yes, therapy helps!
Automatic thoughts: what are they and how do they control us?

Automatic thoughts: what are they and how do they control us?

June 24, 2021

Surely the phrase "I feel that I live on autopilot" is familiar to you, either because you heard it said to someone or because you repeat it to yourself. Actually, it's a very common habit. Currently the lifestyle is accelerated, monotonous and repetitive, making most people realize only a small percentage of all the activities they do on a day-to-day basis. Our brain, and specifically our memory, has a great capacity to record repeated behaviors and can cope so that we need less attention and concentration to carry them out.

For example: The first time we drive, the attention is maximized on the vehicle, the steering wheel, the speeds, the mirrors and the road, but after a time of practice less concentration is needed, the movements do not require more effort due to which are stored in the wonderful storehouse of memory. Something similar happens with the automatic thoughts .


  • Related article: "The 9 types of thought and their characteristics"

Habits based on neuronal connections

As we adopt a habit, our nervous system internalizes it. This type of records is carried out even at the neuronal level .

When someone pinches us, for example, then the neurons communicate and send information from the axon of one to the dendrite of another, producing a connection by synapse, which sends a message of pain that provokes the reaction to the stimulus, that feeling immediately it is recorded and if someone pinches us again with the same intensity it is probable that we do not react in the same way. The reason? The perceived information is not new and does not surprise the neurons, it would be necessary to change the stimulus or intensify it to provoke a reaction again.


It also happens with everyday life and with the experiences that we repeat every day, where we immerse ourselves in automatic movements and behaviors .

Now, these behaviors are not only those that are made or come from the outside, such as walking, driving a vehicle or receiving a strong stimulus on our skin, but also we have behaviors inside. They are the thoughts.

In fact, according to the theories of Cognitive Psychology, a large part of external actions and emotions depend on thoughts. And, just like our physical behavior, the thoughts also become automatic .

  • Related article: "What is the synaptic space and how does it work?"

Automatic thoughts

Is the existence of these thoughts really a problem? It is for a person who begins to feel bad in different areas of his life; personal, work or family and begins to suffer symptoms of sadness, anxiety, worries or any other factor causing physical, social or emotional imbalance, understanding that the individual, in many cases, does not even know why he feels this way.


Automatic thinking is repeated many times and has great influence on emotions causing what is called cognitive rumination and usually its content is loaded with a negative perception of the individual. This information lasts only a few seconds but has great power .

Have you noticed how any object looks after a mouse is eating it little by little? When you realize, there is a big hole! So that's it mental rumination , it is creating a brand little by little and from so much repetition a hole begins to form. If you do not hunt the "mouse" the situation can get out of hand.

Thoughts as simple as "I do not serve" are enough to develop an avoidance behavior of any activity that is considered useful because an irrational belief has already been created and memory has registered so many times that many experiences will make it active.

  • Related article: "Rumination: the annoying vicious circle of thought"

How to identify and manage them?

There are many techniques to identify and manage automatic thoughts, and whether or not they work depends on the abilities of each one, but The first thing that is always recommended is to seek help from a professional in Psychology . Going to therapy is a beautiful path that will lead you to question many things and identify the traps that you place yourself.

But beyond this type of services, there are tools that can be practiced at home and are very useful. One of them is self-registration. This technique is one of the most used in cognitive-behavioral therapy and requires a lot of commitment and discipline. It consists of recording your own behaviors (thoughts) and keeping track of them.It seems easy, right? The truth is that it requires a high level of concentration, precisely so that what is automatic, ceases to be so.

As mentioned before, many of the emotions are caused by distorted ideas, for this reason self-registration consists of identifying the thoughts that cause psychological distress, searching the mind those beliefs that trigger negative symptoms . This is an arduous and exhausting job, but it works, and when you realize those automatic thoughts and their content you understand how absurd and untruthful they can be.

Another way to get rid of some of these cognitive ruminations is to insert, in a conscious way, positive thoughts that can counteract the negative ones. The difficulty of this is that saying "nice" things is overrated, because not being this type of self-affirmations recorded in memory cause difficulties to remember and think about them.

One way to solve this can be seen in the experiment by W. G. Johnson (1971), in which he helped a 17-year-old student to increase the rate of positive self-affirmations . He told her to imagine positive thoughts every time she went to the bathroom, did it work? Yes! At the end of this experiment the student had markedly increased positive thoughts and negative ones had almost disappeared. The reason for this success? Johnson was based on the principle formulated by David Premack (1959) that dictates that behavior that is unlikely to occur (positive thoughts) can increase if combined with a behavior that has a high probability of occurrence (going to the bathroom).

The human mind is a beautiful world , mysterious and extremely interesting, to get to fully understand it is still far away but despite this, remember, you are not always reacting to the outside world, sometimes, you are the one who creates your own reactions.

Author: David Custodio Hernández, Clinical psychologist.


Automatic Thoughts (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pensées automatiques: que sont-elles et comment nous contrôlent-elles?

Pensées automatiques: que sont-elles et comment nous contrôlent-elles?

Mai 16, 2022

Certes, la phrase "Je sens que je vis sur pilote automatique" vous est familière, soit parce que vous l’avez entendu dire à quelqu'un, soit parce que vous vous le répétez. En fait, c'est une habitude très commune. Actuellement, le mode de vie est accéléré, monotone et répétitif, ce qui fait que la plupart des gens ne réalisent qu'un petit pourcentage de toutes les activités qu'ils réalisent au quotidien. Notre cerveau, et en particulier notre mémoire, a une grande capacité à enregistrer des comportements répétés et à y faire face, de sorte que nous avons besoin de moins d'attention et de concentration pour les mener à bien.

Par exemple: lors de la première conduite, l’attention est maximisée sur le véhicule, le volant, les vitesses, les rétroviseurs et la route, mais après un temps de pratique, il faut moins de concentration, les mouvements ne nécessitent pas plus d’effort, qui sont stockés dans le magasin merveilleux de la mémoire. Quelque chose de semblable se passe avec les pensées automatiques .


  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de pensées et leurs caractéristiques"

Habitudes basées sur des connexions neuronales

Lorsque nous adoptons une habitude, notre système nerveux l'intériorise. Ce type d’enregistrement s’effectue même au niveau neuronal .

Par exemple, quand on nous pince, les neurones communiquent et envoient des informations de l’axone de l’un à la dendrite de l’autre, produisant une connexion par synapse, qui envoie un message de douleur qui provoque la réaction au stimulus, ce sentiment immédiatement, il est enregistré et si quelqu'un nous pince à nouveau avec la même intensité, il est probable que nous ne réagissions pas de la même manière. L'information perçue n'est pas nouvelle et ne surprend pas les neurones, il faudrait modifier le stimulus ou l'intensifier pour provoquer à nouveau une réaction.


Cela arrive aussi avec la vie quotidienne et avec les expériences que nous répétons tous les jours, où nous nous immergeons mouvements et comportements automatiques .

Maintenant, ces comportements ne sont pas seulement ceux qui sont créés ou viennent de l'extérieur, tels que marcher, conduire un véhicule ou recevoir un stimulus puissant sur la peau, mais nous avons également des comportements à l'intérieur. Ils sont les pensées.

En fait, selon les théories de la psychologie cognitive, une grande partie des actions et des émotions externes dépendent des pensées. Et, tout comme notre comportement physique, les pensées deviennent aussi automatiques .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'espace synaptique et comment ça marche?"

Pensées automatiques

L'existence de ces pensées est-elle vraiment un problème? C'est pour une personne qui commence à se sentir mal dans différents domaines de sa vie; personnels, professionnels ou familiaux et commence à souffrir de symptômes de tristesse, d’anxiété, de soucis ou de tout autre facteur provoquant un déséquilibre physique, social ou émotionnel, sachant que, dans de nombreux cas, l’individu ne sait même pas pourquoi il se sent ainsi.


La pensée automatique est répétée plusieurs fois et a une grande influence sur les émotions provoquant ce que l’on appelle la rumination cognitive et généralement son contenu est chargé d’une perception négative de l’individu. Cette information ne dure que quelques secondes mais a un grand pouvoir .

Avez-vous remarqué comment un objet se présente après qu'une souris la mange petit à petit? Quand vous réalisez, il y a un grand trou! Eh bien c'est comme ça rumination mentale , c’est peu à peu que l’on crée une marque et qu’un trou commence à se former si souvent. Si vous ne chassez pas la "souris", la situation peut devenir incontrôlable.

Des pensées aussi simples que "Je ne sers pas" suffisent pour développer un comportement d'évitement de toute activité jugée utile, car une croyance irrationnelle a déjà été créée et la mémoire enregistrée si souvent que de nombreuses expériences la rendent active.

  • Article connexe: "Rumination: le cercle vicieux de la pensée"

Comment les identifier et les gérer?

Il existe de nombreuses techniques pour identifier et gérer les pensées automatiques et leur fonctionnement dépend des capacités de chacune d'elles. La première chose qui est toujours recommandée est de faire appel à un professionnel en psychologie . Aller en thérapie est un beau chemin qui vous mènera à remettre en question de nombreuses choses et à identifier les pièges que vous vous placez.

Mais au-delà de ce type de services, il existe des outils qui peuvent être pratiqués à la maison et sont très utiles. L'un d'eux est l'auto-inscription. Cette technique est l’une des plus utilisées en thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et nécessite beaucoup d’engagement et de discipline. Cela consiste à enregistrer vos propres comportements (pensées) et à les suivre.Cela semble facile, non? La vérité est que cela nécessite un niveau élevé de concentration, précisément pour que ce qui est automatique cesse de l'être.

Comme mentionné précédemment, de nombreuses émotions sont provoquées par des idées faussées. Pour cette raison, l'auto-enregistrement consiste à identifier les pensées qui causent une détresse psychologique, à fouiller l'esprit. ces croyances qui déclenchent des symptômes négatifs . C'est un travail ardu et épuisant, mais cela fonctionne et lorsque vous réalisez ces pensées automatiques et leur contenu, vous comprenez à quel point elles peuvent être absurdes et mensongères.

Une autre façon de se débarrasser de certaines de ces ruminations cognitives consiste à insérer, de manière consciente, des pensées positives pouvant contrecarrer les pensées négatives. La difficulté, c’est que le fait de dire de «belles» choses est surestimé, car ne pas être ce type d’affirmations de soi enregistrées dans la mémoire pose des difficultés pour se rappeler et y penser.

L’expérience de W. G. Johnson (1971) dans laquelle il a aidé un élève de 17 ans à trouver un moyen de résoudre ce problème augmenter le taux d'affirmation de soi positive . Il lui a dit d'imaginer des pensées positives chaque fois qu'elle allait aux toilettes, ça a fonctionné? Oui! À la fin de cette expérience, l’étudiant avait nettement accru les pensées positives et les pensées négatives avaient presque disparu. La raison de ce succès? Johnson est basé sur le principe formulé par David Premack (1959) selon lequel un comportement peu susceptible de se produire (pensées positives) peut augmenter s'il est associé à un comportement ayant une probabilité d'occurrence élevée (aller aux toilettes).

L'esprit humain est un monde magnifique , mystérieux et extrêmement intéressant, pour bien comprendre que c’est encore loin, mais malgré cela, rappelez-vous, vous ne réagissez pas toujours au monde extérieur, parfois, c’est vous qui créez vos propres réactions.

Auteur: David Custodio Hernández, psychologue clinicien.


Comment modifier ses pensées ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes