yes, therapy helps!
Carolyn Wood Sherif: biography of this social psychologist

Carolyn Wood Sherif: biography of this social psychologist

December 3, 2022

Carolyn Wood Sherif (1922-1982) was a social psychologist who, among other things, conducted important research on issues such as intergroup conflict, cooperation, power relations, social judgment, prejudices and gender identities.

Wood Sherif's works were carried out in a context that little promoted the participation of women in social psychology, and are also considered as one of the most influential for the development of this discipline. Next we will do a brief review of a biography of Carolyn Wood Sherif , and we will see some of his contributions in social psychology and gender studies.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Carolyn Wood Sherif: biography of a pioneer in social psychology

Carolyn Wood Sherif was born on June 28, 1922 in Indiana, United States. She was the youngest daughter of three brothers, who were soon given an important motivation for high-level studies, especially in exact sciences. His father was assigned to the University of Purdue, with which both Carolyn and his brothers had the opportunity to start an academic training at that institution.


Although her interest was mainly in the world of the humanities, history and other social sciences, the insistence of her father led Carolyn to also learn mathematics. That's how he positioned himself very soon as one of the best students within different branches, before arriving at social psychology .

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Social Psychology?"

Beginnings in social psychology

After having been trained in several disciplines, and once consecrated as a social psychologist, Wood Sherif herself wondered ... how could I have become a social psychologist? (1983). There were not many opportunities to train and practice as a social psychologist in this context, and in addition, the mixed models between professional development and family commitments were unusual.


Turning to the American context of the Second World War, which is where her academic and personal development took place, she answers that It was his desire to do something to improve the world which led her to ask different questions, which gradually brought her closer to social psychology.

Likewise, this desire led him to wonder about the possibilities that this discipline had to integrate the study of human cognition with motivation and social behavior. He was interested, for example, in the social psychology developed by Kurt Lewin, as well as studies in cultural and social organization, as Muzafer Sherif and Frederic Bartlett did.

Carolyn Wood Sherif and Muzafer Sherif

After finishing his studies at Purdue University, he entered the University of Iowa to pursue a master's degree in psychology, which ended in 1944. Subsequently He started working for a research institute in Princeton , New Jersey. Through this position he gained a lot of experience in research, however, he felt that it was a task very alien to the social issues in which he was interested, so he finally decided to resign.


At this time he began to advise on where and with whom to continue studying, and obtained the proposal to work as a researcher also in Princeton, but together with Muzafer Sherif, who was already one of the most important social psychologists.

The drawback now was that Princeton University did not accept female students, with which, Carolyn he started taking courses at Columbia University . Not without doing, in parallel, research with Sherif, especially on the subject of intergroup relations. Years later, Muzafer Sherif would become her husband.

The cave of the thieves

In the following years, Carolyn Wood Sherif and Muzafer Sherif continued to work together at Princeton University, Yale University and Oklahoma University, managing to publish numerous articles and books that are highly consulted in social psychology to this day.

However, due to the frequent neglect of women's scientific activity in this context; it is common that Carolyn Wood's participation in these works is dismissed or directly omitted, and that the credit is reserved only for Muzafer.

One of his most popular research is the classic experiment of the cave of the thieves , where they analyzed the possible origins of prejudices in different social groups, as well as several inter-group dynamics.In very broad strokes, they conducted an experiment with 22 male adolescents in a field area of ​​Oklahoma, where they could observe how group formation occurs, how social hierarchies are created; and what are some of the origins of friction, hostility and integration.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The thieves' cave experiment: creating conflicts from nothing"

Academic activity and lines of research

In the year of 1958, Carolyn Wood Sherif began to form in a doctorate program of the University of Texas, under the supervision of Wayne Holtzman and the accompaniment of Muzafer Sherif and his three daughters. It was titled in 1961, and He directed a project in the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation of the United States , where he focused on studies on self-concept and youth.

She also worked as an associate researcher at the Institute of Group Relations in Oklahoma and published numerous articles and books on youth, reference groups, attitudes and social justice. Finally, in the decade of the 60's his interests focused on psychology and gender, specifically on gender identity, roles, and their reproduction. The latter coincided with the feminist movements of the same decade, which favored both their academic recognition and their militancy.

In this context he presided over division 35 of the American Psychological Association (APA), during the 70's, which It is known as the Society of Psychology of Women . Her works and her experience made her worthy of several recognitions, among which are prizes of distinguished publication and awards for her contributions to education in psychology.

In the same sense, the division 35 of the APA has dedicated a prize in his honor (the Carolyn Wood Sherif Award), through which recognizes the work of teaching, research and professional leadership in the psychology of women, both psychologists as psychologists.

Bibliographic references:

  • George, M. (2011). Profile Carolyn Wood Sherif. Psychology's Feminist Voices. Retrieved June 27, 2018. Available at //www.feministvoices.com/carolyn-wood-sherif/.
  • O'Connell, A. and Russo, N. (1983). Models of achievement: Reflections of eminent women in psychology. New York: Columbia University Press.

OJ Harvey (2006) (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Carolyn Wood Sherif: biographie de cette psychologue sociale

Carolyn Wood Sherif: biographie de cette psychologue sociale

Août 11, 2020

Carolyn Wood Sherif (1922-1982) était une psychologue sociale qui a notamment mené d'importantes recherches sur des questions telles que les conflits entre groupes, la coopération, les relations de pouvoir, le jugement social, les préjugés et les identités de genre.

Les travaux de Wood Sherif ont été réalisés dans un contexte peu propice à la participation des femmes à la psychologie sociale et sont également considérés comme l’un des plus influents pour le développement de cette discipline. Ensuite nous ferons une brève revue de la biographie de Carolyn Wood Sherif et nous verrons certaines de ses contributions en psychologie sociale et en études de genre.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Carolyn Wood Sherif: biographie d'une pionnière en psychologie sociale

Carolyn Wood Sherif est née le 28 juin 1922 à Indiana, aux États-Unis. Elle était la plus jeune fille de trois frères, à qui on a rapidement donné une motivation importante pour des études de haut niveau, en particulier dans les sciences exactes. Son père a été affecté à l'Université de Purdue, avec laquelle Carolyn et ses frères ont eu l'occasion de commencer une formation académique dans cette institution.


Bien que son intérêt soit principalement dans le monde des sciences humaines, de l'histoire et des autres sciences sociales, l'insistance de son père a amené Carolyn à apprendre également les mathématiques. Voilà comment il s'est positionné très vite l'un des meilleurs étudiants dans différentes branches, avant d'arriver à la psychologie sociale .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Débuts en psychologie sociale

Après avoir été formée dans plusieurs disciplines et avoir été consacrée en tant que psychologue sociale, Wood Sherif s'est elle-même demandée ... comment aurais-je pu devenir psychologue sociale? (1983). Il n’y avait pas beaucoup d’opportunités de formation et de pratique en tant que psychologue social dans ce contexte et, en outre, les modèles mixtes entre développement professionnel et engagements familiaux étaient inhabituels.


Passant au contexte américain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, où s’est déroulée son développement académique et personnel, elle répond que C'était son désir de faire quelque chose pour améliorer le monde ce qui l’a amenée à poser différentes questions, ce qui l’a rapprochée progressivement de la psychologie sociale.

De même, ce désir l'a amené à s'interroger sur les possibilités qu'avait cette discipline d'intégrer l'étude de la cognition humaine avec la motivation et le comportement social. Il s'est intéressé, par exemple, à la psychologie sociale développée par Kurt Lewin, ainsi qu'aux études d'organisation culturelle et sociale, comme l'ont fait Muzafer Sherif et Frederic Bartlett.

Carolyn Wood Sherif et Muzafer Sherif

Après avoir terminé ses études à l’Université Purdue, il entre à l’Université de l’Iowa afin d’obtenir une maîtrise en psychologie, qui s’achève en 1944. Il a commencé à travailler pour un institut de recherche à Princeton , New Jersey. Grâce à ce poste, il a acquis beaucoup d’expérience dans le domaine de la recherche mais, estimant que c’était une tâche très étrangère aux questions sociales qui l’intéressaient, il a finalement décidé de démissionner.


À ce moment, il commença à conseiller où et avec qui poursuivre ses études et obtint la proposition de travailler comme chercheur également à Princeton, mais avec Muzafer Sherif, qui était déjà l'un des psychologues sociaux les plus importants.

L’inconvénient est que l’Université de Princeton n’a pas accepté les étudiantes. Carolyn il a commencé à prendre des cours à l'Université Columbia . Non sans faire, en parallèle, des recherches avec Sherif, notamment sur les relations intergroupes. Des années plus tard, Muzafer Sherif deviendrait son mari.

La caverne des voleurs

Au cours des années suivantes, Carolyn Wood Sherif et Muzafer Sherif ont poursuivi leur collaboration à l’Université de Princeton, à l’Université de Yale et à l’Université de l’Oklahoma.

Cependant, en raison de la négligence fréquente de l'activité scientifique des femmes dans ce contexte; il est fréquent que la participation de Carolyn Wood à ces œuvres soit rejetée ou directement omise, et que le crédit ne soit réservé qu'à Muzafer.

Une de ses recherches les plus populaires est l'expérience classique de la grotte des voleurs , où ils ont analysé les origines possibles des préjugés dans différents groupes sociaux, ainsi que plusieurs dynamiques entre groupes.D'une manière très générale, ils ont mené une expérience auprès de 22 adolescents de sexe masculin dans une région de l'Oklahoma où ils ont pu observer comment se forment les groupes, comment sont créées les hiérarchies sociales; et quelles sont certaines des origines de la friction, de l'hostilité et de l'intégration.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "L'expérience de la caverne des voleurs: créer des conflits à partir de rien"

Activité académique et axes de recherche

En 1958, Carolyn Wood Sherif a commencé à suivre un programme de doctorat à l’Université du Texas, sous la supervision de Wayne Holtzman et avec l’accompagnement de Muzafer Sherif et de ses trois filles. Il a été intitulé en 1961, et Il a dirigé un projet au Bureau de la réadaptation professionnelle des États-Unis. , où il s'est concentré sur des études sur le concept de soi et la jeunesse.

Elle a également été chercheuse associée à l'Institute of Group Relations d'Oklahoma et a publié de nombreux articles et ouvrages sur la jeunesse, les groupes de référence, les attitudes et la justice sociale. Enfin, dans les années 60, il s’intéressait plus particulièrement à la psychologie et au genre, en particulier à l’identité de genre, aux rôles et à leur reproduction. Ce dernier a coïncidé avec les mouvements féministes de la même décennie, qui ont favorisé à la fois leur reconnaissance académique et leur militantisme.

Dans ce contexte, il a présidé la division 35 de l’American Psychological Association (APA), au cours des années 70, Elle est connue sous le nom de Société de psychologie de la femme . Ses travaux et son expérience lui ont valu plusieurs distinctions, parmi lesquelles des prix de publication distinguée et des prix récompensant ses contributions à l'éducation en psychologie.

Dans le même sens, la division 35 de l’APA a consacré un prix en son honneur (le Prix Carolyn Wood Sherif), qui reconnaît le travail d’enseignement, de recherche et de leadership professionnel en psychologie des femmes, psychologues en tant que psychologues.

Références bibliographiques:

  • George, M. (2011). Profil Carolyn Wood Sherif. Les voix féministes de la psychologie. Récupéré le 27 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.feministvoices.com/carolyn-wood-sherif/.
  • O'Connell, A. et Russo, N. (1983). Modèles de réalisation: Réflexions d'éminentes femmes en psychologie. New York: Columbia University Press.

Mass Effect Andromeda - Cora (Dialogues et romance) (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes