yes, therapy helps!
Camillo Golgi: biography of this revolutionary Italian cytologist

Camillo Golgi: biography of this revolutionary Italian cytologist

November 27, 2021

The Italian physiologist Camillo Golgi (1843-1926) is recognized as one of the fathers of cell biology. Specifically, it is known for the development of a technique that revolutionized modern science: the silver staining technique, or the Golgi technique. Not only that, but there are different cellular tissues that are still named after him.

In this article we will see a short biography of Camillo Golgi and we will review some of the most important characteristics of his life and his scientific legacy.

  • Related article: "Santiago Ramón y Cajal: biography of this pioneer of neuroscience"

Biography of Camillo Golgi: life of a cytology pioneer

Camillo Golgi was born on July 7, 1843 in the city of Corteno, present province of Brescia, in Italy. In the year of 1865 he graduated from medical school at the University of Padua, and began exercising it in the psychiatric and criminological area. However, his interest soon moved towards histology (the discipline that studies the structure, development and functions of the tissues of organs).


Specifically while working in the laboratory of experimental pathology by the professor of histology Giulio Bizzozero, Golgi was interested in an important way in the development of experimentation and research techniques of the same discipline.

Subsequently, while working as a physicist in a research residence for people with chronic disorders (in the laboratory of the Hospital de Cronicidad III, in Abbiategrasso, Italy), Golgi developed a method that was decisive for the advancement of science in terms of knowing our cellular composition.

He also worked as a professor at the University of Torí and the University of Siena and finally he became a professor of histology at the University of Pavia. Within the same university he was appointed coordinator of the department of medicine and later rector.


Camillo Golgi is recognized as one of the most important physicists and biologists for the development of modern science, especially for the neurosciences of the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.

  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

The Golgi method and the neural network

Between the years of 1872 and 1875, Camillo Golgi worked as a physiologist in a residence of people with chronic neuronal disorders in Italy. Golgi developed a method that until today is known precisely as the "golgi technique" .

It is a basic histological procedure that very broadly consists of combining different chemicals and then depositing them on the intracellular walls. More specifically it is about produce a chemical reaction between potassium bichromate and silver nitrate , which results in a chemical compound called silver chromate, also known as silver chromate, whose formula is Ag2CrO4.


In visual terms it is a set of red salts, without color or flavor, which has different reactions to contact with different elements. Among other things, silver chromate is one of the compounds that has allowed us to develop modern photographic printing.

What Golgi discovered, and then Ramón y Cajal perfected, was that it was possible dye the cell tissues using the silver chromate , and in doing so, the parts that make up those tissues could be clearly visible to human eyes.

This is how it was for the first time possible to take and print photographs of our cells. Specifically Golgi discovered a type of cell, which is now known as the "golgi cell", which has different extensions (dendrites) that serve to connect with other cells.

Staining applied to neurons

After going through different processes of improvement of the technique, Golgi and Ramón y Cajal applied the technique of silver staining for visualize the composition of neurons . Thus, they found that neurons did not exist in isolation and were not connected by continuity, but by contiguity, which means that their connections occur directly through different axons that communicate each neuronal body with the next.

They described this as a kind of mesh or neural network and were the first to take clear impressions of that network. In addition, they maintained that the basic structure of the nervous system is precisely the neurons, something that was revolutionary for the neuroscientific studies of the time, and that is an essential part of the development of contemporary neuroscience .

Recognition and scientific legacy

The technique of silver staining applied to the study of neurons earned Golgi and Ramón y Cajal the Nobel Prize in Physiology in 1906. In addition to this award, in 1913 Golgi became a member of the Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences. Sciences of the Netherlands and to his retirement he was professor emeritus of the university of Pavia.

On the other hand, one of the most popular and representative works of the legacy of Golgi is the note entitled "In the structure of the gray matter of the brain", published by the Italian medical journal of 1873. In the following years Golgi continued publishing various articles with images of cellular networks. Likewise he is credited with having discovered the sensory bodies of the tendons , which are now known as the "tendinous golgi" organs.

Bibliographic references:

  • British Encyclopedia. Camillo Golgi, Italian physician and cytologist. Retrieved June 13, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Camillo-Golgi
  • Torres-Fernández, O. (2006). The technique of Golgi silver impregnation. Commemoration of the centenary of the Nobel Prize in Medicine (1906) shared by Camilo Golgi and Santiago Ramón y Cajal. Biomedical, 26: 498-508.

Randy Schekman (HHMI & UCB) 1: Secretory Pathway: How cells package & traffic proteins for export (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Camillo Golgi: biographie de ce cytologiste italien révolutionnaire

Camillo Golgi: biographie de ce cytologiste italien révolutionnaire

Novembre 11, 2022

Le physiologiste italien Camillo Golgi (1843-1926) est reconnu comme l'un des pères de la biologie cellulaire. Plus précisément, il est connu pour le développement d'une technique qui a révolutionné la science moderne: la technique de coloration à l'argent, ou technique de Golgi. Non seulement cela, mais il existe différents tissus cellulaires qui portent encore son nom.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une courte biographie de Camillo Golgi et nous passerons en revue certaines des caractéristiques les plus importantes de sa vie et de son héritage scientifique.

  • Article connexe: "Santiago Ramón y Cajal: biographie de ce pionnier des neurosciences"

Biographie de Camillo Golgi: la vie d'un pionnier de la cytologie

Camillo Golgi est né le 7 juillet 1843 à Corteno, actuelle province de Brescia, en Italie. En 1865, il obtint son diplôme de médecine à l'Université de Padoue et commença à exercer cette profession dans les domaines psychiatrique et criminologique. Cependant, son intérêt a bientôt évolué vers l'histologie (la discipline qui étudie la structure, le développement et les fonctions des tissus d'organes).


Plus précisément, alors qu’il travaillait dans le laboratoire de pathologie expérimentale du professeur d’histologie Giulio Bizzozero, Golgi s’intéressait de manière importante au développement des techniques d’expérimentation et de recherche de la même discipline.

Par la suite, tout en travaillant comme physicien dans une résidence de recherche pour personnes atteintes de troubles chroniques (dans le laboratoire de l'hôpital de Cronicidad III, à Abbiategrasso, en Italie), Golgi a mis au point une méthode décisive pour l'avancement de la science en termes de connaissance de notre composition cellulaire.

Il a également travaillé comme professeur à l'Université de Torí et l'Université de Sienne et finalement il est devenu professeur d'histologie à l'Université de Pavie. Au sein de la même université, il fut nommé coordinateur du département de médecine puis recteur.


Camillo Golgi est reconnu comme l’un des physiciens et biologistes les plus importants du développement de la science moderne, en particulier des neurosciences de la fin du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

La méthode de Golgi et le réseau de neurones

Entre 1872 et 1875, Camillo Golgi travailla comme physiologiste dans une résidence pour personnes atteintes de troubles neuronaux chroniques en Italie. Golgi a développé une méthode qui, jusqu’à aujourd’hui, est connue précisément la "technique de Golgi" .

Il s’agit d’une procédure histologique de base qui consiste très généralement à combiner différents produits chimiques, puis à les déposer sur les parois intracellulaires. Plus spécifiquement, il s'agit de produire une réaction chimique entre le bichromate de potassium et le nitrate d'argent , qui donne un composé chimique appelé chromate d’argent, également appelé chromate d’argent, dont la formule est Ag2CrO4.


En termes visuels, il s’agit d’un ensemble de sels rouges, sans couleur ni saveur, qui réagit différemment au contact de différents éléments. Entre autres choses, le chromate d'argent est l'un des composés qui nous a permis de développer l'impression photographique moderne.

Ce que Golgi a découvert, puis perfectionné avec Ramón et Cajal, c’est qu’il était possible teindre les tissus cellulaires en utilisant le chromate d'argent et, ce faisant, les parties constitutives de ces tissus pourraient être clairement visibles pour les yeux.

C’est ainsi qu’il était pour la première fois possible de prendre et d’imprimer des photographies de nos cellules. Plus précisément, Golgi a découvert un type de cellule, connu à présent sous le nom de "cellule de Golgi", qui possède différentes extensions (dendrites) qui servent à se connecter à d'autres cellules.

Coloration appliquée aux neurones

Après différents processus d’amélioration de la technique, Golgi et Ramón y Cajal ont appliqué la technique de coloration à l’argent pour visualiser la composition des neurones . Ainsi, ils ont découvert que les neurones n'existaient pas isolément et n'étaient pas connectés par continuité, mais par contiguïté, ce qui signifie que leurs connexions se font directement par différents axones qui communiquent chaque corps neuronal avec le suivant.

Ils ont décrit cela comme une sorte de réseau maillé ou neuronal et ont été les premiers à prendre clairement conscience de ce réseau. En outre, ils ont soutenu que la structure de base du système nerveux, c’était précisément les neurones, ce qui était révolutionnaire pour les études neuroscientifiques de l’époque. est une partie essentielle du développement des neurosciences contemporaines .

Reconnaissance et héritage scientifique

La technique de coloration à l'argent appliquée à l'étude des neurones a valu à Golgi et Ramón y Cajal le prix Nobel de physiologie en 1906. En plus de cette récompense, Golgi est devenu en 1913 membre de l'Académie royale des arts et des sciences. Sciences des Pays-Bas et à sa retraite, il fut professeur émérite de l'université de Pavie.

Par ailleurs, l’un des ouvrages les plus populaires et les plus représentatifs de l’héritage de Golgi est la note intitulée "Dans la structure de la substance grise du cerveau", publiée par la revue médicale italienne de 1873. Au cours des années suivantes, Golgi continue de publier divers articles. avec des images de réseaux cellulaires. De même il est crédité d'avoir découvert les corps sensoriels des tendons , qui sont maintenant connus comme les organes "tendineux de golgi".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Encyclopédie britannique. Camillo Golgi, médecin et cytologiste italien. Extrait le 13 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/Camillo-Golgi.
  • Torres-Fernández, O. (2006). La technique de l’imprégnation d’argent de Golgi. Commémoration du centenaire du prix Nobel de médecine (1906) partagé par Camilo Golgi et Santiago Ramón y Cajal. Biomedical, 26: 498-508.

Randy Schekman (HHMI & UCB) 1: Secretory Pathway: How cells package & traffic proteins for export (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes