yes, therapy helps!
Cannabis increases the risk of psychotic outbreak by 40%

Cannabis increases the risk of psychotic outbreak by 40%

August 2, 2022

The consumption of marijuana and other cannabis derivatives is a common phenomenon nowadays, especially in the young population.

The popular idea is that cannabis is a substance that involves very few risks because it is "natural" and more or less traditional in some areas, which is generally consumed without great concern due to its possible side effects. However, it has been shown that the consumption of this type of substances does entails high health risks .

Specifically, the review and analysis of different investigations show that there is a link between cannabis and psychotic disorders, having been indicated by demonstrating that cannabis increases the risk of suffering a psychotic outbreak, in some cases up to 40% .


Cannabis and derivatives

Cannabis and its derivatives are some of the most consumed illegal drugs worldwide, especially in Western society. Extracted from the plant Cannabis sativa, it is a type of substance that would be considered within the group of psychodysleptic drugs , psychoactive substances that produce a modification of mental activity without this can be considered totally excitatory or inhibitory.

In the specific case of cannabis, an increase in activity usually occurs first, in a short time, to go into a state of relaxation and sedation, together with other symptoms such as increased appetite or motor uncoordination.


This drug can be found in very different ways according to the parts of the plant that are used, being the most known derivatives marijuana and hashish .

Consumption and social consideration

Its use goes back to antiquity, used as a medicinal and relaxing plant , and even today is used to combat some symptoms of diseases, such as the presence of vomiting, seizures and even anorexia or lack of hunger (not to be confused with anorexia nervosa, which would be the psychological disorder) that occurs in patients with different disorders.

However, regardless of their medical properties, a large number of people use cannabis as a form of entertainment and relaxation due to the widespread idea that it is a drug whose consumption involves few risks. This consideration is due to the fact that cannabis and its derivatives they do not have as many physiological effects as other drugs , and the fact that it is considered that in general they do not cause too much dependence unless their consumption is daily.


It is usually consumed by inhalation through cigarettes , although sometimes it is consumed orally (being for example the case of the well-known cakes de maría). In general, its consumption occurs more frequently in adolescence and early adulthood, being less frequent at older ages .

Increased risk of psychotic outbreaks

As we have seen previously, it is considered that consuming cannabis does not have risks or they are very low. However, the analysis of several investigations indicates that, although it has a lower risk to other substances, the consumption of cannabinoids causes a serious increase in the possibility of suffering psychotic outbreaks.

And is that the administration of this substance often causes the presence of auditory hallucinations or persecutory delusions , that although they are generally temporary they can remain or trigger the repetition of later psychotic outbreaks. In fact, one of the investigations indicates that cannabis increases up to 40% the possibility of awakening a psychotic disorder, can be much higher if the consumption is daily .

Although it is considered that cannabis does not produce the psychotic disorder itself, it is a risk factor that may end up being a trigger for this one . That is, there is a genetic predisposition to suffer an alteration of this type, a predisposition that can be expressed or not.

Cannabis and schizophrenia

In this case the consumption of cannabis is a factor that increases the risk of being expressed, with its risk being much higher than that of other substances. Thus, a person who probably never had any outbreak has a very high probability of developing it. And one of the disorders associated with this consumption and psychotic outbreaks is schizophrenia, a severe disorder that can cause a high level of interference in daily life. Other research shows that many schizophrenic patients who use cannabis have had their first psychotic episode up to seven years earlier than the average .

Other risks in the use of marijuana

It must also take into account the vital period in which the consumption of cannabinoids is usually done, which usually begins in adolescence and early adulthood. In this age the organism is still in formation and process of change , having a greater reactivity to reward and punishment than in other vital moments, with which the brain is more vulnerable and affected by long-term changes.

In addition to this, it must be considered that cannabis does not only affect the beginning of a psychotic outbreak, but also includes the course and prognosis of outbreaks and disorders, showing that in general cannabis use interferes and hinders the treatment , and in the long run it facilitates relapse and the appearance of new psychotic outbreaks in treated patients.

Concluding

In conclusion, it is necessary to take into account and pay special attention to the risks posed by cannabis use, fighting the idea that it is something harmless .

And it is documented that cannabinoids can cause amotivational syndrome, has carcinogenic properties and may eventually cause respiratory problems and sexual dysfunction, in addition to the spectacular increase in risk of presenting psychotic outbreaks.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Arias, F., Sanchez, S. and Padin, J.J. (2002). Relevance of drug use in the clinical manifestations of schizophrenia. Actas Esp Psiquiatr; 30: 65-73.
  • Barnes, T.R .; Mutsatsa, S.H .; Hutton, S.B .; Watt, H.C. & Joyce, E.M. (2006). Comorbid substance use and age at onset of schizophrenia. Br J Psychiatry; 188: 237-42.
  • Moore, T.H.M .; Zammit, S .; Lingford-Hughes, A .; Barnes, T.R.E .; Jones, P.B .; Burke, M. & Lewis, G. (2007). Cannabis use and risk of psychotic or affective mental health outcomes: a systematic review. The Lancet. volume 370, 9584; p.319-328.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Cannabinoid and Harm Reduction among cannabis users | S.Béguerie, Cannafest 2015 (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le cannabis augmente de 40% le risque d'épidémie de psychose

Le cannabis augmente de 40% le risque d'épidémie de psychose

Avril 14, 2021

La consommation de marijuana et d'autres dérivés du cannabis est un phénomène courant de nos jours, surtout chez les jeunes.

L’idée répandue est que le cannabis est une substance qui présente très peu de risques, car il est "naturel" et plus ou moins traditionnel dans certaines régions, qui est généralement consommé sans grande inquiétude en raison de ses éventuels effets secondaires. Cependant, il a été démontré que la consommation de ce type de substances ne comporte des risques élevés pour la santé .

Plus précisément, l’examen et l’analyse de différentes enquêtes montrent qu’il existe un lien entre le cannabis et les troubles psychotiques, ce qui a été démontré en démontrant que le cannabis augmente le risque de souffrir d'une épidémie psychotique, dans certains cas jusqu'à 40% .


Cannabis et dérivés

Le cannabis et ses dérivés sont parmi les drogues illégales les plus consommées dans le monde, en particulier dans la société occidentale. Extrait de la plante Cannabis sativa, c’est un type de substance qui serait considéré dans le groupe des drogues psychodysleptiques , les substances psychoactives produisant une modification de l'activité mentale sans cela peuvent être considérées comme totalement excitatrices ou inhibitrices.

Dans le cas spécifique du cannabis, une augmentation de l'activité survient généralement, dans un court laps de temps, pour passer à un état de relaxation et de sédation, ainsi que d'autres symptômes tels qu'une augmentation de l'appétit ou un manque de coordination.


Ce médicament peut être trouvé dans très formes différentes selon les parties de la plante qui sont utilisées, étant les dérivés les plus connus de la marijuana et du haschisch .

Consommation et considération sociale

Son utilisation remonte à l'Antiquité, utilisé comme plante médicinale et relaxante , et même aujourd’hui est utilisé pour combattre certains symptômes de maladies, telles que la présence de vomissements, de convulsions et même d’anorexie ou de manque de faim (à ne pas confondre avec l’anorexie mentale, qui serait le désordre psychologique) les troubles.

Cependant, quelles que soient leurs propriétés médicales, un grand nombre de personnes utilisent le cannabis comme forme de divertissement et de détente en raison de l’idée répandue qu’il s’agit d’une drogue dont la consommation comporte peu de risques. Cette considération est due au fait que le cannabis et ses dérivés ils n'ont pas autant d'effets physiologiques que d'autres médicaments et le fait qu’on considère qu’ils ne causent généralement pas trop de dépendance à moins que leur consommation ne soit quotidienne.


Il est généralement consommé par inhalation à travers des cigarettes , bien qu’il soit parfois consommé par voie orale (comme c’est le cas des célèbres gâteaux de maría). En général, sa consommation est plus fréquente à l’adolescence et au début de l’âge adulte, être moins fréquent à un âge plus avancé .

Risque accru d'épidémies psychotiques

Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, on considère que la consommation de cannabis ne présente pas de risque ou est très faible. Toutefois, l'analyse de plusieurs enquêtes indique que, même si le risque encouru par d'autres substances est moindre, la consommation de cannabinoïdes augmente considérablement le risque d'épidémies psychotiques.

Et est-ce que l'administration de cette substance provoque souvent la présence de hallucinations auditives ou illusions de persécution , bien qu’elles soient généralement temporaires, elles peuvent rester ou déclencher la répétition de foyers psychotiques ultérieurs. En fait, l'une des enquêtes indique que le cannabis augmente jusqu'à 40% la possibilité d'éveiller un trouble psychotique. peut être beaucoup plus élevé si la consommation est quotidienne .

Bien que l’on considère que le cannabis ne produit pas le trouble psychotique lui-même, c’est un facteur de risque qui peut finir par être un déclencheur pour celui-ci . C'est-à-dire qu'il existe une prédisposition génétique à subir une modification de ce type, une prédisposition qui peut être exprimée ou non.

Cannabis et schizophrénie

Dans ce cas, la consommation de cannabis est un facteur qui augmente le risque d’être exprimé, son risque étant beaucoup plus élevé que celui d’autres substances. Ainsi, une personne qui n'a probablement jamais eu d'épidémie a une très forte probabilité de la développer. Et l'un des troubles associés à cette consommation et à ces épidémies psychotiques est la schizophrénie, un trouble grave pouvant provoquer un niveau élevé d'interférence dans la vie quotidienne. D’autres recherches montrent que de nombreux patients schizophrènes qui utilisent du cannabis ont eu leur premier épisode psychotique jusqu'à sept ans plus tôt que la moyenne .

Autres risques liés à l'utilisation de la marijuana

Il doit également prendre en compte la période vitale au cours de laquelle la consommation de cannabinoïdes est généralement effectuée, et qui commence généralement à l'adolescence et au début de l'âge adulte. À ce moment l'organisme est toujours en formation et en processus de changement , ayant une plus grande réactivité à la récompense et à la punition que dans d'autres moments vitaux, avec lesquels le cerveau est plus vulnérable et affecté par des changements à long terme.

En plus de cela, il faut considérer que le cannabis n'affecte pas seulement le début d'une épidémie psychotique, mais inclut également l'évolution et le pronostic des épidémies et des troubles, ce qui montre que l'usage du cannabis en général interfère et entrave le traitement , et à long terme, il facilite la rechute et l’apparition de nouvelles épidémies psychotiques chez les patients traités.

En conclusion

En conclusion, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte et de prêter une attention particulière aux risques liés à la consommation de cannabis, lutter contre l'idée que c'est quelque chose d'inoffensif .

Et il a été prouvé que les cannabinoïdes peuvent provoquer un syndrome intestinal, des propriétés cancérogènes et peuvent éventuellement provoquer des problèmes respiratoires et un dysfonctionnement sexuel, en plus de l’augmentation spectaculaire du risque d’apparition d’éclats psychotiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Arias, F., Sanchez, S. et Padin, J.J. (2002). Pertinence de la consommation de drogue dans les manifestations cliniques de la schizophrénie. Actas Esp Psiquiatr; 30: 65-73.
  • Barnes, T.R .; Mutsatsa, S.H .; Hutton, S.B .; Watt, H.C. & Joyce, E.M. (2006). Utilisation de substances concomitantes et âge au début de la schizophrénie. Br J Psychiatry; 188: 237-242.
  • Moore, T.HM; Zammit, S .; Lingford-Hughes, A .; Barnes, T.R.E .; Jones, P.B .; Burke, M. et Lewis, G. (2007). Consommation de cannabis et risque de conséquences psychotiques ou affectives pour la santé mentale: revue systématique. Le lancet. volume 370, 9584; p.319-328.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

WEED, reportage sur le cannabis médical par le Dr Sanjay Gupta (CNN) (2013) (STFR) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes