yes, therapy helps!
Brain tumor: types, classification and symptoms

Brain tumor: types, classification and symptoms

October 23, 2020

All that strange tissue that is born inside the cavity of the skull is called brain tumor, although these also sometimes appear in the meninges, the nerves and in the skull itself. For obvious reasons, they are one of the main health problems that affect the nervous system, given its potential severity.

In general, brain tumors are more recurrent during childhood , being some more common tumors to see at this stage of development, such as medulloblastomas. There are also those that occur mainly in adulthood, being the meningiomas and schwannoma distinctive of this stage.

Next we will review the main characteristics of this type of diseases, their symptoms and the types of brain tumors that are more frequent.


  • Related article: "Types of cancer: definition, risks and how they are classified"

Symptoms of the brain tumor

The symptoms are variable, depend largely on the size of the tumor present, where it is located, and even the speed it presents with respect to its growth.

The constant headache would be the symptom par excellence in this condition. Other detrimental effects would be the following: various cognitive or sensorimotor disorders, increased intracranial pressure that generates vomiting, diplopia (double vision), birth of elipethogenic foci, etc.

Types of brain tumors and classification

Brain tumors can be classified in the following ways:


1. Primary and secondary

The primaries arise within the encephalon or spinal cord, and rarely produce metastasis (extension of the tumor to another part of the body); although it is probable that, as a result of this initial tumor, new ones emerge within the nervous system itself.

The secondary ones are born outside the nervous system and what is known as brain metastasis is produced. That is, it can arise as a result of some breast, lung, gastrointestinal, etc. cancer. It should be noted that this type of tumor is malignant and inoperable.

2. Infiltrants and encapsulations

The infiltrators are distinguished by the fact that there is no limit that establishes where they start and where they end, and in the encapsulations if it is possible to better distinguish what place it occupies.

Therefore, the former tend to be more dangerous, since as they extend, they tend to deteriorate the area in which they are located.


3. Benign and evil

There is a scale with various degrees of hierarchy , which lets you know when they belong on one side and when on the other. Those that are grade I are the least harmful (although they are also of considerable danger when they are removed), and those that belong to IV are those with the worst prognosis.

As usual, tumors that belong to category I and II do not metastasize , and the survival of those who suffer them is usually several years; while those that are III and IV if they cause metastasis and survival does not go beyond a few / several months.

Cancer in the nervous system: examples

Here you can see a brief description of several types of tumors that appear in the nervous system.

Gliomas

It is the name given to any tumor that arises from a considerable spread of neuroglias . They are malignant.

It is usually caused by an increase in astrocytes (thus generating astrocytomas); in some cases of oligodendrocytes (producing oligodendrocytomas as an effect) and glioblastomas multiforme, also known as grade IV gliomas.

  • Related article: "Glial cells: much more than the glue of neurons"

Meningiomas

They are called tumors of non-glial origin that originate in the meninges, mainly in the subarachnoid space or in the dura mater. They are usually benign and have a good prognosis.

Medulloblastomas

In this way they are called malignant tumors that are most commonly born in the cerebellum of children due to the growth of germ cells that access the same or the lower part of the brainstem. It is of poor prognosis.

Schawnnomas

It is known in this way to the benign tumors that arise following the Schwann cells (whose main function is to produce the myelin that covers the axons in the Peripheral Nervous System). They can exist in both cranial and spinal nerves.

Bibliographic references:

  • Antonio, P. P. (2010). Introduction to neuropsychology. Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

Different Types of Brain Tumors (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Tumeur au cerveau: types, classification et symptômes

Tumeur au cerveau: types, classification et symptômes

Mai 11, 2021

Tout ce tissu étrange qui naît à l'intérieur de la cavité du crâne s'appelle une tumeur au cerveau, bien que ces tumeurs apparaissent parfois aussi dans les méninges, les nerfs et le crâne lui-même. Pour des raisons évidentes, ils constituent l’un des principaux problèmes de santé du système nerveux, compte tenu de sa gravité potentielle.

En général, les tumeurs cérébrales sont plus récurrentes pendant l'enfance , étant des tumeurs plus courantes à voir à ce stade de développement, telles que les médulloblastomes. Il y a aussi ceux qui se produisent principalement à l'âge adulte, étant les méningiomes et les schwannomes distinctifs de ce stade.

Nous passerons ensuite en revue les principales caractéristiques de ce type de maladies, leurs symptômes et les types de tumeurs cérébrales plus fréquents.


  • Article connexe: "Types de cancer: définition, risques et classification"

Symptômes de la tumeur cérébrale

Les symptômes sont variables et dépendent en grande partie de la taille de la tumeur présente, de son emplacement et même de la rapidité avec laquelle elle se développe.

Le mal de tête constant serait le symptôme par excellence dans cet état. Les autres effets néfastes seraient les suivants: divers troubles cognitifs ou sensorimoteurs, augmentation de la pression intracrânienne générant des vomissements, diplopie (vision double), naissance de foyers élipéthogéniques, etc.

Types de tumeurs cérébrales et classification

Les tumeurs cérébrales peuvent être classées comme suit:


1. primaire et secondaire

Les primaires apparaissent dans l'encéphale ou dans la moelle épinière et produisent rarement des métastases (extension de la tumeur à une autre partie du corps). bien qu'il soit probable que, à la suite de cette tumeur initiale, de nouvelles apparaissent à l'intérieur du système nerveux lui-même.

Les secondaires naissent en dehors du système nerveux et produisent ce que l'on appelle des métastases cérébrales. En d'autres termes, il peut résulter d'un cancer du sein, du poumon, de l'appareil gastro-intestinal, etc. Il est à noter que ce type de tumeur est maligne et inopérable.

2. Infiltrants et encapsulations

Les infiltrés se distinguent par le fait qu’il n’ya pas de limite qui établit où ils commencent et où ils finissent, et dans les encapsulations s’il est possible de mieux distinguer la place qu’il occupe.

Par conséquent, les premiers ont tendance à être plus dangereux car, lorsqu'ils s'étendent, ils ont tendance à détériorer la région dans laquelle ils se trouvent.


3. Bienveillance et mal

Il y a une échelle avec divers degrés de hiérarchie , qui vous permet de savoir quand ils appartiennent d’un côté et quand de l’autre. Ceux de grade I sont les moins nocifs (bien qu’ils présentent également un danger considérable lorsqu’ils sont supprimés), et ceux qui appartiennent à IV sont ceux dont le pronostic est le plus sombre.

Généralement les tumeurs appartenant aux catégories I et II ne métastasent pas et la survie de ceux qui en souffrent est généralement de plusieurs années; tandis que ceux qui sont III et IV s’ils causent des métastases et que la survie ne dépasse pas quelques mois.

Cancer dans le système nerveux: exemples

Vous pouvez voir ici une brève description de plusieurs types de tumeurs qui apparaissent dans le système nerveux.

Gliomes

C’est le nom donné à toute tumeur qui découle de une propagation considérable de neuroglias . Ils sont malins.

Il est généralement causé par une augmentation des astrocytes (générant ainsi des astrocytomes). dans certains cas d'oligodendrocytes (produisant des oligodendrocytomes comme effet) et de glioblastomes multiformes, également appelés gliomes de grade IV.

  • Article connexe: "Les cellules gliales: bien plus que la colle des neurones"

Méningiomes

Ce sont les tumeurs d'origine non gliale qui prennent naissance dans les méninges, principalement dans l'espace sous-arachnoïdien ou dans la dure-mère. Ils sont généralement bénins et ont un bon pronostic.

Médulloblastomes

De cette façon, on parle de tumeurs malignes qui naissent le plus souvent dans le cervelet des enfants en raison de la croissance de cellules germinales qui accèdent à la même partie ou à la partie inférieure du tronc cérébral. C'est de mauvais pronostic.

Schawnnomas

On sait de cette manière aux tumeurs bénignes qui se développent suite aux cellules de Schwann (dont la fonction principale est de produire la myéline qui recouvre les axones du système nerveux périphérique). Ils peuvent exister dans les nerfs crâniens et spinaux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Antonio, P. P. (2010). Introduction à la neuropsychologie. Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

Le cancer du poumon au Canada : stades, statistiques, types et symptômes (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes