yes, therapy helps!
Atheists are more respectful of believers than vice versa

Atheists are more respectful of believers than vice versa

October 28, 2020

Rousseau said that there are several types of religion, among which is a "private" and individual version of the belief in the transcendent and the divine, and another that is of a collective nature, based on public rituals and shared dogmas and symbols. In practice, said this philosopher, the first variant is undesirable, because it does not act to make societies be united.

Time has passed and with it societies too; Now, unlike three centuries ago, we must satisfy a need that did not exist before. This new need is to create an inclusive culture in which no one is left on the sidelines for issues related to their beliefs or absence of them. And, while the history of religions is full of violent conflicts between confessions, the relationship they have with atheism has not been much better .


Today, in fact, a study shows that in a world where freedom of thought and belief is increasingly defended, atheism continues to be stigmatized.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Can you be a psychologist and believe in God?"

The respect of atheists by believers is not reciprocated

A team of researchers at the University of Ohio has shown that atheists are more respectful of believers than vice versa, something to which they offer several explanations.

The team of researchers, led by Colleen Cowgill, used a game based on economics to find out how each one's personal beliefs influence the way we identify with the rest or on the contrary if we distance ourselves from them. Specifically, we wanted to see if the fact of being a believer or atheist makes us act giving high priority to those who share these beliefs or if this priority tends not to exist.


For this, a simple exercise known as the game of the dictator was chosen, in which a person must decide if he wants to share his money, and what amount must yield. In this way, couples are created in which one person is an atheist and the other is a believer, and a domain role is assigned to one of them to decide if they want to distribute a quantity of money.

The result showed that, knowing the beliefs of each one, the Christians distributed more money to the rest of the Christians than to the atheists, while the atheists did not give favorable treatment to any of the collectives, giving on average the same amount to believers and non-believers . This ceased to occur at the time when each person's religious beliefs, or the absence of them, ceased to be revealed.

  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

The stigma could be behind that

Colleen and her team propose an explanation to explain why atheists tend to be kinder to believers than they receive in return from believers, at least according to this study. What could be behind this phenomenon is a compensation strategy on the part of atheists, to avoid receiving the negative consequences related to prejudice and stigma about atheism in general.


And it is necessary to bear in mind that for a long time religion and morality have been practically synonymous: the ethics arose from the belief in a higher order that tells us what we should do. The absence of belief in the divine, according to this logic, is a threat, because there is nothing that guarantees us that an atheist will not commit the most atrocious acts if we think that the only thing that prevents us from behaving badly is our union with one or several gods.

On the other hand, even today there is still little contact with atheism (today there is no country in which the majority of the population is atheist), so it is reasonable that those who do not believe in any religion should receive an unfavorable treatment if it offers the slightest chance to be seen as the enemy.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How much smarter, less religious?"

Full integration has not yet been achieved

This study shows that more private beliefs are still something that divides society, to the point where a simple label is able to make us treat ourselves in a different way . Tender to give a privileged treatment to one who is more like oneself is still a way to create an unnecessary division without there being a real reason for conflict.

Thus, atheists, being aware of the stereotypes that still persist, do their best to "compensate" the rest, since they start from a disadvantaged situation. In this sense, it would still be necessary to carry out investigations similar to these to see if Something similar happens with religious minorities in countries where there is a high degree of fanaticism.


Atheism 2.0 | Alain de Botton (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les athées sont plus respectueux des croyants que l'inverse

Les athées sont plus respectueux des croyants que l'inverse

Août 11, 2020

Rousseau a indiqué qu'il existe plusieurs types de religion, parmi lesquels une version "privée" et individuelle de la croyance en le transcendant et le divin, et une autre de nature collective, basée sur des rituels publics et des dogmes et symboles partagés. En pratique, a dit ce philosophe, la première variante est indésirable, car elle n’agit pas pour que les sociétés soient unies.

Le temps a passé et avec lui les sociétés aussi; Aujourd'hui, contrairement à il y a trois siècles, nous devons satisfaire un besoin qui n'existait pas auparavant. Ce nouveau besoin consiste à créer une culture inclusive dans laquelle personne ne soit laissé de côté pour des questions liées à ses croyances ou à son absence. Et, alors que l’histoire des religions est pleine de conflits violents entre confessions, la relation qu'ils ont avec l'athéisme n'a pas été beaucoup mieux .


Aujourd'hui, en fait, une étude montre que dans un monde où la liberté de pensée et de conviction est de plus en plus défendue, l'athéisme continue d'être stigmatisé.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pouvez-vous être un psychologue et croire en Dieu?"

Le respect des athées par les croyants n'est pas réciproque

Une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université de l’Ohio a montré que les athées étaient plus respectueux des croyants que l’inverse, ce à quoi ils offrent plusieurs explications.

L’équipe de chercheurs, dirigée par Colleen Cowgill, a utilisé un jeu basé sur l’économie pour découvrir comment les croyances personnelles de chacun influencent la façon dont nous nous identifions au reste ou au contraire si nous nous éloignons d'eux. Plus précisément, nous voulions voir si le fait d’être croyant ou athée nous oblige à agir en accordant une priorité élevée à ceux qui partagent ces convictions ou si cette priorité a tendance à ne pas exister.


Pour cela, un simple exercice connu sous le nom de jeu du dictateur a été choisi, dans lequel une personne doit décider si elle veut partager son argent et quelle quantité doit rapporter. De cette manière, des couples sont créés dans lesquels une personne est athée et l'autre croyant, et un rôle de domaine est attribué à l'un d'eux pour décider s'il souhaite distribuer une quantité d'argent.

Le résultat a montré que, connaissant les croyances de chacun, les chrétiens distribuaient plus d’argent au reste des chrétiens qu’aux athées, alors que les athées n’accordaient de traitement favorable à aucun des collectifs, donnant en moyenne le même montant aux croyants et aux non-croyants . Cela a cessé au moment où les croyances religieuses de chaque personne, ou leur absence, ont cessé d'être révélées.

  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

La stigmatisation pourrait être derrière cela

Colleen et son équipe proposent une explication pour expliquer pourquoi les athées ont tendance à être plus gentils avec les croyants qu’ils ne reçoivent en retour de croyants, du moins selon cette étude. Ce qui pourrait être derrière ce phénomène est une stratégie de compensation de la part des athées, éviter de recevoir les conséquences négatives liées aux préjugés et à la stigmatisation sur l'athéisme en général.


Et il ne faut pas oublier que depuis longtemps religion et morale ont été pratiquement synonymes: l'éthique est née de la croyance en un ordre supérieur cela nous dit ce que nous devrions faire. L'absence de croyance en le divin, selon cette logique, est une menace, car rien ne nous garantit qu'un athée ne commettra pas les actes les plus atroces si nous pensons que la seule chose qui nous empêche de nous comporter mal est notre union avec un ou plusieurs dieux.

Par ailleurs, même aujourd’hui, les contacts avec l’athéisme sont encore limités (il n’existe aujourd’hui aucun pays où la majorité de la population soit athée). Il est donc raisonnable que ceux qui ne croient en aucune religion reçoivent un traitement défavorable s'il offre la moindre chance d'être considéré comme l'ennemi.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Combien plus intelligents, moins religieux?"

L'intégration complète n'a pas encore été réalisée

Cette étude montre que plus de croyances privées sont encore quelque chose qui divise la société, au point où une simple étiquette peut nous faire nous traiter différemment . Donner un traitement privilégié à quelqu'un qui ressemble davantage à soi-même reste un moyen de créer une division inutile sans qu'il y ait vraiment de motif de conflit.

Ainsi, les athées, conscients des stéréotypes qui persistent, font de leur mieux pour "compenser" les autres, puisqu'ils partent d'une situation défavorisée. Dans ce sens, il serait toujours nécessaire de mener des enquêtes similaires à celles-ci pour voir si Quelque chose de semblable se passe avec les minorités religieuses dans les pays où le fanatisme est très développé.


LAÏCITÉ : LIBERTÉ OU SERVITUDE ? (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes