yes, therapy helps!
Being a child in today's society: myths about childhood

Being a child in today's society: myths about childhood

December 4, 2020

Much of the literature published today focuses on the difficulty that today's parents have when it comes to to deal with, educate, treat and manage the relationship with children . They seem to be more frequent than in the past, the paternal-filial conflicts and the feeling that the parents are "overcome" due to the bad behavior of their children.

However, another equally relevant issue would be to consider the perspective and the own experience that the child himself has about passing through the stage of childhood in the current era, which we will analyze below and may be more complex to handle than what You could think. It is convenient to discard certain myths about childhood to understand the psychology of the little ones well.


  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Social changes that today influence children's development

Urra (2007) makes an interesting analysis of the factors that have been modified in today's society and that may be influencing how children develop psychologically at present.

1. Permissiveness

Today's society is more permissive than in previous decades , when a more authoritarian structure prevailed (for example, the government dictatorships predominant in the West during much of the twentieth century). On the other hand, the values ​​that seem to be transmitted in recent times, perhaps as a reactionary response to submission to the indicated authority, are related to materialism, individualism, consumerism, hedonism or relativism.


  • Related article: "Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect"

2. Exposure to adult content

A large volume of media content is aimed at violent, sexual programs that promote success based on purchasing / economic power, competitiveness, etc. To what must be added the amount of time children spend in front of the television, Internet , social networks, video games, etc., alone and without the supervision of an adult who can instruct them for an adequate use of them.

3. The current life is frenetic

The change in the style and rhythm of personal life. Parallel to the advance of technologies, the pace of life has accelerated in such a way that a "stopwatch" operation has been internalized in which the individual must perform as many activities and tasks throughout the day. There is a concept called "child agenda" proposed by the same author that is used to designate children who combine school attendance with an endless list of extracurricular activities and obligations.


4. Liberalization of the family model

The family structure has been altered respect to previous generations. Today single-parent, heterosexual, homosexual, reconstructed families derived from previous divorces, etc. are observed. The variety has generated different forms of family organization that affects the type of education that the progeny receive.

On the other hand, more "intrafamiliar" than "extrafamilial" life is currently being carried out: contact with grandparents, uncles, cousins, etc. has been reduced since parents and children have less time to do so and, therefore, limit family life to members who live together.

5. Abandonment of responsibilities

The abandonment of the role of some fathers / mothers, by which the sample of affection or love is confused by gifts and material rewards combined with unlimited permissiveness with the educational role that theoretically would be attributed to the parents (offering of time, dedication, dialogue , active listening, support, sharing experiences, setting standards, guidelines and limits, teaching values, etc.).

6. Questioning of educational styles

The educational discrepancy between the families, being able to differentiate between the application of permissive, authoritarian, negligent, overprotective, etc. styles. In addition, the differences between families and teachers also seem to be more evident, creating a climate of questioning or distrust of the teaching figure in the event of possible sanctions applied to the student).

Misconceptions and myths about childhood

Some of the main myths about the psychology of children that are held today are the following.

1. Psychological essentialism

There is a type of belief shared by some of the parents "overcome" by the misbehavior of the children regarding the presence of an intrinsic evil in the child that leads him to commit the behaviors of loss of respect, rebellion, defiance and disobedience. Nothing is further from reality.Up to the stage of youth and beginning of adulthood (towards 24-25 years) the individual does not have a complete development of all brain structures that allow him to exercise a deep reasoning about his own acts or to behave in a mature way, ethical, civilized, empathic; these structures are known as the prefrontal cortex.

The minor, therefore, he does not have that capacity that is attributed to him to embitter existence consciously and premeditated parents, because in these ages the child does not know very well what is right or appropriate in a given situation; is learning to do it Therefore, it seems unfair to think that the child should behave like "an adult in miniature"; the child is a boy

2. Learning does not model personality

Related to the above, it does not seem right either to conclude that the child behaves in a certain inappropriate way because "it has come out like this" .

It is true (already in late childhood and adolescence) that the ultimate responsible for the behavior is the one who performs it and that there is a difference in temperament that discriminates between more serene or more "moved" individuals, but it is no less true than given that the child is in constant learning the environment presents a determining role in behavioral modeling of the child.

Thus, the interaction between personal factors (internal or personal) and factors derived from the context (external factors, such as the type of family and education received) are the causes of the behavior that the children finally exhibit. In this sense, the different educational styles (democratic, authoritarian, permissive or negligent) have a determining influence.

3. Affection has its price

Another idea that some parents frequently apply is the fact that it is possible to think generate the children's feeling of affection for them through material rewards , as discussed above. Contrary to what may seem, children are equally happy with half or a quarter of the money that parents invest on the pretext of contentment of the children.

Research and analysis of a large number of interviews and testimonies carried out in the last decade indicate that young people value much more than concrete material rewards the time and attention that their parents dedicate to them on a day-to-day basis .

Active listening, dialogue, joint decision making, shared activities, an empathic and understanding attitude before the difficulties that may arise in both parts, etc., are aspects that count to a much higher extent than the fact of making available the latest console model in the market.

conclusion

The preceding lines are intended to be a set of reflections that, in certain cases, can help the parents to understand more deeply the reasons why the behavior of your little one is not the expected . By analyzing the erroneous beliefs indicated, daily situations of conflict can be resolved in alternative ways, in which the application of empathic capacity can be of vital importance.

Bibliographic references:

  • Urra, J. (2007). The little dictator. The sphere of Books: Madrid.

What is the most important influence on child development | Tom Weisner | TEDxUCLA (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Être un enfant dans la société d'aujourd'hui: mythes sur l'enfance

Être un enfant dans la société d'aujourd'hui: mythes sur l'enfance

Janvier 22, 2022

Une grande partie de la littérature publiée aujourd’hui est centrée sur la difficulté des parents d’aujourd’hui en matière de traiter, éduquer, traiter et gérer la relation avec les enfants . Ils semblent être plus fréquents que par le passé, en raison des conflits entre parents et parents et du sentiment que les parents sont "dépassés" en raison du mauvais comportement de leurs enfants.

Cependant, une autre question tout aussi pertinente serait de considérer le point de vue et l'expérience personnelle de l'enfant lui-même sur le passage du stade de l'enfance à l'ère actuelle, que nous analyserons ci-dessous et qui pourraient s'avérer plus complexes à gérer. Vous pourriez penser. Il est commode d'éliminer certains mythes sur l'enfance pour bien comprendre la psychologie des petits.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Les changements sociaux qui influencent aujourd'hui le développement des enfants

Urra (2007) fait une analyse intéressante des facteurs qui ont été modifiés dans la société d'aujourd'hui et qui peuvent influer sur le développement psychologique des enfants à l'heure actuelle.

1. Permissivité

La société d'aujourd'hui est plus permissive que dans les décennies précédentes , lorsqu'une structure plus autoritaire prévalait (par exemple, les dictatures gouvernementales prédominantes à l'Ouest pendant une grande partie du XXe siècle). D'autre part, les valeurs qui semblent être transmises ces derniers temps, peut-être comme une réaction à la soumission à l'autorité indiquée, sont liées au matérialisme, à l'individualisme, au consumérisme, à l'hédonisme ou au relativisme.


  • Article connexe: "Discipline positive: éduquer au respect mutuel"

2. Exposition au contenu pour adultes

Un grand volume de contenu médiatique est destiné aux programmes sexuels violents qui favorisent le succès basé sur le pouvoir d'achat / économique, la compétitivité, etc. À ce qu'il faut ajouter le temps que les enfants passent devant la télévision, Internet , réseaux sociaux, jeux vidéo, etc., seuls et sans la supervision d'un adulte capable de les instruire pour une utilisation adéquate.

3. La vie actuelle est frénétique

Le changement de style et de rythme de la vie personnelle. Parallèlement au progrès des technologies, le rythme de la vie s’est accéléré de telle sorte qu’une opération de "chronomètre" a été intériorisée, l’individu devant effectuer autant d’activités et de tâches tout au long de la journée. Il existe un concept appelé "agenda de l'enfant" proposé par le même auteur qui est utilisé pour désigner les enfants qui combinez la fréquentation scolaire avec une liste interminable d'activités parascolaires et obligations.


4. Libéralisation du modèle familial

La structure de la famille a été modifiée respect aux générations précédentes. Aujourd'hui, on observe des familles monoparentales, hétérosexuelles, homosexuelles, reconstruites dérivées de divorces antérieurs, etc. La variété a généré différentes formes d'organisation familiale qui affectent le type d'éducation que reçoit la progéniture.

Par contre, la vie est actuellement plus "familiale" que "extrafamiliale": les contacts avec les grands-parents, les oncles, les cousins, etc. ont été réduits car les parents et les enfants ont moins de temps pour le faire et vie de famille aux membres qui vivent ensemble.

5. Abandon des responsabilités

L'abandon du rôle de certains pères / mères, qui confond l'échantillon d'échantillons d'affection ou d'amour par des cadeaux et des récompenses matérielles, associé à une permissivité illimitée, au rôle éducatif qui serait théoriquement attribué aux parents (offre de temps, dévouement, dialogue) , écoute active, soutien, partage d’expériences, établissement de normes, de directives et de limites, valeurs d’enseignement, etc.).

6. Mise en question des styles d'enseignement

La divergence éducative entre les familles, permettant de différencier l'application de styles permissif, autoritaire, négligent, surprotecteur, etc. En outre, les différences entre familles et enseignants semblent également plus évidentes, créant un climat de questionnement ou de méfiance à l’égard de la figure enseignante en cas de sanctions éventuelles appliquées à l’élève).

Idées fausses et mythes sur l'enfance

Certains des principaux mythes sur la psychologie des enfants qui se tiennent aujourd'hui sont les suivants.

1. Essentialism psychologique

Il existe un type de croyance partagée par certains parents "surmontés" par la mauvaise conduite des enfants en ce qui concerne présence d'un mal intrinsèque chez l'enfant cela le conduit à adopter des comportements de perte de respect, de rébellion, de défi et de désobéissance. Rien n'est plus éloigné de la réalité.Jusqu'au stade de la jeunesse et du début de l'âge adulte (vers 24-25 ans), l'individu ne dispose pas d'un développement complet de toutes les structures cérébrales lui permettant d'exercer un raisonnement approfondi sur ses propres actes ou de se comporter de manière mûre, éthique, civilisé, empathique; ces structures sont connues sous le nom de cortex préfrontal.

Le mineur donc il n'a pas cette capacité qui lui est attribuée pour aigrir l'existence consciemment et les parents prémédités, car à cet âge, l’enfant ne sait pas très bien ce qui est juste ou approprié dans une situation donnée; apprend à le faire Par conséquent, il semble injuste de penser que l'enfant devrait se comporter comme "un adulte en miniature"; l'enfant est un garçon

2. L'apprentissage ne modélise pas la personnalité

Par rapport à ce qui précède, il ne semble pas non plus juste de conclure que l'enfant se comporte d'une certaine manière inappropriée parce que "il est sorti comme ça" .

Il est vrai (déjà à la fin de l'enfance et de l'adolescence) que le comportement ultime du comportement est celui qui le pratique et qu'il existe une différence de tempérament qui fait la distinction entre des individus plus sereins ou plus "émus", mais ce n'est pas moins vrai que l'enfant est en apprentissage constant l'environnement joue un rôle déterminant dans la modélisation comportementale de l'enfant

Ainsi, l’interaction entre des facteurs personnels (internes ou personnels) et des facteurs dérivés du contexte (facteurs externes, tels que le type de famille et l’éducation reçue) sont les causes du comportement que les enfants présentent finalement. En ce sens, les différents styles éducatifs (démocratique, autoritaire, autoritaire ou négligent) ont une influence déterminante.

3. L'affection a son prix

Une autre idée fréquemment appliquée par certains parents est le fait qu’il est possible de penser susciter chez les enfants le sentiment de leur affection par des récompenses matérielles , comme discuté ci-dessus. Contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait croire, les enfants sont également satisfaits de la moitié ou du quart de l'argent que les parents investissent sous prétexte de se satisfaire des enfants.

La recherche et l'analyse d'un grand nombre d'interviews et de témoignages réalisés au cours de la dernière décennie indiquent que les jeunes valorisent bien plus que des récompenses matérielles concrètes le temps et l'attention que leurs parents leur consacrent au quotidien .

Écoute active, dialogue, prise de décision commune, activités partagées, une attitude empathique et compréhensive devant les difficultés qui peuvent survenir dans les deux parties, etc., sont des aspects qui comptent beaucoup plus que le simple fait de mettre à disposition le dernier modèle de console du marché.

conclusion

Les lignes précédentes sont destinées à être un ensemble de réflexions qui, dans certains cas, peuvent aider les parents à comprendre plus profondément les raisons pour lesquelles le comportement de votre petit n'est pas le prévu . En analysant les croyances erronées indiquées, les situations de conflit quotidiennes peuvent être résolues de différentes manières, dans lesquelles l'application de la capacité empathique peut revêtir une importance vitale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Urra, J. (2007). Le petit dictateur La sphère des livres: Madrid.

10 Clichés Totalement Erronés Sur Les Gens Qui ne Veulent Pas D’enfant (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes