yes, therapy helps!
Catatonia: causes, symptoms and treatment of this syndrome

Catatonia: causes, symptoms and treatment of this syndrome

June 16, 2024

It is possible that we have ever seen in a movie, read in a book or even seen in real life some psychiatric patients who remain in a state of absence, rigid and immobile, dumb and unreactive, and can be placed by third parties in any conceivable posture and remaining in that position like a wax doll.

This state is what is called catatonia , a syndrome mainly motor of diverse causes and that affects patients with different types of both mental and medical disorder.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Catatonia as a syndrome: concept and symptoms

Catatonia is a neuropsychological syndrome in which a series of psychomotor symptoms occur, often accompanied by cognitive, awareness and perception alterations.


The most characteristic symptoms of this syndrome are the presence of catalepsy or inability to move due to a state of muscular rigidity that prevents muscle contraction, the waxy flexibility (a state of passive resistance in which the subject does not flex the joints by itself, staying as it is if it is placed in a certain way with the same position and position unless it is changed and in which the members of the body remain in any position in which another person leaves them), silence, negativism before the attempt to make the subject perform any action, ecosymptoms (or repetition / automatic imitation of actions and words carried out by your interlocutor), stereotypes, perseveration , agitation, lack of response to the environment or stupor.


Your diagnosis requires at least three of the aforementioned symptoms , for at least twenty-four hours. As a general rule, anosognosia is presented with respect to motor symptomatology.

Some psychological symptoms

The subjects with this alteration often present intense emotionality , difficult to control, both positively and negatively. Although motor immobility is characteristic, patients sometimes leave it in an emotional state of great intensity and with a high level of movement and agitation that can lead them to self-harm or to attack others. Despite their anosognosia regarding their motor symptoms, they are nonetheless aware of their emotions and the intensity with which they present themselves.

Catatonia can occur in different degrees of greater or lesser severity , producing alterations in the patient's vital functioning that can make it difficult to adapt to the environment.


While the prognosis is good if it starts to be treated soon In some cases it can be chronic and can even be fatal in certain circumstances.

Presentation patterns

Two typical presentation patterns can be observed, one called stuporous or slow catatonia and another known as agitated or delirious catatonia .

The first one is characterized by a state of stupor in which there is absence of functions related to the environment; the individual remains paralyzed and absent from the environment, the common symptoms being catalepsy, waxy flexibility, mutism and negativism.

With regard to agitated or delirious catatonia, it is characterized by symptoms more linked to activation such as ecosymptoms, the realization of stereotyped movements and states of agitation.

Possible causes of catatonia

The causes of catatonia can be very diverse. When considered as neuropsychological syndrome the presence of alterations in the nervous system must be taken into account .

Research shows that patients with catatonia they have some type of dysfunction in part of the right posterior parietal cortex , which is consistent with the fact that people with catatonia are able to initiate movements correctly (so that the supplementary motor area is usually preserved) and the fact that there is anosognosia with respect to motor symptoms. The inferior lateral prefrontal of these subjects also usually presents alterations, as well as the medial orbitofrontal, which also explains the presence of occasional raptus and emotional alterations.

At the hormonal level, the role of GABA is explored, which has been shown to be altered in patients with catatonia, since it has a lower level of attachment to brain structures. Glutamate, serotonin and dopamine also seem to play a relevant role in this disorder, but a higher level of research is needed as to exactly how they influence .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The lobes of the brain and its different functions"

Potential organic causes

One of the first causes that must be explored in the first place is the organic type, since catatonia is a symptom present in a large number of neurological alterations. In this sense we can find that temporal lobe epilepsy, encephalitis, brain tumors and strokes Causes of this syndrome are possible and should be treated immediately.

In addition to this infections such as septicemia or those caused by tuberculosis, malaria, syphilis or HIV can also cause this state. Hepatic and renal failure, hypothyroidism, severe complications of diabetes such as ketocytosis or even severe hypothermia are other conditions that have been linked to the onset of catatonia.

Other biological causes can derive from the consumption and / or abuse of psychoactive substances , whether drugs or psychotropic drugs. For example, it is common for catatonia to appear in the neuroleptic malignant syndrome, a serious and potentially fatal syndrome that in some cases appears when antipsychotics are administered.

Causes from psychodynamics

In addition to the previous causes, some authors related to the Freudian tradition have proposed that in some cases catatonia may have psychological aspects of a symbolic nature as a cause.

Specifically, it has been proposed that catatonia may appear as regression to a primitive state as a defense mechanism against traumatic or frightening stimuli. The explanation is also used that it can also be given as a dissociation response (which in fact is observed in some patients with post-traumatic stress disorder).

However, we must bear in mind that these explanations are based on an epistemology that is far from the scientific, and therefore are no longer considered valid.

Mental disorders in which it appears

Catatonia has long been a syndrome that has been identified with a subtype of schizophrenia, catatonic schizophrenia . However, the presence of this syndrome has also been observed in numerous disorders, both mental and organic.

Some of the different disorders to which it has appeared linked are the following.

1. Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders

It is the type of condition to which catatonia has traditionally been linked, up to the point of considering catatonia as a specific subtype of schizophrenia. Apart from schizophrenia may appear in other disorders such as brief psychotic disorder .

  • Related article: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

2. Mood disorders

Although it has been linked almost since its inception with schizophrenia, the different studies conducted with respect to catatonia seem to indicate that a high number of catatonic patients present some type of mood disorder, especially in manic or depressive episodes . It can be specified in both depressive and bipolar disorders.

3. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Posttraumatic Stress Disorder has also occasionally been associated with catatonic states.

4. Consumption, intoxication, or substance abstinence

The administration or uncontrolled cessation of certain substances with effect on the encephalon can generate catatonia.

5. Autism spectrum disorder

Some children with developmental disorders such as autism may manifest catatonia comorbidly.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of Autism and its characteristics"

Consideration to date

Today the latest revision of one of the main psychology diagnostic manuals, the DSM-5, has removed this label as a subtype of schizophrenia to convert catatonia into an indicator or modifier of the diagnosis of this and other disorders (such as mood). The classification as a neuropsychological syndrome has been added separately from other disorders.

Treatment to apply

Because the etiology (causes) of catatonia can be diverse, the treatments to be applied will depend to a large extent on what produces it. It must analyze its origin and act in a differentiated way depending on which is . Apart from this, the symptoms of catatonia can be treated in different ways.

At the pharmacological level the high utility of benzodiazepines has been proven, which act as GABA agonists in acute cases. The effects of this treatment can eventually reverse the symptoms of most patients. One of the most effective has shown is lorazepam, which is in fact the treatment of first choice.

While it may seem due to its link with schizophrenia that the application of antipsychotics may be useful, the truth is that it can be harmful (remember that catatonia can appear in the neuroleptic malignant syndrome that is precisely caused by the administration of said drugs).

Another therapy used is electro-convulsive therapy , although it is usually applied if the treatment with benzodiazepines does not provoke a response. It also raises the possibility of using together benzodiazepines and electro-convulsive therapy, to be able to enhance the effects.

On a psychological level Occupational therapy can be performed to stimulate the patient, as well as psychoeducation for the patient and their environment in order to provide information and strategies for action and prevention. The treatment of affective symptoms is also very helpful, especially in cases derived from psychiatric disorders.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Arias, S. and Arias, M. (2008) Catatonia: Darkness, Dilemma, Contradiction. Spanish Magazine of movement disorders; 9: 18-23.
  • Crespo, M.L. & Pérez, V. (2005). Catatonia: a neuropsychiatric syndrome. Colombian Journal of Psychiatry. vol. XXXIV, 2. Bogotá.

Schizophrenia Symptoms : What Is Schizophrenia? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Catatonie: causes, symptômes et traitement de ce syndrome

Catatonie: causes, symptômes et traitement de ce syndrome

Mai 25, 2022

Il est possible que nous ayons jamais vu dans un film, lu dans un livre ou même vu dans la vie réelle des patients psychiatriques qui restent dans un état d'absence, rigides et immobiles, muets et non réactifs, et qui peuvent être placés par des tiers dans n'importe quelle situation. posture concevable et rester dans cette position comme une poupée de cire.

Cet état est ce qu'on appelle la catatonie , syndrome principalement moteur de diverses causes et qui affecte les patients atteints de différents types de troubles mentaux et médicaux.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Catatonie en tant que syndrome: concept et symptômes

La catatonie est un syndrome neuropsychologique dans lequel se produisent une série de symptômes psychomoteurs souvent accompagnés d'altérations cognitives, de la conscience et de la perception.


Les symptômes les plus caractéristiques de ce syndrome sont la présence de catalepsie ou l'impossibilité de bouger en raison d'un état de rigidité musculaire qui empêche la contraction musculaire, la souplesse cireuse (état de résistance passive dans lequel le sujet ne fait pas fléchir les articulations par lui-même; il reste tel quel s'il est placé d'une certaine manière avec la même position et la même position à moins qu'il ne soit changé et dans lequel les membres du corps reste dans toute position dans laquelle une autre personne la laisse), silence, négativisme avant toute tentative visant à faire exécuter au sujet toute action, écosymptome (ou répétition / imitation automatique d'actions et de paroles de votre interlocuteur), stéréotypes, persévérance , agitation, manque de réponse à l'environnement ou stupeur.


Votre diagnostic nécessite au moins trois des symptômes susmentionnés. pendant au moins vingt-quatre heures. En règle générale, l'anosognosie est présentée en ce qui concerne la symptomatologie motrice.

Certains symptômes psychologiques

Les sujets avec cette altération présente souvent une émotion intense , difficile à contrôler, à la fois positivement et négativement. Bien que l’immobilité motrice soit caractéristique, les patients la quittent parfois dans un état émotionnel d’une grande intensité et avec un niveau élevé de mouvement et d’agitation pouvant les amener à s’automutiler ou à attaquer les autres. Malgré leur anosognosie concernant leurs symptômes moteurs, ils sont néanmoins conscients de leurs émotions et de l'intensité avec laquelle ils se présentent.

Catatonia peut survenir à différents degrés de gravité plus ou moins grande , produisant des altérations dans le fonctionnement vital du patient qui peuvent rendre difficile son adaptation à l'environnement.


Pendant que le pronostic est bon s'il commence à être traité rapidement Dans certains cas, il peut être chronique et même fatal dans certaines circonstances.

Modèles de présentation

Deux modèles de présentation typiques peuvent être observés, une catatonie dite stupide ou lente et une autre appelée catatonie agitée ou délirante .

Le premier est caractérisé par un état de stupeur dans lequel il y a absence de fonctions liées à l'environnement; l'individu reste paralysé et absent de l'environnement, les symptômes communs étant la catalepsie, la souplesse cireuse, le mutisme et le négativisme.

En ce qui concerne la catatonie agitée ou délirante, elle se caractérise par des symptômes plus liés à l’activation tels que les écosymptomes, la réalisation de mouvements stéréotypés et d'états d'agitation.

Causes possibles de la catatonie

Les causes de la catatonie peuvent être très diverses. Lorsque considéré comme syndrome neuropsychologique la présence d'altérations du système nerveux doit être prise en compte .

La recherche montre que les patients atteints de catatonie ils ont un type de dysfonctionnement dans une partie du cortex pariétal postérieur droit , ce qui est cohérent avec le fait que les personnes atteintes de catatonie sont capables d’initier les mouvements correctement (de sorte que la zone motrice supplémentaire soit généralement préservée) et le fait qu’il existe une anosognosie au regard des symptômes moteurs. La préfrontale latérale inférieure de ces sujets présente aussi généralement des altérations, de même que l’orbitofrontal médial, ce qui explique également la présence d’altitudes occasionnelles et d’altérations émotionnelles.

Au niveau hormonal, le rôle du GABA est exploré, car il a été démontré que celui-ci est altéré chez les patients atteints de catatonie, car son degré d'attachement aux structures cérébrales est plus faible. Le glutamate, la sérotonine et la dopamine semblent également jouer un rôle important dans ce trouble, mais un niveau plus élevé de recherche est nécessaire pour savoir exactement comment ils influencent .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les lobes du cerveau et ses différentes fonctions"

Causes organiques potentielles

L'une des premières causes à explorer est le type organique, la catatonie étant un symptôme présent dans un grand nombre d'altérations neurologiques. En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver que épilepsie, encéphalite, tumeurs cérébrales et accidents vasculaires cérébraux du lobe temporal Les causes de ce syndrome sont possibles et doivent être traitées immédiatement.

En plus de ces infections, telles que la septicémie ou celles causées par la tuberculose, le paludisme, la syphilis ou le VIH, peuvent également être à l'origine de cet état. L'insuffisance hépatique et rénale, l'hypothyroïdie, les complications graves du diabète telles que la cétocytose ou même l'hypothermie sévère sont d'autres affections liées à l'apparition de la catatonie.

Autres causes biologiques peuvent provenir de la consommation et / ou de l'abus de substances psychoactives , que ce soit des médicaments ou des médicaments psychotropes. Par exemple, il est courant que la catatonie apparaisse dans le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques, un syndrome grave et potentiellement mortel qui apparaît parfois lorsque des antipsychotiques sont administrés.

Causes de la psychodynamique

En plus des causes précédentes, certains auteurs liés à la tradition freudienne ont proposé que, dans certains cas, la catatonie puisse avoir pour cause des aspects psychologiques de nature symbolique.

Plus précisément, il a été proposé que la catatonie puisse apparaître comme régression vers un état primitif comme mécanisme de défense contre les stimuli traumatiques ou effrayants. L'explication est également utilisée car il peut également être donné comme une réponse de dissociation (qui est en fait observée chez certains patients atteints de trouble de stress post-traumatique).

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que ces explications sont basées sur une épistémologie très éloignée de la science et ne sont donc plus considérées comme valides.

Troubles mentaux dans lesquels il apparaît

La catatonie est depuis longtemps un syndrome qui a été identifié avec un sous-type de schizophrénie, schizophrénie catatonique . Cependant, la présence de ce syndrome a également été observée dans de nombreux troubles, à la fois mentaux et organiques.

Certains des différents troubles auxquels il est apparu lié sont les suivants.

1. Schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques

C’est le type de trouble auquel la catatonie est traditionnellement liée, jusqu’à considérer la catatonie comme un sous-type spécifique de la schizophrénie. En dehors de la schizophrénie peut apparaître dans d'autres troubles tels que le trouble psychotique bref .

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

2. Troubles de l'humeur

Bien qu’elle soit liée presque depuis le début à la schizophrénie, les différentes études menées sur la catatonie semblent indiquer qu’un grand nombre de patients catatoniques présentent un type de trouble de l’humeur, en particulier dans les épisodes maniaques ou dépressifs . Il peut être spécifié dans les troubles dépressifs et bipolaires.

3. État de stress post-traumatique

Le trouble de stress post-traumatique a aussi parfois été associé à des états catatoniques.

4. Consommation, intoxication ou abstinence de substance

L'administration ou l'arrêt incontrôlé de certaines substances avec effet sur l'encéphale peut générer une catatonie.

5. Trouble du spectre de l'autisme

Certains enfants atteints de troubles du développement tels que l'autisme peuvent manifester une catatonie de façon concomitante.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d'autisme et ses caractéristiques"

Considération à ce jour

Aujourd'hui, la dernière révision de l'un des principaux manuels de diagnostic psychologique, le DSM-5, a supprimé cette étiquette en tant que sous-type de schizophrénie transformer la catatonie en indicateur ou modificateur du diagnostic de ce trouble et d’autres troubles (tels que l’humeur). La classification en tant que syndrome neuropsychologique a été ajoutée séparément des autres troubles.

Traitement à appliquer

Comme l'étiologie (les causes) de la catatonie peut être diverse, les traitements à appliquer dépendront dans une large mesure de ce qui la produit. Il doit analyser son origine et agir de manière différenciée en fonction de ce qui est . En dehors de cela, les symptômes de la catatonie peuvent être traités de différentes manières.

Au niveau pharmacologique la grande utilité des benzodiazépines a été prouvée, qui agissent comme agonistes du GABA dans les cas aigus. Les effets de ce traitement peuvent éventuellement inverser les symptômes de la plupart des patients. Le lorazépam est l’un des traitements les plus efficaces. Il s’agit en fait du traitement de premier choix.

L’application des antipsychotiques peut sembler utile en raison de son lien avec la schizophrénie, mais la vérité est qu’elle peut être néfaste dit drogues).

Une autre thérapie utilisée est la thérapie électro-convulsive , bien qu’il soit généralement appliqué si le traitement aux benzodiazépines ne provoque pas de réponse. Cela soulève également la possibilité d’utiliser conjointement des benzodiazépines et une thérapie électro-convulsive afin d’améliorer les effets.

Sur le plan psychologique L'ergothérapie peut être réalisée pour stimuler le patient, ainsi que la psychoéducation pour le patient et son environnement afin de fournir des informations et des stratégies d’action et de prévention. Le traitement des symptômes affectifs est également très utile, notamment dans les cas de troubles psychiatriques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Arias, S. et Arias, M. (2008) Catatonia: obscurité, dilemme, contradiction. Magazine espagnol sur les troubles du mouvement; 9: 18-23.
  • Crespo, M.L. & Pérez, V. (2005). Catatonie: syndrome neuropsychiatrique. Journal colombien de psychiatrie. vol. XXXIV, 2. Bogotá.

Syndrome catatonique de l’enfant et de l’adolescent : une pathologie rare (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes