yes, therapy helps!
Automatonophobia (fear of dolls): symptoms, causes and treatment

Automatonophobia (fear of dolls): symptoms, causes and treatment

September 2, 2022

There are many stories created around the idea of ​​perverse dolls, evil puppets and androids that threaten to end the human race . So the feeling of discomfort that many people feel around them is more than justified.

However, when this discomfort turns into terror or exaggerated anxiety responses we speak of automatonophobia. Throughout this article we will talk about this strange phobia, its causes and its treatment.

What is automatonophobia?

Among all the existing phobias, the automatonophobia is perhaps one of the most curious, but at the same time one of the easiest to understand. This specific phobia consists in experiencing an exaggerated and irrational fear of everything that symbolizes or falsely personifies a sensitive being.


That is to say, the person feels great fear towards entities or objects, both animate and inanimate, that represent a living being . These objects are usually dolls, mannequins, statues, etc.

When a person is in front of one of these objects a great anxiety and anguish response arises in her, which can lead to the person avoiding at all costs to find one of these objects in question.

  • Within this category of specific phobia other phobias related to them can be classified. These are:
  • Pupafobia or fear of the puppets
  • Pediophobia or fear of dolls
  • Coulrophobia or phobia and clown phobia

symptom

As in the rest of phobias, the exacerbated fear made all kinds of objects that simulate or represent a living being, especially those that pretend to be people, cause a series of anxious symptoms in the person.


This symptomatology is different because the individual manifests a large number of anxiety symptoms of a very marked intensity accompanied by a sensation of anguish and practically unbearable torment . In spite of this, in very few occasions the person ends up suffering from a panic attack.

Due to the intensity of the symptoms these are easily recognizable in the person, since the amount of changes and imbalances in physical functioning are highly visible.

These physical changes of San before the appearance of the feared stimulus and include:

  • Increase in the cardiac rate
  • Increase in the respiratory rate
  • Palpitations
  • Tachycardia
  • Muscular stiffness
  • Choking sensation
  • Headaches
  • Dilation of the pupils
  • Vertigos
  • Nausea and / or vomiting

Regarding the cognitive and behavioral symptoms of automatonophobia, this is related to negative irrational thoughts about the feared elements and the need to avoid them or escape them .


The avoidance behaviors are all those behaviors that the person carries out in order to avoid encountering these stimuli. While the escape behaviors are all those acts that it performs to escape or escape from the feared situation.

In summary, the signs or manifestations that indicate that a person suffers from autophophobia are:

  • Anxiety crisis in the presence or appearance of objects that represent people such as dolls or statues
  • Nightmares with these objects
  • Aversion to objects or cartoons
  • Physical symptoms such as tachycardia, sweating or muscle tension

Causes

It has been observed that the cases of automatonophobia are much more frequent in children and adolescents than in adults, in most of these cases the origin of the phobia is in an unpleasant experience in relation to some film or horror story that leaves a large trace in the child's psyche.

It is hypothesized that the cause of these experiences intensify or become more common in the child population is the great imagination characteristic of this stage, by which they are able to extrapolate the fear felt during the film to real life and before the appearance of one of these objects.

However, the specific causes of this phobia in children and adults are still unknown. Regarding the adult population, it is theorized that an exposure to threatening figures or symbols with traumatic consequences could give rise to this type of phobia.

On the other hand, The role of the brain in this type of phobias has also been highlighted . The idea is that it perceives this type of inanimate objects but of human appearance as something disturbing and therefore dangerous.

What is certain is that, like the rest of phobias, the automatonofobia can have its origin in a genetic predisposition, as well as in a series of personality traits that can make the person susceptible to developing some type of phobia .

Diagnosis

There is a series of diagnostic guidelines when evaluating a person with a possible automatonophobia.Although these patterns are more or less the same for all phobias, the central phobic stimulus changes from one to another.

These requirements for diagnosis are:

  • Fear and feelings of intense anxiety before inanimate objects with human form
  • Feeling of fear or intense anxiety before the phobic stimulus
  • Avoidance behavior or escape before the appearance of the phobic stimulus
  • The sensations of fear are considered disproportionate taking into account the real threat that such stimulus represents
  • Symptoms occur for more than six months
  • The symptomatology and the consequences of this cause a clinically significant malaise, this supposes an interference in some of the contexts of the patient
  • The symptomatology is not explained by any other mental alteration or anxiety

Treatment

Like the other specific phobias, the most effective treatment or intervention consists of psychotherapy. Specifically, the systematic desensitization provided by the cognitive-behavioral current has the highest success rate.

This intervention consists of progressive exposure to the feared elements and accompanied by a relaxation training to calm the anxiety response and accustom the patient to the presence of said stimulus.

In addition, cognitive therapy sessions are added in order to eliminate the irrational thoughts and beliefs that the person associates with all those objects that are the center of their phobia.


Top 10 Extremely Bizarre Phobias (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Automatonophobie (peur des poupées): symptômes, causes et traitement

Automatonophobie (peur des poupées): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 25, 2019

Il y a beaucoup d'histoires créées autour de l'idée de poupées perverses, de marionnettes diaboliques et d'androïdes qui menacent de mettre fin à la race humaine. . Ainsi, le sentiment de malaise que beaucoup de gens ressentent autour d'eux est plus que justifié.

Cependant, lorsque cet inconfort se transforme en terreur ou en réponses d'anxiété exagérées, on parle d'automatonophobie. Tout au long de cet article, nous parlerons de cette étrange phobie, de ses causes et de son traitement.

Qu'est-ce que l'automatonophobie?

Parmi toutes les phobies existantes, l'automatonophobie est peut-être l'une des plus curieuses, mais en même temps une des plus faciles à comprendre. Cette phobie spécifique consiste à éprouver une peur exagérée et irrationnelle de tout ce qui symbolise ou personnifie faussement un être sensible.


C'est-à-dire, la personne ressent une grande peur envers les entités ou les objets, à la fois animés et inanimés, qui représentent un être vivant . Ces objets sont généralement des poupées, des mannequins, des statues, etc.

Lorsqu'une personne se trouve devant l'un de ces objets, une grande anxiété et une vive angoisse se manifestent en elle, ce qui peut conduire la personne à éviter à tout prix de trouver l'un de ces objets en question.

  • Dans cette catégorie de phobies spécifiques, d’autres phobies qui leur sont associées peuvent être classées. Ceux-ci sont:
  • Pupafobia ou peur des marionnettes
  • Pédiophobie ou peur des poupées
  • Coulrophobie ou phobie et phobie de clown

Les symptômes

Comme dans le reste des phobies, la peur exacerbée faisait que toutes sortes d'objets qui simulent ou représentent un être vivant, en particulier ceux qui prétendent être des personnes, provoquent une série de symptômes anxieux chez la personne.


Cette symptomatologie est différente car l'individu manifeste un grand nombre de symptômes d'anxiété d'une intensité très marquée accompagnés d'une sensation d'angoisse et d'un supplice pratiquement insupportable . Malgré cela, dans de très rares occasions, la personne finit par souffrir d'une attaque de panique.

En raison de l'intensité des symptômes, ceux-ci sont facilement identifiables chez la personne concernée, car l'ampleur des modifications et des déséquilibres dans le fonctionnement physique est très visible.

Ces changements physiques de San avant l'apparition du stimulus redouté et comprennent:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire
  • Palpitations
  • Tachycardie
  • Rigidité musculaire
  • Sensation d'étouffement
  • Maux de tête
  • Dilatation des pupilles
  • Vertigos
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements

En ce qui concerne les symptômes cognitifs et comportementaux de l’automatonophobie, cela est lié aux pensées irrationnelles négatives sur les éléments redoutés et à la nécessité de les éviter ou de leur échapper .


Les comportements d'évitement sont tous les comportements que la personne adopte afin d'éviter de rencontrer ces stimuli. Tandis que les comportements d'évasion sont tous les actes qu'il accomplit pour fuir ou échapper à la situation redoutée.

En résumé, les signes ou manifestations indiquant qu'une personne est atteinte d'autophophobie sont les suivants:

  • Crise d’angoisse en présence ou en apparence d’objets représentant des personnes, telles que des poupées ou des statues
  • Cauchemars avec ces objets
  • Aversion pour les objets ou les dessins animés
  • Symptômes physiques tels que tachycardie, transpiration ou tension musculaire

Les causes

Il a été observé que les cas d’automatonophobie sont beaucoup plus fréquents chez les enfants et les adolescents que chez les adultes. Dans la plupart des cas, la phobie a pour origine une expérience désagréable liée à un film ou à une histoire d’horreur qui laisse trace dans la psyché de l'enfant.

On suppose que la cause de ces expériences s’intensifie ou se généralise dans la population enfantine, c’est la grande imagination caractéristique de cette étape, qui permet d’extrapoler la peur ressentie pendant le film à la vie réelle et avant l’apparition de celle-ci. de ces objets.

Cependant, les causes spécifiques de cette phobie chez les enfants et les adultes sont encore inconnues. En ce qui concerne la population adulte, il est théorisé qu'une exposition à des figures menaçantes ou à des symboles ayant des conséquences traumatiques pourrait être à l'origine de ce type de phobie.

D'autre part, Le rôle du cerveau dans ce type de phobies a également été mis en évidence . L’idée est qu’il perçoive ce type d’objets inanimés, mais l’apparence humaine comme quelque chose de dérangeant et donc de dangereux.

Ce qui est certain, c’est que, comme le reste des phobies, l’automonofobie peut avoir son origine dans une prédisposition génétique, ainsi que dans une série de traits de personnalité qui peuvent rendre la personne susceptible de développer un certain type de phobie. .

Diagnostic

Il existe une série de directives de diagnostic lors de l’évaluation d’une personne présentant une automatonophobie possible.Bien que ces schémas soient plus ou moins les mêmes pour toutes les phobies, le stimulus phobique central change de l'une à l'autre.

Ces conditions pour le diagnostic sont:

  • Peur et sentiments d'anxiété intense devant des objets inanimés de forme humaine
  • Sentiment de peur ou d'anxiété intense avant le stimulus phobique
  • Comportement d'évitement ou évasion avant l'apparition du stimulus phobique
  • Les sensations de peur sont considérées comme disproportionnées compte tenu de la menace réelle que représente un tel stimulus.
  • Les symptômes se manifestent pendant plus de six mois
  • La symptomatologie et ses conséquences provoquent un malaise cliniquement significatif, cela suppose une interférence dans certains contextes du patient.
  • La symptomatologie n'est expliquée par aucune autre altération mentale ou anxiété

Traitement

Comme les autres phobies spécifiques, le traitement ou l'intervention le plus efficace consiste en une psychothérapie. Plus précisément, la désensibilisation systématique fournie par le courant cognitivo-comportemental présente le taux de réussite le plus élevé.

Cette intervention consiste en une exposition progressive aux éléments redoutés et accompagnée d'un entraînement à la relaxation pour calmer la réponse anxieuse et habituer le patient à la présence dudit stimulus.

De plus, des séances de thérapie cognitive sont ajoutées afin d'éliminer les pensées et croyances irrationnelles que la personne associe à tous les objets qui sont au centre de sa phobie.


PEDIOPHOBIE TOTALE ! - The Final One (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes