yes, therapy helps!
Atazagorafobia (fear of forgetting): symptoms, causes and treatment

Atazagorafobia (fear of forgetting): symptoms, causes and treatment

January 25, 2022

Atazagoraphobia is the excessive fear of forgetting, which includes both fear of forgetting, and the fear of being forgotten or replaced by others . Although it is a common sensation, Atazagoraphobia has been little described in scientific language. In fact, it has been more pointed out by philosophers and writers who speak of atazagoraphobia as the fear of eternal anonymity.

In this article we will see what atazagorafobia is and what are its main characteristics.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Atazagorafobia: the fear of oblivion

The act of remembering is a central function for human beings. Among other things it allows us to maintain a sense of integrity. It also serves as an identification tool that makes it possible to respond to the demands of the present and the future.


The opposite act, that of forgetting , is a process that occurs along with memory consolidation. Neuroscience tells us that, from an adaptive point of view, forgetfulness allows the purification of unnecessary or irrelevant information, or allows us to block traumatic experiences and thus avoid some discomfort.

Possible causes

At the base of the Atazagoraphobia is the recognition that, just as it would be little adaptive to remember absolutely everything; It is also not very functional to forget everything. We can intuit quickly that the latter would result in a significant loss of our own "I". We can also suspect that forgetting the most everyday things would seriously affect our links with others . So much for the modification of our perception of the world and of ourselves, as of the closest beings.


The above intuitions can provoke fear, or not. It may be that we evoke and retain them as useful information without necessarily generating a physiological response or obsessive thoughts about the consequences of forgetting and being forgotten.

Produce fear, or not, the perception we have about the negative consequences of forgetting It may have been generated by having lived with a person whose medical condition hinders memory retention or even prevents him from evoking memories of the past and the everyday.

However, excessive fear of oblivion can also be a consequence of how the media have often portrayed their consequences and the associated medical conditions (Staniloiu & Markowitsch, 2012). More than the research that makes us think of atazagoraphobia as a clinical fear of oblivion, this phobia has been rather widespread and sometimes mediated.


  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

Symptoms: do you have clinical manifestations?

Any phobia can cause an experience of anxiety and the organic activation that accompanies it. That is to say, hyperventilation or hypsarrhythmia, dyspnea, excessive sweating, nausea, tremors , among other manifestations. However, Atazagoraphobia is not a mental disorder recognized by any specialized association.

It is a phobia (a fear that is not rationally justified), which has been described in colloquial and informal language to refer to important discomforts related to forgetfulness ; but that are not necessarily clinically significant. That is, they do not affect the activities or responsibilities that are considered appropriate for the person in their cultural environment.

For this reason we can not formally talk about a series of clinical criteria that lead us to a diagnosis of Atazagoraphobia. What we can do is analyze in what situations and contexts can be generated more likely an experience of fear of oblivion and why.

In what circumstances can it be presented?

Returning to the issue of medical conditions related to memory loss, we can consider Atazagoraphobia it can occur in two main circumstances (although it could also happen in others): people who have received a diagnosis and the people who care for them.

1. Before a diagnosis of medical condition associated with memory loss

On the one hand, Atazagoraphobia may manifest itself in people who have an early diagnosis of dementia or other medical conditions. It would be normal for them to feel afraid to forget their own identity, other people or also everyday things. However, the diagnosis by itself does not generate an irrational fear .

The latter can be produced by multiple factors, among which are the emotional and psychological resources of the person receiving the diagnosis; the support network that you have; and also the quality of the information given by the doctor, as well as his attitude.

That is, if the diagnosis is accompanied by a detailed and truthful explanation about the medical condition and its possible consequences, there is probably no experience of irrational fear of forgetting. The same if the doctor's attitude is empathic and patient before the person with whom it deals.

2. During the care of the person who has received the diagnosis

On the other hand, Atazagoraphobia can occur in caregivers of people who have been diagnosed with dementia or other related medical condition. The latter may be related to the belief that the person they care for will eventually forget them , which can affect both the identification mechanisms of those who care for them, and their daily tasks.

Related to the latter, it can also happen that the person who cares generates the belief that she herself will be forgotten after the loss of memory of who has the diagnosis occurs. This same can be work and accompanied by professionals and for the security provided by the support network itself.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kangyj (2015). Athazagoraphobia: phobia of being forgotten or ignored? Retrieved July 31, 2018. Available at //psych2go.net/athazagoraphobia-the-phobia-of-being-forgotten/.
  • Fearof.net (2018). Fear of being forgotten phobia- athazagoraphobia. Retrieved July 31, 2018. Available at //www.fearof.net/fear-of-being-forgotten-phobia-athazagoraphobia/
  • Staniloio, A. & Markowitsch, H. (2012). Towards solving the riddle of forgetting in functional amnesia: recent advances and current opinions. Frontiers in Psychology. DOI: //doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2012.00403.

Athazagoraphobia - Rafael Salinas (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Atazagorafobia (peur de l'oubli): symptômes, causes et traitement

Atazagorafobia (peur de l'oubli): symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 18, 2022

L’atazagoraphobie est la peur excessive de l’oubli, qui comprend à la fois la peur de l’oubli et la la peur d'être oublié ou remplacé par d'autres . Bien que ce soit une sensation courante, l’atazagoraphobie a été peu décrite dans le langage scientifique. En fait, les philosophes et les écrivains ont davantage souligné le fait que l’atazagoraphobie était une peur de l’éternel anonymat.

Dans cet article nous verrons ce qu'est atazagorafobia et quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Atazagorafobia: la peur de l'oubli

L'acte de se souvenir est une fonction centrale pour les êtres humains. Cela nous permet entre autres de maintenir un sentiment d’intégrité. Il sert également d’outil d’identification permettant de répondre aux demandes du présent et du futur.


L'acte opposé, celui d'oublier , est un processus qui se produit avec la consolidation de la mémoire. Les neurosciences nous disent que d’un point de vue adaptatif, l’oubli permet la purification d’informations inutiles ou non pertinentes, ou nous permet de bloquer les expériences traumatiques et d’éviter ainsi un certain inconfort.

Causes possibles

À la base de l’atazagoraphobie se trouve la reconnaissance que, tout comme il serait peu adaptatif de se souvenir absolument de tout; Il n’est pas très pratique d’oublier tout. Nous pouvons rapidement comprendre que ce dernier risque d’entraîner une perte importante de notre propre «moi». On peut aussi soupçonner que oublier les choses les plus quotidiennes affecterait sérieusement nos liens avec les autres . Voilà pour la modification de notre perception du monde et de nous-mêmes, comme des êtres les plus proches.


Les intuitions ci-dessus peuvent provoquer ou non la peur. Il se peut que nous les évoquions et les conservions comme des informations utiles sans générer nécessairement de réponse physiologique ni de pensées obsessionnelles sur les conséquences de l’oubli et de l’oubli.

Produire de la peur, ou non, la perception que nous avons des conséquences négatives de l'oubli Il a peut-être été engendré par le fait d'avoir vécu avec une personne dont l'état de santé entrave la conservation de la mémoire, voire l'empêche d'évoquer des souvenirs du passé et du quotidien.

Cependant, la peur excessive de l'oubli peut également être une conséquence de la manière dont les médias ont souvent décrit leurs conséquences et les conditions médicales associées (Staniloiu & Markowitsch, 2012). Plus que la recherche qui nous fait penser à l’atazagoraphobie comme une peur clinique de l’oubli, cette phobie a été assez répandue et parfois médiatisée.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

Symptômes: avez-vous des manifestations cliniques?

Toute phobie peut provoquer une expérience d'anxiété et l'activation organique qui l'accompagne. C'est-à-dire, hyperventilation ou hypsarythmie, dyspnée, transpiration excessive, nausée, tremblements , entre autres manifestations. Cependant, l’atazagoraphobie n’est pas un trouble mental reconnu par une association spécialisée.

Il s’agit d’une phobie (crainte qui n’est pas rationnellement justifiée) et qui a été décrite en termes familiers et informels. malaises importants liés à l'oubli ; mais ce n'est pas nécessairement cliniquement significatif. Autrement dit, elles n’affectent pas les activités ou les responsabilités jugées appropriées pour la personne dans son environnement culturel.

Pour cette raison, nous ne pouvons pas formellement parler d'une série de critères cliniques qui nous conduisent à un diagnostic d'atazagoraphobie. Ce que nous pouvons faire, c'est analyser dans quelles situations et quels contextes peuvent être générés plus probablement une expérience de peur de l'oubli et pourquoi.

Dans quelles circonstances peut-il être présenté?

En revenant à la question des conditions médicales liées à la perte de mémoire, on peut envisager une atazagoraphobie il peut se produire dans deux circonstances principales (bien que cela puisse aussi arriver chez d'autres): les personnes qui ont reçu un diagnostic et les personnes qui s'en occupent.

1. Avant un diagnostic de problème médical associé à une perte de mémoire

D'un côté, l'atazagoraphobie peut se manifester chez les personnes ayant un diagnostic précoce de démence ou d'autres conditions médicales. Il serait normal qu’ils aient peur d’oublier leur identité, d’autres personnes ou encore des choses de tous les jours. Cependant, le diagnostic en soi ne génère pas une peur irrationnelle .

Ces derniers peuvent être produits par plusieurs facteurs, parmi lesquels figurent les ressources émotionnelles et psychologiques de la personne à qui le diagnostic est attribué; le réseau de soutien que vous avez; ainsi que la qualité des informations données par le médecin, ainsi que son attitude.

Autrement dit, si le diagnostic est accompagné d’une explication détaillée et véridique de l’état de santé et de ses conséquences possibles, il n’ya probablement aucune expérience de peur irrationnelle de l’oubli. De même si l'attitude du médecin est empathique et patiente devant la personne avec qui il traite.

2. Pendant les soins de la personne qui a reçu le diagnostic

D'autre part, l'atazagoraphobie peut survenir chez les aidants naturels de personnes chez qui on a diagnostiqué une démence ou un autre problème de santé connexe. Ce dernier peut être lié à la conviction que la personne dont ils s'occupent finira par les oublier , ce qui peut affecter à la fois les mécanismes d’identification de ceux qui les soignent et leurs tâches quotidiennes.

En lien avec ce dernier point, il peut également arriver que la personne qui s'en préoccupe génère la conviction qu'elle sera elle-même oubliée après la perte de mémoire de la personne qui a reçu le diagnostic. Ce même peut être travail et accompagné par des professionnels et pour la sécurité fournie par le réseau de support lui-même.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kangyj (2015). Athazagoraphobie: phobie d'être oublié ou ignoré? Récupéré le 31 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //psych2go.net/athazagoraphobia-the-phobia- of-being-forgotten/.
  • Fearof.net (2018). Peur d'être oubliée phobia-athazagoraphobie. Récupéré le 31 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.fearof.net/fear-of-being-forgotten-phobia-athazagoraphobia/
  • Staniloio, A. et Markowitsch, H. (2012). Vers la résolution de l'énigme de l'oubli dans l'amnésie fonctionnelle: avancées récentes et opinions actuelles. Frontières en psychologie. DOI: //doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2012.00403.

La peor fobia del mundo (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes