yes, therapy helps!
Biofeedback: what is it and what is it for?

Biofeedback: what is it and what is it for?

May 7, 2021

Many things have changed since the standard mode of psychotherapy consisted in the verbal healing proposed by Freudian psychoanalysis.

One of those things has to do with the loss of popularity of psychoanalysis, yes, but there is another factor at play: Nowadays, the development of technology allows us to propose inconceivable therapy proposals decades ago . The use of a technique called biofeedback It is an example of this.

Biofeedback: sensor technology applied to psychotherapy

Biofeedback is, in short, a technique based on a system of sensors thanks to which the patient is aware in real time of various physiological parameters that describe the functioning of your body.


Thanks to biofeedback a feedback loop is created thanks to which the person has it easier when learning to reach optimal functional levels in aspects such as the blood pulse, body temperature, etc. In other words, as the individual is informed in real time about what is happening in various parts of his body, he learns to associate these phenomena with certain sensations and, with a little practice, he is better able to regulate certain bodily functions. .

So, biofeedback makes the process of consciously controlling (and for our good) body processes easier that otherwise they could get out of control in certain situations negatively affecting our quality of life.


The usefulness of biofeedback

Decades ago it was believed that mental processes, everything that has normally been called "the conscious mind", was separated from the bodily functions that ensure our survival, such as heart rate, sweating, etc. The idea was, basically, that both processes ran in parallel ways, or more specifically that the conscious mind is mounted on the basic physiology of our organism just as a peripheral device is coupled to a computer or a mobile phone.

But nevertheless, the implantation of biofeedback supposes the rupture with this belief , and has allowed the emergence of a new horizon of possibilities in therapy and learning in general. Thus, for example, biofeedback allows to learn very effectively methods of relaxation, coping with anxiety and even more effective ways of breathing.


At first, the use of biofeedback is still a challenge in which we must pay attention to both the sensations we experience and the information that the sensors give us, but little by little the progress that is made can be made more easy to be present in our lives almost automatically.

In addition, biofeedback has shown scientifically proven efficacy in the treatment of insomnia, ADHD, chronic pain, anxiety disorders and phobias, and many others. Despite this, this technique is still very recent, and its usefulness and effectiveness guarantees are still a subject that is discussed in the scientific communities, depending on the type of treatment to be applied.

Types of biofeedback

The defining idea of ​​biofeedback is what we have seen, and just because it is so simple it can be applied to many cases and be used with a wide variety of sensors , machines and computer programs.

This makes the biofeedback technique can have several utilities depending on the form adopted. These are its different types.

1. Neurofeedback

Thanks to neurofeedback Patients are informed about the way their brain is activated in certain situations. This makes it possible for the patient to relate subjective experiences about what they feel and think with the feedback provided by the machines, thus having a reference about when and when progress is made and when not.

The neurofeedback is the most obvious link between the application of biofeedback and psychology , since the measurements provide information about the state of the brain. However, there are also two other types of biofeedback.

2. Registration of the somatic nervous system

This is the type of biofeedback in which the sensors collect information about the somatic nervous system , which is the one that transmits voluntary orders from the brain to the muscles. Thus, this method allows recording information related to muscle tone, mainly through a method called electromyogram.

3. Autonomic nervous system registration

The somatic nervous system is the one that transmits orders related to involuntary actions, such as the regulation of heart rate, body temperature or the type of substances secreted in the digestive system, among others. Because, using sensors on it allows you to better control these processes and correct them when there are imbalances .

How is biofeedback used?

The biofeedback sessions are always supervised by a therapist who will guide the entire process, from the setting of objectives to the course of each of the sessions (lasting less than an hour).

At the beginning, the physiological function on which you want to intervene is chosen, you measure how you react before the sessions, and you set the objectives . Then, the biofeedback sessions are carried out, which are usually planned as if they were part of a training in which the patient has the most active role. Finally, the results obtained are compared with the objectives set.

Occasionally, the patient may continue to use the biofeedback technique out of consultation once he has provided the necessary instruments and has learned to use them without asking for help. However, even if the therapist is not present in these cases, you can consult the records obtained by the sensors to see the progress that has been made.


What is Biofeedback (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le biofeedback: de quoi s'agit-il et à quoi sert-il?

Le biofeedback: de quoi s'agit-il et à quoi sert-il?

Octobre 2, 2022

Beaucoup de choses ont changé depuis que le mode standard de psychothérapie consistait en la guérison verbale proposée par la psychanalyse freudienne.

L'une de ces choses a à voir avec la perte de popularité de la psychanalyse, certes, mais il y a un autre facteur en jeu: De nos jours, le développement de la technologie nous permet de proposer des propositions thérapeutiques inconcevables il y a plusieurs décennies. . L'utilisation d'une technique appelée biofeedback C'est un exemple de cela.

Biofeedback: technologie de détection appliquée à la psychothérapie

Le biofeedback est, en bref, une technique basée sur un système de capteurs permettant au patient de connaître en temps réel divers paramètres physiologiques qui décrivent le fonctionnement de votre corps.


Grâce au biofeedback, une boucle de rétroaction est créée, ce qui permet à la personne d'apprendre facilement à atteindre des niveaux fonctionnels optimaux dans des domaines tels que le pouls sanguin, la température corporelle, etc. En d'autres termes, lorsque l'individu est informé en temps réel de ce qui se passe dans différentes parties de son corps, il apprend à associer ces phénomènes à certaines sensations et, avec un peu de pratique, il est mieux à même de réguler certaines fonctions corporelles. .

Donc, le biofeedback facilite le processus de contrôle conscient (et pour notre bien) des processus corporels autrement, ils pourraient perdre le contrôle de leur vie dans certaines situations et nuire à notre qualité de vie.


L'utilité du biofeedback

Il y a des décennies, on croyait que les processus mentaux, tout ce qu'on appelle normalement "l'esprit conscient", étaient séparés des fonctions corporelles assurant notre survie, telles que la fréquence cardiaque, la transpiration, etc. L'idée était, fondamentalement, que les deux processus se déroulaient de manière parallèle, ou plus précisément que l'esprit conscient est monté sur la physiologie de base de notre organisme, de la même manière qu'un périphérique est couplé à un ordinateur ou à un téléphone mobile.

Cependant, l'implantation du biofeedback suppose la rupture avec cette croyance , et a permis l’émergence d’un nouvel horizon de possibilités en thérapie et en apprentissage en général. Ainsi, par exemple, le biofeedback permet d'apprendre très efficacement des méthodes de relaxation, de gestion de l'anxiété et des méthodes de respiration encore plus efficaces.


Au début, l’utilisation du biofeedback est toujours un défi dans lequel nous devons prêter attention aux sensations que nous éprouvons et aux informations fournies par les capteurs, mais petit à petit, les progrès réalisés peuvent être réalisés plus rapidement. facile d'être présent dans nos vies presque automatiquement.

De plus, le biofeedback a démontré une efficacité scientifiquement prouvée dans le traitement de l'insomnie, du TDAH, de la douleur chronique, des troubles anxieux et des phobies, et bien d'autres. Malgré cela, cette technique est encore très récente et son utilité et ses garanties d’efficacité sont toujours un sujet débattu dans les communautés scientifiques, en fonction du type de traitement à appliquer.

Types de biofeedback

L’idée qui définit le biofeedback est ce que nous avons vu et juste parce qu'il est si simple, il peut être appliqué à de nombreux cas et être utilisé avec une grande variété de capteurs , machines et programmes informatiques.

Cela fait que la technique de biofeedback peut avoir plusieurs utilités en fonction de la forme adoptée. Ce sont ses différents types.

1. Neurofeedback

Merci à neurofeedback Les patients sont informés de la manière dont leur cerveau est activé dans certaines situations. Cela permet au patient de relier des expériences subjectives à propos de ce qu'il ressent et pense avec le retour fourni par les machines, ce qui lui permet de savoir quand et quand des progrès sont réalisés et quand ils ne le sont pas.

Le neurofeedback est le lien le plus évident entre l'application du biofeedback et la psychologie , puisque les mesures fournissent des informations sur l’état du cerveau. Cependant, il existe également deux autres types de biofeedback.

2. Enregistrement du système nerveux somatique

C’est le type de biofeedback dans lequel les capteurs collectent des informations sur le système nerveux somatique , qui est celui qui transmet les ordres volontaires du cerveau aux muscles. Ainsi, cette méthode permet d’enregistrer des informations relatives au tonus musculaire, principalement par le biais d’une méthode appelée électromyogramme.

3. Enregistrement du système nerveux autonome

Le système nerveux somatique est celui qui transmet les ordres liés à des actions involontaires, telles que la régulation du rythme cardiaque, de la température corporelle ou du type de substances sécrétées dans le système digestif, entre autres. Pour cela, l’utilisation de capteurs vous permet de mieux contrôler ces processus et de les corriger en cas de déséquilibre .

Comment le biofeedback est-il utilisé?

Les séances de biofeedback sont toujours supervisées par un thérapeute qui guidera l’ensemble du processus, de la fixation des objectifs au déroulement de chacune des séances (d’une durée inférieure à une heure).

Au début, la fonction physiologique sur laquelle vous voulez intervenir est choisie, vous mesurez votre réaction avant les séances et vous vous fixez des objectifs. . Ensuite, les séances de biofeedback sont effectuées, qui sont généralement planifiées comme si elles faisaient partie d’une formation dans laquelle le patient joue le rôle le plus actif. Enfin, les résultats obtenus sont comparés aux objectifs fixés.

De temps en temps, le patient peut continuer à utiliser la technique de biofeedback en dehors de la consultation une fois qu'il a fourni les instruments nécessaires et qu'il a appris à les utiliser sans demander de l'aide. Cependant, même si le thérapeute n'est pas présent dans ces cas, vous pouvez consulter les enregistrements obtenus par les capteurs pour voir les progrès accomplis.


En savoir plus sur la psychanalyse (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes