yes, therapy helps!
Can a terrorist from Daesh (ISIS) be re-educated?

Can a terrorist from Daesh (ISIS) be re-educated?

January 25, 2022

In recent years there have been a series of terrorist attacks linked to the terrorist group of the Islamic State or Daesh, as the acronym is known in Arabic to refer to them or, ISIS of the acronym in English (Islamic State of Iraq and Syria). These attacks, mostly perpetrated in the same Muslim countries, are having a special impact in Europe.

And it is that the Daesh has militants at the transnational level, especially of western converts to Islam , or of European citizens of second or third generation with Muslim roots. Recall that Arabic is not synonymous with Muslim. So any ethnic group can belong to the Daesh.

What is the Daesh?

The Daesh or Islamic State is a terrorist group that was formed in 2014 in the wake of the Syrian crisis and the endless war in Iraq, where the supreme leader of the formation Abu Bakr Al Baghdadi declared the establishment of the "Islamic Caliphate" in Mosul, Iraq.


For other academics, the concept of terrorist group is misused, since they are an organization with social, religious, administrative and territorial identity. Although these extremists are currently running out, they managed to create a corridor between Syria and Iraq to expand throughout the world, controlling important areas of both countries.

Returning to how the Daesh is formed, its members share the same profile: inhabitants of Western and Eastern Europe are radicalized by a false interpretation of Islam and returning to the precepts of "Holy War" that were used in the Crusades. Thus, Can the radicalization process be interrupted? Are individuals who have been terrorists reformed? In this article we analyze it.


  • Recommended article: "Why do some Western people join terrorist groups like Daesh (ISIS)?"

How to detect this type of cases?

Taking into account the complexity of the issue, the main problem is how to detect the aforementioned process of radicalization, as the authorities and security forces call it.

The Muslim community is integrated into Western societies, and outside of their homes most appear culturally assimilated. The complexity lies in the moments of "doors to inside". That is, in their most intimate environments and away from any kind of surveillance.

The recent terrorist attacks signed by Daesh link this integration with radicalization, based in some cases on dissimulation and false appearance. Thus, according to expert sociologists it is much easier to tackle the problem through education and prevention .


Is it possible to reeducate a member of Daesh?

A question of difficult resolution. How to know if you can reeducate an individual from Daesh? Luckily, there are some possibilities of extensive experience but with effective results. We refer to cultural associations and many other integration organizations, whose mission is to make the way back to people who have gone astray.

Nowadays there are several Muslim associations dedicated especially to reinsert these individuals into society . To mention some examples, the Islamic Banr Foundation and the Ibn Battuta Foundation, where the first was constituted by two brothers who wanted to be part of the Daesh to fight in Syria.

The second is of a cultural nature, forming part of the process of socialization of Muslim youth and families, although the objective of it is to serve any community outside the European Community and thus guarantee its adaptation to avoid discriminatory, racist or harassment acts.

The Ibn Battuta Foundation works closely with the local security forces, administrations and at a national level it has a great recognition, working together with justice and social services.

Can a terrorist from Daesh be reeducated? The tools have recently been put into practice by countries such as Australia or England, where they have arrested several fundamentalists who fought on the side of Daesh, but who for legal purposes are still considered nationals with civil rights.

The most recent media case was that of a 16-year-old German teenager who was arrested in Iraq by the special anti-terrorist units in a raid against Daesh. He had recently converted to Islam and his name has been hidden for security reasons. The German authorities do not want to give up the victim and psychological processes have already begun to return to normal life.


The Islamic State (Full Length) (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un terroriste de Daesh (ISIS) peut-il être rééduqué?

Un terroriste de Daesh (ISIS) peut-il être rééduqué?

Novembre 26, 2022

Ces dernières années, il y a eu une série d'attaques terroristes liées au groupe terroriste de l'État islamique ou Daesh, l'acronyme étant connu en arabe pour les désigner ou ISIS de l'acronyme en anglais (État islamique d'Irak et de Syrie). Ces attaques, principalement perpétrées dans les mêmes pays musulmans, ont un impact particulier en Europe.

Et c’est que la Daech a des militants au niveau transnational, en particulier des convertis occidentaux à l’islam , ou des citoyens européens de la deuxième ou troisième génération avec des racines musulmanes. Rappelez-vous que l'arabe n'est pas synonyme de musulman. Ainsi, tout groupe ethnique peut appartenir à la Daesh.

Qu'est ce que la Daesh?

Daesh ou État islamique est un groupe terroriste formé en 2014 à la suite de la crise syrienne et de la guerre sans fin en Irak, où le chef suprême de la formation, Abu Bakr Al Baghdadi, a déclaré la création du "califat islamique" à Mossoul, en Irak.


Pour d'autres universitaires, le concept de groupe terroriste est utilisé à mauvais escient puisqu'il s'agit d'une organisation à l'identité sociale, religieuse, administrative et territoriale. Bien que ces extrémistes soient en train de s’épuiser, ils ont réussi à créer un couloir entre la Syrie et l’Iraq afin de s’étendre dans le monde entier, en contrôlant des zones importantes des deux pays.

En revenant à la formation de la Daech, ses membres partagent le même profil: les habitants de l'Europe occidentale et orientale sont radicalisés par une fausse interprétation de l'islam et par le retour aux préceptes de la "guerre sainte" qui ont été utilisés dans les croisades. Donc, Le processus de radicalisation peut-il être interrompu? Les individus qui ont été des terroristes sont-ils réformés? Dans cet article, nous l’analysons.


  • Article recommandé: "Pourquoi certains Occidentaux rejoignent-ils des groupes terroristes comme Daesh (ISIS)?"

Comment détecter ce type de cas?

Compte tenu de la complexité du problème, le principal problème est de savoir comment détecter le processus de radicalisation susmentionné, comme l'appellent les autorités et les forces de sécurité.

La communauté musulmane est intégrée aux sociétés occidentales et, en dehors de leurs foyers, la plupart semblent assimilées par la culture. La complexité réside dans les moments de "portes à l'intérieur". C’est-à-dire dans leurs environnements les plus intimes et à l’écart de tout type de surveillance.

Les récents attentats terroristes signés par Daesh relient cette intégration à la radicalisation, qui repose parfois sur la dissimulation et la fausse apparence. Pour lui, Selon des sociologues experts, il est beaucoup plus facile de s'attaquer au problème par l'éducation et la prévention. .


Est-il possible de rééduquer un membre de Daesh?

Une question de résolution difficile. Comment savoir si vous pouvez rééduquer un individu de Daesh? Heureusement, il existe des possibilités d’expérience étendue mais avec des résultats efficaces. Nous parlons d’associations culturelles et de nombreuses autres organisations d’intégration dont la mission est de retrouver le chemin des égarés.

Actuellement il existe plusieurs associations musulmanes dédiées en particulier à réinsérer ces personnes dans la société . Pour citer quelques exemples, la Fondation islamique Banr et la Fondation Ibn Battuta, dont le premier était constitué de deux frères qui voulaient faire partie du Daesh pour combattre en Syrie.

La seconde est de nature culturelle et fait partie du processus de socialisation des jeunes et des familles musulmanes, même si son objectif est de servir toute communauté en dehors de la Communauté européenne et de garantir ainsi son adaptation pour éviter les actes discriminatoires, racistes ou de harcèlement.

La Fondation Ibn Battuta travaille en étroite collaboration avec les forces de sécurité locales, les administrations et au niveau national, elle jouit d'une grande reconnaissance, en collaboration avec les services judiciaires et sociaux.

Un terroriste de Daech peut-il être rééduqué? Des outils tels que l’Australie ou l’Angleterre, où ils ont arrêté plusieurs fondamentalistes qui se sont battus aux côtés de Daech, ont récemment mis ces outils en pratique, mais qui, à des fins juridiques, sont encore considérés comme des nationaux jouissant de droits civils.

L'affaire la plus récente dans les médias était celle d'un adolescent allemand de 16 ans qui avait été arrêté en Irak par les unités spéciales antiterroristes lors d'un raid contre Daesh. Il s'était récemment converti à l'islam et son nom a été caché pour des raisons de sécurité. Les autorités allemandes ne veulent pas abandonner la victime et les processus psychologiques ont déjà commencé à revenir à une vie normale.


Comment Daech va se transformer (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes