yes, therapy helps!
Caudate nucleus: characteristics, functions and disorders

Caudate nucleus: characteristics, functions and disorders

January 25, 2022

When we think about the brain, we usually imagine the superficial and outer layer, the cerebral cortex. However, below this we can find a large number of structures of fundamental importance for the survival of the human being, all participating in different types of functions such as the integration of information.

One of these subcortical structures is the caudate nucleus, whose characteristics we will see next .

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the caudate nucleus?

The caudate nucleus is a subcortical structure, that is, located inside the encephalon, which part of the basal ganglia . Together with the putamen and the nucleus accumbens, it forms the body known as the striated body, an element very closely linked to the control of movement.


Located above the thalamus and below the orbitofrontal cortex to subsequently bend towards the occipital lobe, the caudate nucleus connects with the rest of the basal ganglia as well as the frontal cortex and the limbic system. We have two units of this nucleus, each one of them located in a cerebral hemisphere. At the level of neurotransmitters, the caudate nucleus is mainly influenced by dopamine and GABA.

The caudate nucleus is usually divided into three parts , the head, the body and the tail. While the first is one of the thickest parts and is in more contact with the frontal cortex, the tail is connected to the limbic system. Head and body are in close contact with the lateral ventricles.


  • You may be interested: "Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions"

Main functions of the caudate nucleus

The caudate nucleus and the set of basal ganglia have a high importance in the human nervous system, participating in essential functions to ensure both a correct adaptation to the environment and the survival itself by allowing the regulation of behavior through aspects such as memory and the motivation. In addition, they have also been linked to a large extent realization and coordination of movements .

Below you can find detailed some of the functions that have been attributed to the caudate nucleus.

Movement control

Together with the rest of the basal ganglia, it has traditionally been considered that the caudate nucleus has a high participation in motor control and coordination . The maintenance of the position of the members of the body, and the precision in the fine movement are some of the aspects in which the caudate participates. This can be seen in the consequences of its dysfunction, in disorders such as Parkinson's and Huntington's disease.


Memory and learning

Learning and memory are elements in which it has been found that the caudate nucleus also has an important role. For example, Procedural learning depends on this brain area . Specifically, the caudate nucleus allows the organism to be able to obtain feedback from the outside world regarding what happens and what is done. It also participates in the understanding of auditory stimuli, such as those of language.

Alarm sensation

Another of the main functions of this brain region is the perception of the alarm sensation , thanks to which we can identify that something is not working correctly and respond accordingly.

Motivation

The caudate nucleus is of paramount importance in terms of the motivation of the human being. It is a structure that connects the limbic system with the frontal cortex , so that cognitive information is transformed and linked to an emotional meaning. Its destruction can generate the appearance of extreme abulia and PAP syndrome.

Disorders and alterations in which he participates

The caudate nucleus and in general the basal ganglia as a whole, due to its multiple connections with other cerebral areas such as the orbitofrontal cortex or the limbic system, are structures of great importance for the correct functioning of the nervous system and for our adaptation to the environment. .

The presence of alterations can generate or participate in the genesis or maintenance of various types of disorder. Some of the disorders in which the caudate nucleus participates They are the following.

1. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder and Other Obsessive Disorders

As we have mentioned, the caudate nucleus has an important participation in the response mechanism to a specific situation, as well as in the sensation of alarm. In the TOC said mechanism presents an over-activation , finding that patients with this disorder usually have a high neural activation in the caudate.

In addition to OCD itself, in other disorders of a similar nature such as accumulation disorder, excoriation disorder or trichotillomania, this high level of activity can also be found.

2. Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

ADHD is another disorder in which the caudate nucleus has a certain level of involvement. Specifically, in this case there is an activation below the usual, with which the ability to remember, feedback and motivation are reduced .

  • Related article: "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), also in adults"

3. Huntington's Korea

In Huntington's Korea, the caudate nucleus is one of the first areas to present neuronal death, and in the long run it ends up generating a progressive loss of executive and memory functions and the realization of uncontrolled movements in the form of twists and turns of body parts similar to a dance.

4. Parkinson

Parkinson's is another disease linked to the caudate nucleus. Specifically, parkinsonian symptoms are caused by degradation and death of the neurons that form the nigrostriatal pathway .

5. Syndrome of loss of psychic self-activation

Damage to the caudate nucleus causes the loss of motivation and hinders the connection between emotion and cognition. That is why its destruction generates a deep sense of indifference Whatever happens, even if it threatens your own survival.

6. Hypermnesia

Although it is generally not considered a disorder, the presence of hypermnesia in some people has been linked, among other brain regions, with the caudate nucleus. Specifically, it has been observed that people with above-average memory abilities They have a larger caudate nucleus than most people.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carlson, N.R. (2014). Physiology of Behavior (11th Edition). Madrid: Pearson Education.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Melnick, M.E. (2013). Basal ganglia disorders. In: Umphred DA, Burton GU, Lazaro RT, Roller ML, eds. Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Mosby; chap 20
  • Packard, M.G. & Knowlton, B.J. (2002). Learning and functions of the memory of the basal ganglia. Annu Rev Neurosci 25: 563-59.

The basal ganglia - The direct pathway | Nervous system diseases | NCLEX-RN | Khan Academy (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Noyau caudé: caractéristiques, fonctions et désordres

Noyau caudé: caractéristiques, fonctions et désordres

Novembre 19, 2022

Lorsque nous pensons au cerveau, nous imaginons généralement la couche superficielle et externe, le cortex cérébral. Cependant, en dessous de celui-ci, on trouve un grand nombre de structures d’une importance fondamentale pour la survie de l’être humain, qui participent toutes à différents types de fonctions telles que l’intégration de l’information.

Une de ces structures sous-corticales est le noyau caudé, dont nous verrons les caractéristiques .

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quel est le noyau caudé?

Le noyau caudé est une structure sous-corticale, c’est-à-dire située à l’intérieur de l’encéphale, qui partie des ganglions de la base . Avec le putamen et le noyau accumbens, il forme le corps appelé corps strié, élément étroitement lié au contrôle du mouvement.


Situé au-dessus du thalamus et au-dessous du cortex orbitofrontal pour se plier ensuite vers le lobe occipital, le noyau caudé se connecte au reste des noyaux gris centraux ainsi qu'au cortex frontal et au système limbique. Nous avons deux unités de ce noyau, chacune d’elles située dans un hémisphère cérébral. Au niveau des neurotransmetteurs, le noyau caudé est principalement influencé par la dopamine et le GABA.

Le noyau caudé est généralement divisé en trois parties , la tête, le corps et la queue. Alors que la première est l'une des parties les plus épaisses et est plus en contact avec le cortex frontal, la queue est connectée au système limbique. La tête et le corps sont en contact étroit avec les ventricules latéraux.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les ganglions de la base: anatomie et fonctions"

Principales fonctions du noyau caudé

Le noyau caudé et l’ensemble des noyaux gris centraux ont une grande importance dans le système nerveux humain. Ils participent à des fonctions essentielles pour assurer à la fois une adaptation correcte à l’environnement et la survie elle-même, en permettant la régulation du comportement par des aspects comme la la motivation En outre, ils ont également été liés dans une large mesure réalisation et coordination de mouvements .

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste détaillée des fonctions attribuées au noyau caudé.

Contrôle de mouvement

Avec le reste des noyaux gris centraux, on a toujours considéré que le noyau caudé avait une forte participation à contrôle moteur et coordination . Le maintien de la position des membres du corps et la précision du mouvement précis font partie des aspects auxquels participe le caudé. Cela peut être vu dans les conséquences de son dysfonctionnement, dans des troubles tels que la maladie de Parkinson et la maladie de Huntington.


Mémoire et apprentissage

L'apprentissage et la mémoire sont des éléments dans lesquels il a été constaté que le noyau caudé joue également un rôle important. Par exemple, L'apprentissage procédural dépend de cette zone du cerveau . Plus précisément, le noyau caudé permet à l’organisme d’être en mesure d’obtenir des informations du monde extérieur sur ce qui se passe et ce qui est fait. Il participe également à la compréhension des stimuli auditifs, tels que ceux du langage.

Sensation d'alarme

Une autre des fonctions principales de cette région du cerveau est la perception de la sensation d'alarme , grâce à quoi nous pouvons identifier que quelque chose ne fonctionne pas correctement et réagir en conséquence.

La motivation

Le noyau caudé est d’une importance capitale pour la motivation de l’être humain. C'est une structure qui relie le système limbique au cortex frontal , de sorte que les informations cognitives soient transformées et liées à un sens émotionnel. Sa destruction peut générer l’apparence d’abulia extrême et du syndrome PAP.

Désordres et altérations auxquels il participe

Le noyau caudé et, en général, les noyaux gris centraux dans leur ensemble, en raison de leurs multiples connexions avec d'autres zones cérébrales telles que le cortex orbitofrontal ou le système limbique, sont des structures d'une grande importance pour le bon fonctionnement du système nerveux et pour notre adaptation à l'environnement. .

La présence d'altérations peut générer ou participer à la genèse ou au maintien de divers types de troubles. Certains des désordres auxquels participe le noyau caudé Ils sont les suivants.

1. Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif et autres troubles obsessionnels

Comme nous l'avons mentionné, le noyau caudé a une participation importante dans le mécanisme de réponse à une situation spécifique, ainsi que dans le sentiment d'alarme. Dans la table des matières ledit mécanisme présente une sur-activation , constatant que les patients atteints de ce trouble ont généralement une forte activation neuronale chez le caudé.

En plus du TOC lui-même, dans d’autres troubles de même nature, tels que le trouble de l’accumulation, le trouble de l’excoriation ou la trichotillomanie, on peut également trouver ce niveau élevé d’activité.

2. Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

Le TDAH est un autre trouble dans lequel le noyau caudé a un certain niveau d’implication. En particulier, dans ce cas, il y a une activation en dessous de la normale, avec laquelle la capacité de se souvenir, la rétroaction et la motivation sont réduites .

  • Article connexe: "Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), également chez l'adulte"

3. La Corée de Huntington

En Corée de Huntington, le noyau caudé est l’un des premiers domaines à présenter la mort neuronale et finit par générer une perte progressive des fonctions de l'exécutif et de la mémoire et la réalisation de mouvements incontrôlés sous la forme de rebondissements de parties du corps similaires à une danse.

4. Parkinson

La maladie de Parkinson est une autre maladie liée au noyau caudé. Plus précisément, les symptômes parkinsoniens sont causés par dégradation et mort des neurones qui forment la voie nigrostriatale .

5. Syndrome de perte d'auto-activation psychique

Les dommages au noyau caudé entraînent une perte de motivation et entravent le lien entre émotion et cognition. C’est pourquoi sa destruction génère un profond sentiment d'indifférence Quoi qu’il arrive, même si cela menace ta propre survie.

6. Hypermnésie

Bien que cela ne soit généralement pas considéré comme un trouble, la présence d'une hypermnésie chez certaines personnes a été liée, entre autres régions du cerveau, au noyau caudé. Plus précisément, il a été observé que personnes ayant des capacités de mémoire supérieures à la moyenne Ils ont un noyau caudé plus grand que la plupart des gens.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carlson, N.R. (2014). Physiologie du comportement (11ème édition). Madrid: Éducation Pearson.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Melnick, M.E. (2013). Troubles des ganglions de la base. Dans: Umphred DA, Burton GU, Lazaro RT, Roller ML, éds. Rééducation Neurologique d'Umphred. 6ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Mosby; chap 20
  • Packard, M.G. & Knowlton, B.J. (2002). Apprentissage et fonctions de la mémoire des noyaux gris centraux. Annu Rev Neurosci 25: 563-59.

Ganglions de la base (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes