yes, therapy helps!
Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant

Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant

January 25, 2022

This article is dedicated to chamomile . Its use has ancient origin, especially in the form of infusion, which have become one of the most consumed in the world thanks mainly to its soothing and digestive properties.

In this way, we will see exactly what is chamomile, what are its main properties and benefits, and how we have to do to prepare a good infusion of this medicinal plant, widely known around the world.

  • Related article: "The 20 best medicinal plants, their effects and contraindications"

What is chamomile?

Chamomile is an herbaceous plant that can reach 60 cm in height. It was originally distributed in the Balkans, northern Africa and western Asia, but is currently cultivated in many countries of the world such as Spain and Argentina.


Se is about one of the oldest medicinal herbs of which there is knowledge , and it is believed that the interest for her arose due to its intense aroma. That led to the discovery of the different properties that made her so famous.

Chamomile is currently one of the most consumed plants in the form of infusion. There are people who talk about "chamomile tea", but it is a somewhat incorrect expression. If we want to refer to the preparation with hot water of this or any other plant that is not tea (black tea, green tea, etc.), it is necessary to talk about infusion.

7 benefits and therapeutic properties of the chamomile infusion

As mentioned, chamomile is known as a medicinal plant with innumerable benefits and therapeutic properties for health. Below we highlight those that are more relevant.


1. Help with good digestion

The infusion of chamomile allows a great help to our body at digestive level in moments of clear need. In situations where we feel that we have not digested a meal well and have discomfort, letting ourselves be helped by the properties of chamomile is always a good idea.

Its ability to relax our body helps the digestive system, promoting the movements that the stomach and bowel need to perform in a coordinated manner to promote good digestion. So, it relieves abdominal pains and indigestion.

2. Calm and reduce anxiety

As we have advanced in the previous point, another reason why chamomile is best known is because of its powerful soothing properties.

This is how an infusion of chamomile can help us to calm our spirits in situations in which we are a little altered. The time when it is most used is when we go to sleep, because it helps us to sleep.


3. Decrease stress

Chamomile soothes the digestive system but also the nervous system, which many people often have overstimulated and do not know how to relax.

In this way, the infusion of chamomile can be an ally in situations of great stress, since it allows us to calm down to better face the situations with which we have to deal. Chamomile helps to reduce stress levels thanks also to its sedative effects.

4. Help control diabetes

Chamomile can also be used to help control some metabolic diseases, such as diabetes.

The daily consumption of this herb in the form of infusion can help control the glycemic index , that is, the amount of blood sugar. This improves the symptoms of diabetes disease,

5. Strengthens the immune system

We have already seen that chamomile contributes to the proper functioning of intestinal transit. Its good action in the organs of the digestive system is very relevant for the proper functioning of the body, and this is largely due to its action on the immune system that it has from there.

Chamomile is able to reduce infections of the digestive tract and benefit the intestinal flora. This, in turn, helps decrease the abdominal swelling that we sometimes feel.

In this way, the properties of chamomile protect and reinforce the immune system, preventing infectious diseases and attenuating inflammatory conditions.

6. Helps treat skin wounds and impurities

In addition to helping the body's overall immunity, chamomile infusion helps protect cells from external damage. This prevents the skin from becoming infected or damaged by inflammatory processes. On the other hand, chamomile is composed of phenolic compounds and tannins. These help slow down cell aging and promote the production of collagen, which is very important for the healing of the skin.

7. Relieves menstrual pain

Its good soothing effects at the digestive level, together with its anti-inflammatory and analgesic effect, makes this plant also help to control the pain produced by the appearance of the rule.

Menstrual pains are sometimes very painful, and chamomile can help make them more bearable. To reduce premenstrual and menstrual symptoms, an infusion of chamomile can be taken from the third week of the menstrual cycle.

How to prepare an infusion of chamomile?

Prepare an infusion of chamomile is very simple and can be done basically in two ways . It can be prepared using dried flowers of the plant or by pre-prepared sachets, which are sold in herbalists or all kinds of supermarkets.

If you want to opt for flower preparation, all you have to do is boil a glass of water and place in it about two teaspoons of chamomile flowers. Then cover and let stand 10 minutes. Then you can use a strainer to remove the flowers and stay alone with the infusion liquid.

On the other hand, it may be interesting to add other plants with medicinal properties in our infusion. Mint or fennel are two herbs that are traditionally prepared with chamomile to enhance their benefits and also to obtain other complementary.

  • We recommend: "The 12 best infusions to relax"

Bibliographic references:

  • Craker, L.E. and Simon, J.E. (1986). Herbs, Spices, and Medicinal Plants. Recent Advances in Botany, Horticulture, and Pharmacology. Food Products Press.
  • Simonetti, G. (1990). Stanley Schuler, ed., Simon & Schuster's Guide to Herbs and Spices, Simon & Schuster, Inc.

Chamomile Benefits for Anxiety and Digestion (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Camomille: 7 propriétés et avantages de cette plante

Camomille: 7 propriétés et avantages de cette plante

Décembre 31, 2022

Cet article est dédié à la camomille . Son utilisation est d'origine ancienne, notamment sous forme d'infusion, qui est devenue l'une des plus consommées au monde, principalement grâce à ses propriétés apaisantes et digestives.

De cette manière, nous verrons exactement ce qu'est la camomille, quelles sont ses principales propriétés et avantages, et comment nous devons faire pour préparer une bonne infusion de cette plante médicinale, largement connue dans le monde entier.

  • Article connexe: "Les 20 meilleures plantes médicinales, leurs effets et leurs contre-indications"

Qu'est ce que la camomille?

La camomille est une plante herbacée pouvant atteindre 60 cm de hauteur. Il a été initialement distribué dans les Balkans, en Afrique du Nord et en Asie occidentale, mais est actuellement cultivé dans de nombreux pays du monde tels que l'Espagne et l'Argentine.


Se est l’une des plus anciennes herbes médicinales connues , et on pense que l’intérêt pour elle est né de son arôme intense. Cela a conduit à la découverte des différentes propriétés qui la rendaient si célèbre.

La camomille est actuellement l'une des plantes les plus consommées sous forme d'infusion. Il y a des gens qui parlent de "thé à la camomille", mais c'est une expression quelque peu incorrecte. Si nous voulons parler de la préparation à l'eau chaude de cette plante ou de toute autre plante qui n'est pas du thé (thé noir, thé vert, etc.), il est nécessaire de parler d'infusion.

7 bienfaits et propriétés thérapeutiques de l'infusion de camomille

Comme mentionné, la camomille est connue comme une plante médicinale avec d'innombrables avantages et propriétés thérapeutiques pour la santé. Ci-dessous, nous soulignons ceux qui sont plus pertinents.


1. Aide à la bonne digestion

L'infusion de camomille permet une grande aide à notre corps au niveau digestif dans les moments où le besoin est évident. Dans les situations où nous estimons que nous n'avons pas bien digéré un repas et que nous sommes gênés, nous laisser aider par les propriétés de la camomille est toujours une bonne idée.

Sa capacité à détendre notre corps aide le système digestif, favorisant les mouvements que l'estomac et les intestins doivent effectuer de manière coordonnée pour favoriser une bonne digestion. Ainsi, il soulage les douleurs abdominales et l'indigestion.

2. Calme et réduit l'anxiété

Comme nous l'avons expliqué précédemment, la camomille est également connue pour ses propriétés apaisantes puissantes.

C’est ainsi qu’une infusion de camomille peut nous aider à nous calmer dans des situations dans lesquelles nous sommes un peu altérés. Le moment où il est le plus utilisé est celui où nous nous endormons, car cela nous aide à dormir.


3. Diminuer le stress

La camomille apaise le système digestif mais aussi le système nerveux, que beaucoup de gens ont souvent trop stimulé et ne savent pas comment se détendre.

De cette façon, l’injection de camomille peut être un allié dans les situations de stress, car elle nous permet de nous calmer pour mieux faire face aux situations avec lesquelles nous devons composer. La camomille aide à réduire les niveaux de stress grâce à ses effets sédatifs.

4. Aidez à contrôler le diabète

La camomille peut également être utilisée pour aider à contrôler certaines maladies métaboliques, telles que le diabète.

La consommation quotidienne de cette plante sous forme d'infusion peut aider à contrôler l'index glycémique c'est-à-dire la quantité de sucre dans le sang. Cela améliore les symptômes du diabète,

5. Renforce le système immunitaire

Nous avons déjà vu que la camomille contribue au bon fonctionnement du transit intestinal. Sa bonne action dans les organes du système digestif est très importante pour le bon fonctionnement du corps, en grande partie à cause de son action sur le système immunitaire qui en est issu.

La camomille est capable de réduire les infections du tube digestif et profite à la flore intestinale. Ceci, à son tour, aide à réduire le gonflement abdominal que nous ressentons parfois.

Ainsi, les propriétés de la camomille protègent et renforcent le système immunitaire en prévenant les maladies infectieuses et en atténuant les affections inflammatoires.

6. Aide à traiter les plaies cutanées et les impuretés

En plus d'aider l'immunité globale du corps, l'infusion de camomille aide à protéger les cellules contre les dommages externes. Cela empêche la peau d'être infectée ou endommagée par des processus inflammatoires. Par contre, la camomille est composée de composés phénoliques et de tanins. Ceux-ci aident à ralentir le vieillissement cellulaire et à favoriser la production de collagène, ce qui est très important pour la guérison de la peau.

7. soulage la douleur menstruelle

Ses bons effets apaisants au niveau digestif, associés à ses effets anti-inflammatoires et analgésiques, font que cette plante aide également à contrôler la douleur produite par l’apparition de la règle.

Les douleurs menstruelles sont parfois très douloureuses et la camomille peut aider à les rendre plus supportables. Pour réduire les symptômes prémenstruels et menstruels, une infusion de camomille peut être prise à partir de la troisième semaine du cycle menstruel.

Comment préparer une infusion de camomille?

Préparer une infusion de camomille est très simple et peut être fait de deux manières . Il peut être préparé à l'aide de fleurs séchées de la plante ou de sachets préparés à l'avance, vendus dans les herboristes ou toutes sortes de supermarchés.

Si vous souhaitez opter pour la préparation des fleurs, tout ce que vous avez à faire est de faire bouillir un verre d'eau et d'y déposer environ deux cuillères à café de fleurs de camomille. Puis couvrir et laisser reposer 10 minutes. Ensuite, vous pouvez utiliser une passoire pour enlever les fleurs et rester seul avec le liquide d'infusion.

D'autre part, il peut être intéressant d'ajouter d'autres plantes aux propriétés médicinales dans notre infusion. La menthe ou le fenouil sont deux herbes traditionnellement préparées avec de la camomille pour améliorer leurs bienfaits et en obtenir d'autres complémentaires.

  • Nous recommandons: "Les 12 meilleures infusions pour se détendre"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Craker, L.E. et Simon, J.E. (1986). Herbes, épices et plantes médicinales. Progrès récents en botanique, horticulture et pharmacologie. Presse de produits alimentaires.
  • Simonetti, G. (1990). Stanley Schuler, ed., Guide des herbes et des épices de Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster, Inc.

Camomille romaine, plante médicinale (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes