yes, therapy helps!
Biography and personality of Pablo Escobar, the irreducible narco

Biography and personality of Pablo Escobar, the irreducible narco

May 6, 2021

The Colombian Pablo Emilio Escobar Gaviria He was the leader of one of the most powerful criminal organizations that has ever existed.

During the 80s, controlled the drug trafficking business and was the cause of numerous deaths around the globe . He sowed terror and ordered hundreds of murders and, along the way, he won millions of dollars as a Medellín cartel. He came to own mansions, airplanes, a private zoo and even his own army of criminals.

Pablo Escobar was, without doubt, one of the most well-known and feared criminal personalities; In part because of the interesting part of his life, between 2009 and 2012, a series based on his life was broadcast, entitled "Pablo Escobar, the pattern of evil".


But… What is the psychological profile of the "King of Cocaine"? In this article we review the psychological characteristics of this character who died 20 years ago.

Biography of Pablo Escobar

Pablo Escobar was born on December 1, 1949 in Colombia . He grew up in a low middle class family in the suburb of Envigado, in the Colombian city of Medellín. As a young man, he could already appreciate his great ambition, constantly repeating to his relatives that he wanted to be the president of Colombia one day. Obviously, his dream was never fulfilled, but his aspirations make it clear that he had a great desire to stand out. Something that did, although illicitly.


Escobar's career as a delinquent began in the streets, when he began to steal gravestones in the cemeteries to sell the marble and earn a few pesos. He also dedicated himself to the smuggling of tobacco and alcohol, to then bring coca paste from Bolivia and Peru through Ecuador, hiding the goods on the tires of the trucks. After refining it, it was transported to the United States to sell it. There it would be consumed in the form of cocaine.

The leap to criminal power and his life as a politician

The jump to power in the criminal world of this notorious character happens in 1975, when he ordered to assassinate Fabio Restrepo , one of the great drug traffickers of the time. Escobar takes power in the criminal organization of the latter, expanding its operations. After a while, controls the crime in Medellín and is responsible for 80% of the cocaine transported United States .


Despite the development of its illicit activities, it did not remain anonymous. Escobar adopted the role of caring for the people, and financed improvement plans for the suburbs of Medellín. In this way, he rebuilt a neighborhood of 780 homes for disadvantaged people, and got votes to become deputy mayor of the City of Medellín.

His obsession to be part of the political scene and of course is in the benefit of drug trafficking, Escobar financed several parliamentary and presidential campaigns and tried to get involved in politics. He formed a political group called Civics in March, attached to the training New Liberalism. In 1982 he managed to enter the congress when he was elected as deputy substitute of the Antioquia parliamentarian. Now, when the leader of the coalition New Liberalism, Luis Carlos Galán , he heard about Escobar's illegal activities, decided to expel him.

"Silver or Lead", a matter of life and death

Throughout the years, Escobar was making enemies, and his cruelty was evident hundreds of times. His rise in the criminal world was not well seen by politicians, police or honest judges, who suffered in their own flesh their evil. Escobar became known for his phrase "silver or lead", which came to say: "or pay or die" .

Generally, if a politician, police or judge crossed his path, he first tried to bribe him, and if this did not work, he ordered his murder. The number of honest people who were victims of this perverse criminal is not known exactly, but it passes over a hundred, and there is even talk of thousands of people executed by the surroundings of Escobar .

The end of Pablo Escobar

Pablo Escobar, who became one of the most wanted drug traffickers in Colombia by the United States, died on December 2, 1993 at the hands of the Colombian security forces. The founder of the Medellín cartel, who was also called "El Patrón", "el Capo", "el Duro" and "the Czar of cocaine", was killed during a "commando-like" operation deployed by military and police forces. when they located their hiding place.

The psychological profile of this famous criminal figure

Pablo is known by many, because his popularity was such that his name crossed the barriers of his native Colombia.

Andrés Parra , the actor who played him in the series of his life, said in an interview to eltiempo.com, "few know the extent of the evil of Pablo Escobar." The actor explains to this portal "that his character took away his sleep and that he consulted a psychologist to understand it". But how was this character really? What are the psychological keys to understand their cruelty and desire for power?

The keys to his personality

According to a text from the School of Psychology of the Universidad López Vallejo published in 2014, Pablo Escobar was a professional criminal, so he dedicated his life to illegal acts and, therefore, was a repeat offender.

His personality inclined towards a social egocentric profile , so that his pattern of behavior was oriented towards ambition, arrogance or exhibitionism.

Related article: "Self-centered personality: 15 characteristic features"

That's why Pablo Escobar, like other drug traffickers, when he was captured and given the opportunity to appear on social media, he was serene and defiant and made a series of gestures that indicated to his followers that he was still at the bottom of the canyon. Such was the desire for notoriety of Pablo Escobar, who tried to appear as a figure of business with politicians, according to the newspaper "Hoy Digital".

In general, the results of the different investigations carried out on the personality profile of drug traffickers, highlight that they usually show an affable appearance, social resentment, disloyalty, aggressive and violent behavior, absence of feelings of guilt, tendency to lie and the manipulation, great cravings for power, besides being vengeful and calculating people.

All these qualities are those that Pablo Escobar showed. In addition, the article published by Lopez Vallejo University qualifies him as an antisocial person. The cause of this type of behavior was the result of both exogenous and endogenous factors. Among the exogenous factors that caused his personality pattern, are: poverty, truncated education, lifestyle in Colombia or guerrilla. As endogenous factors, they emphasize their addiction to drugs or their desire for wealth and power .


Who was Pablo Escobar? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Biographie et personnalité de Pablo Escobar, l'irréductible narco

Biographie et personnalité de Pablo Escobar, l'irréductible narco

Mars 31, 2020

Le colombien Pablo Emilio Escobar Gaviria Il était le chef de l'une des organisations criminelles les plus puissantes qui ait jamais existé.

Au cours des années 80, contrôlé le trafic de drogue et a été la cause de nombreux décès dans le monde . Il a semé la terreur et a ordonné des centaines de meurtres et, en chemin, il a gagné des millions de dollars en tant que cartel de Medellín. Il est venu posséder des manoirs, des avions, un zoo privé et même sa propre armée de criminels.

Pablo Escobar était sans aucun doute l’une des personnalités criminelles les plus connues et les plus redoutées; En partie à cause de la partie intéressante de sa vie, entre 2009 et 2012, une série basée sur sa vie a été diffusée, intitulée "Pablo Escobar, le modèle du mal".


Mais ... Quel est le profil psychologique du "roi de la cocaïne"? Dans cet article, nous examinons les caractéristiques psychologiques de ce personnage décédé il y a 20 ans.

Biographie de Pablo Escobar

Pablo Escobar est né le 1er décembre 1949 en Colombie. . Il a grandi dans une famille de la classe moyenne inférieure de la banlieue d'Envigado, dans la ville colombienne de Medellín. Jeune homme, il pouvait déjà apprécier sa grande ambition, répétant sans cesse à ses proches qu'il souhaitait un jour devenir président de la Colombie. De toute évidence, son rêve n’a jamais été réalisé, mais ses aspirations montrent clairement qu’il avait un grand désir de se démarquer. Quelque chose qui a fait, bien que de manière illicite.


La carrière d'Escobar en tant que délinquant a commencé dans la rue, lorsqu'il a commencé à voler des pierres tombales dans les cimetières pour vendre le marbre et gagner quelques pesos. Il s'est également consacré à la contrebande de tabac et d'alcool, pour ensuite faire transiter de la pâte de coca de Bolivie et du Pérou via l'Équateur, en dissimulant les marchandises sur les pneus des camions. Après l'avoir raffiné, il a été transporté aux États-Unis pour le vendre. Là, il serait consommé sous forme de cocaïne.

Le saut au pouvoir criminel et sa vie de politicien

Le pouvoir au pouvoir dans le monde criminel de ce personnage notoire se produit en 1975, lorsqu'il ordonne l'assassinat Fabio Restrepo , l'un des grands trafiquants de drogue de l'époque. Escobar prend le pouvoir dans l'organisation criminelle de ce dernier, en développant ses opérations. Bientôt contrôle le crime à Medellín et est responsable de 80% de la cocaïne transportée aux États-Unis .


Malgré le développement de ses activités illicites, il n'est pas resté anonyme. Escobar a adopté le rôle de prendre soin de la population et a financé des plans d'amélioration pour la banlieue de Medellín. Il a ainsi reconstruit un quartier de 780 logements pour personnes défavorisées et a obtenu des suffrages pour devenir maire suppléant de la ville de Medellín.

Son obsession de faire partie de la scène politique et, bien sûr, profite du trafic de drogue. Escobar a financé plusieurs campagnes parlementaires et présidentielles et a tenté de se lancer dans la politique. Il a formé un groupe politique appelé L'éducation civique en mars, attaché à la formation Nouveau libéralisme. En 1982, il réussit à entrer au congrès après avoir été élu suppléant du parlementaire d'Antioquia. Maintenant, quand le chef de la coalition Nouveau libéralisme, Luis Carlos Galán , il a entendu parler des activités illégales d'Escobar, a décidé de l'expulser.

"Silver or Lead", une question de vie ou de mort

Au fil des ans, Escobar s'est fait des ennemis et sa cruauté était évidente des centaines de fois. Son ascension dans le monde criminel n'a pas été bien vue par les politiciens, la police ou les juges honnêtes, qui ont souffert de leur mal. Escobar est devenu connu pour sa phrase "argent ou plomb", qui est venu à dire: "ou payer ou mourir" .

Généralement, si un homme politique, un policier ou un juge rencontrait son chemin, il tentait d’abord de le payer, et si cela ne fonctionnait pas, il ordonnait son meurtre. Le nombre de personnes honnêtes qui ont été victimes de ce criminel pervers n'est pas connu avec précision, mais il dépasse une centaine. et on parle même de milliers de personnes exécutées par les environs d'Escobar .

La fin de Pablo Escobar

Pablo Escobar, qui est devenu l'un des trafiquants de drogue les plus recherchés en Colombie par les États-Unis, est décédé le 2 décembre 1993 aux mains des forces de sécurité colombiennes. Le fondateur du cartel de Medellín, également appelé "El Patrón", "El Capo", "El Duro" et "Le tsar de la cocaïne", a été tué lors d'une opération de type "commando" déployée par l'armée et la police. quand ils ont trouvé leur cachette.

Le profil psychologique de cette célèbre figure criminelle

Pablo est connu de beaucoup car sa popularité était telle que son nom a franchi les barrières de son pays natal, la Colombie.

Andrés Parra , l'acteur qui l'a joué dans la série de sa vie, a déclaré dans une interview à eltiempo.com, "peu de gens connaissent l'étendue du mal de Pablo Escobar." L'acteur explique à ce portail "que son personnage lui a enlevé le sommeil et qu'il a consulté un psychologue pour le comprendre". Mais comment était ce personnage vraiment? Quelles sont les clés psychologiques pour comprendre leur cruauté et leur désir de pouvoir?

Les clés de sa personnalité

Selon un texte de l'École de psychologie de l'Université López Vallejo publié en 2014, Pablo Escobar était un criminel professionnel. Il a donc consacré sa vie à des actes illégaux et a donc récidivé.

Sa personnalité inclinée vers un profil social égocentrique , de sorte que son comportement était orienté vers l’ambition, l’arrogance ou l’exhibitionnisme.

Article connexe: "Personnalité égocentrique: 15 caractéristiques"

C’est pourquoi Pablo Escobar, comme d’autres trafiquants de drogue, quand il a été capturé et qu'il a eu la possibilité de paraître sur les médias sociaux, il était serein et provocant et a fait une série de gestes qui ont indiqué à ses partisans qu'il était toujours au fond du canyon. Tel était le désir de notoriété de Pablo Escobar, qui a essayé de se présenter comme une figure du monde des affaires avec les politiciens, selon le journal "Hoy Digital".

En général, les résultats des différentes enquêtes menées sur le profil de personnalité des trafiquants de drogue montrent qu’ils présentent généralement une apparence affable, un ressentiment social, une déloyauté, un comportement agressif et violent, la manipulation, les grandes envies de pouvoir, en plus d'être vengeur et calculateur.

Toutes ces qualités sont celles que Pablo Escobar a montrées. En outre, l'article publié par l'Université Lopez Vallejo le qualifie d'antisocial. La cause de ce type de comportement était le résultat de facteurs à la fois exogènes et endogènes. Parmi les facteurs exogènes à l'origine de son modèle de personnalité figurent la pauvreté, l'éducation tronquée, le mode de vie en Colombie ou la guérilla. En tant que facteurs endogènes, ils soulignent leur dépendance aux drogues ou leur désir de richesse et de pouvoir .


QUI ETAIT VRAIMENT PABLO ESCOBAR #HiSF 16 #DOCUMENTAIRE (Mars 2020).


Articles Connexes