yes, therapy helps!
Behavioral Activation as a therapy against depression

Behavioral Activation as a therapy against depression

January 17, 2022

Jacobson (1996) called Behavioral Activation (AC) to the programming of activities, applied together with cognitive intervention techniques, that allow to improve some deficit or behavioral excess in the person.

Is about a therapy aimed at the treatment of depression and that he understands the behaviors of the person who suffers it not only as a symptom, but as part of the essence and maintenance of the disorder.

  • Related article: "Depression and anxiety: symptoms to easily recognize them"

What is Behavioral Activation?

Among the symptoms of depression, one of the most characteristic is inaction , which is part of a vicious circle in which the person who suffers is immersed: the lack of activity affects the state of mind and, in the same way, the depressed mood produces lack of activity. This relationship is the epicenter of the proposal of Behavioral Activation, which contemplates some types of depression as elaborate forms of avoidance.


The objective of this therapy, framed within the therapies of third generation of the cognitive-behavioral current, and that is in itself a therapy proper, is that the depressed patients can organize their lives and change their environment to reestablish their relationship with sources of stimulation that involve positive reinforcement for them .

Some of the interventions with methods of behavioral activation, aimed at reducing depressive symptoms are: the prioritization of tasks, the programming of vital objectives, the reinforcement of social contact behaviors and the performance of rewarding activities.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behavioral Activation: one of the most effective therapies against depression"

How does it work?

The therapy is fundamentally based on prescribe activities to break dormant dynamics . In order to be effective, especially at the beginning, it is necessary that the programming includes easy, rewarding activities (not only pleasurable, because we look for activities that are satisfactory and that require effort) gradual and that are very well planned, then, especially at the beginning of the program, it is easy for difficulties to arise.


The current meta-analytic reviews (Cuijpers, van Straten and Warmer-dam, 2007) and experimental works in which different therapeutic approaches have been compared - antidepressant medication, cognitive therapy and behavioral activation therapy- (Dimidjian et al., 2006) have revealed what purely behavioral interventions are sufficient for an efficient and effective approach in depressive disorders.

Its advantages

Some of the advantages of the Behavioral Activation programs are the following.

He has demonstrated ample scientific evidence

Compared to pharmacological therapy, it has obtained comparable results and a higher percentage of remission in the subjects, as well as adherence to treatment .

It is a simple treatment to apply

Compared to other proposals, it does not require so many steps.

Does not require modification of thoughts, whose procedure is more complex

The data suggest that the application of behavioral components by themselves they obtain the same result as the application of complete cognitive therapy .


conclusion

In short, Behavioral Activation is a therapy with strong empirical support, which provides a new opportunity for treatment for people suffering from depression.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cuijpers, P., van Straten A. and Warmerdam, L. (2007) Psychological treatment versus combined treatment of depression: A metaaalnysis. Drepress Anx: in press.
  • Dimidjian, S., Hollon, S.D., Dobson, K.S., Schmaling, K.B., Kohlenberg, R.J., Addis, M.E., and Jacobson, N.S. (2006). Randomized trial of behavioral activation, cognitive therapy, and antidepressant medication in the treatment of adults with major depression. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 74 (4), 658-670. //doi.org/10.1037/0022-006X.74.4.658.

Behavioral Activation program at Aurora Psychiatric Hospital (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Activation comportementale comme traitement contre la dépression

Activation comportementale comme traitement contre la dépression

Septembre 15, 2022

Jacobson (1996) a appelé l'activation comportementale (AC) à la programmation d'activités, associée à des techniques d'intervention cognitives, permettant d'améliorer certains déficits ou excès de comportement chez la personne.

Il s'agit de une thérapie visant à traiter la dépression et qu'il comprend les comportements de la personne qui en souffre non seulement en tant que symptôme, mais en tant que partie intégrante de l'essence et du maintien de la maladie.

  • Article connexe: "Dépression et anxiété: des symptômes pour les reconnaître facilement"

Qu'est-ce que l'activation comportementale?

Parmi les symptômes de la dépression, l'un des plus caractéristiques est l'inaction. , qui fait partie d'un cercle vicieux dans lequel la personne qui souffre est immergée: le manque d'activité affecte l'état d'esprit et, de la même manière, l'humeur dépressive engendre le manque d'activité. Cette relation est l'épicentre de la proposition d'activation comportementale, qui envisage certains types de dépression comme des formes complexes d'évitement.


L’objectif de cette thérapie, encadrée par les thérapies de troisième génération du courant cognitivo-comportemental, et qui constitue en soi une thérapie proprement dite, est que les patients déprimés puissent organiser leur vie et modifier leur environnement de manière à: rétablir leur relation avec des sources de stimulation qui impliquent un renforcement positif pour eux .

Parmi les interventions faisant appel à des méthodes d'activation comportementale visant à réduire les symptômes dépressifs, citons: la hiérarchisation des tâches, la programmation d'objectifs vitaux, le renforcement des comportements de contact social et la réalisation d'activités enrichissantes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "L'activation comportementale: l'un des traitements les plus efficaces contre la dépression"

Comment ça marche?

La thérapie est fondamentalement basée sur prescrire des activités pour briser les dynamiques en sommeil . Pour être efficace, en particulier au début, il est nécessaire que la programmation comprenne des activités faciles et enrichissantes (non seulement agréables, car nous recherchons des activités satisfaisantes et qui nécessitent un effort), qui sont progressives et très bien planifiées, surtout au début de l’année. programme, il est facile que des difficultés surviennent.


Les revues méta-analytiques actuelles (Cuijpers, van Straten et Warmer-dam, 2007) et les travaux expérimentaux dans lesquels différentes approches thérapeutiques ont été comparées - antidépresseur, thérapie cognitive et thérapie par activation comportementale (Dimidjian et al., 2006) ont révélé Quoi les interventions purement comportementales sont suffisantes pour une approche efficace des désordres dépressifs.

Vos avantages

Certains des avantages des programmes d'activation comportementale sont les suivants.

Il a démontré de nombreuses preuves scientifiques

Comparé au traitement pharmacologique, il a obtenu des résultats comparables et un pourcentage plus élevé de rémission chez les sujets, ainsi que l'observance du traitement .

C'est un traitement simple à appliquer

Comparé à d'autres propositions, il ne nécessite pas autant d'étapes.

Ne nécessite pas de modification des pensées, dont la procédure est plus complexe

Les données suggèrent que l'application de composants comportementaux par eux-mêmes ils obtiennent le même résultat que l'application d'une thérapie cognitive complète .


conclusion

En bref, l'activation comportementale est une thérapie avec un support empirique fort, qui offre une nouvelle opportunité de traitement pour les personnes souffrant de dépression.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cuijpers, P., van Straten A. et Warmerdam, L. (2007) Traitement psychologique versus traitement combiné de la dépression: métaanalysie. Drepress Anx: sous presse.
  • Dimidjian, S., Hollon, S.D., Dobson, K.S., Schmaling, K.B., Kohlenberg, R.J., Addis, M.E. et Jacobson, N.S. (2006). Essai randomisé sur l'activation comportementale, la thérapie cognitive et les antidépresseurs dans le traitement de la dépression majeure chez l'adulte. Journal de consultation et de psychologie clinique, 74 (4), 658-670. //doi.org/10.1037/0022-006X.74.4.658.

La dépression - Psykocouac #9 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes