yes, therapy helps!
Breaking Bad Syndrome: when a normal person becomes Heisenberg

Breaking Bad Syndrome: when a normal person becomes Heisenberg

March 14, 2023

Many violent acts are the result of the desire to "do good" as explained by two anthropologists in their provocative book called 'virtuous violence ' "Violent acts may seem unacceptable to the majority of society but they make sense and are necessary for those who put them into practice. These people feel they have to make someone pay for their evil, teach a lesson or instill obedience "Argue the authors.

The book has its origins in an investigation of the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) , headed by Alan Page Fiske and Tage Shakti Rai . Both investigators argue that the majority of criminals and people who commit acts of violence follow the same pattern of behavior as the protagonist of the famous television series "Breaking Bad" , and perform violent acts motivated by the desire to do good. That is to say, It is quite common to exercise violence against others for thinking that this defends a moral cause .


Breaking Bad Syndrome: the influence of personal beliefs and violence

In the television series in which they were inspired, the protagonist Walter White He becomes a drug trafficker after learning that he suffers from cancer. In his thinking, his duty as a father makes him enter the world of drug trafficking because he feels obliged to leave a good economic legacy to his family and obtain the money necessary to pay for his treatment.

"The moral of oneself is not only to be good, educated and peaceful, but also includes the feeling that, in some cases, there is an obligation to do something without taking into account the practical consequences," he explains in an interview to BBC World Alan Page Fiske, from UCLA's anthropology faculty.


The research data

According to the BBC article, the conclusions of Fiske and Rai are a consequence of the analysis of hundreds of studies on violence carried out in different parts of the world . These, in turn, were made up of thousands of interviews with criminals. After reviewing all the data they had, They found moral motivations even behind suicide, war and rape , although they admit that there are exceptions that confirm the rule. "Except some psychopaths, almost nobody harms another with the intention of being bad," explains Fiske. The researcher clarifies, "that their study does not justify those who commit violent acts, but rather explains the reasons why they carry them out."

In their book, Fiske and Rai set the example of people who mistreat their children or their partners. Although they are wrong from the point of view of society, they are convinced that they are doing the right thing. The perception that their victims must obey them is the result of their beliefs.


An example of the influence of beliefs on violent acts: the Nazis

Before becoming Chancellor of Germany, Adolf Hitler He was obsessed with ideas about race. In his speeches and writings, Hitler contaminated German society with his belief in the superiority of the "Aryan race".

  • And, in fact, it was during the Third Reich that some of the most atrocious animated "in the name of science" occurred. You can discover it by reading the article "Experiments with humans during Nazism".

When Hitler came to power, these beliefs became ideology of the government and they were disseminated on posters, on the radio, in movies, classrooms and newspapers. The Nazis began to implement their ideology with the support of German scientists who believed that the human race could be improved by limiting the reproduction of those people they considered inferior. The truth is that the events that occurred during the Nazi holocaust, They were produced by normal people who were not particularly bad citizens. Hitler, with his anti-Semitic campaign, made the German people believe that the superior races not only had the right but also had the obligation to exterminate the inferior races. For them, the struggle of races was consistent with the laws of nature.

This shows, therefore, that a large part of human violence is rooted in the beliefs . If the key to eradicating violent behavior is in changing beliefs, by changing them, we will also be changing the perception of what is right or wrong.


Film Theory: The Breaking Bad Ending's HIDDEN Truth (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Breaking Bad Syndrome: quand une personne normale devient Heisenberg

Breaking Bad Syndrome: quand une personne normale devient Heisenberg

Mai 11, 2021

De nombreux actes de violence résultent du désir de "faire le bien", comme l'expliquent deux anthropologues dans leur livre provocateur intitulé "violence vertueuse ' "Les actes violents peuvent sembler inacceptables à la majorité de la société, mais ils ont un sens et sont nécessaires pour ceux qui les mettent en pratique. Ces personnes ont le sentiment qu’elles doivent faire payer leur mal, donner une leçon ou inculquer l’obéissance "Discuter les auteurs.

Le livre a ses origines dans une enquête de la Université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA) , dirigé par Alan Page Fiske et Tage Shakti Rai . Les deux enquêteurs soutiennent que la majorité des criminels et des auteurs d'actes de violence suivent le même comportement que le protagoniste de la célèbre série télévisée. "Breaking Bad" et commettre des actes de violence motivés par le désir de faire le bien. C'est-à-dire, Il est assez courant d’exercer des violences à l’encontre des autres pour penser que cela défend une cause morale. .


Breaking Bad Syndrome: influence des croyances personnelles et de la violence

Dans la série télévisée dans laquelle ils ont été inspirés, le protagoniste Walter White Il devient un trafiquant de drogue après avoir appris qu'il souffrait d'un cancer. Dans son esprit, son devoir de père le fait entrer dans le monde du trafic de drogue car il se sent obligé de laisser un héritage économique satisfaisant à sa famille et d'obtenir l'argent nécessaire pour payer son traitement.

"La morale de soi-même n'est pas seulement d'être bon, instruit et pacifique, mais aussi le sentiment que, dans certains cas, il existe une obligation de faire quelque chose sans prendre en compte les conséquences pratiques", explique-t-il dans un entretien à BBC World Alan Page Fiske, de la faculté d'anthropologie de l'UCLA.


Les données de recherche

Selon l’article de la BBC, les conclusions de Fiske et de Rai sont une conséquence de la analyse de centaines d'études sur la violence menées dans différentes parties du monde . Celles-ci, à leur tour, ont été composées de milliers d'entretiens avec des criminels. Après avoir examiné toutes les données dont ils disposaient, Ils ont trouvé des motivations morales même derrière le suicide, la guerre et le viol , bien qu'ils admettent qu'il existe des exceptions qui confirment la règle. "Excepté certains psychopathes, presque personne n'en blesse un autre avec l'intention d'être mauvais", explique Fiske. Le chercheur précise, "que leur étude ne justifie pas ceux qui commettent des actes de violence, mais explique plutôt les raisons pour lesquelles ils les exécutent".

Dans leur livre, Fiske et Rai donnent l'exemple des personnes qui maltraitent leurs enfants ou leurs partenaires. Bien qu'ils se trompent du point de vue de la société, ils sont convaincus de faire ce qui est bien. La perception que leurs victimes doivent leur obéir est le résultat de leurs croyances.


Un exemple de l'influence des croyances sur les actes de violence: les nazis

Avant de devenir chancelier de l'Allemagne, Adolf Hitler Il était obsédé par les idées sur la race. Dans ses discours et ses écrits, Hitler a contaminé la société allemande avec sa conviction de la supériorité de la "race aryenne".

  • Et, en fait, c’est au cours du Troisième Reich que se sont produits certains des films les plus atroces animés "au nom de la science". Vous pouvez le découvrir en lisant l'article "Expériences avec des humains pendant le nazisme".

Quand Hitler est arrivé au pouvoir, ces croyances sont devenues idéologie du gouvernement et ils ont été diffusés sur des affiches, à la radio, dans des films, des salles de classe et des journaux. Les nazis ont commencé à mettre en œuvre leur idéologie avec le soutien de scientifiques allemands qui estimaient qu'il était possible d'améliorer la race humaine en limitant la reproduction des personnes qu'ils considéraient comme inférieures. La vérité est que les événements survenus au cours de la Holocauste nazi, Ils ont été produits par des gens normaux qui n'étaient pas des citoyens particulièrement mauvais. Hitler, avec sa campagne antisémite, a fait croire au peuple allemand que les races supérieures avaient non seulement le droit, mais également l'obligation d'exterminer les races inférieures. Pour eux, la lutte des races était conforme aux lois de la nature.

Cela montre donc qu'une grande partie de la violence humaine est enracinée dans le croyances . Si la solution pour éliminer les comportements violents réside dans le changement des croyances, nous changerons également la perception de ce qui est juste ou faux.


Fasting vs. Eating Less: What's the Difference? (Science of Fasting) (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes