yes, therapy helps!
Brown Sequard syndrome: causes, symptoms, and treatment

Brown Sequard syndrome: causes, symptoms, and treatment

October 4, 2022

The spinal cord is one of the most important components of our body that we have; since thanks to it our brain and the rest of our body are constantly communicated.

Now, what happens if it suffers some damage? One of the consequences of a spinal cord injury is Brown Sequard syndrome , which we will discuss throughout this article, as well as its symptoms, causes and possible treatments.

  • Related article: "The 15 most common nervous system diseases"

What is Brown Sequard syndrome?

Brown Sequard syndrome is a condition first described in 1849 by the physiologist and neurologist Edouard Brown-Sequard ; which is distinguished by presenting a series of very specific neurological symptoms caused by a spinal cord injury. Specifically, this lesion refers to a medullar hemisection that generally damages the lateral half.


As a consequence, the person suffering from Brown Sequard syndrome experiences muscle weakness, numbness and paralysis which may differ from one person to another and the loss of sensibility of different areas of the body.

These effects tend to occur in active motor function below the point of the spinal cord where the lesion is located. In addition, the area affected by the paralysis is also located on the same side where the spinal damage has occurred.

In order to better understand how this syndrome affects the person suffering from it, it is necessary to clarify first that the spinal cord is an essential component of the nervous system, which is responsible for collecting and transmitting sensory and motor information of the various areas of the body, as well as the main brain nuclei. For this, it uses the nerves that are born along it.


Therefore, if the person suffers a trauma, or experiences the development of a tumor mass in the marrow that causes this hemisection, it is possible that this syndrome of Brown Sequard will appear and bring consequences such as these sensory alterations and pathologies associated with frailty and muscle paralysis.

Prevalence

The incidence of Brown Sequard syndrome is quite low, hence, it is categorized as a rare disease . Worldwide there are only between 30 and 40 cases of this disorder for every million people. In addition, research suggests that it affects a greater number of women than men; being the most affected age group between 16 and 30 years. However, the average age of patients suffering from this syndrome is about 40 years.

What symptomatology does it present?

Although the symptomatology may differ from one patient to another depending on how high the spinal cord is, the symptoms will usually be concentrated in three different categories: muscle weakness and paralysis, sensory perception and proprioception.


1. Muscle weakness and paralysis

As a consequence of the medullar hemisection characteristic of Brown Sequard syndrome, the person tends to experience important alterations in motor activities at the ipsilateral level. That is, in one of the two halves of the body.

The main motor symptoms associated with this syndrome are:

  • Hemiparesis or reduced mobility of one half of the body.
  • Hemiplegia or absolute paralysis of a half body .
  • Bladder problems and loss of bladder control.
  • Intestinal problems.
  • Muscular atrophy and weakening.
  • Problems in the ability to walk.
  • Functional dependence

2. Propioception

Proprioception is the sense that is responsible for inform our body of the position of our muscles . That is, our position. Thanks to him we can be aware and manage our movements and automatic reactions.

When this feeling is affected, in this case by the Brown Sequard syndrome, the person experiences a diminution of this corporal capacity.

3. Sensory perception

The main effects of Brown Sequard syndrome on the capacity of sensory perception are specified in the following symptoms:

  • Hypoalgesia or loss of pain sensitivity contralateral to the affected area.
  • Hypoesthesia or decreased sensitivity .
  • Loss of sensitivity to changes in temperature.
  • Ipsilateral loss of sensitivity to vibratory stimuli.

What are the causes of this syndrome?

There are a lot of factors that can cause a spinal cord injury . However, the most common cause that triggers Brown Sequard syndrome is a traumatic injury to the spine or neck.

As a rule, these injuries are usually the result of fractures or dislocations due to a fall or blow or, even, by some type of weapon injury. However, there are other causes related to the hospital environment. These refer to setbacks in a surgery or for damage when removing the drainage catheter from the cerebrospinal fluid.

As for the causes or organic alterations that can cause this syndrome include:

  • Herniated discs.
  • Tumors
  • Transverse myelitis.
  • Multiple sclerosis.
  • Radiation .
  • Tuberculosis.
  • Epidural hematoma.
  • Consumption of drugs .
  • Hemorrhages
  • Syphilis.
  • Herpes simplex
  • Ischemia .
  • Ossification
  • Meningitis.

Treatment and prognosis

For the moment no specific treatment has been developed for Brown Sequard syndrome , so that medical and health personnel perform an individualized approach for each patient who suffers.

However, there are a number of general or common guidelines that consist of keeping the patient in a state of immobility to prevent further damage together with a series of surgical interventions and repairs.

On the other hand, the treatment also it is accompanied by the administration of a series of analgesic medications and corticosteroids to decrease the remaining symptoms of Brown Sequard.

Finally, these treatments are accompanied by a physiotherapeutic rehabilitation to support the tone and strength of the muscles, as well as an occupational rehabilitation that returns to the person the functional independence lost during the course of the disease.

As for the prognosis of Brown syndrome, this is usually favorable as long as treatment is started. As a rule More than 50% of patients tend to restore their motor capacity throughout the first year.


Brown-Séquard syndrome - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Brown Sequard: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Brown Sequard: causes, symptômes et traitement

Août 11, 2020

La moelle épinière est l'un des composants les plus importants de notre corps. puisque grâce à elle notre cerveau et le reste de notre corps sont constamment communiqués.

Maintenant, que se passe-t-il s'il subit des dommages? L'une des conséquences d'une lésion de la moelle épinière est le syndrome de Brown Sequard. , dont nous discuterons tout au long de cet article, ainsi que ses symptômes, ses causes et ses traitements possibles.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 maladies du système nerveux les plus courantes"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Brown Sequard?

Syndrome de Brown Sequard est une maladie décrite pour la première fois en 1849 par le physiologiste et neurologue Edouard Brown-Sequard ; qui se distingue en présentant une série de symptômes neurologiques très spécifiques causés par une lésion de la moelle épinière. Plus précisément, cette lésion est une hémisection médullaire qui endommage généralement la moitié latérale.


En conséquence, la personne souffrant du syndrome de Brown Sequard éprouve faiblesse musculaire, engourdissement et paralysie qui peut différer d'une personne à l'autre et la perte de sensibilité de différentes zones du corps.

Ces effets ont tendance à se produire dans la motricité active au-dessous du point de la moelle épinière où se trouve la lésion. En outre, la zone touchée par la paralysie se trouve également du même côté que le dommage à la colonne vertébrale.

Afin de mieux comprendre comment ce syndrome affecte la personne qui en souffre, il est nécessaire de préciser d’abord que la moelle épinière est une composante essentielle du système nerveux, responsable de la collecte et de la transmission des informations sensorielles et motrices des différentes zones du corps, ainsi que les principaux noyaux du cerveau. Pour cela, il utilise les nerfs qui lui sont nés.


Par conséquent, si la personne souffre d'un traumatisme ou de la constitution d'une masse tumorale dans la moelle osseuse qui cause cette hémisection, il est possible que ce syndrome de Brown Sequard apparaisse et entraîne des conséquences telles que ces altérations sensorielles et pathologies associées à la fragilité. et paralysie musculaire.

Prévalence

L’incidence du syndrome de Brown Sequard est assez faible, par conséquent, il est classé comme une maladie rare . Il n'y a dans le monde que 30 à 40 cas de ce trouble pour chaque million de personnes. En outre, les recherches suggèrent que cela touche un plus grand nombre de femmes que d'hommes. étant le groupe d'âge le plus touché entre 16 et 30 ans. Cependant, l'âge moyen des patients atteints de ce syndrome est d'environ 40 ans.

Quelle symptomatologie présente-t-il?

Malgré que la symptomatologie peut différer d'un patient à l'autre En fonction de la hauteur de la moelle épinière, les symptômes se concentrent généralement en trois catégories: faiblesse et paralysie musculaires, perception sensorielle et proprioception.


1. Faiblesse musculaire et paralysie

En raison de l'hémisection médullaire caractéristique du syndrome de Brown Sequard, la personne a tendance à subir d'importantes altérations des activités motrices au niveau ipsilatéral. C'est-à-dire dans l'une des deux moitiés du corps.

Les principaux symptômes moteurs associés à ce syndrome sont:

  • Hémiparésie ou mobilité réduite de la moitié du corps.
  • Hémiplégie ou paralysie absolue d'un demi-corps .
  • Problèmes de vessie et perte de contrôle de la vessie.
  • Problèmes intestinaux
  • Atrophie musculaire et affaiblissement.
  • Problèmes dans la capacité de marcher.
  • Dépendance fonctionnelle

2. Propioception

La proprioception est le sens qui est responsable de informer notre corps de la position de nos muscles . C’est notre position. Grâce à lui, nous pouvons être conscients et gérer nos mouvements et nos réactions automatiques.

Lorsque ce sentiment est affecté, dans ce cas par le syndrome de Brown Sequard, la personne subit une diminution de cette capacité corporelle.

3. Perception sensorielle

Les principaux effets du syndrome de Brown Sequard sur la capacité de perception sensorielle sont spécifiés dans les symptômes suivants:

  • Hypoalgésie ou perte de sensibilité douloureuse controlatérale à la zone touchée.
  • Hypoesthésie ou sensibilité diminuée .
  • Perte de sensibilité aux changements de température.
  • Perte de sensibilité ipsilatérale aux stimuli vibratoires.

Quelles sont les causes de ce syndrome?

Il y a beaucoup de facteurs qui peuvent causer une lésion de la moelle épinière . Cependant, la cause la plus fréquente du syndrome de Brown Sequard est une blessure traumatique à la colonne vertébrale ou au cou.

En règle générale, ces blessures résultent généralement de fractures ou de luxations dues à une chute ou à un coup, voire à une blessure par arme. Cependant, il existe d'autres causes liées à l'environnement hospitalier. Ceux-ci se réfèrent à revers en chirurgie ou pour des dommages lors du retrait du cathéter de drainage du liquide céphalo-rachidien.

Parmi les causes ou altérations organiques pouvant causer ce syndrome, on peut citer:

  • Hernie discale
  • Tumeurs
  • Myélite transverse
  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Rayonnement .
  • La tuberculose
  • Hématome épidural.
  • Consommation de drogue .
  • Hémorragies
  • La syphilis
  • L'herpès simplex
  • L'ischémie .
  • Ossification
  • La méningite

Traitement et pronostic

Pour le moment aucun traitement spécifique n'a été développé pour le syndrome de Brown Sequard , afin que le personnel médical et de santé effectue une approche individualisée pour chaque patient qui en souffre.

Cependant, il existe un certain nombre de directives générales ou communes qui consistent à maintenir le patient dans un état d'immobilité lui permettant d'éviter d'autres dommages, ainsi qu'à procéder à une série d'interventions chirurgicales et de réparations.

D'autre part, le traitement aussi il est accompagné par l'administration d'une série de médicaments analgésiques et les corticostéroïdes pour réduire les symptômes restants de Brown Sequard.

Enfin, ces traitements sont accompagnés d'une rééducation physiothérapeutique pour soutenir le tonus et la force des muscles, ainsi que d'une rééducation professionnelle qui restitue à la personne son indépendance fonctionnelle perdue au cours de l'évolution de la maladie.

Quant au pronostic du syndrome de Brown, il est généralement favorable tant que le traitement est commencé. Généralement, comme règle générale Plus de 50% des patients ont tendance à retrouver leur motricité tout au long de la première année.


Syndrome de Brown Sequard ( Sémiologie topographique des syndromes médullaires) (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes