yes, therapy helps!
Be a psychologist without being a collegiate: is it possible?

Be a psychologist without being a collegiate: is it possible?

November 27, 2021

We have finished the Degree in Psychology. And now that? Do we consider doing a master's degree, we present ourselves to the PIR or to oppositions from another branch of psychology? Do we practice directly in any field?

We can take any of these options, but before getting to exercise we have to take into account if we intend to practice as such, we will be asked to join us. But you have to ask yourself Is it possible to practice as a psychologist without being a collegiate?

  • Related article: "Psychologists: what they do and how they help people"

What does it mean to get registered?

The Official College of Psychologists (COP) is an institution responsible for regulating the professional practice of psychology in Spain.


Their tasks are broad, because it is the institution that is responsible for ensuring the interests of both professionals and their clients, establishing regulations (such as the deontological code) that entail the recognition of a series of rights and guarantees, contributing to advise and form to its members and promoting the development of psychology. It also fights against the existence of professional intrusion from other occupational sectors.

The fact of becoming a collegiate implies being part of a group that brings together the majority of professionals in the sector, so that it facilitates the contact with the professional and the formation of groups and committees Dedicated or specialized in different areas. Likewise, in order to be a member of the university, it is necessary to have a background in regulated psychology (specifically, a bachelor's degree in psychology), which implies a greater level of security for your clients in terms of knowledge and qualification of the subject within the scope of the psychology.


Despite the fact that it implies an economic cost (collegiality means paying a half-yearly fee), membership also has a series of benefits beyond those previously mentioned. Some of the most relevant include the aforementioned legal advice in case of need and the possibility of consulting the ethics committee before ethical conflicts, the inclusion in a job board, the obtaining of accreditations, the possibility of training in different courses that allow to maintain a continuous training (some training results from a distance while other courses have discounts) or the possibility of benefiting from the agreements and relations of the school with different institutions and companies.

  • Related article: "Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist"

Historical obligation

The need to become a collegiate has been an aspect that has been linked to psychology in Spain since its inception.


In the year 1974 the law 2/1974 of Professional Associations was elaborated in which it indicated that all activity that was regulated by a professional school required the registration in said school to be carried out . This would include psychology from 1979, when law 43/1979 on the creation of the Official College of Psychologists was established.

Since then, this provision has been ratified throughout history in various laws, including the law 7/1997 in which it was considered an essential requirement for the exercise of the collegiate professions to be incorporated into the corresponding school by simply enrolling in one of them in case of having different territorial colleges in the State, or the law 25/2009, which also includes the obligation to enroll in the Professional Association in its articles 3 and 5 modifying some aspects of the one established in 1974.

As we see, throughout history it has been necessary to be collegiate to be able to practice. However, in recent years there has been controversy as to whether it is necessary to graduate or not to practice as a psychologist. During 2013, the Draft Law on Services and Professional Associations was drafted, which defined and reduced the type of professions that required membership to be able to practice the legal, technical and health fields . In the latter case, several branches related to medicine and other disciplines were included, but nevertheless clinical psychologists were excluded.

This supposed that the performance of the psychologist would not need to be registered in the Official College of Psychologists. However, it was argued that the professional performance of the psychologist requires assurances regarding having the necessary training for it, given that it involves an intervention that occurs negligently and without sufficient preparation can put at risk the integrity of patients or clients . That is why the Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness has determined in its latest draft the reinclusion of psychology within the professions that do require registration .

Collegiate: essential?

In conclusion, currently for the legal practice of psychology in Spain is necessary the membership in the Official College of Psychologists. This obligation is given for those who exercise their work in both public and private clinical practice . Failure to do so will be committing an act punishable by law, considering an administrative offense punishable.

On the other hand, those professionals who are not linked to clinical-health practice are not legally required to be registered unless their activity is directly aimed at citizenship, due to the consideration that the constitution establishes the imperative of freedom of association . Despite this, it is advisable, since even without being a legal imperative is required in many jobs and can offer attractive advantages to its members.


Athletes and Mental Health: The Hidden Opponent | Victoria Garrick | TEDxUSC (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Être psychologue sans être collégial: est-ce possible?

Être psychologue sans être collégial: est-ce possible?

Juin 26, 2022

Nous avons terminé le diplôme en psychologie. Et maintenant quoi? Envisageons-nous de faire une maîtrise, nous nous présentons au PIR ou aux oppositions d’une autre branche de la psychologie? Pratiquons-nous directement dans n’importe quel domaine?

Nous pouvons prendre n’importe laquelle de ces options, mais avant de commencer à exercer, nous devons prendre en compte si nous avons l’intention de pratiquer en tant que tels, il nous sera demandé de nous rejoindre. Mais vous devez vous demander Est-il possible de pratiquer en tant que psychologue sans être collégial?

  • Article connexe: "Psychologues: ce qu'ils font et comment ils aident les gens"

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'être inscrit?

Collège officiel des psychologues (COP) est une institution chargée de réglementer la pratique professionnelle de la psychologie en Espagne.


Leurs tâches sont vastes, car c’est à l’institution qu’il incombe de veiller aux intérêts des professionnels et de leurs clients, en établissant des réglementations (telles que le code de déontologie) qui impliquent la reconnaissance d’une série de droits et de garanties, en contribuant à conseiller à ses membres et à la promotion du développement de la psychologie. Il lutte également contre l’intrusion professionnelle d’autres secteurs professionnels.

Devenir collégial implique de faire partie d’un groupe qui regroupe la majorité des professionnels du secteur, de sorte que il facilite le contact avec le professionnel et la formation de groupes et de comités Dédié ou spécialisé dans différents domaines. De même, pour être membre de l'université, il est nécessaire de posséder une formation en psychologie réglementée (en particulier un baccalauréat en psychologie), ce qui implique un niveau de sécurité accru pour vos clients en termes de connaissance et de qualification du sujet dans le cadre du programme. psychologie


Malgré le fait que cela implique un coût économique (la collégialité signifie le paiement d’une cotisation semestrielle), l’adhésion présente également une série d’avantages autres que ceux mentionnés précédemment. Les conseils juridiques susmentionnés figurent parmi les plus pertinents. en cas de besoin et la possibilité de consulter le comité d'éthique avant les conflits éthiques, l'inclusion dans un tableau d'affichage des tâches, l'obtention d'accréditations, la possibilité de formation dans différents cours permettant de maintenir une formation continue (certains résultats de formation à distance tandis que d'autres cours bénéficient de réductions) ou de la possibilité de bénéficier des accords et relations de l'école avec différentes institutions et entreprises.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien"

Obligation historique

La nécessité de devenir une université est un aspect lié à la psychologie en Espagne depuis sa création.


En 1974, la loi 2/1974 sur les associations professionnelles a été élaborée. Elle stipulait que toute activité réglementée par une école professionnelle exigé que l'inscription dans ladite école soit effectuée . Cela inclurait la psychologie depuis 1979, année de l’instauration de la loi 43/1979 sur la création du Collège officiel des psychologues.

Depuis lors, cette disposition a été ratifiée tout au long de l'histoire par diverses lois, notamment la loi 7/1997 dans laquelle il était considéré comme une condition essentielle pour que l'exercice des professions collégiales soit incorporé à l'école correspondante en s'inscrivant simplement d’entre eux dans le cas où il existe différents collèges territoriaux dans l’État, ou la loi 25/2009, qui inclut également l’obligation de s’inscrire à l’association professionnelle dans ses articles 3 et 5 modifiant certains aspects de celui établi en 1974.

Comme on le voit, au cours de l'histoire, il a fallu être collégial pour pouvoir pratiquer. Cependant, ces dernières années, la question de savoir s'il est nécessaire ou non d'obtenir un diplôme de psychologue est controversée. En 2013, le projet de loi sur les services et les associations professionnelles a été rédigé. Il définit et réduit le type de professions nécessitant une adhésion pour pouvoir exercer les domaines juridique, technique et sanitaire . Dans ce dernier cas, plusieurs branches liées à la médecine et à d'autres disciplines étaient incluses, mais les psychologues cliniciens étaient néanmoins exclus.

Cela supposait que la performance du psychologue n'aurait pas besoin d'être enregistrée auprès du Collège officiel des psychologues. Cependant, il a été soutenu que les performances professionnelles du psychologue exigent des assurances quant à la formation nécessaire, étant donné qu’elles impliquent une intervention négligente et sans préparation suffisante, ce qui peut mettre en péril l’intégrité des patients ou des clients. . C’est pourquoi le ministère de l’Economie et de la Compétitivité a défini dans son dernier projet de la réintégration de la psychologie dans les professions qui nécessitent un enregistrement .

Collégiale: indispensable?

En conclusion, actuellement, pour l'exercice de la profession de psychologue en Espagne, il est nécessaire d'être membre du Collège officiel des psychologues. Cette obligation est donnée pour ceux qui exercent leur travail dans la pratique clinique publique et privée . Ne pas le faire commettra un acte punissable par la loi, en considérant une infraction administrative comme punissable.

D'autre part, les professionnels qui ne sont pas liés à la pratique clinique de la santé ne sont légalement tenus d'être enregistrés que si leur activité vise directement la citoyenneté, car la constitution établit l'impératif de la liberté d'association . Malgré cela, il est conseillé, car même sans être un impératif juridique est nécessaire dans de nombreux emplois et peut offrir des avantages attrayants à ses membres.

Articles Connexes