graves conséquences sur la qualité de vie de ceux qui en souffrent. Sa manière de se rapporter aux autres et son image de soi changent radicalement du fait de rester involontairement dans un état d'imperturbabilité éternelle.


Ataraxia vu du neurologique

Cela peut paraître étrange, mais c'est tout à fait logique: notre cerveau n'est pas seulement l'ensemble des organes qui rendent la conscience possible, la capacité de planifier et de penser logiquement ou l'utilisation du langage, mais il est également à la base de tous les processus du processus. que nos états émotionnels sont basés. Cela signifie que Si certaines parties du cerveau humain commencent à faire défaut, certains aspects de notre vie émotionnelle peuvent être altérés , tandis que le reste des fonctions de notre façon d’être reste plus ou moins inchangé.

Tout comme les lésions cérébrales ne provoquent que la mort d'une partie du cerveau, ce qui reste altéré après un tel accident ne représente qu'une partie (plus ou moins importante) de notre vie mentale. Dans le cas de l'ataraxie, cela peut être dû à des dysfonctionnements dans l'interaction du système limbique avec le lobe frontal, chargés entre autres de "amortir" l'impact à court et moyen terme de nos émotions sur notre comportement. .


De cette manière, il est très difficile pour un stimulus de modifier radicalement l'état émotionnel d'une personne présentant ce type d'ataraxie; non pas parce qu'il s'est entraîné à certaines techniques de méditation, mais parce que ses circuits cérébraux ont commencé à fonctionner de manière anormale.

Comment sont les personnes atteintes d'ataraxie médicale?

Ataraxie pathologique il se manifeste à travers ces caractéristiques principales :

1. Tendance à la passivité

Personnes atteintes d'ataraxie médicale ils prennent à peine l'initiative, et ils réagissent simplement à ce qui leur arrive autour d'eux .

2. Absence d'apparition d'états émotionnels intenses

Indépendamment de ce que la personne veut, vous ne ressentez ni colère ni anxiété , mais il n’ya pas non plus de moments de grande joie.

3. Stabilité émotionnelle inhabituelle

À cause de ce qui précède, L'état émotionnel de la personne ne semble pas dépendre de l'environnement: il reste toujours plus ou moins le même .

4. Impossibilité de frustration

Le fait que les événements n'entraînent pas les conséquences positives que nous attendions ne provoque pas de frustration chez la personne.

5. Disparition de la culpabilité

C'est l'une des conséquences les plus notables de l'ataraxie due à des lésions, du moins du point de vue moral et social. La personne atteinte d'ataraxie médicale elle ne se sent pas affectée par les mauvaises choses qui lui arrivent , mais il ne réagit pas non plus en voyant comment ses actes peuvent nuire à autrui.

En guise de conclusion

L’ataraxie médicale est le reflet de ce que serait l’ataraxie philosophique poussée à l’extrême. . Cela n'aggrave pas seulement la qualité de vie de ceux qui en font l'expérience, mais empêche également l'établissement d'une communication adéquate et de liens affectifs avec les autres.


PHILOSOPHY - The Stoics (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes