yes, therapy helps!
Carnophobia (meat phobia): symptoms, causes and treatment

Carnophobia (meat phobia): symptoms, causes and treatment

December 3, 2022

Carnophobia is characterized by a persistent and intense fear of meat . It is not necessarily accompanied by a political decision to abandon the consumption of this food, although it may be related to this.

We will see next what is carnophobia, what is the difference between a phobia and an aversion, and finally what are the remedies that exist to treat its symptoms.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Carnophobia: fear of meat

As the name implies, carnphobia is the persistent and intense fear of the flesh. As long as it is a phobia, the persistent fear of meat must be presented irrationally or excessively, that is, it is a disproportionate fear of a stimulus that usually does not represent a danger for whoever perceives it.


In other words, to be considered a phobia, this fear of meat should not be manifested only as a decided rejection of the consumption of foods of animal origin, as could happen in the case of veganism or vegetarianism.

Neither is it an undeveloped taste for meat or a preference for a specific type of this food. It is rather a fear that is activated by any stimulus that approaches the flesh, triggering a disproportionate anxiety response .

However, if this fear does not manifest itself in a persistent, intense and disproportionate way, not significantly affecting the quality of life of the person, it may not be a phobia, but an aversion.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of meat, its properties and disadvantages"

Phobia or aversion to meat?

The main difference between a phobia and an aversion is the intensity of the fear experienced, and the manner in which it is presented. An aversion can be defined as a strong repulsion to touch, try or listen to things that most people are indifferent to or find pleasing (Bados, 2005).

Unlike a phobia, aversions produce discomfort, but not fear or anxiety; they present themselves before stimuli other than specific phobias and do not cause obsessions or rituals.

The aversions can cause a series of momentary physiological reactions such as the following: chills or bristling of the hair, pallor, cold, breathing wave , and sometimes nausea. They are common, for example, the aversions to the touch of the hairy surfaces like wool or pen; to hear squeaking sounds; or to smell and taste fatty foods, foods of certain textures, or muscular tissues of animal origin (meat).


In general, aversions do not negatively and significantly affect a person's quality of life, since they do not prevent them from carrying out daily activities, and they are not manifested by a clinically observable anxiety picture. However, they can represent significant discomforts to the stimulus that provokes the aversion.

Thus, if the exposure to the flesh causes discomfort and mild or momentary physiological reactions, then it is an aversion. On the contrary, if exposure to meat causes clinically significant discomfort (an anxiety that interferes with daily activities), and is presented persistently generating voluntary and involuntary avoidance of the meat, then it can be a carnphobia.

Possible causes

As with other phobias, a fear persists in the flesh may be caused by actual or perceived damage associated with the consumption of such food . Some concrete examples of experiences that can cause this fear are the following:

  • A severe disease, generated immediately after consuming meat.
  • A traumatic trip to a butcher shop or slaughterhouse.
  • An accident while cooking meat.
  • Adverse emotions related to images for or against meat products.

This may be the cause of having developed both a phobia and an aversion to meat, and the latter may have generated a political position on the consumption or industrialization of this food, although not necessarily.

Is treatment necessary?

Any real or perceived fear, which is experienced in a persistent and disproportionate way, can be treated through a series of clinical strategies. For example, the live exposure technique , cognitive restructuring, systematic desensitization or relaxation strategies, among others. All of them aim to reduce the experiences of anxiety associated with the stimulus that causes them; which ultimately means that the person develops a positive contact with the stimulus.

However, if the rejection of the meat is derived from a personal choice, which does not interfere with their daily life even if it implies an experience of aversion, the treatment should not aim to consume this food , but the search for alternatives and substitutes.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rodríguez, U. (2012). Gastrofobias: all the fears of the world of food. Retrieved September 11, 2018. Available at //www.infonews.com/nota/37358/gastrofobias-todos-los-miedos-del-mundo.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias Factultat of Psychology. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluaciò i Tractament Psicològics. University of Barcelona.
  • Fear of raw meat? (S / A). Perspecs. Retrieved September 11, 2018. Available at //www.perspecsnews.com/read/business/fear-of-raw-meat/rkxnikyGhz/rygKWvyf2f.

fear of meat (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Carnophobie (phobie de la viande): symptômes, causes et traitement

Carnophobie (phobie de la viande): symptômes, causes et traitement

Août 9, 2022

La carnophobie est caractérisée par une peur persistante et intense de la viande . Cela ne va pas nécessairement de pair avec une décision politique d'abandonner la consommation de cet aliment, bien que cela puisse être lié à cela.

Nous verrons ensuite ce qu’est la carnophobie, quelle est la différence entre une phobie et une aversion et enfin quels sont les remèdes existants pour traiter ses symptômes.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Carnophobie: peur de la viande

Comme son nom l'indique, la carnphobie est la peur persistante et intense de la chair. Tant qu'il s'agit d'une phobie, la peur persistante de la viande doit être présentée de manière irrationnelle ou excessive, c'est-à-dire une peur disproportionnée d'un stimulus qui ne représente généralement pas un danger pour quiconque le perçoit.


En d'autres termes, pour être considérée comme une phobie, cette crainte de la viande ne devrait pas se manifester uniquement par un refus catégorique de la consommation d'aliments d'origine animale, comme cela pourrait arriver dans le cas du véganisme ou du végétarisme.

Ce n'est pas non plus un goût non développé pour la viande ou une préférence pour un type spécifique de cet aliment. C'est plutôt une peur qui est activée par tout stimulus qui approche de la chair, déclencher une réponse anxieuse disproportionnée .

Toutefois, si cette peur ne se manifeste pas de manière persistante, intense et démesurée, et n'affecte pas de manière significative la qualité de la vie de la personne, il ne s'agit peut-être pas d'une phobie, mais d'une aversion.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 types de viande, leurs propriétés et leurs inconvénients"

Phobie ou aversion pour la viande?

La principale différence entre une phobie et une aversion réside dans l'intensité de la peur ressentie et la manière dont elle est présentée. Une aversion peut être définie comme une forte répulsion à toucher, essayer ou écouter des choses que la plupart des gens sont indifférents ou qui plaisent (Bados, 2005).

Contrairement à la phobie, les aversions produisent un inconfort, mais ni la peur ni l’anxiété; ils se présentent avant des stimuli autres que des phobies spécifiques et ne provoquent ni obsessions ni rituels.

Les aversions peuvent provoquer une série de réactions physiologiques momentanées telles que: frissons ou soies des cheveux, pâleur, froid, vague respirante et parfois des nausées. Ils sont communs, par exemple, les aversions au toucher des surfaces velues comme la laine ou un stylo; entendre des sons grinçants; ou pour sentir et goûter les aliments gras, les aliments de certaines textures ou les tissus musculaires d'origine animale (viande).


En général, les aversions n'affectent pas de manière significative et négative la qualité de vie d'une personne, puisqu'elles ne l'empêchent pas de mener à bien des activités quotidiennes et qu'elles ne se manifestent pas par un tableau de l'anxiété cliniquement observable. Cependant, ils peuvent représenter des inconvénients importants pour le stimulus qui provoque l'aversion.

Ainsi, si l'exposition à la chair provoque une gêne et des réactions physiologiques légères ou momentanées, c'est une aversion. Au contraire, si exposition à la viande provoque une gêne cliniquement significative (une anxiété qui interfère avec les activités quotidiennes), et est présentée générant de manière persistante l'évitement volontaire et involontaire de la viande, il peut alors s'agir d'une carnphobie.

Causes possibles

Comme avec les autres phobies, une peur persiste dans la chair peuvent être causés par des dommages réels ou perçus liés à la consommation de tels aliments . Quelques exemples concrets d’expériences pouvant causer cette peur sont les suivants:

  • Une maladie grave, générée immédiatement après avoir consommé de la viande.
  • Un voyage traumatisant dans une boucherie ou un abattoir.
  • Un accident lors de la cuisson de la viande.
  • Émotions indésirables liées aux images pour ou contre les produits carnés.

Cela peut être à l'origine d'une phobie et d'une aversion pour la viande, ce qui peut avoir généré une position politique sur la consommation ou l'industrialisation de cet aliment, mais pas nécessairement.

Un traitement est-il nécessaire?

Toute crainte réelle ou perçue, vécue de manière persistante et disproportionnée, peut être traitée au moyen d’une série de stratégies cliniques. Par exemple, la technique d'exposition en direct , la restructuration cognitive, la désensibilisation systématique ou les stratégies de relaxation, entre autres. Tous visent à réduire les expériences d’anxiété associées au stimulus qui les provoque; ce qui signifie finalement que la personne développe un contact positif avec le stimulus.

Toutefois, si le rejet de la viande découle d'un choix personnel, qui n'interfère pas avec leur vie quotidienne, même s'il implique une expérience d'aversion, le traitement ne doit pas viser à consommer cet aliment , mais la recherche d’alternatives et de substituts.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rodríguez, U. (2012). Gastrofobies: toutes les peurs du monde de la nourriture. Récupéré le 11 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //www.infonews.com/nota/37358/gastrofobias-todos-los-miedos-del-mundo.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques Factultat de psychologie. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluaciò i Tractament Psicològics. Université de Barcelone.
  • Peur de la viande crue? (S / A). Perspecs. Extrait le 11 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.perspecsnews.com/read/business/fear-of-raw-meat/rkxnikyGhz/rygKWvyf2f.

Les phobies #Carnophobie (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes