yes, therapy helps!
Chaining: how to apply this technique and what types are there

Chaining: how to apply this technique and what types are there

October 2, 2022

One of the behavior modification techniques that Burrhus F. Skinner systematized in the process of developing his operant learning paradigm, which is based on the association of certain responses with obtaining reinforcers or punishments. In this article we will analyze what is the chain, how is it applied and what types are there .

  • Related article: "5 behavior modification techniques"

What is chaining?

The chain is one behavioral technique that is part of the operant learning paradigm . It is used to develop new chains of behavior (that is, complex sequences composed of a pre-established series of simple answers) from other behaviors that are already in the subject's repertoire.


Some typical examples of learning that can be developed through this technique are those that allow for elaborate behaviors such as playing a musical instrument or driving a vehicle. Chaining is often used to teach basic skills to children with special needs , how to put on clothes or clean up without help.

The responses that make up the behavioral chain act as conditioned reinforcers of the previous behavior and as discriminative stimuli for the next one. There are two logical exceptions to this: the first response, which does not reinforce any other, and the last, which does not act as a signal for a subsequent behavior.

A similar operant technique is molding, also known as "successive approaches method". The central difference is that in the molding a behavior is progressively perfected using differential reinforcement, while chaining consists of combining a series of responses in a certain order.


  • Related article: "Operant conditioning: concepts and main techniques"

How to apply this operant technique

In order to use chaining properly, it is very important to take into account a series of recommendations. First of all, as far as possible, select behaviors that the learner has already mastered in order to maximize the effectiveness of the procedure; In addition, these should be as simple as possible or divided into simpler segments.

The behaviors, or links of the chain, that are necessary and that the subject does not dominate must be developed during the process. Some operant techniques that can be helpful in this regard are modeling, modeling, physical guidance and verbal instruction.

It is preferable that the reinforcement be of a social nature , as congratulations and smiles, instead of material, since the behaviors acquired thanks to this kind of reinforcers are maintained to a greater extent. It is also important to use fading in order to eliminate from the chain support behaviors that may have been learned collaterally.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Dictionary of Psychology: 200 fundamental concepts"

The 5 types of chain

Chaining can be applied in several different ways. First we must distinguish between the chaining by total and partial task ; in one the trainee must execute all the steps of the behavioral sequence in each trial, while in the other the chain is divided into several segments and these are taught separately before combining them.

At the same time the chaining by partial task It can be subdivided into four different types : forward chaining, backward chaining, pure partial and progressive partial. Let's see what each one of them consists of.

1. Through total task

The basic type of chaining corresponds roughly with the procedures we have described so far. In these cases the person who learns carries out in order all the behaviors that make up the chain in each of the training exercises. The reinforcement is provided once the behavioral sequence has been completed.

2. Forward

In this type of partial chaining behaviors are taught one by one, starting the chain again each time a new segment is added. A) Yes, first the first link is executed and a reinforcement is obtained ; subsequently the first behavior of the chain is carried out again and then the second, and so on.

3. Backwards

The partial backward chaining is carried out in opposite manner to the previous type, although the scheme is very similar: the person executes the last response of the chain and gets a reinforcement; later it has to do the same with the penultimate one and later with the last one again to obtain the reinforcement, etc.

4. Pure partial

In pure partial chaining behaviors are taught one by one, generally following a linear order (like that of forward chaining). In this case it is not necessary to execute any other response of the chain except the one that is working to get the reinforcer, although finally an integration must take place.

5. Progressive part

This type of chaining is similar to the previous one although the reinforcement is more gradual, as the name suggests. It would consist, for example, in rewarding the execution of the first behavior of the chain, then that of the second, then the combination of both, then that of the third ..., until reaching the reinforcement of the entire chain.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

How to install chain link fence (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Chaînage: comment appliquer cette technique et quels types sont là

Chaînage: comment appliquer cette technique et quels types sont là

Mai 20, 2019

L'une des techniques de modification du comportement que Burrhus F. Skinner a systématisées dans le processus de développement de son paradigme d'apprentissage opérant, qui repose sur l'association de certaines réponses à l'obtention de renforçateurs ou de punitions. Dans cet article, nous analyserons quelle est la chaîne, comment est-elle appliquée et quels types sont là .

  • Article connexe: "5 techniques de modification du comportement"

Qu'est-ce que l'enchaînement?

La chaîne est une technique comportementale faisant partie du paradigme d'apprentissage opérant . Il est utilisé pour développer de nouvelles chaînes de comportement (c'est-à-dire des séquences complexes composées d'une série pré-établie de réponses simples) à partir d'autres comportements déjà présents dans le répertoire du sujet.


Certains exemples typiques d’apprentissage qui peuvent être développés grâce à cette technique sont ceux qui permettent des comportements élaborés tels que jouer d’un instrument de musique ou conduire un véhicule. Le chaînage est souvent utilisé enseigner les compétences de base aux enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux , comment mettre des vêtements ou nettoyer sans aide.

Les réponses qui composent la chaîne comportementale agissent en tant que renforçateurs conditionnés du comportement précédent et en tant que stimuli discriminants pour le prochain. Il existe deux exceptions logiques à cela: la première réponse, qui ne renforce aucune autre, et la dernière, qui ne sert pas de signal pour un comportement ultérieur.

Une technique opérante similaire est le moulage, également appelée "méthode d'approches successives". La différence centrale est que dans le moulage, un comportement se perfectionne progressivement l’utilisation du renforcement différentiel, l’enchaînement consiste à combiner une série de réponses dans un certain ordre.


  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement opérant: concepts et techniques principales"

Comment appliquer cette technique opérante

Pour utiliser correctement le chaînage, il est très important de prendre en compte une série de recommandations. Tout d'abord, dans la mesure du possible, sélectionner les comportements que l'apprenant a déjà maîtrisés afin de maximiser l'efficacité de la procédure; En outre, ils doivent être aussi simples que possible ou divisés en segments plus simples.

Les comportements, ou les maillons de la chaîne, qui sont nécessaires et que le sujet ne domine pas doivent être développés au cours du processus. Certaines techniques opérantes qui peuvent être utiles à cet égard sont la modélisation, la modélisation, le guidage physique et les instructions verbales.

Il est préférable que le renforcement soit de nature sociale , en guise de félicitations et de sourires, au lieu de matériel, puisque les comportements acquis grâce à ce type de renforts sont davantage respectés. Il est également important d’utiliser l’atténuation afin d’éliminer de la chaîne les comportements qui pourraient avoir été appris collatéralement.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Dictionnaire de psychologie: 200 concepts fondamentaux"

Les 5 types de chaine

Le chaînage peut être appliqué de plusieurs manières différentes. En premier lieu il faut distinguer le chaînage par tâche totale et partielle ; dans l'un, le stagiaire doit exécuter toutes les étapes de la séquence comportementale dans chaque essai, tandis que dans l'autre, la chaîne est divisée en plusieurs segments, lesquels sont enseignés séparément avant de les combiner.

En même temps l'enchaînement par tâche partielle Il peut être subdivisé en quatre types différents : chaînage avant, chaînage arrière, partiel pur et partiel progressif. Voyons en quoi consiste chacun d'eux.

1. Par la tâche totale

Le type de base de chaînage correspond à peu près aux procédures que nous avons décrites jusqu'à présent. Dans ces cas, la personne qui apprend exécute dans l’ordre tous les comportements qui constituent la chaîne dans chacun des exercices d’entraînement. Le renfort est fourni une fois la séquence comportementale terminée.

2. Transférer

Dans ce type de chaînage partiel, les comportements sont enseignés un par un, en redémarrant la chaîne chaque fois qu'un nouveau segment est ajouté. Ainsi, d'abord le premier lien est exécuté et un renforcement est obtenu ; ensuite, le premier comportement de la chaîne est répété, puis le second, et ainsi de suite.

3. à l'envers

Le chaînage partiel en arrière est effectué de manière opposée au type précédent, bien que le schéma soit très similaire: la personne exécute la dernière réponse de la chaîne et obtient un renforcement; plus tard, il faut faire la même chose avec l'avant-dernier et plus tard avec le dernier pour obtenir le renforcement, etc.

4. partielle pure

En chaine partielle pure, les comportements sont enseignés un à un, en suivant généralement un ordre linéaire (comme celui du chaînage en avant). Dans ce cas il n'est pas nécessaire d'exécuter une autre réponse de la chaîne sauf celui qui cherche à obtenir le renforcement, bien qu’une intégration soit finalement nécessaire.

5. partie progressive

Ce type de chaînage est similaire au précédent bien que le renforcement soit plus progressif, comme son nom l’indique. Cela consisterait, par exemple, à récompenser l'exécution du premier comportement de la chaîne, puis celui de la seconde, puis la combinaison des deux, puis celle du troisième ..., jusqu'au renforcement de toute la chaîne.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et auteurs principaux"

Pose des U de chaînage pour la ceinture béton de la maison - Etape 23 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes