yes, therapy helps!
Bullying for homophobia: its harmful effects on society and education

Bullying for homophobia: its harmful effects on society and education

June 12, 2024

Relationships between classmates, which at first is (according to adolescents) one of the most rewarding aspects of the school context and one of the main sources of emotional and social support, can end up being a very harmful and painful element for young people.

In the scientific literature led by Olweus, it can be seen that victims of bullying usually have a series of individual risk factors that differentiate them from aggressors (eg, gender, school year, ethnicity, religious preferences, socioeconomic status, deficient social skills, "superior" social skills, reduced academic achievement, etc.).

Unfortunately, one of the elements that triggers the attention of the aggressors is usually sexual orientation (or the doubts about it) of the victimized adolescents, to what we will call "bullying for homophobia".


  • Related article: "The 5 types of bullying or bullying"

What is bullying for homophobia?

We will define bullying for homophobia as any kind of physical, social, or verbal abuse directed and directed with the intention of generating discomfort in the victim due to his sexual orientation . There is an imbalance of power between the aggressor and the victim, and the abuse is usually prolonged over time.

It is considered that the responsibility for this phenomenon lies not only with the aggressor, but with the educational institutions and with society as a whole, due to the dominant social values ​​in relation to sexuality in general. That is, even today, our society interprets heterosexuality in terms of "normality", while Homosexuality (and bisexuality) is interpreted as "abnormal, weird, strange, eccentric " In this way, all those manifestations different from the heterosexual are branded as deviant and abnormal.


We would be naive if we believed that this prevailing thought in society is not absorbed by children and adolescents, who reproduce these social standards in their particular environment: schools and institutes. Everything that is considered "out of the ordinary" or "common" within the school context, is often the object of ridicule or mockery, and as we have explained previously, sexual orientation is one of the reasons that "trigger" aggressions towards the victims.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The KiVa method, an idea that is ending bullying"

Consequences of this type of aggressions

LGBT people and / or those who doubt about their affective-sexual orientation configure a population susceptible to suffer more mental health problems than the rest. Why? Very simple: this population he tends to suffer a higher level of stress throughout most of his life .


Think about the things you have to face: integrate and accept your affective-sexual orientation, talk with your family and friends, fear of rejection and non-acceptance, handle homophobic situations, endure the associated social stigma ... Let's say it's a particular stress that heterosexual people do not necessarily have to suffer.

As we all know, childhood and adolescence are the times in which our personality is shaped and in which we are most vulnerable , and it is a really difficult stage to go through.

Now imagine what you should face, more to the point, a young homosexual or bisexual. In case it was not enough with the hormonal changes / discover their identity / try to fit in the peer group / perform in the institute / deal with physical changes, etc., now imagine the stress you must feel when thinking about the possible rejection or non-acceptance on the part of the people you love most: your family and your friends.


And if there is also a situation of bullying for homophobia (with the consequent loss of social support among their peers), the "perfect" ingredients are being introduced to generate a breeding ground that will cause psychological problems that will last over time, such as construction of low self-esteem, feelings of shame towards oneself, depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, isolation, self-injury, etc. In one study (Rivers, 2004) it was stated that victims of bullying for homophobia were more likely to suffer depression in comparison to the victims of heterosexual bullying.

Several studies have shown that (eg, Bontempo and D'Augelli, 2002) levels of victimization were higher in LGBT students or that they had doubts about their affective-sexual orientation.Within the type of victimization, in general they tend to be more victimized verbally (insults, nicknames, derogatory comments ...).


  • Maybe you're interested: "Bullying: analyzing bullying through mimetic theory"

Intervention in this problem

Although it is surely a long process that needs the passage of several generations, it is necessary to educate society to eliminate the dichotomy of "normal = heterosexual", "abnormal = gay, lesbian, bisexual, transsexual or transgender".

More specifically, schools should provide quality and inclusive sexual education, which addresses issues such as homosexuality and transsexuality (and does not only address sexually transmitted diseases or pregnancy), empathy exercises for victims, social skills to stop the harassment ...


The main objective is modify negative attitudes towards minority groups such as the LGTB , and adopt a more inclusive vision with values ​​such as acceptance, egalitarianism, freedom and empathy towards equals. If in the schools / institutes this issue is not addressed naturally, leaving aside the "taboo" issues, it is contributing to the LGBT population being seen as something strange, and to continue perpetuating discrimination.


After all, the school is a very powerful educational element in society, and is considered one of the main agents of socialization along with the family, therefore it should encourage tolerant thinking in our young people, promoting the birth of positive values ​​towards different forms of sexual expression and gender diversity.



Addressing homophobia in and through schools: Promising examples from Thailand (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'intimidation pour homophobie: ses effets néfastes sur la société et l'éducation

L'intimidation pour homophobie: ses effets néfastes sur la société et l'éducation

Janvier 26, 2023

Les relations entre camarades de classe, qui constituent d’abord (selon les adolescents) l’un des aspects les plus enrichissants du contexte scolaire et l’une des principales sources de soutien affectif et social, peuvent devenir un élément très préjudiciable et douloureux pour les jeunes.

Dans la littérature scientifique dirigée par Olweus, on peut voir que les victimes d'intimidation ont généralement une série de facteurs de risque individuels qui les différencient des agresseurs (par exemple, sexe, année scolaire, ethnie, préférences religieuses, statut socio-économique, compétences sociales déficientes, compétences sociales "supérieures", réduction des résultats scolaires, etc.).

Malheureusement l'un des éléments qui retient l'attention des agresseurs est généralement l'orientation sexuelle (ou les doutes à ce sujet) des adolescents victimes, à ce que nous appellerons "l'intimidation pour homophobie".


  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types d'intimidation ou d'intimidation"

Qu'est-ce que l'intimidation pour homophobie?

Nous définirons l’intimidation pour homophobie comme tout type de violence physique, sociale ou verbale dirigée et dirigée dans l'intention de générer un malaise chez la victime en raison de son orientation sexuelle . Il existe un déséquilibre de pouvoir entre l'agresseur et la victime, et les abus se prolongent généralement dans le temps.

On considère que la responsabilité de ce phénomène incombe non seulement à l'agresseur, mais également aux établissements d'enseignement et à la société dans son ensemble, en raison des valeurs sociales dominantes en relation avec la sexualité en général. C’est-à-dire que, même aujourd’hui, notre société interprète l’hétérosexualité en termes de «normalité», alors que L’homosexualité (et la bisexualité) est interprétée comme "anormale, étrange, étrange, excentrique " De cette façon, toutes ces manifestations différentes de celles des hétérosexuels sont qualifiées de déviantes et anormales.


Nous serions naïfs si nous pensions que cette pensée dominante de la société n’est pas absorbée par les enfants et les adolescents, qui reproduisent ces normes sociales dans leur environnement particulier: les écoles et les instituts. Tout ce qui est considéré comme "hors de l'ordinaire" ou "commun" dans le contexte scolaire fait souvent l'objet de ridicule ou de moquerie et, comme nous l'avons expliqué précédemment, l'orientation sexuelle est l'une des raisons qui "déclenchent" des agressions envers les victimes.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La méthode KiVa, une idée qui met fin à l'intimidation"

Conséquences de ce type d'agressions

Les personnes LGBT et / ou celles qui doutent de leur orientation affective-sexuelle constituent une population susceptible de souffrir de problèmes de santé mentale plus nombreux que les autres. Parce que? Très simple: cette population il a tendance à souffrir d'un niveau de stress plus élevé tout au long de sa vie .


Réfléchissez aux problèmes auxquels vous devez faire face: intégrez et acceptez votre orientation affective-sexuelle, parlez avec votre famille et vos amis, la peur du rejet et de la non-acceptation, gérez les situations homophobes, supportez la stigmatisation sociale associée ... Disons que c'est un stress particulier que les personnes hétérosexuelles ne doivent pas nécessairement souffrir.

Comme nous le savons tous, l'enfance et l'adolescence sont les moments où notre personnalité est façonnée et où nous sommes le plus vulnérables , et c’est une étape vraiment difficile à franchir.

Maintenant, imaginez ce à quoi vous devriez faire face, plus précisément, un jeune homosexuel ou bisexuel. Au cas où cela ne suffisait pas avec les changements hormonaux / découvrir leur identité / essayer de s'intégrer au groupe de pairs / performer à l'institut / faire face à des changements physiques, etc., imaginez maintenant le stress que vous devez ressentir en pensant au rejet possible ou à la non-acceptation de la part des personnes que vous aimez le plus: votre famille et vos amis.


Et s'il y a aussi une situation d'intimidation pour homophobie (avec la perte de soutien social qui en résulte entre leurs pairs), les ingrédients "parfaits" sont introduits pour générer un terrain fertile qui provoquera des problèmes psychologiques qui perdureront dans le temps, tels que la construction manque d'estime de soi, sentiment de honte envers soi-même, dépression, anxiété, syndrome de stress post-traumatique, isolement, automutilation, etc. Dans une étude (Rivers, 2004), il a été déclaré que les victimes d'intimidation pour homophobie étaient plus susceptibles de souffrir de dépression en comparaison avec les victimes de l'intimidation hétérosexuelle.

Plusieurs études ont montré (par exemple, Bontempo et D'Augelli, 2002) que les niveaux de victimisation étaient plus élevés chez les étudiants LGBT ou qu'ils doutaient de leur orientation sexuelle affective.Dans le type de victimisation, ils ont généralement tendance à être plus victimisés verbalement (insultes, surnoms, commentaires désobligeants, etc.).


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "L'intimidation: analyser l'intimidation à l'aide de la théorie mimétique"

Intervention dans ce problème

Bien que ce soit sûrement un long processus qui nécessite le passage de plusieurs générations, il faut éduquer la société éliminer la dichotomie "normal = hétérosexuel", "anormal = gay, lesbienne, bisexuel, transgenre ou transgenre".

Plus spécifiquement, les écoles devraient dispenser une éducation sexuelle inclusive et de qualité, abordant des questions telles que l'homosexualité et la transsexualité (et non seulement les maladies sexuellement transmissibles ou la grossesse), des exercices d'empathie pour les victimes, compétences sociales pour mettre fin au harcèlement ...


L'objectif principal est modifier les attitudes négatives envers les groupes minoritaires tels que les LGTB et adopter une vision plus inclusive avec des valeurs telles que l'acceptation, l'égalitarisme, la liberté et l'empathie envers les égaux. Si, dans les écoles / instituts, cette question n’est pas abordée naturellement, abstraction faite des questions "tabou", cela contribue à ce que la population LGBT soit perçue comme quelque chose d’étrange et à perpétuer la discrimination.


Après tout, l’école est un élément éducatif très puissant de la société. Elle est considérée comme l’un des principaux agents de socialisation aux côtés de la famille. Elle doit donc encourager la pensée tolérante chez nos jeunes, en favorisant la naissance de jeunes enfants. valeurs positives vis-à-vis des différentes formes d'expression sexuelle et de la diversité des genres.



The price of shame | Monica Lewinsky (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes