yes, therapy helps!
Capacitism: discrimination against functional diversity

Capacitism: discrimination against functional diversity

May 4, 2024

There is increasing awareness of the different types of discrimination that certain groups and minorities face in their day to day lives. For example, racism and machismo are examples of ways of thinking that result in unequal treatment of certain people for being as they are.

But there are other concepts that refer to the ways in which it is currently discriminated. For example, the capacitismo, referred to the unequal treatment that people with functional diversity receive , many times stigmatized and treated from the prejudices to be considered disabled.

  • You may be interested: "The 16 types of discrimination (and their causes)"

What is capacitism?

Capacitism is that form of ideological and material discrimination that is directed against people who are considered disabled. That is to say, that capacitism refers to the prejudices and stereotypes that lead to disparage people with functional diversity, but is also reflected in laws and material structures (architectural, urban, etc.) that suppose a barrier for this group.


That is, that capacitism it is both ideological and institutional , because it is expressed through thoughts but also through designs and forms of organization fixed and legitimized.

The paradigm of functional diversity

The idea of ​​capacitism is born from a new perspective that addresses the way in which socially and politically welcomes people considered disabled. This new paradigm is based on the concept of functional diversity, which is used as a substitute for "disability".

And what is functional diversity? It is an idea used to avoid stigmatization of disabled people . These, instead of being seen as "broken", incomplete human beings or, in short, "erroneous bodies", are considered representatives of another kind of functionality, neither better nor worse than what was considered "normal" (the which, from the perspective of functional diversity, ceases to be considered as such).


In this way, capacistism points out as a fundamental problem the generalized assumption of the idea that people with functional diversity are a deviation from normality and that, at the same time, they do not have the same rights as other human beings.

Capacitism and the halo effect

One of the psychological phenomena that explain how capacitism works is that of the halo effect.

The halo effect is a tendency to value people based on one of their characteristics and extending to the wholeness of his person the value judgment that has been made on that initial feature.

That is why, for example, that a person who gives much importance to stereotypes linked to politics can come to value neatly a behavior in a person dressed in a certain way (for example, with dreadlocks) and, on the other hand, value positively that same behavior in another individual dressed in another way.


The halo effect hijacks our ability to evaluate in a reasonable and exhaustive way the different nuances and characteristics of a person , and causes us to simply extend to the whole our opinion about a specific feature that has caught our attention. In addition, there are indications that the halo effect may be present in most humans.

In this way, people with functional diversity are labeled by their biological characteristics and their point of view is minimized or considered an emanation of their condition of disabled individuals. The capacitismo is reflected in part from the typecasting: whatever is done, that will be interpreted as a direct consequence of the fact of being disabled, which makes you see less humanity of these people. And this, of course, has a very negative effect on the self-esteem of many.

  • Related article: "What is the Halo Effect?"

How to create a more inclusive society

To stop the capacitism, mental health professionals from all areas (also clinical psychology) emphasize the need to not attribute all the problems of a disabled person to their individuality , as if it were a painful experience that should be carried out in silence. As an alternative, a bio-psycho-social approach is proposed that takes into account the importance of the context.

For example, tetraplegia does not generate so many problems if society adapts to it by creating access for wheelchairs and avoiding architectural barriers . Occasionally, the concept of disability can be used as an excuse to bring to the private and individual problems that must be addressed collectively.

Thus, attention to disabled people does not only consist of treatments focused on the individual, but also on social education and networking so that the context also adapts to the individual, and not just the other way around. Eliminate capacitism implies a change in awareness and also coordinated action of several people who intend to change institutions publicly and privately.


Manifesto Freak (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Capacitisme: discrimination contre la diversité fonctionnelle

Capacitisme: discrimination contre la diversité fonctionnelle

Septembre 21, 2021

On prend de plus en plus conscience des différents types de discrimination auxquels certains groupes et minorités sont confrontés au quotidien. Par exemple, le racisme et le machisme sont des exemples de façons de penser qui aboutissent à un traitement inégal de certaines personnes pour ce qu'elles sont.

Mais il existe d'autres concepts qui font référence à la manière dont il est actuellement discriminé. Par exemple, le capacitismo, évoqué le traitement inégal que les gens avec la diversité fonctionnelle reçoivent , plusieurs fois stigmatisé et traité des préjugés pour être considéré comme handicapé.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 16 types de discrimination (et leurs causes)"

Qu'est ce que le capacitisme?

Le capacitisme est cette forme de discrimination idéologique et matérielle dirigée contre les personnes considérées comme handicapées. C’est-à-dire que le capacitisme fait référence aux préjugés et aux stéréotypes qui conduisent à dénigrer les personnes ayant une diversité fonctionnelle, mais se reflète également dans les lois et les structures matérielles (architecturale, urbaine, etc.) cela suppose une barrière pour ce groupe.


C'est-à-dire que ce capacitisme il est à la fois idéologique et institutionnel , parce qu’il s’exprime à travers des pensées mais aussi à travers des conceptions et des formes d’organisation figées et légitimées.

Le paradigme de la diversité fonctionnelle

L'idée de capacitisme est née d'une nouvelle perspective qui aborde la manière dont la société accueille socialement et politiquement les personnes considérées comme handicapées. Ce nouveau paradigme est basé sur le concept de diversité fonctionnelle, utilisé comme substitut du "handicap".

Et quelle est la diversité fonctionnelle? C'est une idée utilisée pour éviter la stigmatisation des personnes handicapées . Celles-ci, au lieu d'être perçues comme des êtres humains incomplets ou "brisés" ou, en un mot, des "corps erronés", sont considérées comme des représentants d'un autre type de fonctionnalité, ni meilleur ni pire que ce qui était considéré "normal" qui, du point de vue de la diversité fonctionnelle, cesse d’être considéré comme tel).


De cette manière, le capacistisme souligne comme un problème fondamental l’hypothèse généralisée de l’idée que les personnes fonctionnant avec une diversité fonctionnelle dérogent à la normalité et qu’elles n’ont pas les mêmes droits que les autres êtres humains.

Capacitisme et effet de halo

L'un des phénomènes psychologiques expliquant le fonctionnement du capacitisme est celui de l'effet de halo.

L'effet de halo est une tendance à valoriser les personnes en fonction de l'une de leurs caractéristiques et étendre à la complétude de sa personne le jugement de valeur qui a été rendu sur cette caractéristique initiale.

C’est pourquoi, par exemple, une personne qui attache beaucoup d’importance aux stéréotypes liés à la politique peut bien valoriser un comportement chez une personne vêtue d’une certaine manière (par exemple avec des dreadlocks) et, d’autre part, valoriser positivement ce même comportement chez un autre individu habillé d'une autre manière.


L’effet de halo détourne notre capacité à évaluer de manière raisonnable et exhaustive les différentes nuances et caractéristiques d'une personne , et nous amène simplement à élargir notre opinion sur un élément spécifique qui a retenu notre attention. De plus, il semble que l’effet de halo puisse être présent chez la plupart des humains.

De cette manière, les personnes présentant une diversité fonctionnelle sont identifiées par leurs caractéristiques biologiques et leur point de vue est minimisé ou considéré comme une émanation de leur condition d'individus handicapés. Le capacitismo se reflète en partie dans la conversion typographique: quoi que l'on fasse, cela sera interprété comme une conséquence directe du fait d'être handicapé, ce qui fait que l'on voit moins d'humanité de ces personnes. Et cela, bien sûr, a un effet très négatif sur l'estime de soi de beaucoup.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'effet Halo?"

Comment créer une société plus inclusive

Pour mettre fin au capacitisme, les professionnels de la santé mentale de tous les domaines (y compris la psychologie clinique) insistent sur la nécessité de: n'attribue pas tous les problèmes d'une personne handicapée à son individualité , comme s’il s’agissait d’une expérience douloureuse qui devrait être menée en silence. Une approche bio-psycho-sociale prenant en compte l’importance du contexte est également proposée.

Par exemple, la tétraplégie ne génère pas autant de problèmes si la société s'y adapte en créant un accès pour les fauteuils roulants et éviter les barrières architecturales . Parfois, le concept de handicap peut être utilisé comme une excuse pour apporter aux problèmes privés et individuels des problèmes qui doivent être traités collectivement.

Ainsi, l'attention portée aux personnes handicapées ne consiste pas uniquement en des traitements axés sur l'individu, mais également à l'éducation sociale et au réseautage afin que le contexte s'adapte également à l'individu, et pas uniquement l'inverse. Éliminer le capacitisme implique un changement de conscience et une action coordonnée de plusieurs personnes qui ont l'intention de changer d'institution en public et en privé.


MÉLENCHON - Esprit de campagne spécial 18 mars (version complète) - #18mars2017 (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes