yes, therapy helps!
Autism: 8 things you did not know about this disorder

Autism: 8 things you did not know about this disorder

October 1, 2022

Almost the 1% of the child population suffers from autism . Autism alters the person's ability to communicate and engage in social interactions, and is identified by the presence of repetitive behaviors.

8 curiosities and things you did not know about Autism

In this article we will review a total of eight discoveries about this disorder .

1. Geniuses with autism

Leading thinkers, scientists and musicians such as Isaac Newton, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig Beethoven, Inmanuel Kant and Albert Einstein have been studied by Michael Fitzgerald, British psychiatrist Trinity College of Dublin, who concluded that they all suffered some degree of autism .


2. Skull greater than average

Those affected by autism segregate Higher hormone levels involved in physical growth , like insulin type 1 and type 2 growth factors, compared with people who do not suffer from this disorder.

This peculiarity could explain why the cranial circumference of autistic people is greater, as a recent investigation by Cincinatti University published in Clinical Endocrinology.

3. Indifference to the opinion of others

An investigation of California Institute of Technology notes that a people with autism feel totally indifferent about what others think or think of them . To reach that conclusion, the researchers contrasted the conduct of financial donations for the NGO UNICEF.


It was compared with two different situations: the first when the donor made the donation without any company, and the second when it was observed by another (or other) subjects. Participants without autism donated larger amounts when another person was present, since the amount contributed was perceived as an indicator of their social reputation before others. In the case of people with autism, the amounts contributed did not differ according to the situation. The results were published in the magazine PNAS.

4. Process information more effectively

People with autism have a superior capacity in processing information compared to the general population, a fact that could reveal the surprising percentage of autistic people whose employment is in the high technologies sector , according to several researches carried out in the United Kingdom.


In addition to this better information processing, they are also more proficient at discriminating the fundamental information from the non-essential information. The study was published in the Journal of Abnormal Psychology.

5. The morphology of the autistic face

The face of children suffering from autism has some of its own characteristics, as pointed out in a recent study published in the journal Molecular Autism.

They have their mouths and eyes slightly wider than the average , greater proportion of the front and the middle area of ​​the face (cheeks and nose) subtly smaller.

6. Premature babies

Newborns with low birth weight and premature babies have a probability of 500% of developing autistic disorder than those born at nine months and with average weight, as indicated by a study published in Pediatrics who collected data for more than twenty years.

7. Evolutively positive

Some genes that influence the development of autism could have had an evolutionary efficacy in our ancestors, because provided greater capabilities in visual and spatial intelligence , concentration and memory, skills that allowed greater efficiency in hunter and gatherer individuals.

8. Mirror neurons

Those affected by autism have a greater predisposition to suffer problems in their social relationships , because they have limitations in their ability to show empathy in human interactions. A study that came to light in the magazine Biological Psychiatry revealed that this condition is due to alterations in the system of mirror neurons (those neurons that empower to understand and anticipate the pretensions and reactions of other people), which develop much more slowly than in people without autism.

Extra: Guinea pigs can help people with Autism

Several scientific investigations have reported that l As people with some autism spectrum disorder are benefited by the company of this small rodent .

You can check it by reading this article:

"Guinea pigs have a positive effect on young people with Autism"

The Signs of Autism (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Autisme: 8 choses que vous ignorez sur ce trouble

Autisme: 8 choses que vous ignorez sur ce trouble

Juillet 9, 2020

Presque le 1% de la population enfantine est autiste . L'autisme modifie la capacité de la personne à communiquer et à s'engager dans des interactions sociales et est identifié par la présence de comportements répétitifs.

8 curiosités et choses que vous ignorez sur l'autisme

Dans cet article, nous examinerons un total de huit découvertes sur ce trouble .

1. Génies atteints d'autisme

Des penseurs de renom, des scientifiques et des musiciens tels que Isaac Newton, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig Beethoven, Inmanuel Kant et Albert Einstein ont été étudiés par Michael Fitzgerald, psychiatre britannique. Trinity College de Dublin, qui a conclu que ils ont tous souffert d'un certain degré d'autisme .


2. Crâne supérieur à la moyenne

Les personnes touchées par l'autisme se séparent Des niveaux d'hormones plus élevés impliqués dans la croissance physique , comme les facteurs de croissance de l'insuline de type 1 et de type 2, par rapport aux personnes ne souffrant pas de ce trouble.

Cette particularité pourrait expliquer pourquoi la circonférence crânienne des autistes est plus grande, comme le montre une récente enquête de l’Université de Cincinatti publiée dans Endocrinologie Clinique.

3. Indifférence à l'opinion des autres

Une enquête sur Institut de technologie de Californie note qu'un les personnes atteintes d'autisme se sentent totalement indifférentes à ce que les autres pensent ou pensent d'eux . Pour arriver à cette conclusion, les chercheurs ont comparé le déroulement des dons en argent pour l’ONG UNICEF.


Elle a été comparée à deux situations différentes: la première lorsque le donateur a fait le don sans aucune entreprise et la seconde lorsque celui-ci a été observé par un autre (ou d'autres) sujets. Les participants non autistes ont fait des dons plus importants en présence d'une autre personne, ce montant étant perçu comme un indicateur de leur réputation sociale avant les autres. Dans le cas des autistes, les montants versés ne différaient pas selon la situation. Les résultats ont été publiés dans le magazine PNAS.

4. Traiter l'information plus efficacement

Les personnes avec autisme ont une capacité supérieure de traitement de l’information par rapport à la population en général, un fait qui pourrait révéler le pourcentage surprenant d'autistes qui travaillent dans le secteur des hautes technologies , selon plusieurs recherches effectuées au Royaume-Uni.


En plus de ce meilleur traitement de l'information, ils sont également plus compétents pour distinguer les informations fondamentales des informations non essentielles. L'étude a été publiée dans le Journal de psychologie anormale.

5. La morphologie du visage autiste

Le visage des enfants atteints d'autisme présente certaines de ses caractéristiques propres, comme le souligne une étude récente publiée dans la revue Autisme moléculaire.

Ils ont la bouche et les yeux légèrement plus larges que la moyenne , une plus grande proportion du devant et du milieu du visage (joues et nez) légèrement plus petite.

6. bébés prématurés

Les nouveau-nés de faible poids à la naissance et les prématurés ont une probabilité de 500% des troubles autistiques en développement que ceux nés à neuf mois et de poids moyen, comme l'indique une étude publiée dans Pédiatrie qui ont collecté des données pendant plus de vingt ans.

7. Évolutivement positif

Certains gènes qui influencent le développement de l’autisme auraient pu avoir une efficacité évolutive chez nos ancêtres, car fourni de plus grandes capacités en intelligence visuelle et spatiale , concentration et mémoire, compétences qui ont permis une plus grande efficacité chez les chasseurs et les cueilleurs.

8. neurones miroirs

Les personnes atteintes d'autisme ont un une plus grande prédisposition à souffrir de problèmes dans leurs relations sociales , car ils sont limités dans leur capacité à faire preuve d’empathie dans les interactions humaines. Une étude qui a été révélée dans le magazine Psychiatrie biologique a révélé que cette condition est due à des altérations du système de neurones miroirs (ces neurones qui permettent de comprendre et d'anticiper les prétentions et les réactions des autres personnes), qui se développent beaucoup plus lentement que chez les personnes sans autisme.

Extra: Les cochons d'Inde peuvent aider les personnes atteintes d'autisme

Plusieurs enquêtes scientifiques ont rapporté que l Comme les personnes atteintes de certains troubles du spectre autistique bénéficient de la compagnie de ce petit rongeur .

Vous pouvez le vérifier en lisant cet article:

"Les cochons d'Inde ont un effet positif sur les jeunes autistes"

8 SECRET QUE VOUS IGNOREZ SUREMENT SUR LIONEL MESSI ! (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes