yes, therapy helps!
Can there be friendship between a man and a woman?

Can there be friendship between a man and a woman?

November 25, 2022

More than two decades have passed since the premiere of one of the most acclaimed romantic comedies: When Harry met Sally. This film was a resounding success at the box office, and if it did, it was thanks, at least in part, to placing one of the most recurrent questions in the spotlight: Is friendship between a woman and a man possible?

The friendship between a man and a woman: a utopia?

In previous articles we have verified which are the 7 signs to detect a toxic friendship, explain the relationship between political ideology and sexual attraction, or solve the question of why kindness is a problem when looking for a partner.


Today we will try to gather information that will help us understand if a man and a woman can maintain a disinterested friendship of any romantic or sexual project.

Many people think that it is not possible, that heterosexual women and men can not establish a relationship of pure friendship. And it is usually attributed that this impossibility resides in the effect of hormones . However, many people claim to have had one or many friendships of the opposite sex. It seems that it is a very subjective question, which depends a lot on the scale of values ​​of each individual.

Research

An investigation published in the Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, commanded by April Bleske-Rechek, professor of Psychology at the Wisconsin-Eau Claire University, concluded that men perceive romantic options more frequently than women with their friends (2012). The study also noted that men tended to be equally interested sexually or romantically in their friends, regardless of whether they were already in a relationship with another person.


What does the Bleske-Rechek study tell us? That men and women differ in the appreciation of their relationships with people of the opposite sex , bringing clearly differentiated attitudes about their expectations. The research also showed that, in the typical friendship between a woman and a man, the man tends to overestimate the level of attraction that the friend feels towards him. On the other side, the woman underestimates the degree of attraction her friend feels towards her.

As a result of this asymmetry, the man can think: "I am sure that my friend wants something more than a simple friendship", while the women conceive: "Oh, of course not, my friend does not think of me in that way , We are good friends". It is possible that these different perceptions about the same relationship are the origin of endless misunderstandings , or the reason why many women give, unwittingly, "false illusions" to their male friends.


The variable sincerity also comes into play

Another variable that probably influences to bias the results in this type of research is the inclination of the females to hide certain thoughts or opinions . In the study, participants were guaranteed that their answers would be completely anonymous and confidential.

Likewise, before the surveys were completed, the researcher promised to separately promise the pairs of friends that they would not talk about the answers at the end of the study. Although it was presumable to think that all the subjects were absolutely sincere, the truth is that a degree of shame was detected in accepting that one feels attracted to his friend, although he appreciates that this attraction is not reciprocal. Obviously, pride and withdrawal can influence the responses of the participants, thus altering the results.

Although there is no extensive scientific literature on these issues, a unique study by Jesse Budd and Patrick Romero, two young and talented film directors who managed to reach the same conclusion: friendship between men and women is impossible .

They considered carrying out a video recording that could confirm the veracity of the hypothesis. It is clear that his method was miles away from being considered as rigorous and scientific, but they managed to document some informal questionnaires among university students. The experience revealed that, when the girls were asked, they began by saying yes, that it was quite possible to maintain a friendship with a man. However, as the survey entered the subject and they were asked if their friends were attracted to them, they blushed and admitted that it was quite likely that . According to this, could it not be said that the friendship between individuals of different sex is never exempt from a certain degree of attraction?

Friendship and attraction: concluding

In fact, it seems that both women and men should reflect on our conceptions about friendship, to get our friends to be so for their personality. We value the sincere, reciprocal and lasting friendship, be it with a man or with a woman.

Recently, in addition, some North American researchers conducted a macro-survey asking thousands of people if they had sex with a friend , and if that intimate contact had worsened or improved the friendship relationship. The results of the surprising study can be found by reading this article:

  • Related article: "Sex between friends strengthens friendship"

We will remain alert when offering new information on this issue. What opinion do you deserve the subject? Can there be friendship between a man and a woman? Opinions are diverse and always bring controversy. We invite you to offer us your vision on this topic in the comments section, or through our Facebook account.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barriga, S. (1982). Group psychology and social change. Barcelona: Time.
  • De Castro, R. (1996). Social influence and environmental change: current and prospective intervention strategies. Psychosocial intervention, 5 (13), 7-20.
  • Martínez, M. F. (1993). Community psychology. Seville: Eudema.

Why Men and Women Cant be friends (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peut-il y avoir une amitié entre un homme et une femme?

Peut-il y avoir une amitié entre un homme et une femme?

Août 11, 2020

Plus de deux décennies se sont écoulées depuis la création de l’une des comédies romantiques les plus acclamées: Quand Harry a rencontré Sally. Ce film a connu un succès retentissant au box-office, et s’il l’a fait, c’est en partie grâce à la mise en lumière d’une des questions les plus récurrentes: L'amitié entre une femme et un homme est-elle possible?

L'amitié entre un homme et une femme: une utopie?

Dans des articles précédents, nous avons vérifié quels sont les 7 signes permettant de détecter une amitié toxique, d'expliquer la relation entre l'idéologie politique et l'attirance sexuelle, ou de résoudre la question de savoir pourquoi la gentillesse est un problème lorsque vous recherchez un partenaire.


Aujourd'hui, nous allons essayer de rassembler des informations qui nous aideront à comprendre si un homme et une femme peuvent entretenir une amitié désintéressée pour tout projet romantique ou sexuel.

Beaucoup de gens pensent que ce n'est pas possible, que les femmes et les hommes hétérosexuels ne peuvent pas établir une relation de pure amitié. Et il est généralement attribué que cette impossibilité réside dans l'effet des hormones . Cependant, de nombreuses personnes affirment avoir eu une ou plusieurs amitiés du sexe opposé. Il semble que ce soit une question très subjective, qui dépend beaucoup de l’échelle des valeurs de chaque individu.

Enquêtes

Une enquête publiée dans le Journal des relations sociales et personnelles, dirigée par April Bleske-Rechek, professeur de psychologie à l’Université du Wisconsin-Eau Claire, a conclu que les hommes perçoivent les options romantiques plus souvent que les femmes avec leurs amis (2012). L'étude a également révélé que les hommes avaient tendance à s'intéresser de manière égale, sexuellement ou amoureusement, à leurs amis, qu'ils soient déjà en couple ou non.


Que nous dit l'étude Bleske-Rechek? Que les hommes et les femmes diffèrent dans l'appréciation de leurs relations avec les personnes du sexe opposé , apportant des attitudes clairement différenciées quant à leurs attentes. La recherche a également montré que, dans l’amitié typique entre une femme et un homme, l’homme a tendance à surestimer le niveau d’attraction que l’ami ressent pour lui. De son côté, la femme sous-estime le degré d’attraction que son amie ressent pour elle.

En raison de cette asymétrie, l'homme peut penser: "Je suis sûr que mon ami veut plus qu'une simple amitié", tandis que les femmes conçoivent: "Oh, bien sûr que non, mon ami ne pense pas à moi de cette façon. , Nous sommes de bons amis". Il est possible que ces différentes perceptions de la même relation soient à l’origine de malentendus sans fin , ou la raison pour laquelle beaucoup de femmes donnent sans le vouloir des "fausses illusions" à leurs amis de sexe masculin.


La sincérité variable entre également en jeu

Une autre variable qui influence probablement les résultats dans ce type de recherche est la tendance des femmes à cacher certaines pensées ou opinions. . Dans l’étude, les participants avaient la garantie que leurs réponses seraient complètement anonymes et confidentielles.

De même, avant la fin des enquêtes, le chercheur a promis de promettre séparément aux deux amis de ne pas parler des réponses à la fin de l’étude. Même s'il était vraisemblable de penser que tous les sujets étaient absolument sincères, la vérité est qu'un degré de honte a été détecté lorsque l'on accepte de se sentir attiré par son ami, bien qu'il se rende compte que cet attrait n'est pas réciproque. De toute évidence, la fierté et le retrait peuvent influencer les réponses des participants, modifiant ainsi les résultats.

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de littérature scientifique exhaustive sur ces questions, une étude unique a été réalisée par Jesse Budd et Patrick Romero, deux jeunes réalisateurs talentueux qui ont réussi à tirer la même conclusion: l'amitié entre hommes et femmes est impossible .

Ils ont envisagé de réaliser un enregistrement vidéo pouvant confirmer la véracité de l'hypothèse. Il est clair que sa méthode était bien loin d’être considérée comme rigoureuse et scientifique, mais ils ont réussi à documenter certains questionnaires informels parmi des étudiants universitaires. L'expérience a révélé que, lorsqu'on leur a demandé, les filles ont commencé par dire oui, qu'il était tout à fait possible de maintenir une amitié avec un homme. Cependant, comme l'enquête abordait le sujet, on leur demandait si leurs amis étaient attirés par eux, ils rougirent et admirent qu'il était fort probable que . D'après cela, ne pourrait-on pas dire que l'amitié entre individus de sexe différent n'est jamais exempte d'un certain degré d'attraction?

Amitié et attraction: conclusion

En fait, il semble que les femmes et les hommes devraient réfléchir à nos conceptions de l'amitié pour que nos amis le soient pour leur personnalité. Nous apprécions l’amitié sincère, réciproque et durable, que ce soit avec un homme ou avec une femme.

Récemment, en outre, des chercheurs nord-américains ont mené une macro-enquête demander à des milliers de personnes si elles ont couché avec un ami et si ce contact intime avait aggravé ou amélioré la relation d’amitié. Les résultats de cette étude surprenante peuvent être trouvés en lisant cet article:

  • Article connexe: "Le sexe entre amis renforce l'amitié"

Nous resterons vigilants lorsque nous offrirons de nouvelles informations sur ce problème. Quelle opinion méritez-vous le sujet? Peut-il y avoir une amitié entre un homme et une femme? Les opinions sont diverses et suscitent toujours la controverse. Nous vous invitons à nous offrir votre vision sur ce sujet dans la section commentaires ou via notre compte Facebook.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barriga, S. (1982). Psychologie de groupe et changement social. Barcelone: ​​le temps.
  • De Castro, R. (1996). Influence sociale et changement environnemental: stratégies d’intervention actuelles et futures. Intervention psychosociale, 5 (13), 7-20.
  • Martínez, M. F. (1993). Psychologie communautaire Séville: Eudéma.

Amitié hommes femmes : est-ce vraiment possible ? (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes