yes, therapy helps!
Baruch Spinoza: biography of this Sephardic philosopher and thinker

Baruch Spinoza: biography of this Sephardic philosopher and thinker

July 19, 2024

Baruch Spinoza (1632-1677) was a modern philosopher, currently recognized as one of the leading exponents of rationalism. Among his works emphasizes problematize and provide a different understanding of nature in relation to the deity, as well as having discussed important moral, political and religious concepts.

In the following article we will see the biography of Baruch Spinoza , as well as a brief description of his main contributions to modern philosophy.

  • Related article: "How was Spinoza's God and why did Einstein believe in him?"

Biography of Baruch Spinoza: rationalist philosopher

Baruch Spinoza, originally called Benedictus (in Latin) or Bento de Spinoza (In Portuguese), was born on November 24, 1632 in Amsterdam. His parents were Jews who had emigrated to Spain and later to Portugal . There they were forced to convert to Christianity, although they continued to practice Judaism in secret. After being arrested by the Inquisition, they finally fled to Amsterdam.


In this city, Baruch's father developed as an important merchant and later as a director of the city's synagogue. For his part, Baruch Spinoza's mother died when he was only six years old.

Before arriving in Amsterdam, Spinoza had already trained in institutes with a Roman Catholic approach. In the same period was formed in Hebrew and Jewish philosophy . Already in Amsterdam, at the age of 19, Spinoza worked as a small merchant, while continuing to study in schools with an orthodox Jewish approach.

At this moment, Spinoza he was especially interested in Cartesian philosophy, in mathematics and in the philosophy of Hobbes ; that led him to move away more and more from Judaism. Little by little he became very critical of the accuracy and interpretation of the Bible, especially regarding the idea of ​​the immortality of the soul, the notion of transcendence and the laws dictated by God, as well as its connection to the Jewish community. The latter earned him excommunication.


In fact, it was in this period that Spinoza began to change his name from Hebrew to Latin, probably due to the possibility of reprisals and censorship. In fact, refused to perform as a teacher at the University of Heidelberg because they asked him not to alter the current religious slogans.

Baruch Spinoza spent his last years in The Hague, where he died of tuberculosis on February 21, 1677, at age 44 and without having completed one of his last works, called a political treatise.

Ethics

One of the themes on which Spinoza's work was centered was ethics. In fact, Ethical demonstrated according to the geometric order, is the name of his most representative work. In this, Spinoza discussed the traditional philosophical conception of God and of the human being , about the universe and the moral beliefs underlying religion and theology. Among other things, the philosopher wanted to show that God actually exists, as well as nature and ourselves.


Heir of Cartesian thought, which suggested the possibility of finding a rational and algebraic explanation about the existence of God, but also faithful to his Jewish, stoic and scholastic formation, Baruch held the existence of a single infinite substance.

The difference with the thought of Descartes is that, for Spinoza, this substance is unique (Descartes spoke of two), and can be equivalent to nature and at the same time to God. From there discusses the relationship between nature and the divine . And since God is not caused by anything, that is, nothing precedes him, then he exists. Or in other words, God, as a unique and divine substance, is that which is conceived on the spot. This is one of the ontological arguments about its most representative existence in different works of modern rationalism.

Not only that, but Spinoza maintains that, consequently, the human mind can know well through thought, or through its extension. This takes as a model to Descartes, but at the same time it makes a difference, since the latter said that knowledge was given only through thought, and that extension (nature) made reason err.

Spinoza argues that there are three types of human knowledge : one derived from the slavery of the passions, another related to the reason and the conscience of the causes (whose value is the control of the passions), and the third is the disinterested intuition that is assimilated to the point of view of God. The latter is the only one capable of providing the only possible human happiness.

  • Related article: "The 64 best phrases of Baruch Spinoza"

Treaty of political theology

The Tractatus, a work that earned Spinoza an important recognition, combines biblical criticism, political philosophy and the philosophy of religion with the development of metaphysics. Something that is represented in an important way is the distance and Spinoza's criticism of the Bible .

For Spinoza, the topics that this book presents are riddled with inconsistencies that can be explained through the scientific study of language, history and beliefs of the past. For this reason it is believed that it is one of the works that also earned Spinoza excommunication.

Thus, Spinoza sets out to reveal the truth about the scriptures and religion, and in this way sabotage or question the political power exercised in modern states by religious authorities. It also defends, at least as a political ideal, the tolerant, secular and democratic policy. Among other things, Spinoza rejected the term and conceptions about morality, because he considers that it is only ideals.

Other of his most representative works are Brief treatise about God, man and happiness Y Of the reform of the understanding.

Bibliographic references:

  • Nadler, S. (2016). Baruch Spinoza. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved October 30, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/spinoza/#TheoPoliTrea.
  • Popkin, R. (2018). Benedict de Spinoza. Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved October 30, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Benedict-de-Spinoza#ref281280.

PHILOSOPHY - Baruch Spinoza (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Baruch Spinoza: biographie de ce philosophe et penseur séfarade

Baruch Spinoza: biographie de ce philosophe et penseur séfarade

Octobre 25, 2021

Baruch Spinoza (1632-1677) était un philosophe moderne, actuellement reconnu comme l'un des principaux représentants du rationalisme. Parmi ses œuvres, soulignent problématiser et fournir une compréhension différente de la nature en relation avec la divinité, ainsi que d'avoir discuté d'importants concepts moraux, politiques et religieux.

Dans l'article suivant nous verrons la biographie de Baruch Spinoza , ainsi qu’une brève description de ses principales contributions à la philosophie moderne.

  • Article connexe: "Comment était le dieu de Spinoza et pourquoi Einstein croyait-il en lui?"

Biographie de Baruch Spinoza: philosophe rationaliste

Baruch Spinoza, appelé à l'origine Benedictus (en latin) ou Bento de Spinoza (en portugais), est né le 24 novembre 1632 à Amsterdam. Ses parents étaient des Juifs qui avaient émigré en Espagne et plus tard au Portugal . Là, ils ont été forcés de se convertir au christianisme, bien qu'ils aient continué à pratiquer le judaïsme en secret. Après avoir été arrêtés par l'Inquisition, ils ont finalement fui à Amsterdam.


Dans cette ville, le père de Baruch se développa en tant que négociant important et plus tard en tant que directeur de la synagogue de la ville. Pour sa part, la mère de Baruch Spinoza est décédée alors qu'il n'avait que six ans.

Avant d’arriver à Amsterdam, Spinoza avait déjà suivi une formation dans des instituts ayant une approche catholique. Dans la même période a été formé dans la philosophie hébraïque et juive . Déjà à Amsterdam, à l'âge de 19 ans, Spinoza travaillait comme petit commerçant, tout en poursuivant ses études dans des écoles ayant une approche juive orthodoxe.

En ce moment, Spinoza il s'intéressait particulièrement à la philosophie cartésienne, aux mathématiques et à la philosophie de Hobbes ; cela l'a amené à s'éloigner de plus en plus du judaïsme. Petit à petit, il est devenu très critique à l'égard de l'exactitude et de l'interprétation de la Bible, en particulier en ce qui concerne l'idée d'immortalité de l'âme, la notion de transcendance et les lois dictées par Dieu, ainsi que son lien avec la communauté juive. Ce dernier lui valut l'excommunication.


En fait, c’est à cette époque que Spinoza a commencé à changer son nom d’hébreu en latin, probablement en raison de la possibilité de représailles et de censure. En fait a refusé d'exercer comme professeur à l'Université de Heidelberg parce qu'ils lui ont demandé de ne pas modifier les slogans religieux actuels.

Baruch Spinoza passa ses dernières années à La Haye, où il mourut de tuberculose le 21 février 1677, à l'âge de 44 ans et sans avoir achevé l'un de ses derniers travaux, appelé traité politique.

Éthique

L'un des thèmes sur lesquels le travail de Spinoza était centré était l'éthique. En fait Ethique démontrée selon l'ordre géométrique, est le nom de son travail le plus représentatif. Dans celle-ci, Spinoza a parlé de la conception philosophique traditionnelle de Dieu et de l'être humain , sur l’univers et les croyances morales sous-jacentes à la religion et à la théologie. Entre autres choses, le philosophe a voulu montrer que Dieu existe réellement, ainsi que la nature et nous-mêmes.


Héritier de la pensée cartésienne, suggérant la possibilité de trouver une explication rationnelle et algébrique de l'existence de Dieu, mais aussi fidèle à sa formation juive, stoïque et scolastique, Baruch soutenait l'existence d'une substance unique et infinie.

La différence avec la pensée de Descartes est que, pour Spinoza, cette substance est unique (Descartes en a parlé deux) et peut être équivalente à la nature et en même temps à Dieu. À partir de là discute de la relation entre la nature et le divin . Et puisque Dieu n’est causé par rien, c’est-à-dire que rien ne le précède, alors il existe. Ou en d'autres termes, Dieu, en tant que substance unique et divine, est ce qui est conçu sur place. C'est l'un des arguments ontologiques concernant son existence la plus représentative dans différents travaux du rationalisme moderne.

Non seulement cela, mais Spinoza maintient que, par conséquent, l'esprit humain peut bien connaître par la pensée ou par son extension. Cela prend modèle pour Descartes, mais en même temps, cela fait une différence puisque ce dernier a dit que la connaissance n’était donnée que par la pensée, et que l’extension (nature) faisait errer la raison.

Spinoza soutient qu'il existe trois types de connaissances humaines : l'une dérivant de l'esclavage des passions, une autre liée à la raison et à la conscience des causes (dont la valeur est le contrôle des passions), et la troisième est l'intuition désintéressée assimilée au point de vue de Dieu. Ce dernier est le seul capable de fournir le seul bonheur humain possible.

  • Article connexe: "Les 64 meilleures phrases de Baruch Spinoza"

Traité de théologie politique

Le Tractatus, œuvre qui a valu à Spinoza une reconnaissance importante, associe la critique biblique, la philosophie politique et la philosophie de la religion au développement de la métaphysique. Quelque chose qui est représenté de manière importante est la distance et La critique de la Bible par Spinoza .

Pour Spinoza, les sujets abordés dans ce livre sont truffés d'incohérences qui peuvent être expliquées par l'étude scientifique de la langue, de l'histoire et des croyances du passé. Pour cette raison, on pense que c'est l'une des œuvres qui a également mérité l'excommunication de Spinoza.

Spinoza cherche donc à révéler la vérité sur les Écritures et la religion, et à saboter ou à remettre en question le pouvoir politique exercé par les autorités religieuses dans les États modernes. Il défend également, au moins en tant qu'idéal politique, la politique tolérante, laïque et démocratique. Entre autres choses, Spinoza a rejeté le terme et les conceptions sur la moralité, car il considère qu’il ne s’agit que d’idéaux.

Autres de ses œuvres les plus représentatives sont Bref traité sur Dieu, l'homme et le bonheur et De la réforme de la compréhension.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Nadler, S. (2016). Baruch Spinoza. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 30 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/spinoza/#TheoPoliTrea.
  • Popkin, R. (2018). Benoît de Spinoza. Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 30 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/Benedict-de-Spinoza#ref281280.

Spinoza Sa vie - Biographie (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes