yes, therapy helps!
Be positive

Be positive

October 4, 2022

Many are the authors and scientific researchers who claim that the type of personality directly or indirectly affects our physical health .

There are different ways of being from each that increase or decrease the likelihood of suffering from some type of disease, but the origin or healing is not only in the mind.

  • You may be interested: "Loneliness can increase the risk of death"

Can the personality of each individual influence their health?

Some people maintain an admirable firmness and strength in exceptionally hard situations, having all the factors against them. On the other hand we find individuals who, even having everything in their favor, are prone to suffer health problems.


We can cite some of the most emblematic characters of our era to highlight the personality type of each one and how they faced those moments of physical exhaustion.

1. Muhammad Ali

The most famous boxer of all time was stripped of his first title in 1966 and banned from the ring for three years for refusing to participate in the Vietnam War.

But his fierce and persevering personality he made him champion twice more, earning himself the nickname of "The Greatest of All Time" (the greatest of all time).

2. Nelson Mandela

The former South African president he spent more than 30 years in prison with more severe restrictions than ordinary prisoners , forced to bite stone, deprived of visits and communication by ordinary mail. Mandela maintained a very positive attitude that led him to be president of his country and Nobel Peace Prize in 1993.


The nexus between the way of being and physical well-being

Already in antiquity, the Greek Hippocrates and the Roman Galen classified human beings into four psychological types, each of them susceptible to specific health problems .

For example, angry people, according to ancient medicine, tend to be self-sufficient and ambitious people, and that means they are prone to suffer heart problems or lose weight easily.

More than two thousand years have passed since those first pioneering investigations between temperament and health.

Expert scientists continue to search for correlations between personality traits and types of disease, and thus elaborate hypotheses to conclude whether these associations are due to a common biological basis or that one factor is the cause of the other. Perio ... Can we say that our personality affects our health?


  • Related article: "The theory of the four humors, Hippocrates"

Be positive

A study conducted at the University of North Carolina (USA) by Janice Williams sheds light on the role that anger plays in health. For five years he followed a group of people and observed that those who were irritable, cynical and hostile, were more likely to suffer from cardiovascular deficiencies.

One of the conclusions that the investigators issued was that the personality influenced the day-to-day habits. For example, the consumption of alcohol, tobacco or drugs was more common among the most impulsive and aggressive individuals.

However, once the data were analyzed in detail, it was concluded that the connection between personality and character presents a relative complexity. In fact, among people whose bad habits were equal, the bad health of the angry ones was more pronounced .

On the other hand, Laura Kubzansky, professor at Harvard University, has developed several investigations on the tendency to optimism or pessimism and its connection with physical health. His conclusion is very strong: negativity is bad for health. The data collected from his studies based on observing groups for decades show that people who perceive their future with shadows are more prone to suffer diseases , regardless of the material conditions of life and purchasing power.

Crystal Heart

The cardiovascular system it is a fundamental element when studying the different types of personality.

At the end of the 20th century, Meyer Friedman and Ray H. Rosenman intuited that there could be a correlation between cardiac risk and certain behavior patterns. The people most prone to heart attack were stressed and impatient individuals (type A personality).

Why these types of people have more cardiac risk? Once again, there is no single cause. The neurologist Redford Williams unifies two possibilities in his theories: individuals with type A biochemistry, added to bad routine, are more likely to suffer a heart attack. According to Williams, people with this profile constantly secrete stress hormones such as cortisol, and their blood pressure and heart rate often goes up.

The limits of the mind

But do not fall into the trap.Susan Sontag, writer of the book The Disease and its Metaphors, tells us about the headaches produced by the simplistic theories who interpret the mental as a superpower capable of controlling everything .

Numerous self-help books and writings are based on non-scientific data, a fact that has popularized the idea that diseases are nothing more than a manifestation of problems with the spirit.

Thus, in many literature based on pseudoscience it is insisted that there is a connection between less assertive personality and illness. Sontag remembers the danger of the sacralization of the mental: if we think that the psychic can control everything and that it is above matter, we will feel frustrated and overflowing continually.

Taking for granted that the spirit completely dominates the world is a waste of time and effort, since the influence of the psychic on the physical is often diffuse and difficult to control.

Of course we have to take care of the way we think, but we must accept that percentage of chance and contingency that costs so much today to bear.


How To Reprogram Your Mind (for Positive Thinking) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Être positif

Être positif

Février 21, 2019

Nombreux sont les auteurs et chercheurs scientifiques qui affirment que le type de personnalité affecte directement ou indirectement notre santé physique .

Il y a différentes manières d'être de chacune d'elles qui augmentent ou diminuent le risque de souffrir d'un certain type de maladie, mais l'origine ou la guérison ne se trouvent pas seulement dans l'esprit.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La solitude peut augmenter le risque de mort"

La personnalité de chaque individu peut-elle influencer sa santé?

Certaines personnes conservent une fermeté et une force admirables dans des situations exceptionnellement dures, en ayant tous les facteurs contre elles. D'autre part, nous trouvons des personnes qui, même en ayant tout en leur faveur, sont sujettes à des problèmes de santé.


Nous pouvons citer certains des personnages les plus emblématiques de notre époque pour souligner le type de personnalité de chacun et la façon dont ils ont affronté ces moments d’épuisement physique.

1. Muhammad Ali

Le boxeur le plus célèbre de tous les temps a été déchu de son premier titre en 1966 et banni du ring pendant trois ans pour avoir refusé de participer à la guerre du Vietnam.

Mais sa personnalité féroce et persévérante il l'a fait champion deux fois de plus, gagnant le surnom de "Le plus grand de tous les temps" (le plus grand de tous les temps).

2. Nelson Mandela

L'ancien président sud-africain il a passé plus de 30 ans en prison avec des restrictions plus sévères que les prisonniers ordinaires contraint de mordre la pierre, privé de visites et de communications par courrier ordinaire, Mandela a maintenu une attitude très positive qui l’a conduit à présider son pays et à recevoir le prix Nobel de la paix en 1993.


Le lien entre la manière d'être et le bien-être physique

Déjà dans l'Antiquité, le grec Hippocrate et le Romain Galen classaient les êtres humains dans quatre types psychologiques, chacun étant susceptible de problèmes de santé spécifiques .

Par exemple, les personnes en colère, selon la médecine ancienne, ont tendance à être autonomes et ambitieuses, ce qui signifie qu'elles ont tendance à souffrir de problèmes cardiaques ou à perdre du poids facilement.

Plus de deux mille ans se sont écoulés depuis ces premières recherches pionnières entre tempérament et santé.

Les scientifiques experts continuent à rechercher des corrélations entre les traits de personnalité et les types de maladie et élaborent ainsi des hypothèses permettant de déterminer si ces associations sont dues à une base biologique commune ou si un facteur est la cause de l'autre. Perio ... Peut-on dire que notre personnalité affecte notre santé?


  • Article connexe: "La théorie des quatre humeurs, Hippocrate"

Être positif

Une étude menée par Janice Williams à l'Université de Caroline du Nord (États-Unis) met en lumière le rôle que joue la colère dans la santé. Pendant cinq ans, il suivit un groupe de personnes et observa que ceux qui étaient irritables, cyniques et hostiles étaient plus susceptibles de souffrir de déficiences cardiovasculaires.

Les enquêteurs ont notamment conclu que la personnalité influençait les habitudes quotidiennes. Par exemple, la consommation d’alcool, de tabac ou de drogues était plus courante chez les individus les plus impulsifs et les plus agressifs.

Cependant, une fois les données analysées en détail, il a été conclu que le lien entre personnalité et caractère présentait une complexité relative. En fait, parmi les personnes dont les mauvaises habitudes étaient égales, la mauvaise santé des en colère était plus prononcée .

De son côté, Laura Kubzansky, professeure à l'Université Harvard, a mené plusieurs enquêtes sur la tendance à l'optimisme ou le pessimisme et ses liens avec la santé physique. Sa conclusion est très forte: la négativité est mauvaise pour la santé. Les données recueillies à partir de ses études basées sur des groupes d’observateurs pendant des décennies montrent que les personnes qui perçoivent leur avenir avec des ombres sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de maladies , quelles que soient les conditions matérielles de la vie et le pouvoir d’achat.

Coeur de cristal

Le système cardiovasculaire c'est un élément fondamental dans l'étude des différents types de personnalité.

À la fin du XXe siècle, Meyer Friedman et Ray H. Rosenman ont eu l'intuition qu'il pourrait exister une corrélation entre le risque cardiaque et certains comportements. Les personnes les plus exposées aux crises cardiaques étaient des individus stressés et impatients (personnalité de type A).

Pourquoi ces types de personnes ont plus de risque cardiaque? Encore une fois, il n'y a pas de cause unique. Le neurologue Redford Williams associe deux possibilités dans ses théories: les personnes atteintes de biochimie de type A, ajoutées aux mauvaises habitudes, risquent davantage de subir une crise cardiaque. Selon Williams, les personnes de ce type sécrètent en permanence des hormones de stress telles que le cortisol, et leur pression artérielle et leur rythme cardiaque augmentent souvent.

Les limites de l'esprit

Mais ne tombez pas dans le piège.Susan Sontag, auteur du livre La maladie et ses métaphores, nous parle des maux de tête produits par les théories simplistes. qui interprètent le mental comme une superpuissance capable de tout contrôler .

De nombreux livres et écrits d'autoassistance sont basés sur des données non scientifiques, un fait qui a popularisé l'idée que les maladies ne sont rien d'autre qu'une manifestation de problèmes d'esprit.

Ainsi, dans de nombreux ouvrages basés sur la pseudoscience, on insiste sur le fait qu’il existe un lien entre une personnalité moins affirmée et une maladie. Sontag se souvient le danger de la sacralisation du mental: si nous pensons que le psychique peut tout contrôler et que c'est au-dessus de la matière, nous nous sentirons frustrés et débordons continuellement.

Prendre pour acquis que l'esprit domine complètement le monde est une perte de temps et d'effort, car l'influence du psychique sur le physique est souvent diffuse et difficile à contrôler.

Bien sûr, nous devons prendre soin de notre façon de penser, mais nous devons accepter ce pourcentage de chance et de contingence qui coûte si cher à supporter aujourd'hui.


6 façons d'être positif à 110% - Franck NICOLAS (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes