yes, therapy helps!
Character: definition and features that make it up

Character: definition and features that make it up

September 24, 2022

Often, we often hear someone say "X subject has bad character" or "And girl is strong character". It is not strange, if we consider how much we like to classify people according to their way of being and how little it costs us to label people according to their way of behaving. But Do we know exactly what "character" means, what it encompasses and what are the factors that constitute it?

The following paragraphs are dedicated to answering the previous questions.

Defining as a character

First of all, it is convenient to clarify and define the concepts properly. What is the character?

According to Royal Spanish Academy, the meaning number six in the entry dedicated to the word, defines character as "The set of qualities or circumstances of a thing, a person or a community, which distinguishes, by their way of being or acting, the others ", and offers some examples of its use:" The Spanish character. The insufferable character of Fulano. "


This explanation, however, serves to get an idea about the popular use of the term character (which is fine and falls within the objectives of the RAE), but if we want to understand what is in a more globally we have to know what psychologists who are dedicated to research from this idea say about the character. And is that the character is one of the concepts most used in the psychology of individual differences to categorize the differences between individuals; in fact, it is closely related to other concepts, such as personality or temperament.

Different ways of approaching the concept

There are many psychologists and psychiatrists who still They express disagreements about the specific meaning they give to the concept of "character" . Despite this, among the similarities that can be found in the explanations of those researchers who work to extract knowledge related to the subject, is the idea that the character of a person summarizes the way in which this person usually reacts to a situation, circumstance or determined action. In other words, the character is not something that is produced by our body, but based on the interaction


Ernest Kretschmer, a leading German researcher on the constitution of character, well recognized about his biotypological studies, states that the character "results from the set of fundamental biological characteristics based on the anatomical-physiological substrates of the individual constitution and the characteristics that develop under the influence of the environment and special individual experiences. " As far as today we know of the character, it develops through the fusion of the constitution of the temperament (inherited from our parents) and the instinct with the environment that surrounds us, or by external factors that act permanently on our individuality, modifying it more or less strong and important but never transforming it.

This means that the character is part of a process. In particular, it is in our way of relating to the environment and to the internal phenomena of our mind (memories), and therefore it is not a thing, something that remains fixed and interacts with other elements. Neither in the brain nor in any part of our nervous system there is a structure that produces the "character" of each one.


The factors that make up the character

Several scholars of the character have agreed in pointing out several fundamental characteristics of it. As always, there are many points where there is no general agreement, but among all the schools, one of the most accepted today is the character school of Groningen, whose members include Renne Le Senne, Gastón Berger , André le Gall, and Heymans, among others.

Your work together provides a conception of the character according to which this has three constituent factors : emotion, activity and resonance.

1. Emotivity

The emotionality it is usually defined as the "state of psychosomatic commotion suffered by certain individuals under the influence of events that objectively have an importance of their own." serves as a basis for the classification of emotional and non-emotive individuals . If a subject implies his feelings first (or not) before a stimulus and we can recognize it through some behavioral traits such as the mobility of humor, demonstration, compassion, fervor, etc.

2. Activity

The activity It involves two aspects. On the one hand, the free need to act because of a congenital need (eating, sleeping, etc.). For other, the need to eliminate any obstacle that tries to oppose the direction of the subject . It is evident that our character varies significantly according to the degree to which we are managing to meet these needs.

3. Resonance

The resonance refers to printing time that gives us an event and the time necessary for the reconstitution of normality before said act. According to this time, the subjects can be primary (characterized by impulsivity, mobility, the fact of comforting or reconciled quickly, etc.) or secondary (those who are for a long time affected by some impression, can not console themselves, have persistent grudges, etc. .)

In addition to these constitutive factors, Le Senne adds other supplementary properties among which includes egocentrism, analytical intelligence, alocentrism, etc. and whose interaction with the primaries and environment would result in the personality of each individual.

Character types and their relevance in the field of criminology

In this link that I give you below, you have more information about the types of character and how this feature relates to criminal behavior:

"The 8 types of character (and their relation to criminal behavior)"

The 15 Characteristics of Effective Entrepreneurs (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Caractère: définition et caractéristiques qui le composent

Caractère: définition et caractéristiques qui le composent

Septembre 23, 2019

Souvent, on entend souvent quelqu'un dire "le sujet X a un mauvais caractère" ou "et la fille est un caractère fort". Ce n'est pas étonnant si nous considérons à quel point nous aimons classer les personnes en fonction de leur manière d'être et combien il nous en coûte peu de les étiqueter en fonction de leur comportement. Mais Savons-nous exactement ce que signifie "caractère", ce qu’il englobe et quels sont les facteurs qui le constituent?

Les paragraphes suivants sont consacrés à répondre aux questions précédentes.

Définir comme un personnage

Tout d’abord, il est utile de clarifier et de définir les concepts correctement. Quel est le personnage?

Selon la Académie royale espagnole, le chiffre six dans l’entrée dédiée au mot, définit le caractère comme suit: "L'ensemble des qualités ou circonstances d'une chose, d'une personne ou d'une communauté, qui distingue, par leur manière d'être ou d'agir, le autres ", et offre quelques exemples de son utilisation:" Le caractère espagnol. Le caractère insupportable de Fulano. "


Cette explication sert toutefois à se faire une idée de l’usage courant du terme caractère (ce qui est bien et s'inscrit dans les objectifs du RAE), mais si nous voulons comprendre ce qu’il y a à globalement, nous devons savoir ce que les psychologues qui se consacrent à la recherche à partir de cette idée disent à propos du personnage. Et est-ce que le personnage est l'un des concepts les plus utilisés dans la psychologie des différences individuelles pour catégoriser les différences entre les individus; en fait, il est étroitement lié à d'autres concepts, tels que la personnalité ou le tempérament.

Différentes façons d'aborder le concept

Il y a beaucoup de psychologues et psychiatres qui ont encore Ils expriment des désaccords sur le sens spécifique qu'ils donnent à la notion de "personnage" . Malgré cela, parmi les similitudes que l’on peut trouver dans les explications de ces chercheurs qui s’efforcent d’extraire des connaissances en rapport avec le sujet, se trouve l’idée que le caractère d’une personne résume la façon dont cette personne réagit situation, circonstance ou action déterminée. En d'autres termes, le personnage n'est pas quelque chose qui est produit par notre corps, mais basé sur l'interaction


Ernest Kretschmer, un important chercheur allemand sur la constitution du caractère, bien connu pour ses études biotypologiques, affirme que le caractère "résulte de l'ensemble des caractéristiques biologiques fondamentales basées sur les substrats anatomo-physiologiques de la constitution individuelle et des caractéristiques qui se développent". sous l'influence de l'environnement et des expériences individuelles particulières ". Pour autant que nous connaissions le personnage aujourd'hui, il se développe à travers la fusion de la constitution du tempérament (hérité de nos parents) et de l'instinct avec l'environnement qui nous entoure, ou par des facteurs externes qui agissent en permanence sur notre individualité, le modifiant plus ou moins fort et important mais ne le transformant jamais.

Cela signifie que le personnage fait partie d'un processus. En particulier, il s’agit de notre manière de nous relier à l’environnement et aux phénomènes internes de notre esprit (mémoires). Ce n’est donc pas une chose, quelque chose qui reste figé et qui interagit avec d’autres éléments. Ni dans le cerveau ni dans aucune partie de notre système nerveux, il n'y a une structure qui produit le "caractère" de chacun.


Les facteurs qui composent le personnage

Plusieurs spécialistes du personnage se sont mis d’accord pour en souligner plusieurs caractéristiques fondamentales. Comme toujours, il n’ya pas d’accord général sur de nombreux points, mais parmi toutes les écoles, l’une des plus acceptées aujourd’hui est l’école de caractères de Groningue, dont les membres incluent Renne Le Senne, Gastón Berger. André le Gall et Heymans, entre autres.

Votre travail ensemble fournit une conception du personnage selon laquelle il a trois facteurs constitutifs : émotion, activité et résonance.

1. Emotivité

Le émotivité il est généralement défini comme "l'état de commotion psychosomatique que subissent certains individus sous l'influence d'événements qui ont objectivement une importance qui leur est propre". sert de base à la classification des individus émotifs et non émotifs . Si un sujet implique ses sentiments d'abord (ou non) avant un stimulus et nous pouvons le reconnaître à travers certains traits de comportement tels que la mobilité de l'humour, la démonstration, la compassion, la ferveur, etc.

2. activité

Le activité Cela implique deux aspects. D'une part, le libre besoin d'agir en raison d'un besoin congénital (manger, dormir, etc.). Pour autre, la nécessité d'éliminer tout obstacle qui tente de s'opposer à la direction du sujet . Il est évident que notre caractère varie considérablement selon le degré auquel nous parvenons à répondre à ces besoins.

3. Résonance

Le résonance fait référence à temps d'impression qui nous donne un événement et le temps nécessaire pour la reconstitution de la normalité avant ledit acte. Selon ce temps, les sujets peuvent être primaires (caractérisés par l'impulsivité, la mobilité, le fait de réconforter ou de se réconcilier rapidement, etc.) ou secondaires (ceux qui sont longtemps affectés par une impression, ne peuvent pas se consoler, ont des rancunes persistantes, etc. .)

En plus de ces facteurs constitutifs, Le Senne ajoute d'autres propriétés supplémentaires parmi lesquelles l'égocentrisme, l'intelligence analytique, l'alocentrisme, etc. et dont l'interaction avec les primaires et l'environnement créerait la personnalité de chaque individu.

Types de caractères et leur pertinence dans le domaine de la criminologie

Dans ce lien que je vous donne ci-dessous, vous avez plus d'informations sur les types de personnage et sur les liens entre cette fonctionnalité et un comportement criminel:

"Les 8 types de personnage (et leur relation avec le comportement criminel)"

Définition et caractéristiques d'un besoin - Economie STMG - digiSchool (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes