yes, therapy helps!
Cerebellar ataxia: symptoms, causes and treatment

Cerebellar ataxia: symptoms, causes and treatment

March 28, 2024

Cerebellar or cerebellar ataxia is a set of symptoms related to the coordination of movements, balance and posture that occurs as a result of injuries and inflammations in the cerebellum. In this article we will describe the symptoms, causes and the main treatments of cerebellar ataxia .

  • Related article: "Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

What is cerebellar ataxia?

The term "ataxia" is used to refer to a syndrome characterized by symptoms such as lack of balance and coordination motorboat. When these alterations are due to dysfunctions in the cerebellum, the posterior structure of the brain, the concept of "cerebellar ataxia" or "cerebellar" is used.


Although until a few years ago it was believed that the cerebellum participated mainly in functions related to the coordination of movement, nowadays it is known that it also plays a relevant role in language, in cognition and in emotion.

Because of this multiplicity of tasks, lesions and inflammations in the cerebellum not only cause ataxia but also other disparate symptoms that are associated with the processes and functions we have mentioned.

There are two main types of cerebellar ataxia : acute and chronic. We speak of "acute cerebellar ataxia" when the symptoms appear abruptly, and we say that it is chronic when they develop progressively.


Acute cerebellar ataxia is more frequent than chronic ataxia. It is common to appear in infants and young children in the period following an illness. Chronic cerebellar ataxia is usually associated with structural-type neurological alterations, such as those caused by trauma, tumors and autoimmune diseases.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Symptoms and characteristic signs

The main symptoms of cerebellar ataxia are related to the coordination of movements of different parts of the body , since this type of signs are what define ataxia. However, the most common is that other alterations associated with damage to the cerebellum also appear.

Scientific research has determined that these symptoms and signs occur on the ipsilateral side of the organism, that is, in the same hemisphere in which the lesion is located in the cerebellum.


  • Lack of coordination (disynergy) of the trunk and extremities
  • Alterations in walking, frequent trips
  • Deficit in fine motor skills
  • Difficulties to execute fast and alternating movements (disdiadococinesia)
  • Lack of balance and postural alterations
  • Ocular nystagmus (involuntary movements of the eyes)
  • Instability of the look
  • Alterations in speech, mainly in the articulation of phonemes (dysarthria)
  • Difficulty swallowing food and fluids
  • Symptoms of depression and anxiety
  • Changes in behavior and personality
  • Sensations of dizziness
  • Late development of multiple systemic atrophy (in one third of patients)

Causes of this alteration

The cerebellum or any other part of the nervous system can suffer damage and inflammation for many different reasons; therefore, the reasons for the appearance of cerebellar ataxia are also very numerous.

Next we will describe some of the most habitual ones.

1. Genetic inheritance

There are different forms of ataxia caused by inheritance of genetic defects that alter protein synthesis necessary for the normal functioning of the nervous system, and that mainly affect the cerebellum and the spinal cord.

Spinocerebellar and episodic ataxias are inherited through an autosomal dominant mechanism, whereas Wilson's disease, Friedrich's ataxia, ataxia-telangiectasia and congenital cerebellar ataxia are transmitted by autosomal recessive inheritance.

2. Traumatic brain injuries

One of the most common causes of cerebellar ataxia is cranioencephalic trauma ; For example, it is common for the cerebellum to be damaged as a result of traffic accidents, when striking the back of the skull against the seat.

3. Cerebrovascular accidents

Strokes, such as ischemia, can alter circulatory flow to the cerebellum and other regions; If the tissue is devoid of nutrients and oxygen can be necrosed, which causes damage to the affected area.

4. Infectious diseases

Chickenpox, Lyme disease and other infectious diseases They are common causes of this syndrome, especially in young children. It usually appears in the recovery period and usually only lasts a few weeks.

5. Autoimmune diseases

Among the autoimmune diseases that can cause symptoms of cerebellar ataxia are multiple sclerosis and sarcoidosis.

6. Tumors in the brain

The appearance of tumors near the cerebellum often causes damage to this structure, even if it's benign tumors . Likewise, paraneoplastic syndromes, caused by pathological responses of the immune system to the development of cancer, have also been associated with cerebellar ataxia.

  • Related article: "Brain tumor: types, classification and symptoms"

7. Exposure and consumption of substances

Exposure to toxic elements to the human organism such as lead and mercury can cause symptoms of cerebellar ataxia; the same happens with chemotherapy. The abusive consumption of alcohol or some types of anxiolytics , especially barbiturates and benzodiazepines, can cause harmful reactions in the cerebellum and the rest of the nervous system.

Treatment of cerebellar ataxia

Since cerebellar ataxia can occur as a consequence of a large number of causes, the most appropriate treatment for each case will depend on the specific alteration that caused the symptoms. This multiplicity of causal factors makes the identification of the underlying problem particularly important in ataxia.

Acute cerebellar ataxias tend to disappear progressively in a matter of weeks; in the opposite way, and by definition, chronic ataxia is more difficult to treat and may have to be managed only through supportive therapy.

The rehabilitation can be effective to reduce the problems related to posture and motor skills. Therapeutic programs focused on exercises that work on coordination and balance are applied with certain frequency.

Buspirone, an anxiolytic group of azapirones , has been shown useful in the treatment of mild and moderate symptoms of cerebellar ataxia, although it is not so much in more severe cases. Its effects are associated with increased levels of serotonin in the cerebellum.

In recent years, research has begun on the therapeutic efficacy of transcranial stimulation of the cortex of the cerebellum in order to enhance its inhibitory activity on movements. The results so far are encouraging but more research is required to consolidate these interventions in cases of cerebellar ataxia.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of anxiolytics: the drugs that fight anxiety"

Study Finds Treatment Promises for Autoimmune Cerebellar Ataxia (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ataxie cérébelleuse: symptômes, causes et traitement

Ataxie cérébelleuse: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 16, 2024

L'ataxie cérébelleuse ou cérébelleuse est un ensemble de symptômes liés à la coordination des mouvements, à l'équilibre et à la posture résultant de blessures et d'inflammations du cervelet. Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les symptômes, les causes et les principaux traitements de l'ataxie cérébelleuse .

  • Article connexe: "Ataxie: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Qu'est-ce que l'ataxie cérébelleuse?

Le terme "ataxie" est utilisé pour désigner un syndrome caractérisé par des symptômes tels que le manque d'équilibre et de coordination moteur Lorsque ces altérations sont dues à des dysfonctionnements du cervelet, la structure postérieure du cerveau, on utilise le concept "d'ataxie cérébelleuse" ou "cérébelleuse".


On croyait jusqu'à il y a quelques années encore que le cervelet participait principalement à des fonctions liées à la coordination du mouvement, mais on sait aujourd'hui qu'il joue également un rôle important dans le langage, la cognition et les émotions.

En raison de cette multiplicité de tâches, les lésions et les inflammations du cervelet causent non seulement une ataxie, mais également d'autres symptômes disparates associés aux processus et aux fonctions que nous avons mentionnés.

Il existe deux principaux types d'ataxie cérébelleuse : aiguë et chronique. On parle d '"ataxie cérébelleuse aiguë" lorsque les symptômes apparaissent brusquement, et on dit qu'il est chronique lorsqu'ils se développent progressivement.


L'ataxie cérébelleuse aiguë est plus fréquente que l'ataxie chronique. Il est fréquent d'apparaître chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants dans la période qui suit une maladie. L'ataxie cérébelleuse chronique est généralement associée à des altérations neurologiques de type structural, telles que celles provoquées par un traumatisme, des tumeurs et des maladies auto-immunes.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Symptômes et signes caractéristiques

Les principaux symptômes de l'ataxie cérébelleuse sont liés à la coordination des mouvements de différentes parties du corps , puisque ce type de signes sont ce qui définit l’ataxie. Cependant, le plus fréquent est que d’autres modifications associées à des lésions du cervelet apparaissent également.

Des recherches scientifiques ont montré que ces symptômes et signes se manifestent du côté homolatéral de l’organisme, c’est-à-dire dans le même hémisphère que celui dans lequel se trouve la lésion du cervelet.


  • Manque de coordination (disynergie) du tronc et des extrémités
  • Changements dans la marche, voyages fréquents
  • Déficit en motricité fine
  • Difficultés à exécuter des mouvements rapides et alternatifs (disdiadococinésie)
  • Manque d'équilibre et d'altérations posturales
  • Nystagmus oculaire (mouvements involontaires des yeux)
  • Instabilité du look
  • Altérations de la parole, principalement dans l'articulation des phonèmes (dysarthrie)
  • Difficulté à avaler des aliments et des liquides
  • Symptômes de dépression et d'anxiété
  • Changements de comportement et de personnalité
  • Sensation de vertige
  • Développement tardif de l'atrophie systémique multiple (chez un tiers des patients)

Causes de cette altération

Le cervelet ou toute autre partie du système nerveux peut être endommagé et avoir une inflammation pour différentes raisons. par conséquent, les raisons de l'apparition de l'ataxie cérébelleuse sont également très nombreuses.

Nous allons maintenant décrire quelques-uns des plus habituels.

1. Héritage génétique

Il existe différentes formes d'ataxie causées par héritage de défauts génétiques qui altèrent la synthèse des protéines nécessaires au fonctionnement normal du système nerveux, et qui touchent principalement le cervelet et la moelle épinière.

Les ataxies spinocérébelleuses et épisodiques sont héritées par un mécanisme autosomique dominant, alors que la maladie de Wilson, l'ataxie de Friedrich, l'ataxie-télangiectasie et l'ataxie cérébelleuse congénitale sont transmises par héritage autosomique récessif.

2. Lésions cérébrales traumatiques

L'une des causes les plus courantes d'ataxie cérébelleuse est le traumatisme cranioencéphalique. ; Par exemple, il est fréquent que le cervelet soit endommagé à la suite d’un accident de la circulation lorsqu’il frappe le dos du crâne contre le siège.

3. Accidents cérébrovasculaires

Les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, tels que l’ischémie, peuvent modifier le flux circulatoire vers le cervelet et d’autres régions; Si le tissu est dépourvu de nutriments et que l'oxygène peut être nécrosé, ce qui endommage la zone touchée.

4. Maladies infectieuses

Varicelle, maladie de Lyme et autres maladies infectieuses Ils sont des causes courantes de ce syndrome, en particulier chez les jeunes enfants. Il apparaît généralement dans la période de récupération et ne dure généralement que quelques semaines.

5. maladies auto-immunes

La sclérose en plaques et la sarcoïdose sont parmi les maladies auto-immunes pouvant provoquer les symptômes de l’ataxie cérébelleuse.

6. Les tumeurs dans le cerveau

L’apparition de tumeurs près du cervelet cause souvent des dommages à cette structure, même s'il s'agit de tumeurs bénignes . De même, les syndromes paranéoplasiques, provoqués par des réponses pathologiques du système immunitaire au développement du cancer, ont également été associés à une ataxie cérébelleuse.

  • Article connexe: "Tumeur au cerveau: types, classification et symptômes"

7. Exposition et consommation de substances

L'exposition à des éléments toxiques de l'organisme humain tels que le plomb et le mercure peut provoquer des symptômes d'ataxie cérébelleuse; La même chose arrive avec la chimiothérapie. La consommation abusive d'alcool ou de certains types d'anxiolytics , en particulier les barbituriques et les benzodiazépines, peuvent provoquer des réactions néfastes au cervelet et au reste du système nerveux.

Traitement de l'ataxie cérébelleuse

Comme l'ataxie cérébelleuse peut survenir à la suite d'un grand nombre de causes, le traitement le plus approprié à chaque cas dépendra de l'altération spécifique ayant provoqué les symptômes. Cette multiplicité de facteurs de causalité rend l'identification du problème sous-jacent particulièrement important dans l'ataxie.

Les ataxies cérébelleuses aiguës ont tendance à disparaître progressivement en quelques semaines; à l'inverse, et par définition, l'ataxie chronique est plus difficile à traiter et peut être gérée que par un traitement de soutien.

La rééducation peut être efficace pour réduire les problèmes liés à la posture et à la motricité. Les programmes thérapeutiques axés sur des exercices qui travaillent sur la coordination et l'équilibre sont appliqués avec une certaine fréquence.

Buspirone, un groupe anxiolytique d'azapirones , s'est avéré utile dans le traitement des symptômes légers et modérés de l'ataxie cérébelleuse, bien que ce ne soit pas vraiment le cas dans les cas plus graves. Ses effets sont associés à une augmentation des niveaux de sérotonine dans le cervelet.

Ces dernières années, la recherche a commencé sur efficacité thérapeutique de la stimulation transcranienne du cortex du cervelet afin de renforcer son activité inhibitrice sur les mouvements. Les résultats obtenus jusqu'à présent sont encourageants, mais des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour consolider ces interventions dans les cas d'ataxie cérébelleuse.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types d'anxiolytiques: les médicaments qui combattent l'anxiété"

Troubles de léquilibre Causes et traitements (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes