yes, therapy helps!
Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome: symptoms and causes

Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome: symptoms and causes

March 24, 2024

The dreams, mental manifestations that happen while we sleep and that, although it is demonstrated that they are associated with a reworking of the information of the memory and the emotions, there are still numerous enigmas and mysteries.

Better or worse, dreams play an essential role in our mental health. So what would happen if we stopped dreaming? A similar phenomenon is the one that occurs with Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome , which we will discuss throughout this article.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 curiosities about the dreams revealed by science"

What is Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome?

Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome is a strange neurological condition by which the person suffering from it experience the feeling that he has lost the ability to dream . However, what really happens is that the patient suffers from a visual agnosia accompanied by the loss of the ability to remember mentally or the recovery of images in the mind; since, according to the studies, REM sleep processes remain intact.


During the time that we are asleep, the activity of our brain goes through five different phases. The last one, known as the REM sleep phase (translated as Rapid Eye Movement) is characterized by intense brain activity. Thanks to this activity we can dream and our brain is able to capture information from our surroundings even though we are asleep.

Although at first glance it may seem that Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome is caused by some type of abnormality in the cerebral activity of this phase, the truth is that studies point to the idea that, in reality, a lesion in the occipital lobe It can be the main genesis of this disorder or sleep disorder.


The name given to this condition is due to the case studies carried out by the neurologist Jean-Martin Charcot and the ophthalmology researcher Hermann Wilbrand. Although they worked separately, each of them made important contributions to the study of this syndrome.

As for Charcot's investigations, they contributed to determine that the main manifestation of the syndrome is concrete the lack of the ability to remember the images produced in dreams. What implies the discovery that the person can dream, but is unable to remember. As for the contribution of Wilbrand, this revolves around the discovery of the presence of agnosias as possible lateral conditions.

Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome is considered a rare condition since it has very little incidence among the population. Although this implies a lack of studies investigating it, it has been recognized as a condition related to focal brain damage.


Its possible negative effects

Despite the fact that patients with this syndrome do not tend to suffer from a serious clinical picture or harmful effects derived from the clinical picture, it is hypothesized that dreams favor some relatively important functions for the mental health of the person. Among these benefits is the capacity that dreams have for favor learning processes .

In the same way, it has been postulated that a complete loss of the capacity to dream, or in this case of remembering the dreamed, can be linked to the development of obsessive states and even to the suffering of certain types of hallucinations. Finally, some theories state that dreams help development and emotional preservation, and that the expression of emotions in dreams can enhance or help the expression of emotions in reality .

What symptoms does it present?

There are two different classifications that collect the symptoms of Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome . The first one is based on the studies carried out by the researchers of the syndrome described above. While the second classification, much more current, is based on the type of injury that causes it and in the analysis of REM sleep of patients.

1. Traditional classification

As a result of the first studies, the symptomatology of Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome was reduced to the following symptoms:

  • Problems of visual reminiscence.
  • Prosopagnosia
  • Topographical agnosia.

2. Modern classification

However, the most recent studies describe the clinical picture of this syndrome based on the type of injury and the evaluation of REM sleep in patients. These case studies were performed by performing tests such as polysomnography , which studies multiple sleep parameters, accompanied by the determination of patterns in the stages of sleep.

In conclusion, the new defición of the symptoms of Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome is specified as an association between the loss of the ability to evoke images or visual memories that is translated or manifested as a loss of dreams.

What are the causes?

In those patients who experience a loss of visual images during sleep, a series of lesions due to acute onset of thrombosis, haemorrhages, traumas or carbon monoxide poisoning have been identified, which is why they establish as possible causes of Charcot syndrome. Wilbrand.

In addition, other conditions or conditions that have a more gradual development, such as the appearance of tumor masses in brain tissue or an abnormal embryonic development of the corpus callosum They have also been associated with this syndrome. In addition, Charcot-Williams cases have also been found among some patients with Alzheimer's disease and Turner syndrome.

Regarding the location of the brain lesions, the damages are located more frequently in the lateral occipito-temporal or mesial (medial) areas of the brain and almost always bilaterally. However, at the moment it has not been possible to find a more accurate or precise location.

Treatment and prognosis

Due to the nature of this condition, there is still no specific or effective treatment for Charcot-Wilbrand syndrome. However, there have been cases in which there is a gradual recovery of the ability to remember dreams.

Although the exact cause of the recovery has not yet been determined, it will depend on the severity of the brain damage as well as the main cause of the disease. Depending on these factors, the patient may experience a total, partial or no remission of symptoms.


Charcot–Wilbrand syndrome (Medical Condition) (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand: symptômes et causes

Syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand: symptômes et causes

Septembre 27, 2022

Les rêves, manifestations mentales qui se produisent pendant que nous dormons et qui, bien qu’il soit démontré qu’ils sont associés à un remaniement de l’information de la mémoire et des émotions, demeurent de nombreuses énigmes et mystères.

Mieux ou pire, les rêves jouent un rôle essentiel dans notre santé mentale. Alors que se passerait-il si nous arrêtions de rêver? Un phénomène similaire est celui du syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand. , dont nous discuterons tout au long de cet article.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 curiosités sur les rêves révélés par la science"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand?

Le syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand est une maladie neurologique étrange par laquelle la personne qui en souffre ressentir le sentiment qu'il a perdu la capacité de rêver . Cependant, ce qui se passe réellement, c’est que le patient souffre d’une agnosie visuelle accompagnée de la perte de la capacité de mémoire mentale ou de la récupération d’images dans l’esprit; puisque, selon les études, les processus du sommeil paradoxal restent intacts.


Pendant le temps que nous dormons, l'activité de notre cerveau passe par cinq phases différentes. Le dernier, connu sous le nom de phase de sommeil paradoxal (traduit par Rapid Eye Movement) se caractérise par une activité cérébrale intense. Grâce à cette activité, nous pouvons rêver et notre cerveau est capable de capturer des informations de notre environnement même si nous sommes endormis.

Bien que, à première vue, le syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand puisse sembler être causé par un type d'anomalie dans l'activité cérébrale de cette phase, il est vrai que des études suggèrent que, en réalité, une lésion dans le lobe occipital Ce peut être la genèse principale de ce trouble ou trouble du sommeil.


Le nom donné à cette affection est dû aux études de cas réalisées par le neurologue Jean-Martin Charcot et le chercheur en ophtalmologie Hermann Wilbrand. Bien qu’ils travaillent séparément, chacun d’entre eux a grandement contribué à l’étude de ce syndrome.

Quant aux enquêtes de Charcot, elles ont contribué à déterminer que la manifestation principale du syndrome est concrète. le manque de la capacité de se souvenir des images produites dans les rêves. Ce qui implique la découverte que la personne peut rêver, mais est incapable de se souvenir. Quant à l'apport de Wilbrand, il s'articule autour de la découverte de la présence d'agnosias en tant que conditions latérales possibles.

Le syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand est considéré comme une maladie rare car il a une incidence très faible dans la population. Bien que cela implique un manque d'études sur ce sujet, il a été reconnu comme une affection liée à des lésions cérébrales focales.


Ses possibles effets négatifs

Bien que les patients atteints de ce syndrome n'aient pas tendance à souffrir d'un tableau clinique sérieux ni d'effets néfastes dérivés du tableau clinique, on suppose que les rêves favorisent certaines fonctions relativement importantes pour la santé mentale de la personne. Parmi ces avantages, il y a la capacité que les rêves ont de favoriser les processus d'apprentissage .

De la même manière, il a été postulé qu'une perte totale de la capacité de rêver, ou dans ce cas de se souvenir du rêve, peut être liée au développement d'états obsessionnels et même à la souffrance de certains types d'hallucinations. Enfin, certaines théories affirment que les rêves aident au développement et à la préservation émotionnelle, et que l'expression des émotions dans les rêves peut améliorer ou aider l'expression des émotions dans la réalité .

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

Il existe deux classifications différentes qui collectent les symptômes du syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand. . Le premier est basé sur les études menées par les chercheurs du syndrome décrit ci-dessus. Alors que la seconde classification, beaucoup plus courante, est basée sur le type de blessure qui la cause et sur l’analyse du sommeil paradoxal des patients.

1. Classification traditionnelle

À la suite des premières études, la symptomatologie du syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand a été réduite aux symptômes suivants:

  • Problèmes de réminiscence visuelle.
  • Prosopagnosie
  • Agnosie topographique.

2. Classification moderne

Cependant, les études les plus récentes décrivent le tableau clinique de ce syndrome en fonction du type de lésion et de l'évaluation du sommeil paradoxal chez les patients. Ces études de cas ont été effectués en effectuant des tests tels que la polysomnographie , qui étudie de multiples paramètres du sommeil, accompagnés de la détermination de modèles dans les stades du sommeil.

En conclusion, la nouvelle définition des symptômes du syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand est définie comme une association entre la perte de la capacité à évoquer des images ou des mémoires visuelles traduites ou traduites en perte de rêves.

Quelles sont les causes?

Chez les patients présentant une perte d'images visuelles pendant le sommeil, une série de lésions dues à une thrombose aiguë, à des hémorragies, à des traumatismes ou à une intoxication au monoxyde de carbone ont été identifiées, raison pour laquelle elles sont considérées comme des causes possibles du syndrome de Charcot. Wilbrand.

En outre, d’autres affections ou affections à développement plus progressif, telles que l’apparition de masses tumorales dans le tissu cérébral ou un développement embryonnaire anormal du corps calleux Ils ont également été associés à ce syndrome. En outre, des cas de Charcot-Williams ont également été observés chez certains patients atteints de la maladie d'Alzheimer et du syndrome de Turner.

En ce qui concerne l'emplacement des lésions cérébrales, les dommages sont localisés plus fréquemment dans les zones occipito-temporales ou mésiales (médiales) latérales du cerveau et presque toujours bilatéralement. Cependant, il n’a pas encore été possible de trouver un emplacement plus précis.

Traitement et pronostic

En raison de la nature de cette affection, il n’existe toujours pas de traitement spécifique ou efficace du syndrome de Charcot-Wilbrand. Cependant, il y a eu des cas dans lesquels il y a une récupération progressive de la capacité de se souvenir des rêves.

Bien que la cause exacte de la guérison n’ait pas encore été déterminée, elle dépendra de la gravité des lésions cérébrales et de la cause principale de la maladie. En fonction de ces facteurs, le patient peut éprouver une rémission totale, partielle ou nulle des symptômes.


France 5, Santé magazine "La maladie de Charcot" (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes