yes, therapy helps!
Causes of gender inequality: differential socialization

Causes of gender inequality: differential socialization

November 27, 2021

Socialization based on sex causes gender inequality . This socialization occurs even before birth: from the moment in which pregnancy identifies whether the baby will be a boy or a girl, a long process of socialization begins which results in the differentiation of people as men or women.

From the perspective of gender it is possible to understand that the application of the sex-gender system in the socialization process builds a set of beliefs at the social level in which each gender is assigned certain behaviors.

The difference between sex and gender

The roles of each gender are given different importance according to a hierarchy of values, positioning women in inferiority. Thus stereotypes arise that contribute to the maintenance of inequalities between men and women.


The concept "sex" refers exclusively to physical characteristics that differentiates people biologically as men and women. However, the concept "gender" is a social construction based on the assignment of different roles according to sex.

This means that gender is used to describe those socially constructed characteristics differentially for women and men. The social differences that we find in today's society between men and women are the result of learning the sex-gender system.

The sex-gender system: a theory about inequality

The sex-gender system is a theoretical model that explains how gender socialization occurs. This theory identifies the natural with the socially constructed and establishes that sex in itself is not the cause of inequality between women and men, but their socially constructed gender position.


This system produces a set of learned and internalized social norms that structure the behaviors of both sexes and condition the perception and interpretation of social reality. Consequently, they generate a differential socialization.

Biological inequalities translate into social inequalities , political and economic policies between women and men that generate sexism, with women being the most disadvantaged in this process.

From birth, people learn the behaviors, attitudes, roles and activities that correspond to the characteristics determined by belonging to one sex or the other, thus developing gender identity and gender roles.

Gender roles and identity construction

Gender identity is the assignment to one sex or the other, that is, identification as a man or woman. From this gender identification, the development of a specific differentiation process in which gender roles are learned is triggered.


Gender roles imply assuming social representations as their own about masculinity and femininity through the various agents of socialization: the family, the educational system, the media, the culture, the community, institutions, etc.

This socialization is maintained throughout life. Through interactions with other people, the values, attitudes, expectations and behaviors of each society are learned and internalized in order to function in it.

The differential socialization between women and men

The theory of the differential socialization of Walker and Barton (1983) explains how people, in their process of initiation of social and cultural life and from the influence of socializing agents, acquire gender differential identities that entail attitudes, behaviors, moral codes and stereotyped norms of the behavior assigned to each gender.

The key to the process of differential socialization is the congruence between messages issued by all socialization agents . This facilitates the assumption and internalization by each individual to the point of considering that it is something of their own, of their personality, producing that they think and behave in accordance. In this way, children will assume the traditional masculine and feminine roles as their own from childhood.

Male roles: work and ambition

The socialization of children in the traditional male role focuses on producing and progressing in the public sphere. They are expected to achieve success in this area as they are prepared and educated so that their self-esteem and gratification come from the public sphere.

Men are repressed in the affective sphere enhancing freedoms, talent and diverse ambitions that facilitate self-promotion. They receive a lot of encouragement and little protection, which guides them towards action, the external, the macrosocial and the independence.Men are taught the value of work as a priority and defining obligation of their condition.

Female roles: family and home

In the case of girls, the process of socialization in the traditional female role focuses on their preparation for reproduction and their permanence in the private sphere. It is expected that their successes come from this area, which will shape both their source of gratification and their self-esteem.

In the opposite way to men, they repress their liberties, talents and ambitions that facilitate self-promotion, promoting the affective sphere. They receive little encouragement and enough protection, which guides them towards intimacy, the interior, the microsocial, the dependence and the value of work is not inculcated as a priority obligation nor defining their condition.

All these values ​​and norms are called gender mandates , that is, those implicit social norms that do not reflect what men and women are but how they should or should be and what is expected of each one of them.

  • Related article: "Patriarchy: 7 keys to understanding cultural machismo"

Socializing agents: how gender roles are reinforced

The process of differential socialization according to gender occurs through different reinforcements and models. Differential reinforcement occurs when men and women are rewarded or punished for different behaviors , interests or expression of emotions.

Much of this learning occurs in the first years of life through modeling, that is, learning through the observation of other people's behaviors and the consequences that such behavior has for the model.

This normative and informative influence is produced through socialization agents. The main socializing agents are:

1. The family

The first models that the child will have are the members of his family and have an important role in the first stage of life as transmitters of behaviors, values, etc., through modeling and emotional learning. Several studies indicate that the most important role of the family lies in the regulation of activities typified by sex.

2. The education system

The education system is the social structure that best reflects dominant beliefs and values . Its influence on the maintenance of differences occurs through the hidden curriculum and the processes of social interaction that occur in the education system.

There are four aspects of differential socialization that contribute to the hidden curriculum: the distribution of men and women in the education system, which acts as a role model for students; educational material and textbooks, which tend to reproduce gender stereotypes; school organization and practices, which reproduce the choices of traditional gender activities; and the teachers' expectations and attitudes, which affect the expectations that students have of themselves.

Regarding the processes of social interaction, differences in interaction in the classroom, differences in attention by teachers, in the distribution of play spaces, etc. have also been observed.

3. The media

It is the informative influence that through selective regulation presents stereotyped cultural models based on ideals of men and women that do not correspond with reality. They influence the perception we have of both men and women in general and of ourselves.

To achieve the elimination of inequalities based on gender, it is necessary to understand that the origin of inequality is based on differential socialization and that socialization is a self-justifying process; that is, it produces that men and women behave differently and develop their activity in different areas.

Differential socialization helps confirm the belief that the sexes are different and to justify the need to continue perpetuating socially constructed differences.

Since the key to continuing to maintain this differential process is the congruence between the messages that are issued by the socialization agents, it would be useful to use them as a way to change and promote congruent messages that eliminate gender-based inequalities through them. .

  • Related article: "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bosch, E., Ferrer, V., & Alzamora, A. (2006). The Patriarchal Labyrinth: Theoretical-Practical Reflections on Violence Against Women. Barcelona: Anthropos, Editorial of Man.
  • Cabral, B., & García, C. (2001). Undoing the knot of gender and violence. Other looks, 1 (1), pp.60-76. Retrieved from: //www.redalyc.org/pdf/183/18310108.pdf
  • Walker, S., Barton, L. (1983). Gender, class and education. New York: The Falmer Press.

What people miss about the gender wage gap (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Causes de l'inégalité entre les sexes: socialisation différentielle

Causes de l'inégalité entre les sexes: socialisation différentielle

Juin 20, 2019

La socialisation fondée sur le sexe cause l'inégalité des sexes . Cette socialisation se produit même avant la naissance: à partir du moment où la grossesse détermine si le bébé sera un garçon ou une fille, un long processus de socialisation commence qui se traduit par une différenciation des hommes et des femmes.

Du point de vue du genre, il est possible de comprendre que l’application du système genre-genre dans le processus de socialisation construit un ensemble de croyances au niveau social dans lesquelles chaque genre se voit attribuer certains comportements.

La différence entre le sexe et le genre

Les rôles de chaque sexe ont une importance différente selon une hiérarchie de valeurs, plaçant les femmes dans l'infériorité. Ainsi apparaissent les stéréotypes qui contribuent au maintien des inégalités entre hommes et femmes.


Le concept "sexe" se réfère exclusivement aux caractéristiques physiques cela différencie biologiquement les hommes et les femmes. Cependant, le concept "genre" est une construction sociale basée sur l'attribution de rôles différents en fonction du sexe.

Cela signifie que le genre est utilisé pour décrire ces caractéristiques socialement construites différemment pour les femmes et les hommes. Les différences sociales que nous constatons dans la société actuelle entre hommes et femmes sont le résultat de l’apprentissage du système genre-genre.

Le système genre-genre: une théorie sur l'inégalité

Le système genre-genre est un modèle théorique qui explique comment se produit la socialisation entre les sexes. Cette théorie identifie le naturel avec le social construit et établit que le sexe en soi n'est pas la cause de l'inégalité entre hommes et femmes, mais leur position de genre socialement construite.


Ce système produit un ensemble de normes sociales apprises et intériorisées qui structurent les comportements des deux sexes et conditionnent la perception et l'interprétation de la réalité sociale. Par conséquent, ils génèrent une socialisation différentielle.

Les inégalités biologiques se traduisent par des inégalités sociales , politiques politiques et économiques entre hommes et femmes qui génèrent du sexisme, les femmes étant les plus défavorisées dans ce processus.

Dès la naissance, les personnes apprennent les comportements, les attitudes, les rôles et les activités correspondant aux caractéristiques déterminées par l'appartenance à un sexe ou à l'autre, développant ainsi l'identité de genre et les rôles de genre.

Rôles de genre et construction identitaire

L'identité de genre est l'attribution à un sexe ou à l'autre, c'est-à-dire une identification en tant qu'homme ou femme. À partir de cette identification de genre, le développement d'un processus de différenciation spécifique dans lequel les rôles de genre sont appris est déclenché.


Les rôles de genre impliquent d'assumer les représentations sociales comme leurs propres sur la masculinité et la féminité à travers les différents agents de socialisation: la famille, le système éducatif, les médias, la culture, la communauté, les institutions, etc.

Cette socialisation est maintenue tout au long de la vie. Grâce aux interactions avec d’autres personnes, les valeurs, les attitudes, les attentes et les comportements de chaque société sont appris et intériorisés afin de fonctionner en son sein.

La socialisation différentielle entre les femmes et les hommes

La théorie de la socialisation différentielle de Walker et Barton (1983) explique comment, dans leur processus d'initiation à la vie sociale et culturelle et sous l'influence d'agents socialisants, ils acquièrent des identités différenciées selon le genre, impliquant des attitudes, des comportements, des codes moraux et des normes stéréotypées du comportement attribué à chaque genre.

La clé du processus de socialisation différentielle est la congruence entre les messages émis par tous les agents de socialisation . Cela facilite la prise en charge et l'intériorisation de chaque individu au point de considérer qu'il s'agit de quelque chose qui lui est propre, de sa personnalité, ce qui produit ce qu'il pense et se comporte en conformité. De cette manière, les enfants assumeront les rôles traditionnels masculins et féminins depuis leur enfance.

Les rôles masculins: travail et ambition

La socialisation des enfants dans le rôle traditionnel des hommes est axée sur la production et la progression dans la sphère publique. Ils sont censés réussir dans ce domaine car ils sont préparés et éduqués de manière à ce que leur estime de soi et leur satisfaction proviennent de la sphère publique.

Les hommes sont réprimés dans la sphère affective renforcer les libertés, les talents et les ambitions diverses facilitant la promotion personnelle. Ils reçoivent beaucoup d'encouragement et peu de protection, ce qui les guide vers l'action, l'extérieur, le macrosocial et l'indépendance.Les hommes apprennent la valeur du travail en tant que priorité et définissent l'obligation de leur condition.

Rôles féminins: famille et foyer

Dans le cas des filles, le processus de socialisation dans le rôle traditionnel de la femme se concentre sur leur préparation à la reproduction et leur permanence dans la sphère privée. On s’attend à ce que leurs succès proviennent de ce domaine, qui façonnera à la fois leur source de satisfaction et leur estime de soi.

À l'opposé des hommes, ils répriment leurs libertés, leurs talents et leurs ambitions qui facilitent l'auto-promotion, la promotion de la sphère affective. Ils reçoivent peu d’encouragement et une protection suffisante qui les guide vers l’intimité, l’intérieur, le microsocial, la dépendance et la valeur du travail ne sont pas inculqués en tant qu’obligation prioritaire ni ne définissent leur condition.

Toutes ces valeurs et normes sont appelées mandats de genre c’est-à-dire ces normes sociales implicites qui ne reflètent pas ce que sont les hommes et les femmes mais ce qu’elles devraient ou devraient être et ce que l’on attend de chacune d’elles.

  • Article connexe: "Patriarcat: 7 clés pour comprendre le machisme culturel"

Agents de socialisation: comment les rôles de genre sont renforcés

Le processus de socialisation différentielle selon le sexe se produit à travers différents renforcements et modèles. Le renforcement différentiel se produit lorsque les hommes et les femmes sont récompensés ou punis pour des comportements différents , intérêts ou expression des émotions.

Une grande partie de cet apprentissage se produit dans les premières années de la vie par le biais de la modélisation, c'est-à-dire par l'observation du comportement d'autres personnes et des conséquences d'un tel comportement sur le modèle.

Cette influence normative et informative est produite par les agents de socialisation. Les principaux agents de socialisation sont:

1. la famille

Les premiers modèles que l'enfant aura sont les membres de sa famille et jouent un rôle important dans la première étape de la vie en tant que transmetteurs de comportements, de valeurs, etc., par le biais de modèles et d'un apprentissage émotionnel. Plusieurs études indiquent que le rôle le plus important de la famille réside dans la réglementation des activités caractérisées par le sexe.

2. Le système éducatif

Le système d'éducation est la structure sociale qui reflète le mieux les croyances et les valeurs dominantes . Son influence sur le maintien des différences se produit à travers le curriculum caché et les processus d'interaction sociale qui se produisent dans le système éducatif.

La socialisation différentielle contribue au programme caché à quatre niveaux: la répartition des hommes et des femmes dans le système éducatif, qui sert de modèle pour les étudiants; matériel pédagogique et manuels scolaires qui tendent à reproduire les stéréotypes de genre; l'organisation et les pratiques scolaires, qui reproduisent les choix des activités traditionnelles liées au genre; et les attentes et attitudes des enseignants, qui affectent les attentes que les élèves ont d'eux-mêmes.

En ce qui concerne les processus d’interaction sociale, des différences d’interaction dans la classe, d’attention des enseignants, de répartition des espaces de jeu, etc. ont également été observées.

3. Les médias

C’est l’influence informative que la réglementation sélective présente des modèles culturels stéréotypés basés sur des idéaux des hommes et des femmes qui ne correspondent pas à la réalité. Ils influencent la perception que nous avons des hommes et des femmes en général et de nous-mêmes.

Pour parvenir à l'élimination des inégalités fondées sur le sexe, il est nécessaire de comprendre que l'origine des inégalités est basée sur la socialisation différentielle et que la socialisation est un processus qui se justifie lui-même. c’est-à-dire que les hommes et les femmes se comportent différemment et développent leur activité dans différents domaines.

La socialisation différentielle aide à confirmer la conviction que les sexes sont différents et justifier la nécessité de continuer à perpétuer les différences socialement construites.

Étant donné que la congruence entre les messages émis par les agents de socialisation est la clé du maintien de ce processus différentiel, il serait utile de les utiliser comme moyen de changer et de promouvoir des messages congruents qui éliminent les inégalités fondées sur le sexe. .

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bosch, E., Ferrer, V. et Alzamora, A. (2006). Le labyrinthe patriarcal: réflexions théoriques et pratiques sur la violence à l'égard des femmes. Barcelone: ​​Anthropos, Éditorial de Man.
  • Cabral, B. et García, C. (2001). Défaire le nœud du genre et de la violence. Autres looks, 1 (1), p.60-76. Extrait de: //www.redalyc.org/pdf/183/18310108.pdf
  • Walker, S., Barton, L. (1983). Genre, classe et éducation. New York: La Falmer Press.

La socialisation et le genre (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes