yes, therapy helps!
Broken heart syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Broken heart syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

July 19, 2024

Loving relationships can become a roller coaster of emotions . The moments of euphoria can be followed shortly after bad seasons marked by the couple crisis.

That's why, sometimes, something that we might call "broken heart syndrome" appears . Of course, it is not a disease, but a set of symptoms that go hand in hand with a marked emotional pain that, on the other hand, is not so uncommon throughout life and is experienced by many people at a time or another.

Now, that the broken heart syndrome is not a disease does not mean that we should give up trying to mitigate its effects; It is perfectly legitimate to wish to be well and to save ourselves a good deal of suffering. For that, we should start with a definition.


What is broken heart syndrome?

The broken heart syndrome is the set of states and psychological processes by which expresses the discomfort generated by a love disappointment or a breakup of a couple.

It may appear, for example, in cases of unrequited love, after being aware of an infidelity, or discovering that the person for whom we felt something is not what we originally believed.

In short, the broken heart syndrome is composed of emotional and physiological elements (such as anxiety and stress), cognitive (such as recurring thoughts) and behavioral (such as the desire to physically reunite with that person or some nervous tics produced by the anxiety).


  • Related article: "Love and falling in love: 7 surprising investigations"

How to feel good after a disappointment

As always, at the time of intervening on the psychological problem there are more specific aspects that must be studied case by case and others that are more general. The former, in case the discomfort is very intense and persistent, it would be useful to address them with the help of psychotherapy, but in many other cases it is possible to focus on certain basic rules so that emotional pain diminishes more effectively through strategies that is responsible for implementing oneself.

Let's see some of the possible situations in which broken heart syndrome can appear

1. The unilateral rupture

In cases in which our partner has ended the relationship unilaterally, there are two things that produce discomfort: the fact of not enjoying the company of the couple in the usual way and, at the same time, the indecision about what you have to do


Regarding the latter, in the medium and long term the best thing for everyone is to assume as a fact that the relationship is over and that it is not up to us to reestablish the links of before. Believe that one can make the other person return and everything continues as it was in the best times not only is it unreasonable; is to have a possessive vision about the other person .

Therefore, in this scenario our efforts should focus on feeling good again with ourselves regardless of whether or not we have a relationship. This article may be useful for you:

2. Infidelity and cognitive dissonance

Both in cases in which the other person has committed an infidelity (understood as a transgression of the fundamental pacts on which the relationship has been built) and in which one facet of the other is discovered that we did not know and that we reject, the idea is similar: there is new information that does not fit our beliefs about what we thought it was in relation to .

This phenomenon of "lack of fit" between ideas is called cognitive dissonance, and can generate a lot of anxiety.

In these cases, it is necessary to reflect on the belief system on which our idea of ​​the relationship is based and to see if what we know now is irreconcilable with our feelings. For this, for example, we can explore alternative explanations about what happens, ones that serve to reach a conclusion opposite to the one we hold in the beginning .

Then, we judge which of the explanations is more reasonable and better describes the reality, in a simpler way and without leaving so many loose ends. That belief system, which may or may not be new, will be the most appropriate to integrate this new information and to act accordingly.

3. Unrequited love

Broken heart syndrome may also appear when there has not even been a real relationship .

In these cases it is important Focus on avoiding irrational and baseless beliefs minen our self-esteem, something that can happen because, losing sight of a possible future scenario that had excited us, we can perceive this as a personal loss, something that speaks to ourselves for "having failed".

We must examine what happened and the way in which our expectations were making us little by little start to live in an imaginary world in which the relationship has already begun to exist (long before it did in the real world ).

In the same way, we must ask ourselves why it should affect our self-esteem if a stable relationship is not built with that person in particular ; After all, many people live perfectly without even knowing it or knowing it by sight; Nobody is predestined to know a specific person and not the others.


DrRic Tutorial Broken Heart Syndrome (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome du cœur brisé: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome du cœur brisé: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 9, 2020

Les relations amoureuses peuvent devenir des montagnes russes d'émotions . Les moments d’euphorie peuvent être suivis peu de temps après les mauvaises saisons marquées par la crise de couple.

C'est pourquoi, parfois, quelque chose que nous pourrions appeler "syndrome du cœur brisé" apparaît . Bien sûr, il ne s’agit pas d’une maladie, mais d’un ensemble de symptômes qui vont de pair avec une douleur émotionnelle marquée, qui n’est pas si rare dans la vie et qui est vécue par de nombreuses personnes à la fois. ou un autre.

Maintenant, le fait que le syndrome du cœur brisé ne soit pas une maladie ne signifie pas que nous devrions cesser d’essayer d’atténuer ses effets; Il est parfaitement légitime de vouloir se sentir bien et d’éviter de nombreuses souffrances. Pour cela, nous devrions commencer par une définition.


Qu'est-ce que le syndrome du coeur brisé?

Le syndrome du cœur brisé est l'ensemble des états et des processus psychologiques par lesquels s'exprime le malaise généré par une déception amoureuse ou la rupture d'un couple.

Cela peut apparaître, par exemple, dans les cas d'amour non partagé, après avoir pris conscience d'une infidélité ou avoir découvert que la personne pour qui nous sentions quelque chose n'était pas ce que nous avions cru au départ.

En bref, le syndrome du cœur brisé est composé d’éléments émotionnels et physiologiques (anxiété et stress, par exemple), cognitifs (pensées récurrentes) et comportementaux (désir de se réunir physiquement avec cette personne, ou de tics nerveux produits par le patient). anxiété).


  • Article connexe: "L'amour et l'amour amoureux: 7 enquêtes surprenantes"

Comment se sentir bien après une déception

Comme toujours, au moment d’intervenir sur le problème psychologique, des aspects plus spécifiques doivent être étudiés au cas par cas et d’autres plus généraux. Dans le premier cas, si le malaise est très intense et persistant, il serait utile de les traiter avec l'aide de la psychothérapie, mais dans de nombreux autres cas, il est possible de se concentrer sur certaines règles de base afin que la douleur émotionnelle diminue plus efficacement grâce à des stratégies est responsable de sa mise en œuvre.

Voyons quelques-unes des situations possibles dans lesquelles le syndrome du coeur brisé peut apparaître

1. La rupture unilatérale

Dans les cas où notre partenaire a mis fin unilatéralement à la relation, deux choses produisent un malaise: le fait de ne pas profiter de la compagnie du couple de la manière habituelle et, en même temps, l'indécision concernant ce que tu dois faire


En ce qui concerne ce dernier aspect, le mieux pour tout le monde, à moyen et à long terme, est de supposer que la relation est terminée et qu'il ne nous appartient pas de rétablir les liens qui existaient auparavant. Croire que l’on peut faire revenir l’autre personne et que tout continue comme au bon moment non seulement c'est déraisonnable; est d'avoir une vision possessive de l'autre personne .

Par conséquent, dans ce scénario, nos efforts doivent viser à nous sentir mieux avec nous-mêmes, que nous ayons ou non une relation. Cet article peut vous être utile:

2. Infidélité et dissonance cognitive

Tant dans les cas où l’autre personne a commis une infidélité (entendue comme une transgression des pactes fondamentaux sur lesquels la relation s’est construite) et dans laquelle se découvre une facette de l’autre que nous ne connaissions pas et que nous rejetons, L'idée est similaire: il y a de nouvelles informations qui ne correspondent pas à nos convictions sur ce que nous pensions être par rapport à .

Ce phénomène de "manque d’ajustement" entre les idées est appelé dissonance cognitive et peut générer beaucoup d’anxiété.

Dans ces cas, il est nécessaire de réfléchir au système de croyance sur lequel repose notre conception de la relation et de voir si ce que nous savons maintenant est irréconciliable avec nos sentiments. Pour cela, par exemple, nous pouvons explorer d’autres explications sur ce qui se passe, ceux qui servent à parvenir à une conclusion opposée à celle que nous avons au début .

Ensuite, nous jugeons laquelle des explications est la plus raisonnable et décrit le mieux la réalité, de manière plus simple et sans laisser de petits bouts. Ce système de croyance, qu'il soit ou non nouveau, sera le plus approprié pour intégrer ces nouvelles informations et agir en conséquence.

3. amour non partagé

Le syndrome du coeur brisé peut également apparaître quand il n'y a même pas eu de vraie relation .

Dans ces cas, il est important Concentrez-vous sur les croyances irrationnelles et sans fondement Minen notre estime de soi, ce qui peut arriver parce que, en perdant de vue un scénario futur qui nous avait excités, nous pouvons percevoir cela comme une perte personnelle, quelque chose qui nous parle d’avoir «échoué».

Nous devons examiner ce qui s’est passé et la manière dont nos attentes nous ont fait commencer à vivre petit à petit dans un monde imaginaire où la relation a déjà commencé à exister ).

De la même manière, nous devons nous demander pourquoi cela devrait affecter notre estime de soi si une relation stable ne se construit pas avec cette personne en particulier ; Après tout, beaucoup de gens vivent parfaitement sans même le savoir ou le savoir de vue; Personne n'est prédestiné à connaître une personne spécifique et non les autres.


6 SIGNES QUE VOTRE CŒUR EST MALADE(2) (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes