yes, therapy helps!
Baby Apgar test: administration mode and criteria

Baby Apgar test: administration mode and criteria

September 29, 2022

The Apgar test is a test that applies to babies who have just been born. It consists in assessing your physical condition in five large areas to determine if you need medical assistance.

In this article we will describe the five criteria of the Apgar test and its mode of administration . It is worth bearing in mind that, although it is a useful test, its results are superficial and it is important to complement them with other exams in greater depth.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of temperament in babies: easy, difficult and slow"

What is the Apgar test?

It is very common to have evaluation tests soon after delivery to check if the baby reacts normally to different types of stimulation and if your nervous system is functioning properly.


The Apgar exam is one of the most popular neonatal assessment methods . It consists of observing five relevant functions or characteristics of the baby at an informative level: skin color, heart rhythm, reflex irritability, muscle tone and breathing. The name comes from its creator, the obstetric anesthesiologist Virginia Apgar.

The objective of this test is to determine the degree of perinatal stress suffered by the baby to assess whether he needs medical assistance or can survive without outside help, taking these five criteria as a basic reference.

Other tests used to assess the status of neonates are the Prechtl test, which also evaluates posture, spontaneous movements or facial expressions, and the Brazelton Neonatal Behavior Assessment Scale , whose criteria include social interaction, muscle capacity, control of alertness and the physiological response to stress.


  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Administration mode

The Apgar test is applied by medical or nursing staff one minute after birth, and again happens after five minutes of delivery . In this way you can get a general and quick idea of ​​the state of the baby, although the information provided by this test is limited since it only detects obvious complications.

The five variables that we have mentioned (and which we will describe in detail in the next section) are scored from 0 to 2; While the minimum assessment is an indication of the existence of very serious problems in this area, 2 indicates a normal and healthy functioning.

Since there are five criteria that can be scored with a maximum of 2, the final result will always be between 0 and 10 . The higher the overall score, the better the physical condition of the baby; if it is less than 4, the small one will require urgent medical attention, while if it is between 4 and 7, a more detailed evaluation will have to be made.


Apgar exam criteria

The areas analyzed by the Apgar test constitute a representative sample of the basic physiological responses of newborns. Although scores are added in each criterion to obtain a global assessment, a 0 and even a 1 in any of the variables can be important warning signs that the child has physical problems.

The term "Apgar" is an acronym of the criteria in English, the original language of the test, although it can also be obtained with an approximate translation in Spanish: A of appearance (or "appearance"), P of pulse ("pulse"), G of gesticulation ("grimace", which literally means "grimace"), A of activity ("activity") and R of respiration ("respiration").

1. Skin color (Appearance)

The "appearance" criterion refers to the color of the baby's skin. The normal tone is scored with a 2; A bluish color on the extremities will be assessed with a 1, while if the whole body has a pale and blue appearance the result will be 0.

2. Heart rate (Pulse)

The heart rate is assessed by the use of a stethoscope. It is considered that the heart rate is adequate when it exceeds 100 beats per minute ; 1 is granted when the frequency is lower, while 0 is reserved for cases in which cardiac activity is not detected.

3. Reflex irritability (Gesturing)

The criterion of reflex irritability ("gesticulation" in the acronym) measures the baby's response to annoying physical stimuli, such as a pinch. The 0 indicates an absence of reflex irritability, 1 the presence of weak gestures, such as frowning or crying a little, and the 2 includes energetic responses such as coughing, sneezing or loud crying.

Four.Muscle tone (Activity)

In this case, a score of 2 is awarded when muscle tone is high and the baby moves actively . A 1 means that muscle activity is weak, and a 0 that the muscular system is in a state of flaccidity and laxity.

5. Respiratory effort (Breathing)

A score of 2 on this criterion indicates that the baby cries normally. If your breathing is slow or irregular, you will be assigned a 1, while a 0 means that you are not breathing on your own.


FTCA Risk Management: Right On Time Safe and Timely Delivery of Neonates (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Test Baby Apgar: mode d'administration et critères

Test Baby Apgar: mode d'administration et critères

Mai 20, 2022

Le test Apgar est un test qui s’applique aux bébés qui viennent de naître. Il consiste à évaluer votre condition physique dans cinq grandes zones afin de déterminer si vous avez besoin d'une assistance médicale.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les cinq critères du test Apgar et son mode d'administration . Il convient de garder à l'esprit que, même s'il s'agit d'un test utile, ses résultats sont superficiels et qu'il est important de les compléter avec d'autres examens plus en profondeur.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de tempérament chez les bébés: facile, difficile et lent"

Quel est le test Apgar?

Il est très courant de passer des tests d'évaluation peu après l'accouchement pour vérifier si le bébé réagit normalement à différents types de stimulation et si votre système nerveux fonctionne correctement.


L’examen Apgar est une des méthodes d'évaluation néonatale les plus populaires . Il consiste à observer cinq fonctions ou caractéristiques pertinentes du bébé à un niveau informatif: couleur de la peau, rythme cardiaque, irritabilité réflexe, tonus musculaire et respiration. Le nom vient de son créateur, l'anesthésiste en obstétrique Virginia Apgar.

L'objectif de ce test est de déterminer le degré de stress périnatal subi par le bébé afin de déterminer s'il a besoin d'une assistance médicale ou s'il peut survivre sans aide extérieure, en utilisant ces cinq critères comme référence de base.

Les autres tests utilisés pour évaluer le statut des nouveau-nés sont le test de Prechtl, qui évalue également la posture, les mouvements spontanés ou les expressions du visage, et le Échelle d'évaluation du comportement néonatal de Brazelton , dont les critères incluent l’interaction sociale, la capacité musculaire, le contrôle de la vigilance et la réponse physiologique au stress.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Mode d'administration

Le test Apgar est appliqué par le personnel médical ou infirmier une minute après la naissance. arrive à nouveau après cinq minutes de livraison . De cette façon, vous pouvez avoir une idée générale et rapide de l’état du bébé, bien que les informations fournies par ce test soient limitées car il ne détecte que les complications évidentes.

Les cinq variables que nous avons mentionnées (et que nous décrirons en détail dans la section suivante) sont notées de 0 à 2; L’évaluation minimale indique l’existence de problèmes très graves dans ce domaine, 2 indique un fonctionnement normal et sain.

Puisqu'il y a cinq critères qui peuvent être marqués avec un maximum de 2, le résultat final sera toujours compris entre 0 et 10 . Plus le score global est élevé, meilleure est la condition physique du bébé; s'il est inférieur à 4, le plus petit nécessitera une attention médicale urgente, tandis que s'il est compris entre 4 et 7, une évaluation plus détaillée devra être faite.


Critères d'examen Apgar

Les zones analysées par le test Apgar constituent un échantillon représentatif des réponses physiologiques de base des nouveau-nés. Bien que des scores soient ajoutés à chaque critère pour obtenir une évaluation globale, un 0 et même un 1 dans l'une des variables peut être un signe avertisseur important du fait que l'enfant a des problèmes physiques.

Le terme "Apgar" est un acronyme des critères en anglais, la langue d'origine du test, bien qu'il puisse également être obtenu avec une traduction approximative en espagnol: A d'apparence (ou "apparence"), P de pouls ("pouls"), G de gesticulation ("grimace", signifie littéralement "grimace"), A de l'activité ("activité") et R de la respiration ("respiration").

1. Couleur de la peau (apparence)

Le critère "d'apparence" fait référence à la couleur de la peau du bébé. Le ton normal est marqué avec un 2; Une couleur bleuâtre aux extrémités sera évaluée avec un 1, tandis que si tout le corps a une apparence pâle et bleue, le résultat sera 0.

2. fréquence cardiaque (pouls)

La fréquence cardiaque est évaluée à l'aide d'un stéthoscope. On considère que la fréquence cardiaque est adéquate quand il dépasse 100 battements par minute ; 1 est accordé lorsque la fréquence est inférieure, tandis que 0 est réservé aux cas dans lesquels l'activité cardiaque n'est pas détectée.

3. Irritabilité réflexe (gestes)

Le critère d'irritabilité réflexe ("gesticulation" dans l'acronyme) mesure la réponse du bébé à des stimuli physiques gênants, tels qu'un pincement. Le 0 indique l'absence d'irritabilité réflexe, 1 la présence de gestes faibles, tels que froncer les sourcils ou pleurer un peu, et le 2 inclut des réponses énergétiques telles que la toux, les éternuements ou les pleurs.

4Tonus musculaire (activité)

Dans ce cas, un score de 2 est attribué lorsque le tonus musculaire est élevé et le bébé bouge activement . Un 1 signifie que l'activité musculaire est faible et un 0 que le système musculaire est dans un état de flaccidité et de laxité.

5. Effort respiratoire (respiration)

Un score de 2 sur ce critère indique que le bébé pleure normalement. Si votre respiration est lente ou irrégulière, un 1 vous sera attribué. Un 0 signifie que vous ne respirez pas seul.


Using Administrative Data for Perinatal Quality Improvement Initiatives (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes