yes, therapy helps!
Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions

Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions

May 9, 2021

The cerebral cortex is the most visible part of the human brain, as well as the best known. Its division into two hemispheres, as well as four lobes (frontal, parietal, temporal and occipital) has been known and studied since ancient times.

However, the human brain is a complex organ, possessing in its interior different structures and fundamental substructures for the functioning and maintenance of bodily and cognitive functions, participating in a large number of areas. Examples of these parts of the brain are the hippocampus, the limbic system or the set of nuclei discussed in this article, the basal ganglia .

What are the basal ganglia?

We call basal ganglia a set of interconnected subcortical nuclei located around the limbic system and the third ventricle. They are located on both sides of the thalamus, at the height of the temporal lobe. It is gray matter clusters (that is, areas in which the parts of neurons that are not myelinated are concentrated) that have a large number of connections with other areas of the brain, such as the cortex or the thalamus, both at the level of afferents and of eferences (they receive information from other brain areas).


The basal ganglia are distributed between areas near the center of the brain, under the cerebral cortex and around the diencephalon, and because of their location they have a role in actions that are between the automatic and the voluntary.

The main neurotransmitters that act in these brain areas are dopamine as exciter and GABA as an inhibitory component, having different effects depending on the nucleus and the nervous circuits in which they act.

Main components of the basal ganglia

Despite being considered as a set of nuclei given their interconnection, the basal ganglia consist of differentiated substructures and, in fact, physically it is easy to notice the spaces between them. Below you can find the main structures of this set of brain structures:


1. Striated body

The striatum is considered the main area of ​​reception of information of the basal ganglia . That is, it is an area that receives numerous projections from different brain areas, integrating the information and acting with it. It is composed of the neoestriate nucleus (composed of caudate nucleus and putamen), which is primarily responsible for receiving afferents from the nigrostriatal tract, and the lenticular nucleus (made up of putamen and globus pallidus), more focused on sending messages to other nuclei cerebral.

2. Caudate Nucleus

Located below the frontal lobe and in connection with the occipital , this structure is linked to the sensation of alarm, warning that something is not working correctly, as well as motivation. This is due to its connections to the frontal lobe, especially the orbitofrontal cortex.


3. Putamen

Fundamental element in the control of automated movements, Located below the caudate nucleus and united by the anterior zone. It is linked to the movement of the face and extremities .

4. Globus pallidus

Derived from the diencephalon, it is situated between putamen and internal capsule . In this case, it has myelinated neurons that are used to transmit information to the thalamus and the substantia nigra.

5. Black substance

Located under the thalamus, in the trunk of the brain, this structure is known to be one of the main sources of brain dopamine. Actively participates in the brain reward system. In its connection with the striated (forming part of the nigrostria tract) it also has great importance in the control of fine movement, both of extremities and of the eyes.

6. Nucleus accumbens

Located under the globus pallidus, it receives signals from the ventral tegmental area and sends signals to the pale globe . This nucleus participates in the maintenance of behaviors reinforced by drugs and habituation, having connections with the limbic system.

7. subthalamic nucleus

Located at the junction between mesencephalon and thalamus , the main function that is given to the subthalamic nucleus is that of regulating motor functions.

8. Red substance

This structure maintains important connections to the cerebellum and spinal cord l , being especially linked to motor coordination. Specifically, it has special relevance in the control of arms and shoulder.

Functions of the basal ganglia

As it has been observed in the explanation of its components, the functions of the basal ganglia are varied, participating in numerous and important aspects of our life . Making a general review of the aspects in which we participate we can say that some of its main functions are the following:

1. Planning, integration and control of voluntary movement

One of the functions by which the basal ganglia is most known is the regulation and management of voluntary motor actions. Acting through the corticostriatal circuit, they act concretely as an unconscious filter that inhibits or selects the movements to be made , specifically helping to control body posture and coordinate the fine / precise movement of the extremities.

The basal ganglia allow marking the end of a movement, planning sequences and correcting them if needed.

2. Procedural learning

Another aspect in which the basal ganglia they have a predominant performance is in procedural learning and in the automation of behavior . This type of learning is what allows you to get used to performing sequences of actions such as those necessary to drive, play an instrument, shave or sew, allowing the management of attentional resources so that they can be directed towards other tasks.

3. Executive functions

The basal ganglia also participate actively in executive functions . Specifically, it contributes to the maintenance of processing speed, planning at the cognitive level and the elaboration of strategies to solve problems. In the same way, the connections of the basal ganglia with the orbitofrontal cortex cause them to be involved in the capacity of behavioral inhibition.

4. Participation in emotional and motivational behavior

As it mentioned above, some basal ganglia such as the nucleus accumbens have connections with the limbic system and the brain reward system , given its importance in the management of dopamine. Thus, it can be considered that the basal ganglia participate in emotional behavior and reinforcement produced by drugs or stimulation.

For example, basal ganglia play a very important role in both classical conditioning and operant conditioning.

Disorders linked to problems in the basal ganglia

As can be seen, all these elements and functions make the basal ganglia fundamental elements for the correct functioning of the organism.

But..., What happens when there is an injury or an event causes these nuclei do not coordinate or act as they should? In this case we can find some of the following problems and disorders, generally dealing with hypo or hyperkinetic problems, that is, linked to movement.

1. Parkinson

The most common and well-known disorder derived from a malfunction of the basal ganglia is Parkinson's disease. Parkinson's or quiescent tremors are the most recognizable symptoms of this disorder. Also, there is also muscle rigidity and loss of spontaneous movements. together with a marked bradykinesia or loss of motor speed and gait disorders.

This disorder occurs especially in the degeneration and death of the dopaminergic cells of the nigrostriate , which causes the transmission of dopamine to be lost to a great extent, not reaching the information to the motor cortex.

  • Related article: "Parkinson: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

2. Huntington's Korea

It is a neurodegenerative genetic disorder caused by an alteration a dominant gene on chromosome number four , with full penetrance. It produces hyperkinetic symptoms: the disease causes uncontrolled movements similar to a dance (hence the name of Korea), and significant loss of executive functions and memory. The deficits are produced mainly by the death of neurons of the caudate nucleus, especially of GABAergic and cholinergic neurons.

3. Syndrome of loss of psychic self-activation

As mentioned previously, the basal ganglia are related to personal motivation. An injury in these areas may therefore have serious implications in this regard , as in the syndrome of loss of psychic self-activation or PAP.

This disorder, also known as pure psychic akinesia or loss of the onset or maintenance of the action, produces extreme passivity in the sufferer, losing the ability to be interested, spontaneity and motivation. Who suffers it is able to recognize their deficits, so that anosognosia is not present, but they show great indifference for them.

4. Disorders due to tics and the Tourette syndrome

In these disorders, such as Tourette's syndrome, which are characterized by the presentation of movements, vocalizations, gestures or very stereotyped behaviors that are performed unconsciously , there is severe involvement of the basal ganglia. More specifically, it is believed that these disorders may be related to problems in the putamen.

5. Other linked disorders

Apart from these disorders, alterations of the basal ganglia usually occur in a large number of psychological problems. For example, in obsessive-compulsive disorder or ADHD can and do appear to be alterations of these brain systems.

Bibliographic references:

  • Alexander, G.E .; DeLong, M.R. & Strick, P.L. (1986).Parallel organization of functionally segregated circuits linking basal ganglia and cortex. Annu Rev Neurosci .; 9: 357-381.
  • Kandel, E. R. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. 1st edition. McGraw-Hill.
  • Melnick, M.E. (2013). Basal ganglia disorders. In: Umphred DA, Burton GU, Lazaro RT, Roller ML, eds. Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Mosby; chap 20
  • Morris, M.E .; Iansek, R., Matyas, T.A. & Summers, J.J. (nineteen ninety six). Stride length regulation in Parkinson's disease. Normalization strategies and underlying mechanisms. Brain. 119: 551-68.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Basal Ganglia (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les noyaux gris centraux: anatomie et fonctions

Les noyaux gris centraux: anatomie et fonctions

Juin 22, 2022

Le cortex cérébral est la partie la plus visible du cerveau humain, ainsi que la plus connue. Sa division en deux hémisphères, ainsi que quatre lobes (frontal, pariétal, temporal et occipital) est connue et étudiée depuis l'Antiquité.

Cependant, le cerveau humain est un organe complexe, possédant à l'intérieur des structures différentes et des sous-structures fondamentales pour le fonctionnement et le maintien des fonctions corporelles et cognitives, participant à un grand nombre de domaines. Des exemples de ces parties du cerveau sont l'hippocampe, le système limbique ou l'ensemble des noyaux abordés dans cet article. les ganglions de la base .

Quels sont les noyaux gris centraux?

Nous appelons les noyaux gris centraux un ensemble de noyaux sous-corticaux interconnectés situés autour du système limbique et du troisième ventricule. Ils sont situés des deux côtés du thalamus, à la hauteur du lobe temporal. Ce sont des grappes de matière grise (c'est-à-dire les zones dans lesquelles sont concentrées les parties des neurones non myélinisées) qui ont un grand nombre de connexions avec d'autres zones du cerveau, telles que le cortex ou le thalamus, tant au niveau des afférences que des eferences (elles reçoivent informations provenant d'autres zones du cerveau).


Les noyaux gris centraux sont répartis entre les zones situées près du centre du cerveau, sous le cortex cérébral et autour du diencephale, et du fait de leur emplacement, ils jouent un rôle dans les actions qui se situent entre l'automatique et le volontaire.

Les principaux neurotransmetteurs qui agissent dans ces zones du cerveau sont la dopamine en tant qu'excitatrice et le GABA en tant que composant inhibiteur, ayant des effets différents selon le noyau et les circuits nerveux dans lesquels ils agissent.

Principaux composants des noyaux gris centraux

Bien qu’ils soient considérés comme un ensemble de noyaux en raison de leur interconnexion, les noyaux gris centraux sont constitués de sous-structures différenciées et, en fait, physiquement, il est facile de remarquer les espaces entre eux. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les principales structures de cet ensemble de structures cérébrales:


1. corps strié

Le striatum est considéré comme la principale zone de réception des informations sur les noyaux gris centraux . C'est-à-dire que c'est une zone qui reçoit de nombreuses projections de différentes zones du cerveau, intégrant l'information et agissant avec elle. Il est composé du noyau néoestriel (composé du noyau caudé et du putamen), qui est principalement responsable de la réception des afférences du tractus nigrostriatal, et du noyau lenticulaire (constitué du putamen et du globus pallidus), plus axé sur l'envoi de messages à d'autres noyaux. cérébrale.

2. Le noyau caudé

Situé en dessous du lobe frontal et en relation avec l'occipital , cette structure est liée à la sensation d’alarme, avertissant que quelque chose ne fonctionne pas correctement, ainsi que de motivation. Cela est dû à ses connexions avec le lobe frontal, en particulier le cortex orbitofrontal.


3. Putamen

Élément fondamental dans le contrôle des mouvements automatisés, situé sous le noyau caudé et uni par la zone antérieure. Il est lié au mouvement du visage et des extrémités .

4. Globus pallidus

Dérivé du diencephale, il se situe entre le putamen et la capsule interne . Dans ce cas, il possède des neurones myélinisés utilisés pour transmettre des informations au thalamus et à la substantia nigra.

5. substance noire

Située sous le thalamus, dans le tronc du cerveau, cette structure est connue pour être l’une des principales sources de dopamine cérébrale. Participe activement au système de récompense du cerveau. En ce qui concerne le strié (faisant partie du tractus nigrostria), il joue également un rôle important dans le contrôle des mouvements fins, des extrémités et des yeux.

6. Le noyau accumbens

Situé sous le globus pallidus, il reçoit des signaux de la région tegmentale ventrale et envoie des signaux au globe pâle. . Ce noyau participe au maintien de comportements renforcés par la drogue et l'accoutumance, ayant des connexions avec le système limbique.

7. noyau sous-thalamique

Situé à la jonction entre le mésencéphale et le thalamus , la fonction principale confiée au noyau sous-thalamique est celle de la régulation des fonctions motrices.

8. substance rouge

Cette structure maintient des connexions importantes au cervelet et à la moelle épinière l , étant particulièrement lié à la coordination motrice. Plus précisément, il est particulièrement utile dans le contrôle des bras et des épaules.

Fonctions des ganglions de la base

Comme il a été observé dans l'explication de ses composants, les fonctions des ganglions de la base sont variées et participent à de nombreux et importants aspects de notre vie . En faisant une revue générale des aspects auxquels nous participons, nous pouvons dire que certaines de ses fonctions principales sont les suivantes:

1. Planification, intégration et contrôle du mouvement volontaire

L'une des fonctions les plus connues des noyaux gris centraux est la régulation et la gestion des actions motrices volontaires. Agissant à travers le circuit corticostriatal, ils agissent concrètement comme un filtre inconscient qui inhibe ou sélectionne les mouvements à effectuer , aidant spécifiquement à contrôler la posture du corps et à coordonner le mouvement fin / précis des extrémités.

Les noyaux gris centraux permettent de marquer la fin d'un mouvement, de planifier des séquences et de les corriger le cas échéant.

2. Apprentissage procédural

Un autre aspect dans lequel les ganglions de la base ils ont une performance prédominante dans l’apprentissage procédural et dans l’automatisation du comportement . Ce type d’apprentissage vous permet de vous habituer à exécuter des séquences d’actions telles que celles nécessaires pour conduire, jouer d’un instrument, se raser ou coudre, permettant ainsi de gérer des ressources attentionnelles de sorte qu’elles puissent être orientées vers d’autres tâches.

3. Fonctions exécutives

Les noyaux gris centraux participent également activement aux fonctions exécutives . Plus précisément, il contribue au maintien de la vitesse de traitement, à la planification au niveau cognitif et à l’élaboration de stratégies de résolution de problèmes. De la même manière, les connexions des ganglions de la base avec le cortex orbitofrontal les font participer à la capacité d'inhibition du comportement.

4. Participation à un comportement émotionnel et motivationnel

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, certains noyaux gris centraux tels que le noyau accumbens ont des liens avec le système limbique et le système de récompense du cerveau , compte tenu de son importance dans la gestion de la dopamine. Ainsi, on peut considérer que les ganglions de la base participent au comportement émotionnel et au renforcement produits par la drogue ou la stimulation.

Par exemple, les noyaux gris centraux jouent un rôle très important dans le conditionnement classique et le conditionnement opérant.

Troubles liés aux problèmes des ganglions de la base

Comme on peut le constater, tous ces éléments et fonctions font des ganglions de la base des éléments fondamentaux pour le bon fonctionnement de l'organisme.

Mais ... Que se passe-t-il quand il y a une blessure ou un événement qui fait que ces noyaux ne coordonnent pas ou n'agissent pas comme ils le devraient? Dans ce cas, nous pouvons trouver certains des problèmes et troubles suivants, généralement liés à des problèmes hypo ou hyperkinétiques, c'est-à-dire liés au mouvement.

1. Parkinson

La maladie de Parkinson est le trouble le plus courant et le plus connu dérivé d'un dysfonctionnement des ganglions de la base. La maladie de Parkinson ou les tremblements au repos sont les symptômes les plus reconnaissables de ce trouble. Il y a aussi une rigidité musculaire et une perte de mouvements spontanés. avec une bradykinésie marquée ou une perte de vitesse motrice et des troubles de la marche.

Ce trouble survient surtout lors de la dégénérescence et de la mort des cellules dopaminergiques du nigrostriat. , ce qui entraîne une grande perte de transmission de la dopamine, sans atteindre les informations du cortex moteur.

  • Article connexe: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

2. La Corée de Huntington

C’est une maladie génétique neurodégénérative causée par une altération d’un gène dominant sur le chromosome quatre. , avec pleine pénétrance. Il produit des symptômes hyperkinétiques: la maladie provoque des mouvements incontrôlés similaires à une danse (d'où le nom de Corée) et une perte importante de fonctions exécutives et de mémoire. Les déficits sont principalement dus à la mort de neurones du noyau caudé, en particulier de neurones GABAergiques et cholinergiques.

3. Syndrome de perte d'auto-activation psychique

Comme mentionné précédemment, les noyaux gris centraux sont liés à la motivation personnelle. Une blessure dans ces zones peut donc avoir de graves conséquences à cet égard. , comme dans le syndrome de perte d’auto-activation psychique ou PAP.

Ce trouble, également connu sous le nom d'akinésie psychique pure ou perte d'apparition ou de maintien de l'action, engendre une passivité extrême chez le patient, perd la capacité de s'y intéresser, sa spontanéité et sa motivation. Celui qui la souffre est capable de reconnaître ses déficits, de sorte que l'anosognosie n'est pas présente, mais ils font preuve d'une grande indifférence à leur égard.

4. Troubles dus aux tics et au syndrome de Tourette

Dans ces troubles, tels que le syndrome de Tourette, qui se caractérisent par la présentation de mouvements, vocalisations, gestes ou comportements très stéréotypés et accomplis inconsciemment , il y a une atteinte grave des noyaux gris centraux. Plus spécifiquement, on pense que ces troubles peuvent être liés à des problèmes de putamen.

5. Autres troubles liés

En dehors de ces troubles, des altérations des ganglions de la base se produisent généralement dans un grand nombre de problèmes psychologiques. Par exemple, dans le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou le TDAH, il peut sembler que des altérations de ces systèmes cérébraux apparaissent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alexander, G.E .; DeLong, M.R. & Strick, P.L. (1986).Organisation parallèle des circuits fonctionnellement séparés reliant les noyaux gris centraux et le cortex. Annu Rev Neurosci.; 9: 357-381.
  • Kandel, E. R. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. 1ère édition. McGraw-Hill.
  • Melnick, M.E. (2013). Troubles des ganglions de la base. Dans: Umphred DA, Burton GU, Lazaro RT, Roller ML, éds. Rééducation Neurologique d'Umphred. 6ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Mosby; chap 20
  • Morris, M.E .; Iansek, R., Matyas, T.A. & Summers, J.J. (1996). Régulation de la longueur de la foulée dans la maladie de Parkinson. Stratégies de normalisation et mécanismes sous-jacents. Cerveau. 119: 551-68.

Neurofacile 7 : Les noyaux gris centraux. (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes