yes, therapy helps!
Body Dysmorphic Disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment

Body Dysmorphic Disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 24, 2021

The Body Dysmorphic Disorder, formerly known as dysmorphophobia, is a disorder related to excessive worry about one's own body image.

People who suffer from this disorder feel great anxiety and irrational perception about their own body that ends up causing destructive effects in their lives, and that leads them to develop habits that are negative for their well-being, such as looking in the mirror in excess . These habits have a significant impact on how these people live their day to day and reduce their self-esteem.

How a person with Body Dysmorphic Disorder (TCD) feels

The image we have of ourselves is one of the factors that play a more important role in our level of well-being. Although it is not something tangible, this self-image linked to our self-esteem can not only make us feel better or worse with who we are , but also has an impact on the way we behave. If our self-esteem is very low, there will be a greater chance that we neglect our hygiene, avoid situations of social interaction with strangers and present depressive symptoms.


However, if this low self-esteem is expressed in the form of excessive concern in real or imaginary physical details that are perceived as imperfections or defects, what may be known as Body Dysmorphic Disorder may appear.

What is Body Dysmorphic Disorder?

People with BDD they suffer continuously because of their physical appearance and, although to a greater or lesser extent, almost everyone cares about the image they project and what others will think of them, they carry the obsession and concern for their appearance to pathological extremes. It is an obsession that leads us to constantly ask ourselves how we can eliminate certain physical imperfections of our body and, at the same time, make us fantasize about what our life would be like without that "ballast".


The concern for physical appearance has become normal considering the culture of the image in which we live immersed. But when that worry becomes too much of our life and leads to self-destructive behavior, then we are talking about a serious problem that must be addressed.

In summary, individuals with Body Dysmorphic Disorder usually think, feel or behave in the following way:

  • They have a negative perception of their body image
  • Feelings of shame, guilt or loneliness
  • They usually isolate themselves and avoid situations that can cause anxiety or discomfort
  • Depression or anxiety
  • They usually use drugs or other drugs
  • Self-injury
  • Suicidal thoughts

It usually happens that people with Body Dysmorphic Disorder do not look for help, because they are too worried about how people will judge them or if they will think they are very vain. So, many of these individuals do not receive treatment until they have been experiencing this pathology for a long time .


Michael Jackson, the most famous case of Body Dysmorphic Disorder

The TDC is encompassed within Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders, and, therefore, this type of patients develop anxious symptoms and compulsive routines . But of course, the characteristic of this disorder is the excessive fixation by the body image itself, which leads them to look bad in front of the mirror and magnify what they do not like about their body.

We all know the famous case of Michael Jackson , the artist known worldwide as King of Pop, who was at the top of the music world for more than three decades. No one can discuss his talent as a singer and dancer and his contribution to music, but his continued exposure to the media and his hard childhood marked his private life. "MJ" was transforming his body after several surgical interventions, and, although there are many speculations, rumors and information about what happened inside his mind, it is evident that he was never comfortable with his body.

Signs of Body Dysmorphic Disorder

Many wonder how someone who has been, is, and will be the inspiration of so many individuals suffered so much during their life. Obviously, few people will be exposed from small to fame and continued appearance in the media as Michael Jackson. But despite the fact that everyone experiences Body Dysmorphic Disorder in their own way, there are a series of signs that characterize this disorder .

Obsessions about one's body are so frequent that these people can spend several hours a day thinking negatively about their physical appearance. In addition, they usually concentrate on a specific area of ​​their body that causes them constant anxiety.

These people usually:

  • Obsessing with facial features: nose, eyes, hair, chin, skin, lips, ears ...
  • Obsessing with particular areas of the body, for example, breasts or genitals
  • Have a negative perception of some bodily characteristic and think that it is out of proportion
  • Have a perception of some bodily characteristic and think that it is asymmetric
  • Looking too thin or obese
  • Have feeding problems
  • Perform compulsive behaviors to avoid the anxiety of obsession: use makeup when you are in public, combing continuously, put on clothes that cover the body, go through the operating room constantly or take medication to lose weight or gain weight, etc.

What Causes Body Dysmorphic Disorder

It is difficult to determine exactly what causes this disorder. In spite of everything, l The investigations have concluded that there are different causes that cause an individual to end up suffering from this disorder.

The culture of the image

It is clear that the culture of the image and the influence of the media , which makes us objects rather than subjects, exerts a determining influence on how we perceive our own body. We are continually surrounded by magazines and advertisements that send us the message that they say that if we do not have the perfect body we are worthless. The best way to counteract this negative influence is education from an early age so that we value other things in life.

Bullying

People who suffer from BDD may have developed a negative perception of their own image as a result of having been harassed during adolescence (although also at younger or later ages), when the individual is more sensitive about their physical appearance. In addition, teasing schoolmates can cause this type of disorder.

Low self-esteem

Low self-esteem can be a consequence of the TDC but also a cause, which can make an individual look worse than it is. For example, think that you have too many kilos.

Fear of being alone

The fear of not having friends or a partner can cause an individual to develop thought patterns that lead him to suffer BDD. For example, if a person thinks that thanks to appearance they can have more friends and be more popular, the extra pressure to get it can lead to suffering TDC.

Perfectionism

The perfectionists they are very hard on themselves and they demand a lot . Your obsession with perfection may be centered on your physical appearance, which predisposes you to suffer BDD.

To learn more about perfectionism, you can read our article: "Perfectionist personality: the disadvantages of perfectionism"

Treatment of Body Dysmorphic Disorder

When a person suffers from this disorder, The first thing you should do is accept it and seek help . It is necessary for the person to talk with their relatives or close friends so they do not feel alone. The next step is to seek professional help. Surely the first person I contact is the family doctor.

The family doctor can make a first diagnosis, but it is necessary to contact a psychologist specialized in the subject, since it is necessary to reeducate the individual so that he acquires positive behavior patterns and realistic thought patterns.

The cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) It is usually the treatment par excellence in this type of disorder, although not all treatments work for everyone. The goal of the cognitive behavioral therapist is to identify the connections between the patient's thoughts, feelings and behavior, so that the patient can acquire practical skills to overcome this disorder. The therapy can be group or individual.

In the treatment of BDD, cognitive behavioral therapy will normally focus on the individual's attitude towards their own body and their physical appearance, with the aim of reduce the need to carry out negative behaviors and help the patient to feel less anxious about their own body image . Different cognitive behavioral techniques are often used: expository techniques, social skills and cognitive restructuring.


To deepen cognitive behavioral therapy, we invite you to read our article: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

Body Dysmorphic Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble dysmorphique du corps: causes, symptômes et traitement

Trouble dysmorphique du corps: causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 22, 2019

Le Désordre dysmorphique du corps, anciennement connu sous le nom dysmorphophobieest un trouble lié à une inquiétude excessive à l’égard de la propre image

Les personnes qui souffrent de ce trouble ressentent une grande anxiété et une perception irrationnelle de leur propre corps qui finit par avoir des effets destructeurs sur leur vie et les conduit à adopter des habitudes néfastes pour leur bien-être, telles que se regarder de manière excessive dans le miroir. . Ces habitudes ont un impact significatif sur la façon dont ces personnes vivent leur quotidien et réduisent leur estime de soi.

Ce que ressent une personne atteinte d'un trouble dysmorphique corporel (TCD)

L'image que nous avons de nous-mêmes est l'un des facteurs qui jouent un rôle plus important dans notre niveau de bien-être. Bien que ce ne soit pas quelque chose de tangible, cette image de soi liée à notre estime de soi peut non seulement nous faire sentir mieux ou pire avec qui nous sommes , mais a également un impact sur notre comportement. Si notre estime de soi est très faible, il y aura une plus grande chance que nous négligions notre hygiène, évitons les situations d'interaction sociale avec des inconnus et présentons des symptômes dépressifs.


Cependant, si cette faible estime de soi est exprimée sous la forme d'une préoccupation excessive dans des détails physiques réels ou imaginaires perçus comme des imperfections ou des défauts, ce que l'on pourrait appeler le trouble dysmorphique du corps peut apparaître.

Quel est le désordre dysmorphic de corps?

Personnes atteintes de BDD ils souffrent continuellement à cause de leur apparence physique et, bien que dans une plus ou moins grande mesure, presque tout le monde se soucie de l'image qu'ils projettent et de ce que les autres en penseront, ils portent l'obsession et le souci de leur apparence à des extrêmes pathologiques. C'est une obsession qui nous conduit à nous demander constamment comment nous pouvons éliminer certaines imperfections physiques de notre corps et, en même temps, nous faire fantasmer sur ce que serait notre vie sans ce "lest".


Le souci de l'apparence physique est devenu normal compte tenu de la culture de l'image dans laquelle nous vivons immergé. Mais lorsque cette inquiétude devient une part trop importante de notre vie et conduit à un comportement autodestructeur, nous parlons alors d’un problème grave qui doit être résolu.

En résumé, les personnes atteintes d'un trouble dysmorphique corporel pensent, ressentent ou se comportent généralement de la manière suivante:

  • Ils ont une perception négative de leur image corporelle
  • Sentiments de honte, de culpabilité ou de solitude
  • Ils s'isolent généralement et évitent les situations pouvant causer anxiété ou inconfort
  • Dépression ou anxiété
  • Ils utilisent habituellement des drogues ou d'autres drogues
  • Automutilation
  • Pensées suicidaires

Il arrive généralement que les personnes atteintes d'un trouble dysmorphique corporel ne cherchent pas d'aide, car elles se soucient trop de la façon dont les gens les jugeront ou pensent qu'elles seront très vaines. Pourtant, beaucoup de ces personnes ne reçoivent pas de traitement avant de faire l'expérience de cette pathologie depuis longtemps .


Michael Jackson, le cas le plus célèbre de désordre dysmorphique du corps

Le CDT est compris dans les troubles obsessionnels-compulsifs et, par conséquent, ce type de patients développe des symptômes anxieux et des routines compulsives . Mais bien sûr, la caractéristique de ce trouble est la fixation excessive par l'image du corps elle-même, ce qui les pousse à avoir mauvaise mine devant le miroir et à magnifier ce qu'ils n'aiment pas dans leur corps.

Nous connaissons tous le cas célèbre de Michael Jackson , l'artiste mondialement connu sous le nom de Roi de la pop, qui était au sommet du monde de la musique pendant plus de trois décennies. Personne ne peut parler de son talent de chanteur et de danseur et de sa contribution à la musique, mais son exposition continue aux médias et sa dure enfance ont marqué sa vie privée. "MJ" était en train de transformer son corps après plusieurs interventions chirurgicales et, bien qu'il y ait beaucoup de spéculations, de rumeurs et d'informations sur ce qui s'est passé dans son esprit, il est évident qu'il n'a jamais été à l'aise avec son corps.

Signes de désordre dysmorphique du corps

Beaucoup se demandent comment une personne qui a été, est et sera l'inspiration de tant d'individus a tant souffert durant sa vie. De toute évidence, peu de gens seront exposés à la célébrité et continueront à apparaître dans les médias sous le nom de Michael Jackson. Mais malgré le fait que tout le monde connaît le désordre dysmorphique du corps à sa manière, il y a une série de signes qui caractérisent ce trouble .

Les obsessions sur son corps sont si fréquentes que ces personnes peuvent passer plusieurs heures par jour à réfléchir négativement à leur apparence physique. En outre, ils se concentrent généralement sur une zone spécifique de leur corps qui leur cause une anxiété constante.

Ces personnes habituellement:

  • Obsédée par les traits du visage: nez, yeux, cheveux, menton, peau, lèvres, oreilles ...
  • Obsédé par des zones particulières du corps, par exemple les seins ou les organes génitaux
  • Avoir une perception négative d'une caractéristique physique et penser que c'est disproportionné
  • Avoir une perception de certaines caractéristiques corporelles et penser que c'est asymétrique
  • Avoir l'air trop mince ou obèse
  • Avoir des problèmes d'alimentation
  • Adoptez des comportements compulsifs pour éviter l'anxiété liée à l'obsession: utilisez le maquillage quand vous êtes en public, peignez continuellement, portez des vêtements qui couvrent le corps, passez en permanence dans la salle d'opération ou prenez des médicaments pour perdre du poids, gagner du poids, etc.

Quelles sont les causes du désordre dysmorphique du corps

Il est difficile de déterminer exactement ce qui cause ce trouble. Malgré tout, l Les enquêtes ont conclu qu'il existe différentes causes qui font qu'un individu finit par souffrir de ce trouble.

La culture de l'image

Il est évident que la culture de l'image et l'influence des médias , qui fait de nous des objets plutôt que des sujets, exerce une influence déterminante sur la façon dont nous percevons notre propre corps.Nous sommes continuellement entourés de magazines et de publicités qui nous envoient le message qu'ils disent que si nous n'avons pas le corps parfait, nous ne valons rien. Le meilleur moyen de contrer cette influence négative est l’éducation dès le plus jeune âge, de sorte que nous valorisons d’autres choses dans la vie.

L'intimidation

Les personnes souffrant de BDD peuvent avoir développé une perception négative de leur propre image après avoir été harcelées à l'adolescence (bien que ce soit aussi à un âge plus jeune ou plus tard), quand la personne est plus sensible à son apparence physique. De plus, taquiner mes camarades de classe peut causer ce type de trouble.

Faible estime de soi

Une faible estime de soi peut être une conséquence du TDC mais également une cause pouvant donner à un individu une apparence pire qu’elle ne l’est. Par exemple, pensez que vous avez trop de kilos.

Peur d'être seul

La peur de ne pas avoir d'amis ou de partenaire peut amener une personne à développer des schémas de pensée qui l'amènent à souffrir de BDD. Par exemple, si une personne pense que grâce à son apparence, elle peut avoir plus d'amis et être plus populaire, la pression supplémentaire pour l'obtenir peut conduire à la souffrance du TDC.

Perfectionnisme

Les perfectionnistes ils sont très durs avec eux-mêmes et ils exigent beaucoup . Votre obsession pour la perfection peut être centrée sur votre apparence physique, ce qui vous prédispose à souffrir de BDD.

Pour en savoir plus sur le perfectionnisme, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Personnalité perfectionniste: les inconvénients du perfectionnisme"

Traitement du désordre dysmorphique du corps

Quand une personne souffre de ce trouble, La première chose à faire est de l'accepter et de chercher de l'aide. . Il est nécessaire que la personne parle avec ses proches ou ses amis proches pour ne pas se sentir seule. La prochaine étape consiste à demander l'aide d'un professionnel. La première personne que je contacte est sûrement le médecin de famille.

Le médecin de famille peut poser un premier diagnostic, mais il est nécessaire de contacter un psychologue spécialisé dans le sujet, car il est nécessaire de rééduquer l'individu pour qu'il acquière des comportements positifs et des schémas de pensée réalistes.

Le thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC) C'est généralement le traitement par excellence dans ce type de trouble, même si tous les traitements ne fonctionnent pas pour tout le monde. L'objectif du thérapeute cognitivo-comportemental est d'identifier les liens entre les pensées, les sentiments et le comportement du patient, afin que celui-ci puisse acquérir des compétences pratiques pour surmonter ce trouble. La thérapie peut être de groupe ou individuelle.

Dans le traitement de la BDD, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale sera normalement axée sur l'attitude de l'individu à l'égard de son propre corps et de son apparence physique, dans le but de: réduire le besoin d'adopter des comportements négatifs et aider le patient à se sentir moins anxieux face à sa propre image corporelle . Différentes techniques cognitivo-comportementales sont souvent utilisées: techniques explicatives, compétences sociales et restructuration cognitive.


Pour approfondir la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, nous vous invitons à lire notre article: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes s'appuie-t-il?"

Le syndrome prémenstruel ou le cycle infernal - Allô Docteurs (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes