yes, therapy helps!
Averroes: biography of the father of current medicine

Averroes: biography of the father of current medicine

January 29, 2023

Abu Walid Muhammad ibn Rusd, better known as Averroes In the Western world, he was a Hispano-Arab philosopher, thinker, doctor and jurist who is considered one of the most important philosophers for both the Muslim world and Europe, since he translated hundreds of works of Aristotle and never ceased his studies and reflections.

Next we will give a brief review of the biography of Averroes, with the main events of his life and work.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The dualistic theory of Avicenna"

Small biography of Averroes

Born in Cordoba when it was under Islamic rule (1126 - 1198), Averroes came from a family of legal scholars, whose specialty was consulting. His father, Abu Al Qasim Ahmad, was a Kadi from Córdoba during the time of Al-Andalus, a period in which Muslims dominated Hispania during the Middle Ages for around 800 years.


The thought of Averroes as a philosopher

Following the family tradition, Averroes finished his studies in law, specialized and deepened in the interpretation of laws , its reasons for being and its objectives. From a very young age, he excelled in his approach to jurisprudence. His fame reached her with his two great works: Starting point of the supreme jurist Y The arrival of the average jurist.

This Muslim philosopher was called known as "the commenter", "the consultant" by the West, and is that its main achievements result from three works called The Commentaries of Aristotle, divided in three parts with the Major Commentary, the Medium Commentary and the Minor Commentary, being in this order from more to less in terms of analytical extension.


Science and religion, in convergence

Contrary to what can be imagined about how religion can influence the empirical field, Averroes He wanted to bring together theology with philosophy . To begin with, instead of confronting the three monotheistic religions, he rather recognized the importance of all three.

For Averroes the sacred books of the Torah, the Bible and the Koran have the same background and purpose, which is to give a logical explanation to the existence of life. On the other hand, knowing the controversy that exists when interpreting the writings, he came to assert that only philosophers and thinkers should be authorized to decode the Qur'an.

Likewise, the Hispano-Arab philosopher related both types of knowledge, pointing out that they were indispensable to one another in order to understand the meaning of life. Justify the divine existence (God supreme) to give order, coherence and stability to the world of psychology ; that world of the human mind that is that of the senses and the imagination, therefore not objective, according to Averroes.


  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

Work and transcendence

Despite all its influences at the philosophical-juridical level, the most outstanding work and award-winning Averroes has to do with medicine. And as a doctor, the author wrote Kulliyat, scientific book that spoke of the generalities of medicine. Many criticized his contribution to science, but the Koran itself advocates "looking for science from the cradle to the grave."

The profession of doctor at that time was one of the most recognized achievements for a sage . He had to pass a test of high intellectual difficulty under the knowledge of Hippocrates, as well as his oath. In addition, what praises the figure of Averroes as a doctor, is that to exercise as such, not only required knowledge and technical skills. It had to demonstrate morality, ethics and a sense of justice.

  • Maybe you're interested: "20 recommended medicine books for curious people"

"Al-Kulliyat", genesis of modern medicine

The book Al-Kulliyat, generalities about Medicine, written in seven surprising volumes, was written based on the idea that, as Averroes would say: "the visible can make us glimpse the invisible". In this way, Ibn Rusd surprised his contemporaries again, avoiding preconceptions and intuitions in his scientific studies.

For Averroes, Medicine was an art , and the doctor the brush to carry out. A specialty that was aimed at the conservation of health and the cure of their diseases. Based on three fundamental pillars (principles, elements and their causes), the doctrine of Al-Kulliyat is presented as follows:

Volume 1. Anatomy

Knowledge of the parts of the human body, describing the parts that can be perceived.

Volume 2. Physiology

It deals with the organic and mechanical functioning of the human body of each one of the components that form it. It describes what is known today as the "state of health"

Volume 3. Pathologies

Description and explanation of the causes of diseases.

Volume 4. Semiotics

Study and analysis of symptoms and syndromes

Volume 5. Therapeutics

The healing technique, providing dietary recipes and natural drugs.

Volume 6. Hygiene

Recommendations and guide of hygienic techniques for the maintenance of health.

Volume 7. Medication

Comprehensive description of the different medications and solutions for all types of diseases.


Ibn Sina- The Father of Modern Medicine (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Averroes: biographie du père de la médecine actuelle

Averroes: biographie du père de la médecine actuelle

Décembre 9, 2021

Abu Walid Muhammad ibn Rusd, mieux connu sous le nom d'Averroès En Occident, il était un philosophe, penseur, médecin et juriste hispano-arabe, considéré comme l'un des philosophes les plus importants du monde musulman et de l'Europe, puisqu'il a traduit des centaines d'œuvres d'Aristote et qu'il n'a jamais cessé ses études et réflexions.

Ensuite, nous donnerons un bref aperçu de la biographie d’Averroès, avec les principaux événements de sa vie et de son œuvre.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie dualiste d'Avicenne"

Petite biographie d'Averroès

Né à Cordoue à l'époque de la domination islamique (1126 - 1198), Averroès appartenait à une famille de juristes dont la spécialité était la consultation. Son père, Abu Al Qasim Ahmad, était un kadi de Cordoue à l'époque d'al-Andalus, une période durant laquelle les musulmans ont dominé l'Hispanie au Moyen Âge pendant environ 800 ans.


La pensée d’Averroès en tant que philosophe

Suivant la tradition familiale, Averroès a terminé ses études en droit, spécialisé et approfondi dans l'interprétation des lois , ses raisons d'être et ses objectifs. Très jeune, il excellait dans la jurisprudence. Sa renommée l'atteignit avec ses deux grandes œuvres: Point de départ du juriste suprême et L'arrivée du juriste moyen.

Ce philosophe musulman s'appelait "le commentateur", "le consultant" par l’Occident, et c’est que ses principales réalisations résultent de trois travaux appelés Les commentaires d'Aristote, divisé en trois parties avec le commentaire principal, le commentaire moyen et le commentaire mineur, étant dans cet ordre de plus en moins en termes d’extension analytique.


Science et religion, en convergence

Contrairement à ce que l’on peut imaginer sur l’influence de la religion sur le champ empirique, Averroès Il voulait réunir la théologie avec la philosophie . Pour commencer, au lieu de confronter les trois religions monothéistes, il a plutôt reconnu l’importance de toutes les trois.

Pour Averroès, les livres sacrés de la Torah, de la Bible et du Coran ont le même contexte et le même objectif, qui est de donner une explication logique à l'existence de la vie. D'autre part, connaissant la controverse qui existe lors de l'interprétation des écrits, il en vient à affirmer que seuls les philosophes et les penseurs devraient être autorisés à décoder le Coran.

De même, le philosophe hispano-arabe a relaté les deux types de connaissances, soulignant qu'elles étaient indispensables l'une à l'autre pour comprendre le sens de la vie. Justifier l'existence divine (Dieu suprême) donner de l'ordre, de la cohérence et de la stabilité au monde de la psychologie ; ce monde de l'esprit humain qui est celui des sens et de l'imagination, donc non objectif, selon Averroès.


  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Travail et transcendance

En dépit de toutes ses influences au niveau philosophique et juridique, le travail le plus remarquable et Averroes primé a trait à la médecine. Et en tant que médecin, l'auteur a écrit Kulliyat, livre scientifique qui a parlé des généralités de la médecine. Beaucoup ont critiqué sa contribution à la science, mais le Coran lui-même préconise de "rechercher la science du berceau à la tombe".

La profession de médecin à cette époque est l’une des réalisations les plus reconnues pour un sage . Il devait passer un test de grande difficulté intellectuelle sous la connaissance d'Hippocrate, ainsi que de son serment. En outre, ce qui fait l’éloge de la figure d’Averroès en tant que médecin, c’est que l’exercice en tant que tel n’exige pas seulement des connaissances et des compétences techniques. Il devait faire preuve de moralité, d'éthique et d'un sens de la justice.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "20 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

"Al-Kulliyat", genèse de la médecine moderne

Le livre Al-Kulliyat, généralités sur la médecine, écrit en sept volumes surprenants, a été écrit sur la base de l’idée selon laquelle, comme dirait Averroès: "le visible peut nous faire entrevoir l’invisible". Ainsi, Ibn Rusd a de nouveau surpris ses contemporains en évitant les idées préconçues et les intuitions dans ses études scientifiques.

Pour Averroès, la médecine était un art , et le docteur la brosse à effectuer. Une spécialité qui visait la conservation de la santé et le traitement de leurs maladies. Fondée sur trois piliers fondamentaux (principes, éléments et leurs causes), la doctrine d'Al-Kulliyat est présentée comme suit:

Volume 1. Anatomie

Connaissance des parties du corps humain, décrivant les parties pouvant être perçues.

Volume 2. Physiologie

Il traite du fonctionnement organique et mécanique du corps humain de chacun des composants qui le composent. Il décrit ce qu'on appelle aujourd'hui "l'état de santé"

Volume 3. Pathologies

Description et explication des causes des maladies.

Volume 4. Sémiotique

Etude et analyse des symptômes et des syndromes

Volume 5. Thérapeutique

La technique de guérison, fournissant des recettes diététiques et des médicaments naturels.

Volume 6. Hygiène

Recommandations et guide de techniques d'hygiène pour le maintien de la santé.

Volume 7. Médicaments

Description complète des différents médicaments et solutions pour tous les types de maladies.


Filozofia 11 SHBLSH Linja 4, Mesimi 5, Filozofia arabe, Avicen, përfaqësuesi i saj (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes