yes, therapy helps!
Bipolar disorder: 10 characteristics and curiosities that you did not know

Bipolar disorder: 10 characteristics and curiosities that you did not know

May 6, 2021

Bipolar disorder is one of the most well-known psychological disorders. However, the zero or little information to which some people have access causes that they really do not know what bipolar disorder is or have a wrong idea about its characteristics.

For example, there is a myth that bipolarity It has to do with showing multiple personalities over time, constantly changing tastes and hobbies or, in general, having a chaotic behavior. Of course, the concept of bipolar disorder has nothing to do with this very ambiguous conception of this mental alteration.

That's why, in today's article, we have proposed to elaborate a list of 10 characteristic points of this pathology that, in general, people do not know or confuse.


What is Bipolar Disorder?

Bipolar disorder, as has already been said, is one of the mental disorders most known to the population (if only by name), and is a pathology that affects how an individual feels, thinks and acts . Its characteristic feature are the exaggerated changes in the mood, because, generally, a person goes through a manic phase and a depressive one. These changes occur in a cyclical way, passing through stages of mania Y depression to the point of leaving the person partially incapacitated for certain things and / or with a seriously compromised quality of life.

And is that bipolar disorder is a serious disorder, which has nothing to do with simple emotional ups and downs, as usually heard. The cycles of this pathology can last days, weeks or months, and seriously damage the health, work and personal relationships of the person who suffers.


Bipolar disorder is a serious psychopathology

Due to its severity, this pathology can rarely be treated without medication, since it is necessary to stabilize the patient's mood. The treatment is usually characterized by the administration of Lithium , although other drugs can be used for treatment such as valproate , the carbamazepine wave olanzapine .

In the mania phase, the person is able to get into debt, leave their job, feel very energetic and sleep alone two hours a day . The same person, during the depressive phase, may feel so bad that he can not even get out of bed. There are several types of bipolar disorder that exist, and its milder form is called cyclothymia.

  • You can read more about cyclothymia if you visit our post: "Cyclothymia: the mild version of bipolar disorder"



10 characteristics that you do not know about Bipolar Disorder

That said, there are certain beliefs about this disorder that are not true and that, for you to better understand this pathology, you can find in the following list.

1. Bipolar disorder is not emotional instability

It is possible that sometimes, before a fight with your partner, I told you that "you are a bit bipolar" because you have suddenly changed your mood. Well, you should know that this behavior is quite common, especially in relationships. In these situations, emotions are close to the surface and, since no one is perfect, you can react impulsively.

It can also happen that you are in a period of your life when everything changes very quickly and you do not really know what you want. So it is important not to confuse emotional instability with bipolar disorder , because the latter is a really serious disorder that should be treated as soon as possible.

2. The disorder can be genetic ... or not

When a family member has bipolar disorder, there is more likely that another member of the family will also suffer . However, several studies carried out with identical twins have shown that if one of the two suffers bipolar disorder does not necessarily suffer the other also. Both men and women can suffer from this psychopathology, which is common to be diagnosed around the age of 20.

As almost always happens in cases of mental health disorders, not all causes are environmental, not all causes are genetic, and even if we focus on the genetic component of bipolarity, we can not find a single gene that is responsible for this phenomenon. There are several genes that, working together, increase or decrease the chances of having bipolar disorder. Perhaps, in the future, knowing these genetic elements allows us to offer more effective treatments.

3. Different substances can cause this disorder to develop

The previous point shows the importance of genetic factors as one of the causes of bipolar disorder. But environmental factors, such as the use of psychoactive and pharmacological substances can cause this disorder to develop . Between the use of drugs and drugs that can cause bipolar disorder are:

  • Drugs such as cocaine, ecstasy, amphetamines or marijuana
  • Medications for the treatment of thyroid and corticosteroids

4. People with bipolar disorder are more likely to suffer from other diseases

Problems with the thyroid, headaches, migraines, diabetes, heart problems and obesity are some of the negative consequences associated with bipolar disorder. Diseases that, in addition to the symptoms of mania and depression characteristic of this disorder, can increase the suffering of the patient.

However, it is not clear whether these health problems are the result of the same genetic variations that favor the appearance of bipolarity, or if they are a consequence of the lifestyle of the average person with bipolar disorder. It is very possible that it is due to a combination of both factors.

5. There are different variations of bipolar disorder

There are different types of bipolar disorder. They are the following:

  • Cyclothimia : The less severe version of this disorder. Its symptoms persist for at least two years, and it is characterized by mild phases of depression and hypomania.
  • Type I bipolar disorder : It is characterized by the presence of episodes of mania or mixed. It is not essential that the subject suffer depressive episodes, although approximately 90% of the cases the patient attends both phases.
  • Type II bipolar disorder : This type of bipolar disorder is defined by the existence of depressive episodes and hypomania (less severe).
  • Bipolar disorder not specified : Characterized because there are disorders with bipolar characteristics that do not meet the criteria for any type I or II bipolar disorder, such as: recurrent hypomanic episodes without intercurrent depressive symptoms or a manic or mixed episode superimposed on a delusional disorder, a residual schizophrenia or a psychotic disorder not specified.

There is also a subtype of Cycling bipolar disorder (or cycle) fast, in which people have four or more episodes of major depression, hypomania, mania or mixed states in a period of one year.

6. The states of mania and depression can occur simultaneously

The states of mania and depression can occur simultaneously, which is called "mixed episode" , so it is not necessary to appear separately to make the diagnosis. For example, a person may have episodes of tears and sadness during a manic phase.

7. A person with bipolar disorder can be happy

Bipolar disorder is a serious condition, and the person who suffers it can see their quality of life diminished as a result. But despite this, thanks to the correct treatment, it is possible to live a full and happy life . The administration of mood stabilizers and control of the lifestyle of the individual, can greatly help their general well-being.

8. Bipolar disorder is not dissociative identity disorder (or multiple personality disorder)

These two disorders can be confused by the element of "different personalities". But what characterizes the dissociative identity disorder of personality is that there are two or more identities or different personalities in the person who suffers from this pathology.

You can learn more about this disorder in our article: "Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder (TIDP)"

9. Bipolar disorder can get much worse if it is not treated

Sometimes it may be the individual himself who seeks help, but it may be difficult for him to carry out pharmacological treatment during the manic phase , because he usually feels full of energy. It is usually admitted to the patient when he is in the acute phase to have it under control. If the person with bipolar disorder is not treated, their symptoms will get worse.

10. Famous people who have suffered bipolar disorder

Famous people are not exempt from suffering this disorder. In fact, several celebrities have made public their bipolarity. For example, Catherine Zeta Jones , Demi lovato , Jim Carrey or Macy Gray .

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic criteria from DSM-IV-R. Washington, D.C., American Psychiatric Association.
  • Altshuler, L., L. Kiriakos, et al. (2001). The impact of antidepressant discontinuation versus antidepressant continuation on 1-year risk for relapse of bipolar depression: a retrospective chart review. J Clin Psychiatry 62 (8): 612-6.
  • Mondimore, F. M. (1999). Bipolar disorder: a guide for patients and families. Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University Press.
  • Torrey, E. F. and Knable, M. B. (2002). Surviving manic depression: a manual on bipolar disorder for patients, families, and providers. New York, Basic Books.

What’s It Like To Have Bipolar Disorder? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas

Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas

Mai 22, 2019

Le trouble bipolaire est l’un des troubles psychologiques les plus connus. Cependant, le zéro ou peu d'informations auxquelles certaines personnes ont accès font en sorte qu'elles ne savent pas vraiment ce qu'est le trouble bipolaire ou ont une idée fausse de ses caractéristiques.

Par exemple, il existe un mythe selon lequel bipolarité Il s'agit de montrer plusieurs personnalités au fil du temps, de changer constamment de goûts et de passe-temps ou, en général, d'avoir un comportement chaotique. Bien entendu, le concept de trouble bipolaire n’a rien à voir avec cette conception très ambiguë de cette altération mentale.

Voilà pourquoi, dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous avons proposé d'élaborer une liste de 10 points caractéristiques de cette pathologie que, en général, les gens ne savent pas ou confondent.


Quel est le désordre bipolaire?

Le trouble bipolaire, comme on l'a déjà dit, est l'un des troubles mentaux les plus connus de la population (ne serait-ce que par son nom), et est une pathologie qui affecte la façon dont un individu ressent, pense et agit . Ses caractéristiques sont les changements exagérés d'humeur, car généralement une personne traverse une phase maniaque et une phase dépressive. Ces changements se produisent de manière cyclique, en passant par les étapes de passe-temps et dépression au point de laisser la personne partiellement invalide pour certaines choses et / ou avec une qualité de vie sérieusement compromise.

Et est-ce que le trouble bipolaire est un trouble grave, qui n'a rien à voir avec de simples hauts et des bas émotionnels, comme on l'entend habituellement. Les cycles de cette pathologie peuvent durer des jours, des semaines ou des mois et nuire gravement à la santé, au travail et aux relations personnelles de la personne qui en souffre.


Le trouble bipolaire est une psychopathologie grave

En raison de sa gravité, cette pathologie peut rarement être traitée sans médicament, car il est nécessaire de stabiliser l'humeur du patient. Le traitement est généralement caractérisé par l'administration de Lithium , bien que d’autres médicaments puissent être utilisés pour le traitement, tels que valproate , le carbamazépine ou le olanzapine .

Dans la phase de manie, la personne peut s'endetter, quitter son travail, se sentir très énergique et dormir seule deux heures par jour . La même personne, pendant la phase dépressive, peut se sentir si mal qu’elle ne peut même pas sortir du lit. Il existe plusieurs types de trouble bipolaire, et sa forme plus modérée est appelée cyclothymie.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur la cyclothymie, consultez notre post: "La cyclothymie: version bénigne du trouble bipolaire"



10 caractéristiques que vous ne connaissez pas du trouble bipolaire

Cela dit, il existe certaines croyances sur ce trouble qui ne sont pas vraies et que, pour vous permettre de mieux comprendre cette pathologie, vous pouvez les trouver dans la liste suivante.

1. Le trouble bipolaire n'est pas une instabilité émotionnelle

Il est possible que, parfois, avant une bagarre avec votre partenaire, je vous dise "vous êtes un peu bipolaire" parce que vous avez soudainement changé d'humeur. Eh bien, sachez que ce comportement est assez courant, en particulier dans les relations. Dans ces situations, les émotions sont proches de la surface et, comme personne n’est parfait, vous pouvez réagir impulsivement.

Il se peut également que vous viviez une période de votre vie où tout change très vite et que vous ne savez pas vraiment ce que vous voulez. Alors il est important de ne pas confondre instabilité émotionnelle et trouble bipolaire , parce que ce dernier est un trouble très grave qui doit être traité le plus tôt possible.

2. Le trouble peut être génétique ... ou non

Quand un membre de la famille a un trouble bipolaire, il y a plus probable qu'un autre membre de la famille souffre également . Cependant, plusieurs études menées avec des jumeaux identiques ont montré que si l’un des deux souffrait de trouble bipolaire, il ne souffrait pas nécessairement de l’autre. Les hommes et les femmes peuvent souffrir de cette psychopathologie, qui est souvent diagnostiquée vers 20 ans.

Comme cela arrive presque toujours dans les cas de troubles mentaux, toutes les causes ne sont pas environnementales, toutes les causes ne sont pas génétiques, et même si nous nous concentrons sur la composante génétique de la bipolarité, nous ne pouvons pas trouver un seul gène qui soit responsable de ce phénomène. En travaillant ensemble, plusieurs gènes augmentent ou diminuent les risques d’avoir un trouble bipolaire. Peut-être qu’à l’avenir, connaître ces éléments génétiques nous permettra d’offrir des traitements plus efficaces.

3. Différentes substances peuvent provoquer ce trouble

Le point précédent montre l'importance des facteurs génétiques en tant qu'une des causes du trouble bipolaire. Mais des facteurs environnementaux, tels que l'utilisation de substances psychoactives et pharmacologiques peut provoquer le développement de ce trouble . Entre l'utilisation de médicaments et de médicaments pouvant causer un trouble bipolaire sont:

  • Drogues telles que la cocaïne, l'ecstasy, les amphétamines ou la marijuana
  • Médicaments pour le traitement de la thyroïde et des corticostéroïdes

4. Les personnes atteintes de trouble bipolaire sont plus susceptibles de souffrir d'autres maladies

Les problèmes de thyroïde, les maux de tête, les migraines, le diabète, les problèmes cardiaques et l'obésité font partie des conséquences négatives associées au trouble bipolaire. Les maladies qui, en plus des symptômes de manie et de dépression caractéristiques de ce trouble, peuvent augmenter la souffrance du patient.

Cependant, il n’est pas clair si ces problèmes de santé résultent des mêmes variations génétiques qui favorisent l’apparition de la bipolarité, ou s’ils résultent du mode de vie de la personne moyenne atteinte de trouble bipolaire. Il est très possible que cela soit dû à une combinaison des deux facteurs.

5. Il existe différentes variantes du trouble bipolaire

Il existe différents types de troubles bipolaires. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Cyclothimia : La version moins sévère de ce trouble. Ses symptômes persistent pendant au moins deux ans et se caractérisent par de légères phases de dépression et d'hypomanie.
  • Trouble bipolaire de type I : Il se caractérise par la présence d'épisodes de manie ou mixtes. Il n'est pas essentiel que le sujet présente des épisodes dépressifs, bien que dans environ 90% des cas, le patient assiste aux deux phases.
  • Trouble bipolaire de type II : Ce type de trouble bipolaire est défini par l’existence d’épisodes dépressifs et d’hypomanie (moins grave).
  • Trouble bipolaire non spécifié : Caractérisé par des troubles bipolaires ne répondant pas aux critères d'un trouble bipolaire de type I ou II, tels que: épisodes hypomaniaques récurrents sans symptômes dépressifs intercurrents, épisode maniaque ou mixte se superposant à un trouble délirant, une schizophrénie résiduelle ou un trouble psychotique non spécifié.

Il y a aussi un sous-type de Trouble bipolaire cyclique (ou cycle) rapide, dans lequel les gens ont au moins quatre épisodes de dépression majeure, hypomanie, manie ou états mixtes sur une période d'un an.

6. Les états de manie et de dépression peuvent se produire simultanément

Les états de manie et de dépression peuvent se produire simultanément, ce qui s'appelle un "épisode mixte" , il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’apparaître séparément pour poser le diagnostic. Par exemple, une personne peut avoir des épisodes de larmes et de tristesse au cours d'une phase maniaque.

7. Une personne atteinte de trouble bipolaire peut être heureuse

Le trouble bipolaire est une maladie grave et la personne qui en souffre peut voir sa qualité de vie se dégrader. Mais malgré cela, grâce au traitement correct, il est possible de vivre une vie pleine et heureuse . L'administration de stabilisateurs de l'humeur et le contrôle du mode de vie de l'individu peuvent grandement contribuer à son bien-être général.

8. Le trouble bipolaire n'est pas un trouble d'identité dissociatif (ou un trouble de la personnalité multiple)

Ces deux troubles peuvent être confondus par l'élément "personnalités différentes". Mais ce qui caractérise le trouble d'identité dissociatif de la personnalité est qu'il existe deux ou plusieurs identités ou personnalités différentes chez la personne qui souffre de cette pathologie.

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce trouble dans notre article: "Trouble de l'identité par dissociation de la personnalité (TIDP)"

9. Le trouble bipolaire peut s'aggraver considérablement s'il n'est pas traité

Parfois, ce peut être la personne elle-même qui cherche de l'aide, mais il peut être difficile pour lui de réaliser un traitement pharmacologique pendant la phase maniaque , parce qu’il se sent habituellement plein d’énergie. Il est généralement admis que le patient soit sous contrôle lorsqu’il est en phase aiguë. Si la personne atteinte de trouble bipolaire n'est pas traitée, ses symptômes s'aggraveront.

10. Personnes célèbres ayant souffert du trouble bipolaire

Les personnes célèbres ne sont pas exemptes de souffrir de ce trouble. En fait, plusieurs célébrités ont rendu publique leur bipolarité. Par exemple, Catherine Zeta Jones , Demi Lovato , Jim Carrey o Macy Gray .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2000). Critères de diagnostic du DSM-IV-R. Washington, D.C., American Psychiatric Association.
  • Altshuler, L., L. Kiriakos et al. (2001). L'impact de l'arrêt des antidépresseurs versus la poursuite des antidépresseurs sur le risque de rechute de dépression bipolaire sur un an: analyse rétrospective des dossiers. J Clin Psychiatry 62 (8): 612-6.
  • Mondimore, F.M. (1999). Trouble bipolaire: un guide pour les patients et leurs familles. Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University Press.
  • Torrey, E.F. et Knable, M.B. (2002). Survivre à la maniacodépression: manuel sur le trouble bipolaire destiné aux patients, aux familles et aux prestataires de services. New York, livres de base.

Jon Ronson: Can you spot a psychopath? - Couple Thinkers - EP 4 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes