yes, therapy helps!
Burnout (Burning Syndrome): how to detect it and take measures

Burnout (Burning Syndrome): how to detect it and take measures

July 31, 2022

The Burnout syndrome (burned, melted) is a type of work stress, a state of physical, emotional or mental exhaustion that has consequences on self-esteem , and is characterized by a gradual process, by which people lose interest in their tasks, the sense of responsibility and may even reach deep depressions.

Burnout syndrome: burned at work

This syndrome was first described in 1969 when the strange behavior of some police officers at that time was observed: agents of the authority who showed a specific symptom picture.

In 1974 Freudenberger made the syndrome more popular, and later, in 1986, the American psychologists C. Maslach and S. Jackson defined it as "a syndrome of emotional fatigue, depersonalization, and a lower personal fulfillment that occurs in those individuals who work in contact with customers and users. "


What is Burnout Syndrome and how does it manifest?

The syndrome would be the extreme response to chronic stress originated in the work context and would have repercussions of an individual nature, but it would also affect organizational and social aspects. Since the eighties, researchers have not ceased to be interested in this phenomenon, but it is not until the late nineties, when there is some consensus on its causes and consequences.

One of the general explanatory models is that of Gil-Monte and Peiró (1997), but others such as those of Manassero et al (2003), Ramos (1999), Matteson and Ivansevich (1997), Peiró et al (1994) or Leiter (1988), are born to respond to the strategies and intervention techniques necessary to prevent and minimize the effects of a problem that is increasing especially since the beginning of the crisis (Gili, McKee, and Stuckler, 2013).


Cultural differences in Burnout Syndrome

Even so, and counting on the advances developed by research in specific fields, there are still various interpretations about the most appropriate type of intervention when it comes to correcting it: either individual type, accentuating psychological action, or social or organizational type , influencing working conditions (Gil-Monte, 2009). Possibly, these discrepancies have their origin in the cultural influence.

The studies of Maslach, Schaufeli and Leiter (2001), found that there are certain qualitative differences in the American and European profile, since the latter show lower levels of exhaustion and cynicism . Regardless of the continent in which you live, there are certain aspects that you must know in order to act on time and to prevent or correct it. In this article you will find some clues about this phenomenon. What you learn can help you deal with the problem and take action before it affects your health.


People at risk of suffering

You may be more likely to experience Burnout if you meet several of the following characteristics (in the form of signs or symptoms):

  • He identifies so strongly with work that he lacks a reasonable balance between his work life and his personal life.
  • Try to be everything for everyone, take on tasks and functions that do not correspond to their position.
  • He works in jobs related to work activities that link the worker and his services directly with clients. This does not mean that it can not be presented in other types of work, but in general doctors, nurses, consultants, social workers, teachers, door-to-door salesmen, interviewers, collection officers and many other trades and professions have a higher risk of developing the condition. .
  • Feel that you have little or no control over your work.
  • His work is especially monotonous and does not have frights.

Can I be experiencing Burnout at work?

Ask yourself the following questions to know if you are in danger of suffering Burnout:

  • Have you become cynical or critical at work?
  • Do you crawl to go to work and usually have problems to start once you have arrived?
  • Have you become irritable or impatient with co-workers or clients?
  • Do you lack the energy to be consistently productive?
  • Do you lack satisfaction in your achievements?
  • Do you feel disillusioned with your work?
  • Are you consuming excessive food, drugs or alcohol to feel better?
  • Have your sleep or appetite habits changed because of your job?
  • Are you worried about unexplained headaches, backaches or other physical problems?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, you may be experiencing Burnout . Be sure to check with your doctor or a mental health professional, however, some of these symptoms may also indicate certain health conditions, such as a thyroid disorder or depression.

Main symptoms

  • Emotional exhaustion: a professional burnout that leads the person to a psychic and physiological exhaustion. There is a loss of energy, physical and mental fatigue. The emotional exhaustion is produced by having to perform some work functions daily and permanently with people who have to be served as work objects.
  • Depersonalization: it manifests itself in negative attitudes in relation to users / clients, there is an increase in irritability, and loss of motivation. Due to the hardening of relationships, it can lead to dehumanization in the treatment.
  • Lack of personal fulfillment: decrease in personal self-esteem, frustration of expectations and stress manifestations at a physiological, cognitive and behavioral level.

Causes

The exhaustion of the work present in the Burnout Syndrome It can be the result of several factors and can occur normally when there are conditions both at the level of the person (regarding their tolerance to stress and frustration, etc.) and organizational (deficiencies in the definition of the position, work environment, leadership style of superiors, among others) .

The most common causes are the following.

1. The lack of control

An inability to influence decisions that affect your work: such as your schedule, missions, or workload that could lead to job exhaustion.

2. Unclear job expectations

If you are not sure about the degree of authority you have or your supervisor or others expect from you, you are not likely to feel comfortable at work.

3. The dysfunctional work dynamics

Maybe you work with a conflicted person in the office, you feel belittled by your colleagues or your boss does not pay enough attention to your work.

4. Differences in values

If the values ​​differ from the way your employer does business or deal with complaints, the lack of correspondence can take its toll.

5. Bad adjustment of employment

If your work does not fit your interests and abilities, it can become increasingly stressful over time.

6. The extremes of activity

When a job is always monotonous or chaotic, it needs constant energy to stay focused, which can contribute to higher levels of fatigue and work exhaustion.

7. Lack of social support

If you feel isolated at work and in your personal life, you may feel more stressed.

8. Imbalance between work, family and social life

If your work takes up a lot of your time and effort and you do not have enough time to spend with your family and friends, you can burn out quickly.

Psychological and health effects

Ignoring or not treating Burnout can have significant consequences, including:

  • Excessive stress
  • Fatigue
  • Insomnia
  • A negative overflow in personal relationships or life at home
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Alcohol or substance abuse
  • Cardiovascular deterioration
  • High cholesterol
  • Diabetes, especially in women
  • Cerebral stroke
  • Obesity
  • Vulnerability to diseases
  • Ulcers
  • Weightloss
  • Muscle pains
  • Migraines
  • Gastrointestinal disorders
  • Allergies
  • Asthma
  • Problems with menstrual cycles

Remember, if you think you may be experiencing Burnout, do not ignore its symptoms. Check with your doctor or a mental health professional to identify or rule out the existence of underlying health conditions.

Therapy, treatment and advice

If you are worried about Burnout at work, you should take action. To start:

  • Manage stressors that contribute to the exhaustion of work. Once you have identified what is feeding your Burnout symptoms, you can make a plan to solve the problems.
  • Evaluate your options . Discuss specific concerns with your supervisor. Maybe they can work together to change expectations or reach compromises or solutions.
  • Adjust your attitude . If you have become cynical at work, consider ways to improve your perspective. Rediscover the pleasant aspects of your position. Establish positive relationships with colleagues to achieve better results. Take short breaks throughout the day. Spend time outside the office and do the things you like.
  • Seek support . Whether it comes to coworkers, friends, loved ones or other people, support and collaboration can help cope with work-related stress and feelings of exhaustion. If you have access to an employee assistance program, take advantage of the services available.
  • Evaluate your interests, abilities and passions . An honest assessment can help you decide if you should consider an alternative job, such as one that is less demanding or that best fits your interests or core values.
  • Do some exercise . Regular physical activity such as walking or biking can help you cope better with stress. It can also help you to disconnect outside of work and dedicate yourself to something else.

In summary, it is advisable to keep an open mind while considering the options, and if you think you are suffering from this syndrome, try to solve it as soon as possible.

It is also important not to make the problem something more serious by confusing the Burnout Syndrome with a disease: neither is it, nor do its triggers have to be found in one's own body to be clear about this, it is good to read this article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease. "

Bibliographic references:

  • Martín, Ramos Campos and Contador Castillo (2006) "Resilience and the Burnout-Engagement model in formal caregivers of the elderly", Psicothema, vol.18, nº4, pp. 791-796.
  • Maslach and Leiter (1997) The truth about burnout. San Francisco, CA: Jossey Bass.
  • Maslach, Schaufeli and Leiter (2001) Job Burnout. Annual Review of Psychology, 52, 397.422.
  • Matteson and Ivancevich (1987) Controlling Work Stress: Effective resource and Management Strategies. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Occupational Burnout: When Work Becomes Overwhelming (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Burnout (syndrome de brûlure): comment le détecter et prendre des mesures

Burnout (syndrome de brûlure): comment le détecter et prendre des mesures

Juin 20, 2022

Le Syndrome de burnout (brûlé, fondu) est un type de stress au travail, état d'épuisement physique, émotionnel ou mental ayant des conséquences sur l'estime de soi , et se caractérise par un processus graduel, par lequel les personnes perdent l’intérêt pour leurs tâches, le sens des responsabilités et peuvent même atteindre des dépressions profondes.

Syndrome de l'épuisement professionnel: brûlé au travail

Ce syndrome a été décrit pour la première fois en 1969 lorsque le comportement étrange de certains policiers à cette époque a été observé: des agents de l'autorité présentant une image symptomatique spécifique.

En 1974, Freudenberger a rendu le syndrome plus populaire et plus tard, en 1986, les psychologues américains C. Maslach et S. Jackson l’ont défini comme "un syndrome de fatigue émotionnelle, de dépersonnalisation et de moindre épanouissement personnel chez les personnes qui travaillent. en contact avec les clients et les utilisateurs. "


Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de burnout et comment se manifeste-t-il?

Le syndrome serait la réponse extrême au stress chronique né dans le contexte du travail et aurait des répercussions de nature individuelle, mais il aurait également une incidence sur les aspects organisationnels et sociaux. Depuis les années quatre-vingt, les chercheurs n'ont cessé de s'intéresser à ce phénomène, mais ce n'est qu'à la fin des années quatre-vingt-dix, lorsqu'il s'est dégagé un consensus sur ses causes et ses conséquences.

L'un des modèles explicatifs généraux est celui de Gil-Monte et Peiró (1997), mais d'autres tels que ceux de Manassero et al (2003), Ramos (1999), Matteson et Ivansevich (1997), Peiró et al (1994) ou Leiter (1988) sont nés pour répondre aux stratégies et techniques d'intervention nécessaires pour prévenir et minimiser les effets d'un problème qui s'aggrave, notamment depuis le début de la crise (Gili, McKee et Stuckler, 2013).


Différences culturelles dans le syndrome de burnout

Malgré tout, et compte tenu des progrès réalisés par la recherche dans des domaines spécifiques, il existe encore diverses interprétations quant au type d’intervention le plus approprié pour le corriger: type individuel, action psychologique accentuée, type social ou organisationnel. , influençant les conditions de travail (Gil-Monte, 2009). Ces divergences ont peut-être leur origine dans la influence culturelle.

Les études de Maslach, Schaufeli et Leiter (2001) ont montré qu'il existe certaines différences qualitatives dans les profils américain et européen, car ces derniers montrent des niveaux inférieurs d'épuisement et de cynisme . Quel que soit le continent sur lequel vous vivez, vous devez connaître certains aspects pour pouvoir agir à temps et le prévenir ou le corriger. Dans cet article, vous trouverez quelques indices sur ce phénomène. Ce que vous apprendrez peut vous aider à faire face au problème et à agir avant qu’il n’affecte votre santé.


Personnes risquant de souffrir

Vous pouvez être plus susceptible de souffrir d'épuisement professionnel si vous présentez plusieurs des caractéristiques suivantes (sous forme de signes ou de symptômes):

  • Il s'identifie si fortement au travail qu'il lui manque un équilibre raisonnable entre sa vie professionnelle et sa vie personnelle.
  • Essayez d’être tout pour tout le monde, assumez des tâches et des fonctions qui ne correspondent pas à leur position.
  • Il occupe des emplois liés aux activités professionnelles qui lient directement le travailleur et ses services aux clients. Cela ne signifie pas qu'il ne peut pas être présenté dans d'autres types de travail, mais en général, les médecins, les infirmières, les consultants, les travailleurs sociaux, les enseignants, les vendeurs à domicile, les enquêteurs, les agents de recouvrement et de nombreux autres métiers et professions présentent un risque plus élevé de développer la maladie. .
  • Sentez que vous avez peu ou pas de contrôle sur votre travail.
  • Son travail est particulièrement monotone et n'a pas peur.

Puis-je être en rupture de stock au travail?

Posez-vous les questions suivantes savoir si vous risquez de souffrir d'épuisement professionnel:

  • Êtes-vous devenu cynique ou critique au travail?
  • Avez-vous rampé pour aller au travail et avez généralement des problèmes pour commencer une fois que vous êtes arrivé?
  • Êtes-vous devenu irritable ou impatient avec vos collègues ou vos clients?
  • Vous manque-t-il d'énergie pour être constamment productif?
  • Vous manquez de satisfaction dans vos réalisations?
  • Vous sentez-vous désillusionné avec votre travail?
  • Consommez-vous trop d'aliments, de drogues ou d'alcool pour vous sentir mieux?
  • Vos habitudes de sommeil ou d’appétit ont-elles changé à cause de votre travail?
  • Craignez-vous des maux de tête inexpliqués, des maux de dos ou d'autres problèmes physiques?

Si vous avez répondu oui à l’une de ces questions, il se peut que vous rencontriez du surmenage. . Assurez-vous de consulter votre médecin ou un professionnel de la santé mentale. Cependant, certains de ces symptômes peuvent également indiquer certains problèmes de santé, tels qu'un trouble de la thyroïde ou une dépression.

Symptômes principaux

  • Épuisement émotionnel: un épuisement professionnel qui conduit la personne à un épuisement psychique et physiologique. Il y a une perte d'énergie, une fatigue physique et mentale. L’épuisement émotionnel est dû au fait que certaines tâches doivent être effectuées quotidiennement et de manière permanente avec des personnes qui doivent être servies comme objets de travail.
  • Dépersonnalisation: il se manifeste par des attitudes négatives vis-à-vis des utilisateurs / clients, une irritabilité accrue et une perte de motivation. En raison du durcissement des relations, cela peut entraîner une déshumanisation du traitement.
  • Manque d'épanouissement personnel: diminution de l'estime de soi, frustration des attentes et manifestations de stress au niveau physiologique, cognitif et comportemental.

Les causes

Le épuisement de l'oeuvre présente dans le syndrome de burnout Cela peut être le résultat de plusieurs facteurs et peut se produire normalement lorsqu'il y a des conditions à la fois au niveau de la personne (en ce qui concerne sa tolérance au stress et à la frustration, etc.) et organisationnel (lacunes dans la définition du poste, l'environnement de travail, le style de leadership des supérieurs, entre autres) .

Les causes les plus courantes sont les suivantes.

1. Le manque de contrôle

Incapacité d'influencer les décisions qui affectent votre travail: telles que votre emploi du temps, vos missions ou votre charge de travail, susceptibles de conduire à l'épuisement des tâches.

2. Des attentes professionnelles peu claires

Si vous n'êtes pas sûr du degré d'autorité que vous avez ou que votre superviseur ou les autres attendent de vous, vous ne serez probablement pas à l'aise au travail.

3. La dynamique de travail dysfonctionnelle

Peut-être travaillez-vous avec une personne en conflit au bureau, vous vous sentez rabaissé par vos collègues ou votre supérieur hiérarchique ne fait pas assez attention à votre travail.

4. Différences de valeurs

Si les valeurs diffèrent de la manière dont votre employeur traite ou traite les plaintes, le manque de correspondance peut avoir des conséquences néfastes.

5. Mauvais ajustement de l'emploi

Si votre travail ne correspond pas à vos intérêts et à vos capacités, il peut devenir de plus en plus stressant.

6. Les extrêmes d'activité

Lorsqu'un travail est toujours monotone ou chaotique, il a besoin d'énergie constante pour rester concentré, ce qui peut contribuer à augmenter les niveaux de fatigue et d'épuisement professionnel.

7. Manque de soutien social

Si vous vous sentez isolé au travail et dans votre vie personnelle, vous pourriez vous sentir plus stressé.

8. Déséquilibre entre vie professionnelle, familiale et sociale

Si votre travail prend beaucoup de temps et d’efforts et que vous n’avez pas assez de temps à passer avec votre famille et vos amis, vous pouvez vous épuiser rapidement.

Effets psychologiques et sanitaires

Ignorer ou ne pas traiter le surmenage peut avoir des conséquences importantes, notamment:

  • Stress excessif
  • Fatigue
  • L'insomnie
  • Un débordement négatif dans les relations personnelles ou la vie à la maison
  • La dépression
  • Anxiété
  • Abus d'alcool ou de substances
  • Détérioration cardiovasculaire
  • Taux de cholestérol élevé
  • Diabète, surtout chez les femmes
  • Infarctus cérébral
  • L'obésité
  • Vulnérabilité aux maladies
  • Les ulcères
  • Perte de poids
  • Douleurs musculaires
  • Migraines
  • Troubles gastro-intestinaux
  • Les allergies
  • L'asthme
  • Problèmes avec les cycles menstruels

Rappelez-vous, si vous pensez que vous êtes peut-être en état d'épuisement professionnel, n'ignorez pas ses symptômes. Consultez votre médecin ou un professionnel de la santé mentale pour identifier ou exclure l'existence de problèmes de santé sous-jacents.

Thérapie, traitement et conseil

Si vous êtes inquiet au sujet de l'épuisement professionnel au travail, vous devriez agir. Pour commencer:

  • Gérer les facteurs de stress qui contribuent à l'épuisement du travail. Une fois que vous avez identifié ce qui alimente vos symptômes de burnout, vous pouvez élaborer un plan pour résoudre ces problèmes.
  • Évaluez vos options . Discutez de problèmes spécifiques avec votre superviseur. Peut-être peuvent-ils travailler ensemble pour changer les attentes ou parvenir à des compromis ou des solutions.
  • Ajustez votre attitude . Si vous êtes devenu cynique au travail, réfléchissez aux moyens d’améliorer votre perspective. Redécouvrez les aspects agréables de votre position. Établissez des relations positives avec vos collègues pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats. Prenez de courtes pauses tout au long de la journée. Passez du temps en dehors du bureau et faites ce que vous aimez.
  • Demander de l'aide . Qu'il s'agisse de collègues, d'amis, de proches ou d'autres personnes, le soutien et la collaboration peuvent aider à faire face au stress lié au travail et au sentiment d'épuisement. Si vous avez accès à un programme d'aide aux employés, profitez des services disponibles.
  • Évaluez vos intérêts, capacités et passions . Une évaluation honnête peut vous aider à décider si vous devriez envisager un autre emploi, tel que celui qui est moins exigeant ou qui correspond le mieux à vos intérêts ou à vos valeurs fondamentales.
  • Faire de l'exercice . Une activité physique régulière telle que la marche ou le vélo peut vous aider à mieux faire face au stress. Cela peut également vous aider à vous déconnecter en dehors du travail et à vous consacrer à autre chose.

En résumé, il est conseillé de rester ouvert tout en envisageant les options. Si vous pensez que vous souffrez de ce syndrome, essayez de le résoudre le plus rapidement possible.

Il est également important de ne pas aggraver le problème en confondant le syndrome de Burnout avec une maladie: il ne faut pas non plus en trouver les déclencheurs dans son propre corps pour être clair à ce sujet. entre le syndrome, le désordre et la maladie ".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martín, Ramos Campos et Contador Castillo (2006) "La résilience et le modèle de l'épuisement professionnel chez les aidants naturels des personnes âgées", Psicothema, vol. 791-796.
  • Maslach et Leiter (1997) La vérité sur l'épuisement professionnel. San Francisco, Californie: Jossey Bass.
  • Maslach, Schaufeli et Leiter (2001) Job Burnout. Annual Review of Psychology, 52, 397,422.
  • Matteson et Ivancevich (1987) Contrôler le stress au travail: ressources efficaces et stratégies de gestion. San Francisco, Californie: Jossey-Bass.

La vidange : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #3 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes